Operation 2018 afl draft

Hasn't really lived up to what was expected of him this season after a good under age year. Tall and very athletically gifted but tested fairly ordinarily by all reports in the endurance testing events at the Combine which would have disappointed recruiters I'd think. He's hard one to place for the aforementioned reasons, probably anywhere from late 2nd round onwards would be my best guess, reckon there's every chance he's there at our Pick 39 now if we're interested.
Watching him play makes me think he could become a lever type role with more run from HB.

Huh?

Happens. Every. Single. Year.

Usually with local SA hopes who are going to be like, so, so amazing

Yep, a lot of guys look amazing in their underage year, only to turn out to be flops/average players.

Aish, Toumpas, Ben Kennedy, Scharenberg are great examples I can remember off the top of my head of SA kids like this. Bryce Gibbs was going to be an out and out superstar, is a good player, but hasn't lived up to the hype.

Interestingly the clubs actually did pretty good with minidraft picks, probably Jack Martin the only one who's a little shaky. Has talent, but struggling to impact. The rest (O'Meara, Crouch and Hogan) have all absolutely justified selection talent/ability wise, just had horrible runs with injury. Which again indicates the risk with draft picks, there's no sure thing in drafting.

The question as always
Would any of those 3 have been played by us in the AFL?

We arent inept in recognising talent once they are drafted by the coaches we have and those three have been recognised by Sydney, Richmond and Hawthorn, I would rate our talent recognition of drafted talent as good if not better which is why although we lose players we recognise talent to replace them

Poholke > Graham

Is that the same reasoning that posters are using that they are watching kids in the u18 championship

Oh wait Graham won the MVP of the championship how did pohlkoke go infact how did he go in the GF this year whilst graham was running with Sloane and scoring a lazy 3

And all whilst coming from SA and his old man playing SANFL footy WOW talk about go home factor

Is that the same reasoning that posters are using that they are watching kids in the u18 championship

Oh wait Graham won the MVP of the championship how did pohlkoke go infact how did he go in the GF this year whilst graham was running with Sloane and scoring a lazy 3

And all whilst coming from SA and his old man playing SANFL footy WOW talk about go home factor

There's little doubt Graham's ahead of Poholke at this point in time but an AFL career is more a marathon than a sprint.

Wouldn't mind a guy that can stand Sloane dob three goals in the big dance all in his first year of AFL

Now remind me of your logic on why you think pohlkoke will be better

Lot more upside in Poholke, if you study him in detail

I’ll bet that Graham will hit his peak reasonably soon. He’ll be good value for pick 53 or whatever pick he was, though

Lot more upside in Poholke, if you study him in detail

I’ll bet that Graham will hit his peak reasonably soon. He’ll be good value for pick 53 or whatever pick he was, though

I'm sure pohlkoke is going to get better but no one in their right mind can question what graham has achieved in the last two years with the lark medal last year and what he did in the gf this year

graham looks an absolute ripper who would have thought a guy that was the most valuable player in the u18 championship would be achieving so much

I'm sure pohlkoke is going to get better but no one in their right mind can question what graham has achieved in the last two years with the lark medal last year and what he did in the gf this year

graham looks an absolute ripper who would have thought a guy that was the most valuable player in the u18 championship would be achieving so much

Graham's already very well developed and defined. His endurance will be able to be developed, but how much growth does he have overall? I'm not doubting what he's achieved so far, but we're looking at the bigger picture here.

From what he's produced so far and looking at his build, Poholke definitely has more upside. Whether he fulfils that is still to be determined, but I'm confident he will

You really do enjoy sinking the boots in the Adelaide Football Club. I can not recall you ever posting anything positive about the cub or players.

Lets not forget we did make the Grand Final, therefore we must have some half decent players and played some semi decent football this year but reading your stuff, I get the impression we finished bottom with 20 other duds who can not even kick a drop punt.

Graham's already very well developed and defined. His endurance will be able to be developed, but how much growth does he have overall? I'm not doubting what he's achieved so far, but we're looking at the bigger picture here.

From what he's produced so far and looking at his build, Poholke definitely has more upside. Whether he fulfils that is still to be determined, but I'm confident he will

Potential is a dirty word as over 50% of draftees discover

You really do enjoy sinking the boots in the Adelaide Football Club. I can not recall you ever posting anything positive about the cub or players.

Lets not forget we did make the Grand Final, therefore we must have some half decent players and played some semi decent football this year but reading your stuff, I get the impression we finished bottom with 20 other duds who can not even kick a drop punt.

Far from it

I just think we need to spend a lot more time looking into our own backyard for friggen obvious reasons

The last two years we have made some boo boos with our drafting

I'm not critical of the crouches although isn't one up for contract this year Matt I think

Wouldn't mind a guy that can stand Sloane dob three goals in the big dance all in his first year of AFL

Now remind me of your logic on why you think pohlkoke will be better

5 games in and you're calling him a superstar? Yeah good luck with that. He may or may not be but nobody can say

$100 or lunch at any restuarant in 2019

I'm critical of not going after SA talent for obvious reasons

How many players did we have playing in our. GF team?

Our recruiting team picks who they see as the best available talent. Just because they're the better player in their first year doesn't mean they'll be the better player down the track. Again, we're talking about the bigger picture

Operation 2018 afl draft