Operation 'Get Butcher'

• Thread starter Thread starter Beloved

He won't be there. I think this Butcher will slide talk is complete nonsense. He mightn't go top 3 but he most definiately won't drop past 9 (Port having 8 and 9). That said I would be very pleased if we got him. His so called 'goal-kicking issues are complete ********. Like Rich last year because he has been touted to go top 3 before the season had even started he was subjected to more scutiny then other players. This gave the public more time to look at his weaknesses and such. He is a great player and will be a steal for any club if he falls out of the top 5. :)

Intersting read on Butcher here
http://www.contestedfooty.com/2009/07/john-butcher-2009-afl-draft.html

Some noted points:
He is an agile mover and can outmanoeuvre and run most tall opponents that are matched up on him, at least at junior level. He is known for his very strong marking ability; he is rarely out-marked and rarely drops marks.
Sounds great.

John Butcher is said to be a bit of a character, a bit different and hard to get to know. He has the tendency to backchat but has vowed to stop.
Oh oh, another Fev!?

Butcher is a big St Kilda fan and it would seem like he would like to end up there at some point in his career, hopefully for the Saints straight after the draftee’s first contract runs out.
Grrr

Jeez, here we go. I'll try and do this to the best of my ability.

Consistency - I wouldn't be able to answer this one. I only started following the TAC Cup pretty late. You'd probably be better asking HBF or someone alike this question.
Hardness - definitely not afraid to go hard at the ball. He made the TAC team of the year ruck spot, if I'm not mistaken.
Field kicking - Another one for HBF.
Kicking for goal - He's a great kick. He kicked multiple bags of five and six this year.
Durability - I don't think that he has been injured recently.
Attitude - very positive young player. Fair, just wanting to play footy.

Unfortunately I haven't seen much TAC Cup this year, and I have only seen a few champs games. Either TGR or Splendini would be far better equiped to answer these questions.

One thing I can tell you is that I would expect quite a few on the rated KPP's to go in the 8-14 range, which puts us right in the middle to secure one of them.

Will need to get past Port's 2 picks and Melbourne's pick 11 and i honestly can't see that happening. More of a chance than a few months ago but still a long shot in my view.

Pick 12 doesn't need to be a KPP, there could be a few of the rated mid/half forward prospects drop as there could be a few reaches. I wouldn't be taking a KPP if there is a better player on offer.

Will need to get past Port's 2 picks and Melbourne's pick 11 and i honestly can't see that happening. More of a chance than a few months ago but still a long shot in my view.

Pick 12 doesn't need to be a KPP, there could be a few of the rated mid/half forward prospects drop as there could be a few reaches. I wouldn't be taking a KPP if there is a better player on offer.

How's the list coming along for the Phantom Draft mate?

It's coming along well...

Will probably be going best available with 12 and see what is there at 43 and 59. One stage on Friday i thought my first pick was going to be 43. :p

Pick 12 will be a great one to have. Will be taking a very keen interest on how this one pans out.

Just one point though. Come draft day, I just wonder if Port might take a couple of local boys in Panos & Tapscott. They took Hartlett last year, and I wouldn't have thought either of those boys would look out of place in the top 10. As for Melbourne, they have holes all over the place, and could go for anything, although Butcher would be up there. Might very well leave us Talia, or Carlisle, both of whom I would be happy with.

Pick 12 will be a great one to have. Will be taking a very keen interest on how this one pans out.

Just one point though. Come draft day, I just wonder if Port might take a couple of local boys in Panos & Tapscott. They took Hartlett last year, and I wouldn't have thought either of those boys would look out of place in the top 10. As for Melbourne, they have holes all over the place, and could go for anything, although Butcher would be up there. Might very well leave us Talia, or Carlisle, both of whom I would be happy with.

Got a feeling Port will go a tall forward with their first and a mid/half forward with their second, reckon they've got down back covered. Don't rate Panos at all (ask Splendini), can't see him being a first rounder at all, reckon will blow out to 30 odd. With Melbourne going to take Scully and Trengove/Martin with their first two picks, if Butcher or Talia are there i think you may be able to lock them in. Saying that though they have pick 18 which could nab a Carlisle/Griffiths but i reckon Vardy would be a good fit there.

If Butcher or Talia is there at 12 i'd jump, Carlisle not so much at this stage. Aaron Black may be a look in from what i've read but haven't had a chance to see any footage of him yet (should soon though). There are a heap that could be available, hard to narrow it down to even half a dozen at this stage. Lucas, Jetta, Melksham, Moore, Gysberts, Duncan even Stevens could be looked at along with the talls so plenty of options.

I'd be very wary about targetting a 'specialist FF' at pick 12.

While Fev is a brilliant individual player, he's been too 1-dimensional in that he can only play at full-forward. This suited "Pagan's paddock" but we've been let down in that Waite, Whitnall, Kennedy, Hartlett and o'hAilpin have all struggled to fruitfully establish themselves in tandem in the same way that Lucas and Roughead were foils for the other 2 specialist FFs of the past decade.

For Ratten to really grow as a coach and for us to take the next level, we'll be forced without Fev to deliver a multi-pronged structure. Ignoring fleet footed crumbers, this would consist of Waite, Kreuzer, Warnock, Hampson, Austin, o'hAilpin and Henderson. All capable of playing in different positions...

For a dedicated teenage FF to step up into senior footy in 1-2 years is a big ask and besides undoes the multi-pronged setup. Can Butcher, Black, Griffiths and Panos play in different positions?

If not, I'd favour a Carlisle or Talia if we assume anyone who slips to pick 12 is of similar ability. Assuming of course we don't go for 'best available' as in previous years, which could be a midfielder.

It's a SOS vs. Fev question - I'd go for flexibility.

Disclaimer: my only 'wisdom' here comes from reading the phantom drafts forum.

I think we should pick up Temel with a late pick. Has shown a lot during TAC finals, could be a big-game player.

Sorry guys, if he slips to us I think we will take him, and if he's gone before our pick we will definitely take Panos.

A very poorly written article TBH really.
Big WTF at the below quote from the article.
Butcher is a big St Kilda fan and it would seem like he would like to end up there at some point in his career, hopefully for the Saints straight after the draftee’s first contract runs out.

I think that a KPF would be a good choice... in 2 years they will be just starting to ramp up into the position when our window opens and in another 2 years when Setanta and Waite are just starting to run down in their careers they will be ready to step up.

If Butcher is the forward we are looking for, then we take him if he falls to us at 12. If he doesnt, we look at other options.

I do like the idea of Serhat Temal as a late pick. From the few things that I read about him on here, he seems to have the goods up forward and is big bodied already. Would be a good depth player for a few years if we get a KPF at 12.

Interesting to see this thread.

Was talking to a mate a few weeks ago about the draft. He has followed the last 2 years very closely as his son plays for one of the Grand Final sides.

The one player he mentioned beside kids in his sons team was Butcher.

Said he was over-rated and the early hype on him is the only reason he is still spoken of so highly.

Just one blokes opinion but he is a good judge.

With the Fevola situation the way it is, he may very well be forced to pick for need this year.

Yes, we acquired Henderson, but with the likely delistings of Edwards and Hartlett, I think it is very likely we will go tall with our first pick.

I'd rather us pick best available. It's not going to happen but if a Martin or Tapscott were to fall to 12 then I'd much rather them then Butcher.

The is plenty of talent in the top 16 this year.

I think take the best available, yes it might be another mid, but i'd rather pick up anothe A grader than a tall who is probably 50/50 of turning out ok. At the end of the day a tall forward isn't going to win us a premiership in the next two years (an 18 year old that is), but if we could pick up a young mid who turns out pretty handy, it would then allow us to maybe trade this person or an existing player (eg. Gibbs, Murhpy) if they were keen for a move for a ready made star that would fit right in. Imagine in two years if Gibbs wants to go home to Adelaide, Crows would do everything they could to get him, possibly a straight swap for Tippett who in two years could be a star of the game.
No point taking too many risks with the first pick of the draft, get a guy who is going to be a 10 year player, then worry about filling some holes later on.

I think take the best available, yes it might be another mid, but i'd rather pick up anothe A grader than a tall who is probably 50/50 of turning out ok. At the end of the day a tall forward isn't going to win us a premiership in the next two years (an 18 year old that is), but if we could pick up a young mid who turns out pretty handy, it would then allow us to maybe trade this person or an existing player (eg. Gibbs, Murhpy) if they were keen for a move for a ready made star that would fit right in. Imagine in two years if Gibbs wants to go home to Adelaide, Crows would do everything they could to get him, possibly a straight swap for Tippett who in two years could be a star of the game.
No point taking too many risks with the first pick of the draft, get a guy who is going to be a 10 year player, then worry about filling some holes later on.
jesusfacepalmfacepalmje.jpg

We won't get Butcher.

Dissecting the draft Emma Quayle | October 11, 2009

What's the deal with John Butcher?

Touted as a top two or three pick at the start of this year, Butcher hasn't had a fantastic year and his stocks seem to have fallen. He is this year's mystery man and no one seems sure where he will fit in at this stage. The critics will say he has a bad kicking action and that his work ethic can vary from game to game. But he is 197 centimetres and is the best contested mark in the draft, surely. He kicks points, but he also kicks goals. His endurance needs work, but he notched a 2.99-second sprint time for 20 metres. Having starred as a 17-year-old, he has been under the microscope for a long time. Butcher impressed in many of his interviews at draft camp and when the dust settles, it's hard to see him reaching the Demons at No. 11. ''He presented really well,'' said one recruiter. ''I watched him really closely in the time trial, I thought he busted a gut and I watched him really closely. I reckon he's right back in the mix.''

Dissecting the draft Emma Quayle | October 11, 2009

Bad luck Melbourne. :p :D

Best available will be our policy after reading that excellent piece.

Anything else would be recruiting suicide and kill the Fevola trade.

Talia could be available if the comment on the top ten being full of mids is spot on.

The potential versatility and size of Carlisle and Talia is appealing to this little black duck.