Operation 'Get Judd'!

Jason Akermanis?

Aka is a 3 time premiership player, brownlow medallist, 4 time All Australian, 2 best and fairest at Brisbane and picked up at 34 in the draft. Not many players can boast about that kind of record - least of all your so called champion Richo. Aka is worth taking because he attracts the media, attracts members and has a lot to prove to the footballing world because of the way he left Brisbane. He maybe nearly 30 but he is a long way from finished in this game. And he choose us to play for despite other clubs offers.
Richo on the other hand is 2 times All Australian and a rising star nominee. Can we all see the difference between the two players?
Why wouldn't a club take a player of Aka's proven ability?
And why would a club take a player who promised so much and delivered so very little?

Aka is a 3 time premiership player, brownlow medallist, 4 time All Australian, 2 best and fairest at Brisbane and picked up at 34 in the draft. Not many players can boast about that kind of record - least of all your so called champion Richo. Aka is worth taking because he attracts the media, attracts members and has a lot to prove to the footballing world because of the way he left Brisbane. He maybe nearly 30 but he is a long way from finished in this game. And he choose us to play for despite other clubs offers.
Richo on the other hand is 2 times All Australian and a rising star nominee. Can we all see the difference between the two players?
Why wouldn't a club take a player of Aka's proven ability?
And why would a club take a player who promised so much and delivered so very little?
But he's old, your point was about picking up old people in a draft.

I am not saying Aker isn't a good player, but you're being a hypocrite.

700 goals, have the dogs ever had anyone kick that many goals?

This is such a loser mentality.
If he becomes available we should do whatever it takes to secure his services.

Deledio aside, every player on our list should be tradeable, sackable whatever, to secure the best player in the land.
Its not a loser mentality, if it was a loser mentality I would be praying to lose every game this season.
Its called being realistic, Judd would cost $1million a year plus 3 first round picks minimum

Yeah I reckon Judd will end up at the Tigers, through the preseason draft and the Tigers coming last.

Could well turn your club around.

This is such a loser mentality.
If he becomes available we should do whatever it takes to secure his services.

Deledio aside, every player on our list should be tradeable, sackable whatever, to secure the best player in the land.
have judd in your side and he would still be kicking it to richo who would precede to miss or put it over the fence at crunch times. would i be wrong in saying that?

Actually he'll kick to schulz who lead up the middle because Judd knows that there is no point kicking to richo when he is gonna have a shot from 50 metres on the boundary line.

Some of the reasoning around Richo's (and therefore Richmonds) poor performances over the years has been poor delivery by sub-standard or undermanned mids. I reckon Judd could make a big difference in that regard. ;)

Hawthorn traded Croad for the top pick. They copped a bit but it was a great move.

They took Hodge but had a chance to get Judd

We on the other hand held our version of Trent Croad as a cult hero, untouchable. Someone like Ben Holland who we would pay huge money to avoid them leaving.

Footy is about anticipating before the rest. Seeing the value before others and not overvalueing your own players.

You dont win by bidding with the rest for the obvious.

But he's old, your point was about picking up old people in a draft.

I am not saying Aker isn't a good player, but you're being a hypocrite.

700 goals, have the dogs ever had anyone kick that many goals?

Aka is 29, Richo is 32. Aka can play good footy for the next 3 to 5 years. Richo can play footy for the next 1,2 maybe 3 at best. Why would any team take him? My orgianl point was no one would Richo because he is not reliable and teams are looking for younger players. I don't think any team would turn down a 29 year old brownlow medalist who has 3 premiership medals and 4 all australians when you have a young team that lacks finals experience. Richmond should have traded Richo 4 years ago and you would have got something for him. Its too late now.
While it is true we have never had a 700 career goal kicker it is also true that we have played more finals then Richmond has during Richo's career.

Judd would handball to someone who would handball back to him when he is in range and kick the goal himself :)

Judd would be better off just handballing it to himself then kicking the goal.

Richmond could turn Chris Judd into an average player so easily, Chris Judd wont want to come to our club, why would he want to sentence himself to life?

:thumbsd:

lets get rid of - tivendale,gaspar,and johnson and make room in the salary cap and secure him with our number one draft pick.

I reckon there's something people need to acknowledge when talking about trades: West Coast have a pretty strong list.

They're not going to be excited by top-up players, or guys who are past their best and injury-prone. We have our own young prospects waiting to get a game.

In a trade for Judd, there would be two kinds of trades that might interest WC:

1) Another superstar. Pav. Riewoldt. Brown. Maybe even an emerging star like Franklin.

2) Top notch draft picks. We'd be looking at two top 10 picks. Maybe 2 top five picks. How you secure them from other clubs is your problem. You're number 1 pick will be a starting point. If you go after Judd, you will need to be prepared to part with that.

If you want to fantasise about getting Judd, that's up to you. But be realistic. We don't need broken down 30-year-olds. This talk about packaging Richo with Nathan Brown is ridiculous. That wouldn't even get you to the table.

West Coast will want a superstar with 5-6 good years ahead of him, or some quality draft picks that will allow us to recruit more young guns. We don't want your broken down hacks. Don't kid yourselves.

lets get rid of - tivendale,gaspar,and johnson and make room in the salary cap and secure him with our number one draft pick.
Yes - because Judd will be so desperate to go to Richmond that he will be willing to totally shaft WC and leave them empty-handed.

Are you guys going to be disappointed when this doesn't happen?

Aka is 29, Richo is 32. Aka can play good footy for the next 3 to 5 years.

From what i've seen of Aka so far this year, he'd better improve rapidly or he'll be playing for Werribee. He doesn't even look like the same player.

Surely the Doggies would look at Richo to fill a key forward position, an area they must address soon if they are to be serious premiership material?

hahahahahaha I don't think we would take Richo. In fct I don't think any club in the AFL would take Richo - not even Melbourne. Now that they have no forward line. Richmond is stuck with Richo. :)

i dont know mate, imagine Richo with a midfield like the doggies have putting it out on his chest. I have lot of respect for Richo would love to have him at our club.

Voice of reason. No-one will want Richo and we should not let him go. He deserves after what he's given the club to at least finish here. At 32 I doubt a club would give up much to get him and most clubs in the premiership window have key forwards.

Talk of Coughlan being attractive to a club needing a midfielder of his class????? Are we over endowed with classy midfielders?????? We need him more than most.

Judd to me seems to be a very decent man. He will not shaft the Eagles. We have potentially a No.1 pick and that is about all that will get him here. Do we want to give that up? In my opinion yes. Judd has 10 years left and theoretically he should get better!

The #1 pick wouldn't be enough on its own.

I think you'd have to include another high pick, which you would have to trade for.

dont bother wasting time , focus on building a future from the ground up rather than extensions and renovations..No-one has ever succeeded with that apporach, DOOMED!
We have a winner.
Buy a new block of land and build from scratch. Then you build the sort of house you want.

Actually he'll kick to schulz who lead up the middle because Judd knows that there is no point kicking to richo when he is gonna have a shot from 50 metres on the boundary line.
yes but judd would also know richo is a much better chance from 50 out on the boundry than 30 out directly in front