Opinion Operation: Key Forward

• Thread starter Thread starter Dammit

Would you like to see Buddy in the red, gold and blue?

• Of course, who wouldn't

Votes: 16 48.5%
  • No - for a number of reasons

Votes: 17 51.5%

Dumb? What do you mean?
Like, low IQ. Quite literally, an idiot. He's not a bad idiot, he's just like the bumbling village fool. Like a goofball. Seems like a nice guy but... mmm. I could well be wrong though. Just what I've heard and seen.

That probably sounds overly harsh but meh. Everyone else judges people so why not.

I'm not sure how you came by that information, but even if it's true, I'm not sure it matters too much in the grand scheme of things. The guy can play serious footy.

He came across as quite a nice guy and a team player on his appearance on AFL 360 last night. You don't Captain the Under 18 side unless you can not only play, but show serious leadership qualities.

I'm not sure how you came by that information, but even if it's true, I'm not sure it matters too much in the grand scheme of things. The guy can play serious footy.

He came across as quite a nice guy and a team player on his appearance on AFL 360 last night. You don't Captain the Under 18 side unless you can not only play, but show serious leadership qualities.
Very true. I just have a bit of an issue with bringing in too many mmmmmm let's say 'easily swayed' players into a club. There's only room for 2 or 3 max imho and I reckon we've just about filled our quota.
It's what Melbourne did and it's what Collingwood did (bring in too many players with nothing between their ears) and it can be costly long term.

Like, low IQ. Quite literally, an idiot. He's not a bad idiot, he's just like the bumbling village fool. Like a goofball. Seems like a nice guy but... mmm. I could well be wrong though. Just what I've heard and seen.

That probably sounds overly harsh but meh. Everyone else judges people so why not.

i know whare you are coming from. he didnt come across as a genius. but at that age neither would a lot of players that become ok on the mike as they mature. barry hall for example.

the problem with you AFL fans is that you are spoiled for IQ. your players are really eloquent in front of a mike. AFL is probably a more cerebral game than NRL, while NRL demandes...a higher pain threshold.

watch an AFL player get interviewed, then watch an NRL player...chalk and cheese.

i wouldnt judge a footballer by his ability to speak on a mike at age 18....

Officially starting the bandwagon for Mitch Harvey - Full Forward for the SA u18s. Get this boy to the coast and we won't need to worry about paying Rooey or Buddy. Get on it.

DAT HAAAAAIR!

126844-mitchell-harvey.jpg

Looking at the top 20 proposed draft picks it appears that Boyd may be over rated as there is SFA in terms of other talls listed. I still tend to think that we should off load a couple of players and either our first pick or end of first compo pick to improve our position in the draft.
eg, Brennan + Gorringe and both picks for the no1 or 2, what do you think?

It takes some pressure off in terms of a 3 for 1 deal to help out our list issues and we get a better pick. The receiver gets two players, one a top 10 and the other an X factor plus 2 first rounders for their pick.

Looking at the top 20 proposed draft picks it appears that Boyd may be over rated as there is SFA in terms of other talls listed. I still tend to think that we should off load a couple of players and either our first pick or end of first compo pick to improve our position in the draft.
eg, Brennan + Gorringe and both picks for the no1 or 2, what do you think?

Not a bad idea.
If you've identified that a key forward is your most pressing issue then it is worth pulling out all stops to get a chance at Boyd.
He'll go top 3-4. So your pick 6-9 just won't cut it.
But trading this pick + a player may work.
I don't think the Dogs or Saints would be too interested in giving you a shot at Boyd.
But GWS and Melbourne might if you bundle your pick with the right player.
I don't know whether Brennan/Gorringe will cut it though.

If Brennan can't crack the side of a 3rd year expansion club, and Gorringe can't stay on the field or produce when on it, why would a side like St. Kilda, Melbourne or GWS give you anything for them when their lists are so weak right now? Saints and Melbourne would have no use for them.

Did Jack Riewoldt get offered $500,000 by Gold Coast but apparently turned it down? I heard something like that on the radio this morning.

Interesting but not surprising, if true. They offered Tippett around $600,000 last year to join the club and it didn't work out. Jack is a free agent and would be a good fit for the Suns. Saw Jack on the Footy Show last night and he made it very clear he wasn't going to leave Richmond. It's exciting that the Gold Coast are chasing big free agents though. Richmond will struggle to keep all their players under the cap and Jack is definitely going to be underpaid if he re-signs. I guess we'll see but don't be surprised if the Gold Coast continue to chase big name forwards.

we are going to have the same problem i reckon..

If we beat Richmond AGAIN, he would definitely sit down and think ;)

I don't know that he will think but I am sure he will sook and blame his team mates. I can't stand this bloke, he is the kind of guy that makes you feel stabby ;)

I think that the time has come to persist with Sam Day in the forward line. He needs the rest of 2013 to ply his craft. He is showing signs of improving while in the forward zone.

Suns should go all out to get pick 1 from GWS to snatch Tom Boyd, and by all out it means giving away one of the Suns young stars. They wont give away pick 1 for players who arent in our best 22. Hawthorn has to give up Croad and McPharlin, two young KPP to get our pick 1 in 2001. GWS need a ruckman and defenders, so one of Nicholls or Thompson, with Gorringe or Day or our 1st round pick should be considered for a move. If it wasnt for Smith's ACL he should be on the table as well. I know they're great players and I loved watching them play this year, but from what I've seen I really rate Tom Boyd. So highly I think Fremantle should put Zac Clarke, Paul Duffield and even Nat Fyfe up for him, because we desperately need a successor to Pavlich. No risk no reward, and big risks get me excited.

Nat Fyfe up for him. No way. Boyd could be a gun, or he could be the next Jack Watts and never live up to expectations. Fyfe is already a gun and definetly a potential Brownlow Medalist.

Watts is only where he's at because he went to Melbourne of all places. Do you think Naitanui would be as good as he is at WC if Melbourne took him instead? Doubt it, he'd likely be where Watts is now at. And I love Fyfe. He's my biggest footy man crush and his number is on my Freo jumper. But Freo dont have many young stars which GWS need, except for Clarke who Freo may need to keep out of necessity. Fyfe would get it done though.