Original team songs

patty O'furnicha

Mar 1, 2006
melbourne
let us hear some original songs. good or bad.

During the wedderburn (ncfl) song they sing..
"come on boys, make some noise, We're the red hot Saviloys"

Although they're arch-enemies of ours, I've always thought that the Stanhope theme song was one of the best that I've heard.. and original too:

We're a team of footballers, we come from Stanhope town,
We fight and fight and win and never let each other down.
We'll beat em in the sunshine, we'll beat em in the mud,
We'll beat em coz our hearts are pumping Stanhope coloured blood.
So fly the old maroon and gold, for all the football world to see,
up there Stanhope, up there Stanhope, come on Stanhope, you'll do me.

I remember we had a teacher who played footy for Shepp, and they used to take the p i s s coz their team song starts;

Shepparton boys are happy, Shepparton boys are g a y...(and then the lads would suggest that the next line was):
Shepparton boys take it up the a$$ every night and day...

The Echuca United song is a good one because its original and not a copy of an AFL/VFL song..

We like it Rough, We like it Tough, We fear no other side,
The colours of the Blue and Gold we carry them with pride,
So bring on all your champions and bring on all your best,
The Mighty Eagles will knock them down and lay them all to rest,
Echuca United spirits ever high, Echuca United reaching for the sky,
Up! Up! The Mighty Eagles to glory and to fame,
Echuca United you won’t forget our name!

T.Perry said:
I remember we had a teacher who played footy for Shepp, and they used to take the p i s s coz their team song starts;

Shepparton boys are happy, Shepparton boys are g a y...(and then the lads would suggest that the next line was):
Shepparton boys take it up the a$$ every night and day...

And some Shepp sides use to sing their song on the ground if they won :thumbsdown:

Violet towns takes a littl bit of different songs, and seems to be one of the best of heard.. easily the best of ever sung..

we'r a happy team at violet town,
we'r the mighty flying town,
1 for all, all for 1, is the way we play at towners,
we are the mighty flying town,

there are times when you'll c us busting our guts,
there are times when you wish you've never known us,
there are times when you know that we're really made of gold,
we are the mighty flying town,

you'll c us in the finals, you'll see us do or die,
we will fight and fight for ever to see our banner fly,
are we good, are we good,
are we any bloody good, we are the boys from violet town

end note: up the mighty red rooster suck more :D:D:D:D, how'd we do it? easy, what did we give 'em a shlacking!

YCW Eagles - Loddon Valley Football League. Doesn't relate to their footy exploits too much, but more about getting on the gas.

The YC boys are happy, the YC boys are we
The YC boys are happy, when we are on a spree
We never growl or grumble, and we never disagree
For the motto of the YC boys is 'come and have a beer with me'

Boy can we put one down, my bloody oath we can

So join in the chorus and sing it one and all
Join in the chorus, cause YC's on the ball
Good ol' YC, they're champions you'll agree
For the motto of the YC boys is come and have a beer with me!

Imperials football club (sfl)

We are the rollocking imperials,
we are the green and white, oi oi oi
where made of all the best materials,
thats why we're merry and bright, oi oi oi

when we are premiers, when the seasons done,
you can bet ya balls and things that we'll have lots of fun,
we are a bunch of conterials, full of happiness

if ya can't say it well, come on and spell,
I M P E R I A L S, Imperials!!!

Did we win? we S h i t it in!! how did we do it? EASY!!! what do we eat? PUSSY!!! how do we eat it? RAW!! what do we give 'em? THE BIG STUFF!!!

we got a coach, we got a skipper,
we got a team that moves like a zipper!!! SMOOOOOOOOOOTH

I think Lake Wendouree's is sung to the tune of Tina Turner's "Simply the Best" . . . . can someone confirm this?

i think swan hill's song in the cmfl would have to be the longest club song in the state, 3 verses and 2 chorus' and the whole lot has to be sung. it is original though. original songs are always the best

T.Perry said:
Although they're arch-enemies of ours, I've always thought that the Stanhope theme song was one of the best that I've heard.. and original too:

We're a team of footballers, we come from Stanhope town,
We fight and fight and win and never let each other down.
We'll beat em in the sunshine, we'll beat em in the mud,
We'll beat em coz our hearts are pumping Stanhope coloured blood.
So fly the old maroon and gold, for all the football world to see,
up there Stanhope, up there Stanhope, come on Stanhope, you'll do me.

good call on this particular team song T.Perry.
........And if massive Stanhope Scoopies ruckman Damien Mills was playing the song ended with an almighty "..........LETS GET P I S S E D!!!"

Bones ryan would immediatly open his doors and tap four of five kegs.

HavUEvaSeenTheRain said:
If someone from Toolybuc can put there old 1 on, thats a ripper.

We'll show them the way to home,
it's the good ol Tooleybuc cry
We'll pluck the feathers from the magpies tail, give Nyah a big black eye
Make Woorinen howl, make Lalbert throw in the towel
Swan Hill, Tyntynder or anyone else,
We'll show them the way to go home.

We'll show them the way to go home
Its sung by everyone,
from the butcher and the baker to candlestick maker,
to every mothers son,
Its sung by Stiffy and Mo,
Broadcast over 3LO
and if anyone here,
Doesn't drink Beer
We'll show them the way to go home !

I'm surprised Timmy Shearer hasn't already put the Ararat one up. So I'll do the honours, though its been a while since I was at the Rats so could be a bit sloppy and Tim will adjust;

Horsham, Stawell and Warracknabeal
What are you waiting for now
You promised to meet us, one day in June
and its never too late,
and its never too soon
Cos all of Ararat, keep on asking us
Which way, what way
I don't know what to say
Horsham, Stawell and Warracknabeal,
what are you waiting for now

Shovels to shovels and sticks to sticks
on the Ararat ground we'll stick like :D:D:D:D
so get up you dirty bastard or we'll hit you with a brick
The wimmera, the wimmera
out we come, out we come, out we come to play
just for recreations sake to pass the time away
lots of fun, heaps of fun, enjoy yourself today
cos we gunna win the premiership in .....

Cameo King said:
I'm surprised Timmy Shearer hasn't already put the Ararat one up. So I'll do the honours, though its been a while since I was at the Rats so could be a bit sloppy and Tim will adjust;

Horsham, Stawell and Warracknabeal
What are you waiting for now
You promised to meet us, one day in June
and its never too late,
and its never too soon
Cos all of Ararat, keep on asking us
Which way, what way
I don't know what to say
Horsham, Stawell and Warracknabeal,
what are you waiting for now

Shovels to shovels and sticks to sticks
on the Ararat ground we'll stick like schit
so get up you dirty bastard or we'll hit you with a brick
The wimmera, the wimmera
out we come, out we come, out we come to play
just for recreations sake to pass the time away
lots of fun, heaps of fun, enjoy yourself today
cos we gunna win the premiership in .....

Looks good to me CK. Sung flat out by the seconds, slower by the seniors and usually poorly by the juniors until they learn the bastard.
It's a corker and North Melbourne even stole parts of it for their 'hearts to hearts' bullshnit after they played the Rats in the early 50s.

Nagambie, known as the lakers in the KDFL has a cracker of a song, the league has had words with the club to change it as its deemed inappropriate, original..

I was walk'n down the street & a copper said to me,
if your one of the laker boys u better come with me,
he grabbed me by the collar and tried to run me in,
i cracked a fat & knocked him flat & then began to sing,

we are the lakers we are the team,
we cant be beaten as you have seen,
at the end of the season,
you'll know the reason we are the premiership team.
oi oi oi

here are a couple from down the coast way that i like

ocean grove is one of my faves:

oh we do like to live beside the sea-side
oh we do like to live beside the sea
down at the grove we are a football team
all the boys are on the :D:D:D:D

oh the red and the white we are terrific
oh the red and the white we are supreme
we will fight never fall
we will beat them one and all
beside the se-side, cos we're a team

before newcomb were the power they were the dinosaurs and had a great theme song, to the tune of 'the ants go marching 2 by 2'

the dinosaurs come marching in maroon and blue
the dinosaurs come marching out to play for you
all the fans begin to shout
we will win without a doubt
we'll all be true to the old maroon and blue

the dinosaurs come marching out we're there to win
we play it hard we play it fast and wear a grin
others may fall by the shores
but not the mighty dinosaurs
we'll all be true to the old maroon and blue

leopolds starts out normal then becomes a bit abstract:

we are the boys from leopold
we wear the colours of green and gold
we will always fight for victory
and we'l always see it thru
win or lose we do or die
in defeat we always try
leopold, leopold, the club we hold so dear
premiers we'll be this year

who are who are who are we
we are the boys of the lfc
hokey pokey wish-bang rah
leopold leopold rah rah rah

nah nah-nah, nah-nah-nah-nah-nah nah, hey
we are the boys boys of the gold and the green
we are the best team that ul ever see
we are the champions we are the boys
we are from leopolda polda polda pold
hey up the polds

i dont really know what that last bit is all about but its sounds pretty cool when everyones singing it

Panton Hill (Diamond Valley FL) has had this song for years, and it's the only one that I know of in the DVFL that's not a rip-off of a AFL song.

To the tune of "On the road to Gundagai".

Are we plum
Are we pud
Are we any bloody good
Were on the road to a Premiership
Because it's Panton Hill on the backline
Panton Hill on the wing
Panton Hill puts it forward
Panton Hill puts it in
Are we plum
Are we pud
Are we any bloody good
Were on the road to a Premiership.

I reckon it's a great song (and a bit ironic, because the Redbacks haven't won a flag in over 50 years), and if it was up to me, I would have Murchison's song sung to that tune, instead of having a rip off of the Melbourne theme song with the words green & gold put in.

I remember Barwon Heads is a good good one. It goes to the tune of Jingle Bells. I cant remember all the words but i think it starts off like this.

Dashing down the wing
With a football in my hand

I think???

Also Geelong Amateurs goes like this

Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!

Out we come , out we come
Out we come to play

Just for recreation time to pass the time away.
Lot's of fun , lot's of fun , all so merry and happy
Geelong Boys are hard to beat when they come out to play

So , join in the chorus , sing it one and all.
Join in the chorus Geelong are on the ball.

Good old Geelong , well beat them everytime , for Geelong will be premiers in 2004.

Ohhhhh you can't be unhappy if you sing , sing , sing
So lift up your voices ohhhhhh ,
Throw out your chest and hope for the best and sing ! sing ! sing!

Ohhhhhh , we are mighty lot and each one is a star , and if you care to join us you'll find us at the bar! (AT THE BAR!!!)

And if you care to join us you'll find that we're supreme for everyone's a member of the mighty BLUE and GREEN!

Should old aquaintance be forgot keep your eye on the blue and green.
Hip ray , hip ray , hip ray!!

Springbank in the CHFL isn't a bad one I reckon.

Bless em all, Bless em all
Bless the long and the short and the tall
Bless all the forwards, the centres and backs
And all the short men who scout round the packs

And we're saying goodbye to them all
It's back to old Springbank we'll go
You'll get no promotion while (coaches nickname) is coachin'
So cheer up me lads, Bless em all

The Hulkster said:
I remember Barwon Heads is a good good one. It goes to the tune of Jingle Bells. I cant remember all the words but i think it starts off like this.

Dashing down the wing
With a football in my hand

I think???

Also Geelong Amateurs goes like this

Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!

Out we come , out we come
Out we come to play

Just for recreation time to pass the time away.
Lot's of fun , lot's of fun , all so merry and happy
Geelong Boys are hard to beat when they come out to play

So , join in the chorus , sing it one and all.
Join in the chorus Geelong are on the ball.

Good old Geelong , well beat them everytime , for Geelong will be premiers in 2004.

Ohhhhh you can't be unhappy if you sing , sing , sing
So lift up your voices ohhhhhh ,
Throw out your chest and hope for the best and sing ! sing ! sing!

Ohhhhhh , we are mighty lot and each one is a star , and if you care to join us you'll find us at the bar! (AT THE BAR!!!)

And if you care to join us you'll find that we're supreme for everyone's a member of the mighty BLUE and GREEN!

Should old aquaintance be forgot keep your eye on the blue and green.
Hip ray , hip ray , hip ray!!
thats not original