List Mgmt. Oscar Allen Free Agency

Oscar Allen's Future

• Sign long term contract (5+ years)

Votes: 0 0.0%

Because there are other teams without such success or help.

There needs to be clear guidelines for all teams. Without the AFL manipulation the rules to suit there own narrative.

The current AFL management changes the rules every year to suit there self.

Bugger that let every club have the same set of goal post and stop changing the rules.

No club ( Not just the eagles) should be granted a priority picks with in 10 years of winning a premiership.

A priority picks for a struggling club should be before number 1. Pick Zero ( since the AFL likes the number ).

For example f/a compo should be at the end of each round not the start. This also protects the early picks, especially for struggling clubs.

F/S - NGA Access should be discount. Your ability trump another club when the players name is called out.

Full time umpires are a must!
Investment in under 18 and 16 footy.

Anyway my point is stable governance with the same set of rules for everyone.

Which should also mean you’re not punished for good governance of your club.

No team that's struggling should get PPs within 10 years of winning a flag, huh?

What are your thoughts on teams at the top of the ladder pillaging the top end of the draft via academies/FS then?

You've clearly been hoodwinked by the AFL.

No team that's struggling should get PPs within 10 years of winning a flag, huh?

What are your thoughts on teams at the top of the ladder pillaging the top end of the draft via academies/FS then?

You've clearly been hoodwinked by the AFL.
Not to mention we get less favourable fixturing and more travel. The start of this season being a prime example of how to crush the start of a struggling team. Same as last season

Yep, let's give the 2nd worst team of the past 4 years the hardest start, under a new coach.

Collingwood get an easier draw than us ffs.

How does a team that won the premiership in 2018 ask / expect a compo pick in 2025, a mere 7 years later.

If I were stk I’d be pissed.

Compensation picks surely can not be with in 10 years of a premiership.

Eagles are normally well run, I think you will bounce back up quicker than you expect. Just like the tigers.
Ah yes the afl, the home of equality for all where no decisions are made that unfairly disadvantage other teams in the competition.

Yep, let's give the 2nd worst team of the past 4 years the hardest start, under a new coach.

Collingwood get an easier draw than us ffs.

I honestly couldn't believe our first 8 rounds after I looked at the fixture properly after the Gold Coast game...we're a wooden spoon team and we got an opening fixture like a Premiership contender, I just don't get it.

There needs to be clear guidelines for all teams. Without the AFL manipulation the rules to suit there own narrative.

Bugger that let every club have the same set of goal post and stop changing the rules.

No club ( Not just the eagles) should be granted a priority picks with in 10 years of winning a premiership.

A priority picks for a struggling club should be before number 1. Pick Zero ( since the AFL likes the number ).

For example f/a compo should be at the end of each round not the start. This also protects the early picks, especially for struggling clubs.

F/S - NGA Access should be discount. Your ability trump another club when the players name is called out.

So by your logic, teams such as Richmond and Hawthorn would be ineligible for assistance for 30 years am I right?

Which should also mean you’re not punished for good governance of your club
How about Travel inequality?

A soft cap that hinders clubs that deal with large amounts of travel, hinders clubs that need to reset due to the fact you can’t sack a coach or football department due to soft cap constraints.

Clubs that get one less training run a week due to travel commitments.

A split fixture that benefits certain clubs and not others, 24 rounds where certain clubs leave Victoria a few times a year and get softer draws.

A grand final played exclusively in Victoria at a ground that some clubs have pretty much zero access to.

Concussion and it’s effects on lists when players are forced to retire

A draft system that is compromised beyond belief, a club that finishes near the bottom 3 years in a row but doesn’t get a second pick in the draft until the 30’s unless it splits a first rounder.

I could keep going but it seems you are only concerned about a Pp being the difference between a fair competition and one that’s not.

You missed the triggers mate, there is an out clause every 2 years if he does reach set goals.

And if you were the player which contract would you sign?

The 2 year deal with clauses.

Or the 6 year deal with fewer conditions and guaranteed earnings for 6 years?

He isn't signing a two year deal with anyone.

You seemed focused on priority picks.

Yet clubs playing and winning grand finals are still getting assistance through AFL policies.

Yet a struggling club needs to wait 10 years since winning a flag to get any assistance?

And just saying everyone should be treated equal is a nice thought. Just not pragmatic nor reality.

So how does the AFL even the ledger when it is handing out priority access and assistance to the current premiers and runners up?

That is what is happening.

Didn't Oscar start off down back and his first 20 or so games were at chb when mcgovern wasn't available?

Not my recollection, rather a fwd/ruck.

OA had a one year burster... he's no JK or Darling at goal kicking or contributing when it comes to goal assist or tackling (too busy laying on the ground).

1745366039494.png

If they say the amount of good luck coming your way depends on your willingness to act; then if we can get a compo pick after our 1st rounder, we should be wrapping Oscar in nice shiny wrapping paper, tying him in a red bow, saying thanks for your efforts, wish you all the best, put him on Facebook market place and sending him out the door so fast his Sam Mitchell bought coffee doesn't have time to go cold.

Priority picks should be put in the bin - they shouldn’t exist. If the AFL were to come out and say no club will get them in the future I’d be rapt even if meant that it closed the door on any claim we may or may not currently have

Problem is the AFL don’t seem to have any intention of doing that and, judging by comments made by Laura Kane when handing the North Melbourne assistance package, they see them as part of the equalisation measures in a “complex” draft system

As others have pointed out, there are inequalities throughout the AFL with all teams having their own set of advantages and disadvantages- fixturing, travel, revenue streams, support bases, access to government funding for projects, funding to local leagues (WCE and Freo make multi million annual contributions to the WAFC for example), academies, F/S selections, FA compensation etc

Some of those issues are near impossible to fix - geography is geography for example

So compromises are inherent

Ideally the draft should be pure - each team gets a pick through rounds of 18 picks in reverse ladder order and once everyone has had one pick a new round starts (1-18,19-36,37-54 and so on).

But it’s not

The last two years we’ve finished 18th and 16th. Our R2 pick, nominally 19 and 21, has been pick 30 in each of those years. This year is projected to be similar due to Academy, F/S and FA compensation

There’s no benefit for the AFL in having a non-competitive team(s). The draft is supposed to assist a team get off the bottom through access to better draft picks but when contending/premiership sides are given access to players in the top handful of picks then that system isn’t working

So priority picks become a necessary evil in lieu of a pure draft

This year will likely be our 4th in a row with 5 or fewer wins. Some form of modest assistance is arguably warranted - additional list spaces for undrafted NGA kids, additional selection(s) at the end of R1/beginning of R2 which will be around pick 30 are not unreasonable

I think it's fair to say that Oz hasn't done much yet - 1 year with over 30 goals (53). In comparison, JK was consistently kicking over 30 goals a season by his 4th/5th season & JD from his second.

Only 26 so should be entering his prime as a KPP & we've been historically shit.

Keen for him to stay - but he's not doing enough IMO to demand a long term high value contract.

Gee mate
We generally welcome other posters on here, but you really have to read the room.

As others have rightly pointed out, it's not an even competition.

When you say "same set of rules for everyone", you could straight away get rid of 5 or 6 clubs for pretty much being insolvent.

I think it's fair to say that Oz hasn't done much yet - 1 year with over 30 goals (53). In comparison, JK was consistently kicking over 30 goals a season by his 4th/5th season & JD from his second.

Only 26 so should be entering his prime as a KPP & we've been historically shit.

Keen for him to stay - but he's not doing enough IMO to demand a long term high value contract.
He did kick 20 goals last year in half a season including winning the North game single handedly. People act like he completely fell away after 2023 but its only been this year.

Even in Rd 1 he kicked a couple of goals when we were completely belted.

He did kick 20 goals last year in half a season including winning the North game single handedly. People act like he completely fell away after 2023 but its only been this year.

Even in Rd 1 he kicked a couple of goals when we were completely belted.

Not saying he's fallen away or no good. He has potential to be one of the greats - he's just not put it together consistently yet.

Waterman vs Allen - I'd have Waterman ahead at this point in their careers.

Not saying he's fallen away or no good. He has potential to be one of the greats - he's just not put it together consistently yet.

Waterman vs Allen - I'd have Waterman ahead at this point in their careers.

Waterman is one year ahead of Allen

So at the same point Allen is now, Waterman had played 20 games in a season just once and had never kicked over 18 goals in a single season. Last year (his 8th) was his breakout season

Allen in his 7 completed seasons has played 20 or more games in 3 seasons kicking 20+ in each of those plus 20 from 11 games last year

Allen ahead at the same point - 7 years into their respective careers. Unless Allen turns his form around though, they’ll be even after 8 years in

One of the greats?!?!

Allen's scorecard is pretty bleak when you compare him to someone like Jesse Hogan, who you would hardly call a potential great.

1745384335634.png

Admittedly Jesse walked in the door and was the #1 target at Melbourne vs Oscar having to get in the queue but I think it certainly explains why the club won't be cut to pieces if Oscar walks and we get band 1. Brissie will be banking on Oscar having a late career resurgence ala Hogan IMO.

Waterman is one year ahead of Allen

So at the same point Allen is now, Waterman had played 20 games in a season just once and had never kicked over 18 goals in a single season. Last year (his 8th) was his breakout season

Allen in his 7 completed seasons has played 20 or more games in 3 seasons kicking 20+ in each of those plus 20 from 11 games last year

Allen ahead at the same point - 7 years into their respective careers. Unless Allen turns his form around though, they’ll be even after 8 years in

Imagine how funny we would have found it, if Docker supporters were getting in tizz over Taberner (even describing him a a potential great) and talking him up as an elite 26 yr old KPF?

Then someone from Freo points out Taberner and OA have almost identical to age 26, career stats!

A top 3 pick for - Tabs? no way :D:D:D:D:D

A top 3 pick for - OA? absolutely! justified! Would be highway robbery to get anything less :think::think::think::think::think:

Imagine how funny we would have found it, if Docker supporters were getting in tizz over Taberner (even describing him a a potential great) and talking him up as an elite 26 yr old KPF?

Then someone from Freo points out Taberner and OA have almost identical to age 26, career stats!

A top 3 pick for - Tabs? no way :D:D:D:D:D

A top 3 pick for - OA? absolutely! justified! Would be highway robbery to get anything less :think::think::think::think::think:

Taberner wasn’t getting offers of 6 year deals in the vicinity of $1m a year like Allen is supposedly being offered. Or having meetings with opposition coaches who flew across the country to do so

That said, Allen is trading heavily on potential still, as 2023 aside, he hasn’t taken a season apart for a variety of reasons

McKay, Perryman and Battle have all been deemed worthy of Band 1 compensation in recent years so Allen triggering the same isn’t a stretch by any means

List Mgmt. Oscar Allen Free Agency