List Mgmt. Oscar Allen Free Agency

Oscar Allen's Future

• Sign long term contract (5+ years)

Votes: 0 0.0%

Imagine how funny we would have found it, if Docker supporters were getting in tizz over Taberner (even describing him a a potential great) and talking him up as an elite 26 yr old KPF?

Then someone from Freo points out Taberner and OA have almost identical to age 26, career stats!

A top 3 pick for - Tabs? no way :D:D:D:D:D

A top 3 pick for - OA? absolutely! justified! Would be highway robbery to get anything less :think::think::think::think::think:

This is such a weird take to keep pedalling.

If you truly think they have had the same career trajectory and have the same level of talent then you might want to stop huffing nangs mate.

Yep, let's give the 2nd worst team of the past 4 years the hardest start, under a new coach.

Collingwood get an easier draw than us ffs.
Ummm every other team got an easier draw than us.
Confirmed by us having the HARDEST draw to start the year.
Longest trip plus back to back away games.
Go AFL. Awesome FIXturing.

It's like comparing Suban to Elijah Hewett.

And no one is asking for a top 3 pick for Oscar in a trade, we're simply expecting band 1 compensation which would align with our current R1 pick = a top 3 pick.

Deliberately being obtuse or just not getting it and they should probably fold their account.

I don't agree that players don't care about money anymore after 30. Look at the entitled, greedy and super militant behaviour of our 2018 team once they started approaching 30. They wanted top dollar and even when they got it they only put in half assed efforts.

I didn't say that, but players that have been paid don't care as much about being paid. Lachie Neale isn't going to leave a good Brisbane side for an extra year or an extra $100-200k on his deal.

I think if Allen was brought in on a contract that made him the highest paid player or close to it (despite several years of producing very little on field aswell) there will be discontent and Brisbane can forget about preaching to it's playing list to take less than market value to keep the list together.

Maybe, but they brought in Joe Daniher who played 15 games in 3 years and that worked out OK.

I would bet if Brisbane are bringing in Oscar on big money it will be a very, very heavily backended deal with most of the money coming in the 5th and 6th years. Just like Lynch at Richmond is the close to the highest paid player in the comp right now because of how heavily backended his deal was. And that would be another thing for Allen to think about - the time value of money. If all the money is coming years from now how much will the value of that be eroded by government money printing between now and then, vrs getting paid earlier at West Coast.

They can pay him in bitcoin then.

You say Oscar Allen I say pick 3

Allen's scorecard is pretty bleak when you compare him to someone like Jesse Hogan, who you would hardly call a potential great.

View attachment 2292333

Admittedly Jesse walked in the door and was the #1 target at Melbourne vs Oscar having to get in the queue but I think it certainly explains why the club won't be cut to pieces if Oscar walks and we get band 1. Brissie will be banking on Oscar having a late career resurgence ala Hogan IMO.

People have short memories.

Back in 2015/16 On The Couch on Fox Footy used to ask every guest whether they would prefer key forward Jesse Hogan or hybrid forward Jake Stringer, such was the hype around those two players. No one foresaw that they would be 3rd club teammates at GWS a decade later.

Hogan was third in the comp for contested marks in his first season and kicked 44 goals. He kicked 40+ in 3 of his 4 seasons at Melbourne and the third he was on pace but missed half the year with testicular cancer.

Freo traded picks 6 and 23 to get Hogan. No one is offering us that for Allen. Pick 2 being on offer is purely a fuction of the compo system. The shock was that he failed at Freo (mainly due to off field issues), not that he succeeded at GWS. Hogan leading the comp in contested marks and kicking 77 goals last year is the player he projected to be 5-7 years ago.

This is such a weird take to keep pedalling.

If you truly think they have had the same career trajectory and have the same level of talent then you might want to stop huffing nangs mate.

It's an odd take.

If you want to compare players sure, but no club is offering us anything for Oscar Allen. Two clubs are reportedly offering Allen a contract, that's all. If the ladder was upside down we'd be looking at pick 20-25.

The real comparison is would you rather Allen for a long term deal worth $1m a year or someone like Taberner who was probably paid half that at his peak. Free agency is what it is. We got band 2 for Scott Lycett who was a good solid ruckman, but no one is offering pick 20 for a ruck that has played 75 games in 8 years.

You need to flip that red square to the left, as McClure on his podcast yesterday said he heard that West Coast’s revised contract is now 2 years.

In the same discussion Mitch Cleary said band 1 would be triggered by a $800k+ by 6 years contract.
Sounds like BS to me. They wouldn't revise the contract to two years. That is spitting in Allen's face. If they don't want to re - sign Allen they would more likely tell his management they want to put off further negotiations until later in the season.

McClures intel about the Eagles has been spot on before 🤥

The shock was that he failed at Freo

Donald Trump Idk GIF by Election 2016

Given we're not contending, and the high chance oscar is leaving....id rather expose reid and shanahan then waste games on allen.

Edit: i should add, im that over it i honestly dont give a flying heck of he decides to go...good on him for securing the best possible deal for him self and good on the club for finally drawing a line in the sand with good guy long term contracts.

Taberner wasn’t getting offers of 6 year deals in the vicinity of $1m a year like Allen is supposedly being offered. Or having meetings with opposition coaches who flew across the country to do so

That said, Allen is trading heavily on potential still, as 2023 aside, he hasn’t taken a season apart for a variety of reasons

McKay, Perryman and Battle have all been deemed worthy of Band 1 compensation in recent years so Allen triggering the same isn’t a stretch by any means
Not disagreeing.

Just highlighting that with Taberner like Stats, Oscar is hugely overrated on this board.

Not a bloke I would ever back to kick a bag in a grannie and pretty certain we won't be needing a 30 year old Oscar on our list just as we complete our rebuild.

List Mgmt. Oscar Allen Free Agency