Sacramento Kings
I know our board has some posters that just LOVE to shop. Well for some of us males that dislike it, like yours truly, can you point this hopeless soul to THE place where I can get some good winter clothing (and when I say winter, I mean below zero temperatures) at this time of the year? :(

Pretty please :o

JRs Surf and Ski on Grenfell Street have some great cold weather gear in the basement......Big Jackets especially......:thumbsu:

Other than that - Ray's Outdoors on West Tce

heading to Europe for Xmas Stiff...??

JRs Surf and Ski on Grenfell Street have some great cold weather gear in the basement......Big Jackets especially......:thumbsu:
Thanks dude. Got to check that out :thumbsu:

Other than that - Ray's Outdoors on West Tce
Been there, pretty ********. Nothing other than some decent footware :(

Thanks dude. Got to check that out :thumbsu:

Been there, pretty ********. Nothing other than some decent footware :(

you should go down Rundle Street (and there is 1 on Pirie St near city holden)

and look for the mountaineer shops there is 3 to 4 of them and they all stock the cold weather stuff :thumbsu:

I know our board has some posters that just LOVE to shop. Well for some of us males that dislike it, like yours truly, can you point this hopeless soul to THE place where I can get some good winter clothing (and when I say winter, I mean below zero temperatures) at this time of the year? :(

Pretty please :o
Get some good quality thermal underwear Stiffy. Apart from being a funny "joke" of sorts, given your Lewinski :p it actuallly works.
A thermal singlet under a long sleave T shirt and two pairs of thin sox, or one thin and one thick, always does the trick.

Kathmandu on Pirie St is very good Stiffy - pretty much got the whole range from thermals to the lovely big warm jackets! on the plus side for me is that I fit into the kids range :D

you should go down Rundle Street (and there is 1 on Pirie St near city holden)

and look for the mountaineer shops there is 3 to 4 of them and they all stock the cold weather stuff :thumbsu:

Agree - Rundle St is good. Another option is Snowy's on Richmond Road.

Definitely invest in good quality thermal underwear - leggings; t-shirt; socks and glove liners make all the difference. If this is a one-off experience, find a friend who goes skiing or mountaineering/bush walking etc and borrow their stuff.

Thank you kindly ladies and gents :) :thumbsu:

I'll make sure I check out those places.

*PAF, that thermal singlet under a long sleeve T-Shirt would get your ass frozen in Serbia when the snow is 1 meter high and the temperature is -10 :p

Thank you kindly ladies and gents :) :thumbsu:

I'll make sure I check out those places.

*PAF, that thermal singlet under a long sleeve T-Shirt would get your ass frozen in Serbia when the snow is 1 meter high and the temperature is -10 :p
Nah you misunderstood, dress as you would BUT make sure you also have a thermal singlet/T -shirt and "double layered" sox on.
Better than an EXTRA jumper, no matter how thick the jumper is.

Kathmandu on Pirie St is very good Stiffy - pretty much got the whole range from thermals to the lovely big warm jackets! on the plus side for me is that I fit into the kids range :D
i agree with this place!

Hey Stiffy! Where are you going? I'm going to Europe in jan-mar. I've been buying up on all winter stuff. Ski jackets, jumpers etc. I got my thick rip curl ski jacket for torquay's rip curl seconds, so if you travel interstate make a definite pitstop there...trust me!! I also brought my bag from ray's outdoors but I'm waiting to see thermals at a decent price. I'm not going to pay over $30 for thermals because I have been told if i do, I would be ripped off. Are you seeing your model friend that moved to london a few years back? :thumbsu:

Nah you misunderstood, dress as you would BUT make sure you also have a thermal singlet/T -shirt and "double layered" sox on.
Better than an EXTRA jumper, no matter how thick the jumper is.
My appologies.

Thermals are gold in european winters and good waterproof hiking boots are a must have :D

Look on the bright side, I am going into the season of festivties so if thermals and clothes don't keep me warm, there will be plenty of shlivovitz to get the blood pumping and kill a few brain cells :D (not that there is many left ;) )

i agree with this place!

Hey Stiffy! Where are you going? I'm going to Europe in jan-mar. I've been buying up on all winter stuff. Ski jackets, jumpers etc. I got my thick rip curl ski jacket for torquay's rip curl seconds, so if you travel interstate make a definite pitstop there...trust me!! I also brought my bag from ray's outdoors but I'm waiting to see thermals at a decent price. I'm not going to pay over $30 for thermals because I have been told if i do, I would be ripped off. Are you seeing your model friend that moved to london a few years back? :thumbsu:
I am going over to Serbia, Bosnia, Croatia and a couple of weeks in Switzerland for a skiing holiday with my best mate from Portugal.

Just visiting family and friends along the way. A lot of cousins that are in europe are all making a trip back during the december-january period so we will all be there together to run amok. Should be a LOT of fun :D.

I can't wait to go skiing. Its been a long time and I am already looking forward to stepping on the snow and hearing that "crunching" sound :thumbsu:

I am pretty well stocked on thermals and a couple of warm jackets. Got a few jumpers that will do but its almost impossible to find warms pants at this time of the year here. Thats something that I am finding most difficult to find. I guess I might have to shopping for some pants over there

Not planning to go to London. I will have a fair bit of time over there so who knows. I am going in a couple of weeks time and come back in mid february. Most likely will miss the Crows-Norwood game but should be back for the NAB Cup

Where are you going?

I am going over to Serbia, Bosnia, Croatia and a couple of weeks in Switzerland for a skiing holiday with my best mate from Portugal.

Just visiting family and friends along the way. A lot of cousins that are in europe are all making a trip back during the december-january period so we will all be there together to run amok. Should be a LOT of fun .

I can't wait to go skiing. Its been a long time and I am already looking forward to stepping on the snow and hearing that "crunching" sound

I am pretty well stocked on thermals and a couple of warm jackets. Got a few jumpers that will do but its almost impossible to find warms pants at this time of the year here. Thats something that I am finding most difficult to find. I guess I might have to shopping for some pants over there

Not planning to go to London. I will have a fair bit of time over there so who knows. I am going in a couple of weeks time and come back in mid february. Most likely will miss the Crows-Norwood game but should be back for the NAB Cup

Where are you going?
I'm going to... Italy, France, Spain, Luxembourg, Belgium, Netherlands, Denmark, Amsterdam, Ireland, Slovenia, Sweden, Poland, Hungary, Germany, Ireland and, Austria* from jan till march, so that's around 3-5 days in each place. I'm going with the boy but meeting up with a few friends in Germany, Italy and France. I can't wait! I've never seen proper snow before and now I am getting thrown in the deep in..literally! And I've never been overseas before so I will just be wide eyed all the time over there!

Where did you get your thermals from? How much? Can you try them on in store? :o Thats why I'm too scared to buy mine, I dont think you can try it on because it is basically the bare essential!

Maybe for warm pants try Harbour town as they would be stocking winter stock atm...well one would think they would be. or.....Op Shops? They may be the way to go. I still have to buy things like scarfe, gloves, shoes, etc. I'm still getting over $192 for a passport :eek:

* bound to have forgotten somewhere. :p

Pity you didnt think about buys winter/skiing clothing when they have the sales on in Melbourne for snow season here, would have got some good bargins..

Enjoy your trips both AE and Stiffy.

Im heading to the UK myself in March next year and USA in Oct/Nov.

Hey AE, give me a little hoy if you want some info on some of those places from someone who has been there recently!

Helpful hint no 1 - when walking in snow in a city/town avoid sidewalks and stick to the grassed areas as you will not end up on your rear often. Snow turns to black ice /slush on paved areas and makes it bluddy hard to walk on.

I'm going to... Italy, France, Spain, Luxembourg, Belgium, Netherlands, Denmark, Amsterdam, Ireland, Slovenia, Sweden, Poland, Hungary, Germany, Ireland and, Austria* from jan till march, so that's around 3-5 days in each place. I'm going with the boy but meeting up with a few friends in Germany, Italy and France. I can't wait! I've never seen proper snow before and now I am getting thrown in the deep in..literally! And I've never been overseas before so I will just be wide eyed all the time over there!

Where did you get your thermals from? How much? Can you try them on in store? Thats why I'm too scared to buy mine, I dont think you can try it on because it is basically the bare essential!

Maybe for warm pants try Harbour town as they would be stocking winter stock atm...well one would think they would be. or.....Op Shops? They may be the way to go. I still have to buy things like scarfe, gloves, shoes, etc. I'm still getting over $192 for a passport
You will be spending SO much time in transit, you will need a holiday when you get back from a holiday :p

As for Thermals, they are not cheap but trust me, when you get to europe they will be worth every cent you paid for them. You can't try them in stores so you have to buy your size.

I did go for what I think are the best thermals around and the top part alone is about $50 but from experience, they are VERY VERY good and worth the extra $$.

Good gloves are hard to find here so thats one thing I might be buying over there. As far as shoes go, definetly take the mountain hiking boots. They are god sent and who ever invented them deserves a medal. Again, not cheap but worth their weight in gold.

Been to Harbour Town but couldn't find the pants that are warm and I like. Found a great long coat for formal ocassions for 30% the original price :thumbsu:. I look like a ganster in it :p

Hey AE, give me a little hoy if you want some info on some of those places from someone who has been there recently!

Helpful hint no 1 - when walking in snow in a city/town avoid sidewalks and stick to the grassed areas as you will not end up on your rear often. Snow turns to black ice /slush on paved areas and makes it bluddy hard to walk on.

The girl knows what she is talking about :cool:

Must have experienced some rather embarassing and painful falls somewhere along the way :p

argh

transit :thumbsd:

It only feels like yesterday but three months ago I got back from my 7 week stint in Europe and America

it was great until the American part - Since the yanks love lining up they were fine but FFS it was over the top !

I loved France, check you passport if your unlucky, apart from that thanks for coming :thumbsu:

The girl knows what she is talking about :cool:

Must have experienced some rather embarassing and painful falls somewhere along the way :p

Used to have to walk to work in Leeds and I am very thankful for my years spent doing gymnastics that I didn't have those embarassing and painful falls. Although it was a close run thing a few times and I had to walk along the main roads into town, It was kinda funny when I was going faster than the cars (leave it in first and what ever happens, don't brake!) :D

Hey Nicki! Thanks so much for offering, I am starting to get scared of a few things in Europe and wanted to know if its true or not...

Is Rome really that bad with pick pockets? as in they will just throw a "fake" baby/map into your face and try to unzip all of your pockets and go searching? I'm starting to get scared of this, even though we will have a money bag.

In France are they arrogant to you if you don't know the french language? And are they also the same if you are trying to speak the language? Basically do they just don't like foreigners?

Is the line up for things like effle tower etc huge in the winter?

sorry that was probably too many questions :o But thankyou so much if you can answer these for me, because they are the things I'm starting to get worried about. We're visiting all these places on EuRail and the trip to Poland and Ireland on Ryan Air. So hopefully it is all okay. :o

You will be spending SO much time in transit, you will need a holiday when you get back from a holiday

As for Thermals, they are not cheap but trust me, when you get to europe they will be worth every cent you paid for them. You can't try them in stores so you have to buy your size.

I did go for what I think are the best thermals around and the top part alone is about $50 but from experience, they are VERY VERY good and worth the extra $$.

Good gloves are hard to find here so thats one thing I might be buying over there. As far as shoes go, definetly take the mountain hiking boots. They are god sent and who ever invented them deserves a medal. Again, not cheap but worth their weight in gold.

Been to Harbour Town but couldn't find the pants that are warm and I like. Found a great long coat for formal ocassions for 30% the original price . I look like a ganster in it

Thanks Stiffy! yeah I have to start to get a move on buying all this stuff but I'm still organising all of my train tickets etc, which is a pain because you can only get them 3 months in advance. :thumbsd: But I will start buyinga ll this stuff on the weekend....It's a bit hard though because I'm going to Vietnam in mid dec for a week, so that cuts out half of my time to prepare, then I come back have christmas, and basically get ready to go on the 30th dec. Not that greatly planned but I couldnt resist the Vietnam jetstar sale....:o

And as for the holiday when I get back from my holiday, in april next year I go to Tassie for a "long" weekend :D Get to see the footy over there too!

Hey Nicki! Thanks so much for offering, I am starting to get scared of a few things in Europe and wanted to know if its true or not...

Is Rome really that bad with pick pockets? as in they will just throw a "fake" baby/map into your face and try to unzip all of your pockets and go searching? I'm starting to get scared of this, even though we will have a money bag.

In France are they arrogant to you if you don't know the french language? And are they also the same if you are trying to speak the language? Basically do they just don't like foreigners?

Is the line up for things like effle tower etc huge in the winter?

sorry that was probably too many questions :o But thankyou so much if you can answer these for me, because they are the things I'm starting to get worried about. We're visiting all these places on EuRail and the trip to Poland and Ireland on Ryan Air. So hopefully it is all okay. :o

Not too many questions at all AE.

Rome - is shocking for pickpockets, but the only time I saw trouble was on the main buses to the tourist areas. The pickpocket wasn't that subtle at all. Rome is best seen walking around any way. If we had a backpack it was always on facing forward with arms around it. Money bags are kinda viewable if you keep it hanging around your neck in the open liek some of them do and even under most clothes they are 'viewable'. The best one is the one that goes around your waist and don't get money out of it in public places (including shops). Just keep what you want to spend that day in a normal purse /wallet is my advice. I had a normal purse and most of the time just tried to look more like locals and not tourists. Didn't have problems that way.

Been to both Paris and down to the Azure coast (Nice, Cannes, Monaco) and I found all the french quite lovely. One woman in a restaurant kindly, through hand signals and french told me to put my handbag between my knees and not on the floor under the table as I ate. I think she started to chat away to me because she thought I knew french as I knew the staples and apparently used the right accent. Smiles and nods work really well in any language, plus most places will have someone that knows english anyway. Most schools in Europe it is mandatory for the students to learn english :D

Winter - there is almost no line ups. Head for the Eiffel tower towards sunset, watching the sun set over Paris, nice. Versailles as well is great in winter according to my parents, no queues and almost no one else to get in the way of your shots.

I hate Ryan Air - be prepared for them to not be on time, to be the rudest grumpiest people imaginable and the seats etc to be well below what we normally expect. Easyjet and Jet2 are so much better.

Feel free to fire anything else my way.

Is Rome really that bad with pick pockets?
Oh, yes it is so keep your eyes and ears open for everything. Keep the money and documents tucked away somewhere where they are not easily reachable. One of those around the waist money bags is the way to go but keep them close to the skin and have a lot of clothes over it.

Also when you are in trains, same things apply. MANY MANY pick pocketers in the trains (and not just in Rome). Keep you laguagge in your sight at all times. Don't dress flashy and don't have flashy bags. Try to blend into the crowd as much as possible.

Oh, and you will need a nice warm beanie :D. Slovenia is a beautiful place :thumbsu: