OT: Where Do You Work???

• Thread starter Thread starter maccas_no1

TP - that's some fairly high standard of living places you chose to work in ;) Apart from Bonnie Scotland

I loved scotland, Edinburgh was my favourite city (just after Prague), but the cost of living is considerably cheaper than the others on your list.

A little hint for those that are heading overseas to work and travel - if you end up in the UK - Don't stay in London or else you will be like those poms that come over to work in Sydney and only fraternise will all the other expats and not actually see the real UK

Are you serious? i never worked as an investment banker in australia..but here in Europe, you get paid a fortune.Try Switzerland, i am on a juicy salary and enjoying my life over here :cool:

I ****ing envy you. To live and earn a juicy salary in europe is a dream. I hope that I get to do the same down the track.

Would love to live and work somewhere in europe. Zurich would be nice :D

I am not a big fan of correspondence.

I did my Year 12 via correspondence.

One 45-minute conference call (with 5-6 other kids/mature age students) per subject, per week, without internet access.

Magic.

Dude,

the Swiss are famous low payers, tending to pay their guys a bit less than they should, which is made up off the back of lower state and canton taxes.

the only way to really get the Swiss to pony up, is to work for a swiss co. outside the country. i.e. UK, Bermuda, or the States.

Spot on :thumbsu:

Its the reason yours truly is putting in some ground work into getting a job in the Swiss Software company in Belgrade. Pitty my german has gone down the gurgular since high school. It would come in very handy. Some of the pay packets those people are on are enormous.

I ****ing envy you. To live and earn a juicy salary in europe is a dream. I hope that I get to do the same down the track.

Would love to live and work somewhere in europe. Zurich would be nice :D

I live in Zurich, the company pays for my accomodation :D , so no worries there.Zurich is just awesome, the clubs, the music, the DJs, the food, the beer lol ummm oh yes...women :D

Spot on :thumbsu:

Its the reason yours truly is putting in some ground work into getting a job in the Swiss Software company in Belgrade. Pitty my german has gone down the gurgular since high school. It would come in very handy. Some of the pay packets those people are on are enormous.

I know what you mean, but if the Swiss govt decides that anyone earning less than AUD 34,000 is below poverty line, and switzerland having only 3.5% below poverty line...its not hard to work out the salary level isnt it??? lets say, compared to other developed nations???

I live in Zurich, the company pays for my accomodation :D , so no worries there.Zurich is just awesome, the clubs, the music, the DJs, the food, the beer lol ummm oh yes...women :D
Mate Zurich is absolutely brilliant place to be. I was there for a couple of days back in december and absolutely loved it. It wasn't voted as the best city to live in for nothing.

Sensational city!

Mate Zurich is absolutely brilliant place to be. I was there for a couple of days back in december and absolutely loved it. It wasn't voted as the best city to live in for nothing.

Sensational city!

Not too many aussies here though, we have an aussie abroad group here in switzerland, but most of them are old and grumpy :D

i'm not at a branch. in a settlements department of a loan centre.

Look, about that... can I have another couple of weeks? You see, my Aunty Gareth just died and my budgie's been reeeeeally sick...

where have people done their MBA's ???

whats the best one to do corrospondence ?

the education is much the like the job, you need to go overseas to get it.

the AGSM MBA is not a bad program, the melbourne uni master of finance is not bad... but really, you need to take the plunge.

nb. correspondence is just going to make your qualification seem less important. the major programs wouldn't dream of it.

A little hint for those that are heading overseas to work and travel - if you end up in the UK - Don't stay in London or else you will be like those poms that come over to work in Sydney and only fraternise will all the other expats and not actually see the real UK

that presumes someone wants to see the "real UK". ;)

the education is much the like the job, you need to go overseas to get it.

the AGSM MBA is not a bad program, the melbourne uni master of finance is not bad... but really, you need to take the plunge.

nb. correspondence is just going to make your qualification seem less important. the major programs wouldn't dream of it.

yes that is all well and good - but its a bit tough to get to lectures from Adelaide if they are based interstate or O/S and coorespondence is seem as sub standard

I loved scotland, Edinburgh was my favourite city (just after Prague), but the cost of living is considerably cheaper than the others on your list.

Agree hence when I go next year I wil be flying with Emirates and going MEL-DXB-MAN.......no where near London:p