Other Australasian casinos (not Crown or Burswood)

Feb 15, 2002
Jackson-Steinem
Bluestar Airlines, Anacott Steel
Casino details provided by red+black

finallogo.png
skycitylogo.gif
jupitersbottom.gif
treasurybottom.gif
plogoreefhotelcasino.jpg

Some useful info on Australian casinos: http://poker.com.au/news/casinos/

**** More casino information to come ****

KEY:
PF
= particpation fee; a per hand charge that goes to the house
HF = hourly fee; a per hour charge that goes to the house
RAKE = pot charge; a charge deducted from a winning pot that goes to the house (eg: 10%/ 8 means 10% of the pot to a max $8)

Code:
[URL=http://www.adelaidecasino.com.au/Casino/Poker-Zone.html][B]Adelaide - SkyCity[/B][/URL] (updated Feb 8, 2010)
Tables: 14 (Open: Mo-Th 1900-0345, Fr 1900-0545, Sa 1615-0545, Su 1615-0245)
                    ([B]during ANZPT, opens daily at 1215[/B])

[B]GAME         BUY-IN     PF   RAKE     HF   COMMENTS[/B]
  4/ 8  LH     40+       0   ???      0    Mo-Su
  1/ 2 NLH     20-100    0   10%/10   0    Mo-Su
  2/ 3 NLH     60- 180   0   10%/10   0    Mo-Su
  5/ 5 NLH    150- 500   0   ???      0    We-Su
  1/ 2 PLO     60- 200   0   ???      0    Mo-Su
  5/ 5 PLO    150- 500   0   ???      0    We-Su

[i]- blackjack cards used, corner rank/pip is very small
- soft drinks, coffee, iced coffee $1, red bull $5
- no drinks or phones on table, no using phone when seated[/I]

Alice Springs: Lasseters Hotel Casino
- Newsletter

Code:
[URL=http://www.conrad.com.au/treasury/gaming/tablegames_default.htm][B]Brisbane - Conrad Treasury[/B][/URL] (updated Jun 11, 2008)
Tables: 8 (Open: Mo-Su 1000-0300, depending on demand*)

5/10  LH   ??? - ???  ??   ???/??    0
  1/ 2 NLH     80 flat   1    0%/0    0   1-2 tables
2.5/ 5 NLH    100- 200   0   10%/10    0   2 tables
2.5/ 5 NLH    200- 500   0    5%/20    0   usually 1 table only

[i]- * some tables may open at 1000, some at 1200
- * tables could close early on weekdays (at 0000-0100)
- * tables could close late on weekends (to 0500-0600)
- * tables could even remain open 24 hrs over the weekend
- no food or drink service
- State Law: BB must be 2xSB (eg. 2/3 not permissable), rat-holing allowed[/I]

Cairns: Reef Hotel Casino
- Open: Su-Th 1000-0300, Fr-Sa 1000-0500

Code:
[URL=http://www.casinocanberra.com.au/casino_club.php?sc20][B]Canberra - Casino Canberra[/B][/URL] (updated Jun 06, 2008)
Tables: 6 (Open: Su-Th 1200-0400, Fr-Sa 1200-0545)

5/ 5 NLH    ???- ???  --    5%/15   --   
  5/10 PLH    ???-????  --   10%/30   --   

[i]- all tournament entrants must be Casino Club members (visit Guest Services)
- tournament bookings are essential (max 35 seats)
- call (02) 6257 7074 between 1200-0545 daily
- $100 Thursday tournaments (2007: 18/1-22/3, 12/4-14/6, 5/7-6/9, 27/9-29/11)
- Five and Seven Card Stud PL, Canberra Manila, Omaha, 5/5 NLH and Draw Poker
- SnGs on Fri nights, dealers choice on Sunday[/I]

Darwin: SkyCity Darwin
- three tables operating Thursday to Sunday ONLY
- only game is $5/$10 No Limit Holdem, $100-$500 buy-in

Hobart: Wrest Point Casino
- only holdem game is 5/10 limit, $300+ buy-in, no SnG's/tourneys
- unlimited raises on the river
- Thursday, 1 table of 8, 1 table of 10, 7pm till late
- Friday, 1 table of 8, 1 table of 10, 8pm till late
- Saturday, 1 table of 8, 1 table of 10, 8pm till late
- need to book ahead, call cash desk 03 6225 0112 in the morning

Code:
[URL=http://www.jupitersgoldcoast.com.au/][B]Gold Coast - Conrad Jupiters[/B][/URL] (updated Feb 27, 2008)
Tables: 4 (Open: Mo-Su 1200-late)

5/10  LH    500-1000  $1   --       --   1-2 tables
 10/20  LH   1000-2000  $1   --       --   rare
2.5/ 5 PLH    100- 300   0    5%/20    0   1-3 tables

[I]- no foreign objects allowed on table
- card shufflers used, cards dealt from shoe
- dealer usually announces community cards
- raises must be verbally announced
- no food or drink service
- State Law: BB must be 2xSB (eg. 2/3 not permissable), rat-holing allowed[/I]

Launceston: Country Club Tasmania
- only holdem game is 5/10 limit, $100+ buy-in, no SnG's/tourneys
- Wednesday, 1 table of 10, 7:30pm till late
- Thursday, 1 table of 10, 7:30pm till late
- Friday, 1 table of 10, 7:30pm till late
- need to book ahead, call cash desk 03 6335 5718 in the morning

Code:
[URL=http://www.starcity.com.au/][B]Sydney: StarCity[/B][/URL] (updated Oct 04, 2010)
Tables: 25 (Open: Mo-Su 24 hours)

1/ 2 NLH    100- 200   0   10%/8     5
  5/ 5 NLH    200 flat  ??   ???      --
  5/ 5 NLH    200- 500  ??   ???      --
  5/10 NLH    500-1000  ??   ???      --
 10/20 NLH   1000-4000  ??   ???      --

[i]- no phones or music devices allowed at table
- headwear only allowed in poker room[/I]

Townsville: Jupiters Townsville

Auckland: SkyCity Auckland

Christchurch: Christchurch Casino
- Home of the New Zealand Poker Championships (April 14-22, 2007)

Dunedin: Dunedin Casino

Hamilton: SkyCity Hamilton

Queenstown: SkyCity Queenstown

If the Pot Limit Omaha has no rebuys I'm moving

Re: Australian (and NZ) Casino discussion (except for Crown Casino)

Cheapskate. At a maximum, you rebuy straight off, rebuy a couple more times, then take a double add-on, so think of it as a $205 buy-in. Probably one of the cheapest PLO casino tournaments going around. Standard for Crown is $340+$100.

I plan to call every casino in Australia and New Zealand and gather info on cash games and tournaments. My vision is this a a repository for the Australian or Nez Zealand poker player to not only discuss their local casino, but when travelling, to include poker on your itinerary. As an example, you might be off snowboarding to New Zealand's South Island in July. Well, wouldn't it be good to know what Queenstown casino has to offer for us poker players?

SkyCity Adelaide:
- Poker room open Tuesday to Saturday from 7pm
- First Floor - near Grandstand Bar
- offering Texas Holdem, Omaha, Two Card Manila and Three Card Manila
- Weekly Tuesday Night $40 Tournament @ 7:00pm

Can I suggest we merge threads relating to Australian casinos as I think a single repository would be helpful, and the threads in existence are all rather small. From what I could find:

Tries, it came out confusing as all hell and looked ridiculous. We can use this thread from now on and I've removed the 1st half of your original post now that I've answered it. Shame it couldn't work out.

Edit: Useful posts from that thread are below.

Sky City

howdy every1, this will only probably apply to a few people, was wondering if any of you guys have been to SkyCity Casino, if so how are there poker games set up, i know they were having tournaments every wednesday with 85 dollar buy in but that was a bit steep for a yr 12, im hoping to go into their tomorrow, how are their torunaments structured? any assistance will be greatly appreicated

Yeah i was also wondering about the poker at skycity was really looking to find out how much it is just to sit in one, just turned 18 and been playing poker with m8s for a couple of years so would love to get down there and have a go

went there a few weeks ago, unfortunately the tournaments have finished for the year (i think i read that..)

you basically buy-in to the table, there were 8 $40 tables and 2 $100 tables, you buy in, and then play, the chip value is $2 a chip from what i could see.

looked like fun. will play next time i'm there.. :thumbsu:

Yeh i wanted to play for a while now..one night while in the city(verrry intoxicated) i went there and actually bought my chups to play on the 40 buck table..but cos my mates card didnt work he couldnt play so i just cashed back in without going to a table.

A question Mr Smooth....that night i remmeber asking the guy if i can just cash in any time once ive had enough...if i rememeber correctly he said you can only cash in a minumum of your buy in ammount??? so this meant if say i lost 2 bucks and went down to 38 i couldnt cash it in???? id just have to use the rest in hope of going higher than the original 40 bucks.. Is this true?? if so that sucks big time!

I've played at 3 different Casino's around Aus now and if thats so, it's not only stupid it's also the only Casino to have this rule.
Allthough at Crown you pay $5 an hour to the house aswell as them raking the pot.
So i suppose anything is possible

Probably a stupid question but do you have to be a poker dealer to enter the Casino Employees tournaments?

I imagine the standard would still be quite high because few people gamble more than casino dealers when they go away on interstate trips.

By the way good work r+b.

Star City

Im going up to Sydney for a few days, and for our Sydney friends, or anyone who has played there really, can you describe the poker facilities or what level games they offer?

For one I'm assuming its basically not run round the clock such as Crown, and there would be a lot less level of games. Hopefully someone can help me out.

A mate of mine who lives in Sydney plays pretty regularly. Apparantly there are about a dozen tables with both limit and nolimit holdem. In terms of setup, Crown has it all over Star City but I guess thats to be expected as Star City is an absolute dive.

I had a look around on another board and found this as their games:

$5/$10 limit
$10/$20 limit
$5/$5 NL - $200 buyin
$5/$10 Half pot - no max buyin
3 card manila - $10/$20/$40 limit

Now, I would only ever play the first 3, and i think the $5/$5 is a terrible level for beginners. Guys who would only want to bring $50 or even $100 for that matter, you're putting $10 in blinds everytime round, and thats only if you're 10-handed, thats crazy for beginners who just want to learn.

If this is all true, for the low-level no limit, and I guess Hold-Em in general, Crown really does crap all over it, as expected.

Star City's poker page

AA, can you find out some info on Star City SnG's if you get a chance?

Tasmania

Been thinking of taking a holiday to Tasmania, so I called the two casinos down there:

Hobart:
- only holdem game is 5/10 limit, $300+ buy-in, no SnG's/tourneys
- unlimited raises on the river
- Thursday, 1 table of 8, 1 table of 10, 7pm till late
- Friday, 1 table of 10, 8pm till late (other table plays stud I think)
- Saturday, 1 table of 8, 1 table of 10, 8pm till late
- need to book ahead, call cash desk 03 6225 0112 in the morning

Launceston:
- only holdem game is 5/10 limit, $100+ buy-in, no SnG's/tourneys
- Wednesday, 1 table of 10, 7:30pm till late
- Thursday, 1 table of 10, 7:30pm till late
- Friday, 1 table of 10, 7:30pm till late
- need to book ahead, call cash desk 03 6335 5718 in the morning

How do you post a $2.50 small blind? Would they have a $2.50 chip?

Well Crown actually has 50 cent chips so Im guessing its much the same.

Pretty sure Crown also has $2.50 chips on some games. They certainly used to have the on Blackjack/Pontoon for when you would get paid $37.50 for a BJ on $25 bet fo example. They also have 50c and 25c chips though.

I read over at PNW that 5 card Stud is no longer played, so it's just LHE now.

Don't worry, the poker craze should hit Tasmania in about 5 years. Things tend to move more slowly down there ;)

Sooo what's the poker scene like in the city of churches? I'm heading over on Thursday for the cricket with some mates and want to try to get some poker in.

Thurs nights at adelaide casino there are buy in tourni's...$60 from memory

other than that there are tables fri, sat and sunday nights that you can sit and leave at when ever you wish.....normally the wait for these is'nt too long at all

i found it to be very poor....

The sit n go's on thursday are good, but the cash games are full of fish, unless you want to play NL. but some of the NL tables have a max buy in of $60. not really worth it.

they have 4/8 limit and they just call with ATC. it gets very frustrating. on the other hand their betting patters are very obvious and i was calling peoples hands all night on the 4/8 limit. so money can be made.

good money in the 2 table sit n go ($50 buy in) or 1 table ($180 buy in) strat with 4000 chips and 20 min blind levels

this might be the best way to go

good luck

I like it...but its the only real cash I've played...won $180 profit the first time I played (posted this before) but ever since (played about 3 more times) have always lost, mainly cause my mates get sick of watching and wanna leave and I've a little too much to drink

Probably a stupid question but do you have to be a poker dealer to enter the Casino Employees tournaments?

I imagine the standard would still be quite high because few people gamble more than casino dealers when they go away on interstate trips.

Yes, criteria for a Casino Dealer's tournament is 1) you must be a casino dealer, and b) you must work in some other casino. Although, I wouldn't be surprised if the limitation extends to casino netorks, that is, a dealer at SkyCity Sydney might not be able to play at SkyCity Adelaide. :confused:

Sky City Adelaide - January Tournament Series, January 22-28, 2007.

Monday January 22
1:00pm – $1545 Guaranteed Freeroll (rebuys/add-ons $20, double add-ons $30)
7:00pm - $35+$10 rebuys Skycity Adelaide Championship Event Satellite

Tuesday January 23
1:00pm - $30+$10 rebuys Casino Employees Event Super Satellite
7:00pm - $75+$20 rebuys NZ Championship Super Satellite

Wednesday January 24
1:00pm - $215+$30 Casino Employees Main Event
7:00pm - $60+$20 NZ Championship Satellite Series

Thursday January 25
1:00pm - $105+$20 Pot Limit Omaha
7:00pm - $150+$30 Ladies Only No Limit Holdem

Friday January 26
11:30am - $335+$40 Australia Day Cup PL/NL
5:30pm - $75+$20 NZ Championship Super Satellite

Saturday January 27
11:30am – Heat 1 $585+$75 NZ Championship Final
5:30pm – Heat 2 $585+$75 NZ Championship Final

Sunday January 28
11:30am – Day 2 NZ Championship Final

I was thinking of going to the cricket in Tassie and play some poker, but unfortunately it's too soon for me:

Sun 14 (Australia v New Zealand) and Tue 16 (England v New Zealand).

Maybe I'll have a look during the footy season:
Code:
Round  4   Sun 22rd Apr  Hawthorn vs. Geelong        1:10pm
Round  9   Sat 26th May  Hawthorn vs. West Coast     2:10pm
Round 17   Sun 29th Jul  Hawthorn vs. Kangaroos      1:10pm
Round 20   Sun 19th Aug  Hawthorn vs. Port Adelaide  1:10pm

Sky City Adelaide - January Tournament Series, January 22-28, 2007.

Monday January 22
1:00pm – $1545 Guaranteed Freeroll (rebuys/add-ons $20, double add-ons $30)
7:00pm - $35+$10 rebuys Skycity Adelaide Championship Event Satellite

Tuesday January 23
1:00pm - $30+$10 rebuys Casino Employees Event Super Satellite
7:00pm - $75+$20 rebuys NZ Championship Super Satellite

Wednesday January 24
1:00pm - $215+$30 Casino Employees Main Event
7:00pm - $60+$20 NZ Championship Satellite Series

Thursday January 25
1:00pm - $105+$20 Pot Limit Omaha
7:00pm - $150+$30 Ladies Only No Limit Holdem

Friday January 26
11:30am - $335+$40 Australia Day Cup PL/NL
5:30pm - $75+$20 NZ Championship Super Satellite

Saturday January 27
11:30am – Heat 1 $585+$75 NZ Championship Final
5:30pm – Heat 2 $585+$75 NZ Championship Final

Sunday January 28
11:30am – Day 2 NZ Championship Final

Wow, these buy-ins are disgusting. Especially $60+20, are you serious? 33%? That's absolutely gross.

Code:
Round  4   Sun 22rd Apr  Hawthorn vs. Geelong        1:10pm

I still plan to update this thread for all Aussie casinos. I have stacks of leave available so I'm looking at going to Tassie for this match. If you couldn't guess, I'm an Essendon supporter but I love neutral games, and Hawks Cats should be a good one.

Only problem is that the Crown Melbourne Poker Championships will be around this time (was 21-30/4 last year).

Added entries for Cairns, Townsville, Dunedin and Christchurch. Added some notes for Canberra.

Trying to create a list of questions to ask the casinos. For starters:

What forms of poker do you run?
[ ] Limit Holdem
[ ] No Limit Holdem
[ ] Omaha
[ ] Omaha Hi-Lo
[ ] Draw
[ ] Stud
[ ] Manila

How many poker tables do you have?

Are the poker tables open every day? Do the tables close at a particular hour?

Do you run Sit n Go's or tournaments?

Any special house rules?

What is the buy-in for holdem poker? What is the hourly charge? What is the rake?

Is it possible to book a seat in advance?

Trying to create a list of questions to ask the casinos. For starters:

What forms of poker do you run?
[ ] Limit Holdem
[ ] No Limit Holdem
[ ] Omaha
[ ] Omaha Hi-Lo
[ ] Draw
[ ] Stud
[ ] Manila

How many poker tables do you have?

Are the poker tables open every day?

Do you run Sit n Go's or tournaments?

Any special house rules?

What is the buy-in for holdem poker?

Is it possible to book a seat in advance?

Perhaps ask if the poker tables close. If so when?

Does anyone know if they play in Cairns?

Thanks

Played at Jupiters Saturday night, pretty ordinary standard and only four tables, but I just picked my spots - was there probably 2 hours and only played four hands - and ended up $140 up at 5/10 limit.

There was one bloke there who bet/called EVERYTHING - the table read JT87J - all rainbow - and he called a raise & a re-raise with KQ! Funnily enough, he tended to hit most of his rubbish and ended up a couple of hundred ahead!

Am I correct in saying that Jupiters still does not offer No Limit Holdem?