Our 2009 Draw thoughts?

I'm a bit dispappointed - was keen to play next years best prospects as much as possible, which are Carlton, Collingwood, Western Bulldogs, Hawks. Hard to see too many interstate teams being much chop next year.

****ing sunday games....they suck the big one.

and what reward do you get for finishing on top the afl ladder or premiership, more ****in sunday games (the hawks sunday games increased as well).

Completely agree Forss. Sunday games suck ass, hate em so much. :thumbsd:

this league needs a rolling fixture now ffs!!

it is just wrong to have the same teams - save for finals - meetin' eachother once a f**ken year.

I completely agree, as it seems do heaps of other footy lovers. But you try telling that to Demetriou and all you get is a standard answer that consists of 'crowds are up, the game is more popular than ever'. What a load of crap, of course it's popular, crowds are up because the fixture is contrived more and more each year.

don't protect the ole man too much shell - foreskin gets upset coz it's a school nite and he can't have too many!

Hehe, thats why i dont like them too! :o

Eh, but mainly cause it seems like the whole weekend is just sitting around waiting for the footy. I prefer to play Friday night or Saturday and have the rest of the weekend free. Plus ya match gets analysed by the dorks on the Sunday footy show!

Eh im clutching at straws here arent I. :o

Are there any twilight games at all? Anyone know?

on the other hand - at least sunday games don't interfere with most weddings, parties, anything.

-snort-. I dont miss the football for anything TC. You're obviously not hardcore like the rest of us. :p

And more and more weddings are on Sundays now. I've been to two this year anyway.

Face it, we've been that good over the past two seasons it doesn't matter what the draw is.

Five six-day breaks is pretty good. The five-day break before Collingwood doesn't matter because they're in the same boat.

The thing that has annoyed me is the Hawthorn home game in Round 1. How come we couldn't unfurl our flag at home in Round 1? Looks like they have done away with the losing grand finalist getting the home game against the winner in Round 1.

Hopefully the ceremony will be greeted with a chorus of boos from the Geelong fans. I certainly won't be applauding them.

it's like we play the same teams over & over again, year after year.

jeez, sometimes a man needs to have a lil bit of variety.

I agree, we never get to play Man U or Real Madrid. Not sure why

play richmond once in round 2
play coll once in round 3
play carlton once in round 19.

Is it physically impossible to give us two games in a season against the pies?
We have played the least of any two clubs in the last 15 years
Is it the afl's way of dealing with the jumper clash?

5 interstate games, same as 2008. At least there is a 14 day break between the two Subiaco games in Rounds 11 and 12.

Personally, I'm looking forward to seeing Geelong are play up here on a Saturday night in Round 15 :thumbsu:

I'm pretty sure the club asked for extra Sunday games as we had next to none this year. Sunday games actually do suit a lot of supporters, especially the ones who like to play or involve themselves in local club footy on the Saturday arvo.

This is probably the best draw Geelong has received for a long while.

Unlike me!
Nothing beats an Old Satdy Arvo' at the Footy with a Pie! :thumbsu:

I'm annoyed that like normal we only play Essendon, Collingwood and Carlton once.

Between 2000 and 2009 (10 seasons) we will have played:
Collingwood 11 times
Essendon 12 times
Carlton 12 times

Its been 5 seasons since we played any of those three sides twice in a season (2005 when we played Essendon twice).

Amen to that. :thumbsu:

Headline on todays HS re the fixture. "Pies, Blues winners in 2009 AFL Draw". Yeah no shit sherlock. That headline could have been written back in May for this occasion. :rolleyes:
My comment regarding the same thing should be up there soon - taking a while today.