Analysis Our Backline, coming along nicely.

TheSierBear

soft spot for Carlton out of pity
I think this has been unheralded as a unit over the past two weeks but it's also been a work in progress for some time.

In the off-season we picked up Sam Murray who looks as good and as damaging with his pace off half back as other rebounding defenders with pace at other clubs such as Hunt (Melb) Williams (GWS) and Saad (Ess) this was a real missing link for us.

We also have Scharenberg finally getting a good run at it. Langdon is really improving year after year. Howe was AA quality last year and continues to be an important cog. And then there is Maynard who is a raging bull who can take the bulkier forwards and is a beautiful left foot kick.

A player who at the moment breaks the lines and who is really under appreciated is Jack Crisp. He has been fantastic the last couple of weeks and is a player that is in the mold of Grigg/Houli at Richmond, a really good player for us.

As far as KPD's go we have Lyndenn Dunn who is 30 plus but is offering us excellent service as of now. We will get Moore back form injury soon as well. Then there is Reid who can swing back there. There is also McLarty developing nicely. I reckon our backline has come on quicker than any of us could have hoped.

So on ANZAC Day is should line up as;

Murray Dunn Scharenberg
Maynard Howe Crisp

Langdon rotating off the bench.

Reckon in the modern game that's actually pretty good.

I think this has been unheralded as a unit over the past two weeks but it's also been a work in progress for some time.

In the off-season we picked up Sam Murray who looks as good and as damaging with his pace off half back as other rebounding defenders with pace at other clubs such as Hunt (Melb) Williams (GWS) and Saad (Ess) this was a real missing link for us.

We also have Scharenberg finally getting a good run at it. Langdon is really improving year after year. Howe was AA quality last year and continues to be an important cog. And then there is Maynard who is a raging bull who can take the bulkier forwards and is a beautiful left foot kick.

A player who at the moment breaks the lines and who is really under appreciated is Jack Crisp. He has been fantastic the last couple of weeks and is a player that is in the mold of Grigg/Houli at Richmond, a really good player for us.

As far as KPD's go we have Lyndenn Dunn who is 30 plus but is offering us excellent service as of now. We will get Moore back form injury soon as well. Then there is Reid who can swing back there. There is also McLarty developing nicely. I reckon our backline has come on quicker than any of us could have hoped.

Murray Dunn Scharenberg
Maynard Howe Crisp

I still cringe a bit when Crisp gets himself into those dear in the headlights situations though!
As predictable as the odd maynard clanger.

While I’d love to see Howe being up for Mark of the Year contention every week like he was last year; I’ve been pretty pleased with the defensive side of his game

Same. I think we saw last year he usually picks and chooses when to go up for the big mark. I can't recall many times last year when I saw him fly for a mark and wish he had've halved a contest.

I don't think Dunn is getting as much credit as he deserves. I feel like he has been a rock back there, not to mention being a bit of a backline general.

Not going to lie, I thought our recruitment of him was a joke, but I am very happy to be wrong on that one.

Scharenberg showed last week why he was so highly regarded. In one passage of play under massive pressure and with not much room to move, found time and space to release to a player in a better position.

Keeping a healthy list and some continuity of playing together and we have a formidable defensive unit.

I don't think Dunn is getting as much credit as he deserves. I feel like he has been a rock back there, not to mention being a bit of a backline general.

Not going to lie, I thought our recruitment of him was a joke, but I am very happy to be wrong on that one.
Dunn is or was such a big find for us.

The Rock!

(Melbourne, read Paul Roos, got this be badly wrong)

Scharenberg showed last week why he was so highly regarded. In one passage of play under massive pressure and with not much room to move, found time and space to release to a player in a better position.

Keeping a healthy list and some continuity of playing together and we have a formidable defensive unit.
He’s a gem.

Just is so smart, especially in heavy traffic.

Melbourne supporting mate was singing his praises when we got Dunny so it brought me around quickly. Reckons Roos playing OMac ahead of Dunn cost them a few games in 2016.

However when I told him a both Dunn and Howe were in our leadership group he did look shocked and had to explain how highly rated internally they are

Murray Dunn Scharenberg
Maynard Howe Crisp

I agree. The progress of Murray and Scharenberg help immensely. Murray changes the way we move the ball. Scharenberg has been taking key forwards and still accumulating strong disposal and intercept numbers.

If I am to be critical we lack height. It hasn't been exposed because of the pressure we have been putting on in midfield. But it's a matter of time. If Moore goes back that isn't an issue.

The other thing we lack is a shut down defender. Maynard is a risk in defence because of his poor decision making and I feel he was fortunate to be on a terribly out of form Betts. On the bright side Quaynor looks a ripper but he's still in the TAC cup and is a few years away.

Also Dunn has besen really critical and is close to the end. How many more seasons after this can we expect the same standard?

Overall i'm really pleased. If we can keep Moore back (by securing a key forward) and if Maynard (i'm dubious), Appleby or Quaynor come on quickly we are set.

I agree. The progress of Murray and Scharenberg help immensely. Murray changes the way we move the ball. Scharenberg has been taking key forwards and still accumulating strong disposal and intercept numbers.

If I am to be critical we lack height. It hasn't been exposed because of the pressure we have been putting on in midfield. But it's a matter of time. If Moore goes back that isn't an issue.

The other thing we lack is a shut down defender. Maynard is a risk in defence because of his poor decision making and I feel he was fortunate to be on a terribly out of form Betts. On the bright side Quaynor looks a ripper but he's still in the TAC cup and is a few years away.

Also Dunn has besen really critical and is close to the end. How many more seasons after this can we expect the same standard?

Overall i'm really pleased. If we can keep Moore back (by securing a key forward) and if Maynard (i'm dubious), Appleby or Quaynor come on quickly we are set.

Agree, the defensive group is solid at the moment but it's how it evolves moving forward that will be critical. Can't survive longer term with a cluster of 191-192cm players as your tall defensive options so Moore consolidating a spot in defense immediately mitigates that longer term need. Also need a lock down small defender again instead of relying on the 189-191cm mediums filling the role currently. Improvement in our midfield is currently masking some of those deficiencies at the moment.

Same. I think we saw last year he usually picks and chooses when to go up for the big mark. I can't recall many times last year when I saw him fly for a mark and wish he had've halved a contest.
And he still was robbed of mark of the year. He had probably 5 of the top 10 marks of the year.

*I said similar things when he was at Melbourne. His high flying marking is an amazing talent.

Also need a lock down small defender again instead of relying on the 189-191cm mediums filling the role currently. Improvement in our midfield is currently masking some of those deficiencies at the moment.

It's the only real question mark moving forward, isn't it. We've kinda got a too many 'tweener' sizes & you'd think teams will exploit that at some stage. For that reason, I think Shaz just needs to be developed as a kpp, despite being listed at 191cm. Of Howe, Langdon and Shaz, I think it's the latter who continues to get first crack at the second kpp. Just loves a job, but smart enough to know when/how to play off (James Clement-style).

He just his job almost every week. I always thought it was left field but I liked it. You can't buy his sort of leadership and direction on field. Just helps he's a pretty good player.

I that one was Goodwin
Could be.
I thought Roos stopped playing him as to some sort of youth kick?

You might be right ofcourse.

Agree, the defensive group is solid at the moment but it's how it evolves moving forward that will be critical. Can't survive longer term with a cluster of 191-192cm players as your tall defensive options so Moore consolidating a spot in defense immediately mitigates that longer term need. Also need a lock down small defender again instead of relying on the 189-191cm mediums filling the role currently. Improvement in our midfield is currently masking some of those deficiencies at the moment.
Flynn Appleby is a genuine small lock down defender. Surprised he didn't get a crack Round 1.

Yeah, was following on from Quicky's comments which referenced Appleby and Quaynor.

Saturday's game against PM was the first time he's been prominent so not too surprising. His chance will come if he can continue to produce at VFL level.

Could be.
I thought Roos stopped playing him as to some sort of youth kick?

You might be right ofcourse.
It's just seems unroos like to develop kids whilst there is a clear better option in the two's. From what I've read Goodwin had a fair bit of control in the last year I'd imagine it was his directive to play O Mac and Frost over Dunn. Plus given he didn't seem worried about keeping Dunn in the trade period.

Our gain.

You make good point about Goodwins actions.