Opinion Our Backline.

• Thread starter Thread starter HARKER

Allow me to wipe off all the sarcasm my post was dripping in:

Weitering on one leg is better than White. Trade White out ASAP.

He surely gets a reprieve for at least a week after that game. He was tremendous and he made the right decisions and was as hard at it as anybody.

I really don't get it. What more does Rowe have to do to get off everyone's "he's not good enough" list. Been nothing short of excellent this season and still he cops it every week.
Gave Hawkins a right royal touch up yesterday and should be getting praised.

Don't worry Sam, I reckon you're super cool.

I really don't get it. What more does Rowe have to do to get off everyone's "he's not good enough" list. Been nothing short of excellent this season and still he cops it every week.
Gave Hawkins a right royal touch up yesterday and should be getting praised.

Don't worry Sam, I reckon you're super cool.

He was praised on Bounce.

He was very good yesterday. Disciplined, did his job well. Basically the whole team were very good though so others get talked about.

We may all be going a little strong for marchbank. Word is there are 5 teams in talks with his management and GWS. Will be amazed if he is in blue next year with his possible suitors being *, north, melbourne, us and the surprise package of the lions

Think he may be the ultimate grab for our team going forward but there is still too much time ahead for such speculation.

Having said that, it is an amazing transition our backline has transformed into and is no doubt a formidable and envy back six for a lot of sides

North will have a big fall off due to retirements. If marchbanks manager is any good he will point this out and steer him towards a club with future upside. Sure we are not the only club with upside, but nth is not one if them.
The lions are in qld does he want to live in qld?

Finally the worm has turned. The blues are a great development club and we are able to find under-performing talent and make them indispensable. This has not been the case for 20 years. The key, Sos Who gets the picks right and bb who motivates and plays them.

Yes! and we must try and win every game, even if we fall short of the finals....stuff draft picks....if we develop our players the long term benefits far outweigh getting a higher draft pick.....and talented fringe players from other clubs (esp GWS and Gold Coast) who want to be the best players they can be will be more inclined to name Carlton as their preferred destination.

I thought it was interesting though not too surprising what Bolts said about Doc in his presser. Basically said that Doc thinks about the game all the time and how it works, strategies etc. A real footy thinking man and a big reason why he made leadership group already besides the obvious on field leadership.

Docherty running off his man to smother Guthrie.

Awesome footy sense which trapped Guthrie between Kreuzer and himself.

I actually have been a little underwhelmed with Weitering the last 2 weeks. I'm not concerned about him long term and have no doubt he will be a star, he just looks a little hesitant and is dropping simple marks

That was simply awesome, not only for the footy sense but for the timing and execution.

Dare I say it, but it was Bruce Doull like. Doc is making decisions and executing like our greatest Backman of all time. I reckon Doc is that good. He's improved every year, and is now fair dinkum elite

This is what confidence gives you , the whole playing group are playing like a team that supports each other and has faith in each other... It can not be stated enough how good Bolts has been for these players...This is the foundation we will build multiple Premierships on.....So proud of our lads this week :D

Doc's improvement this year has been immense. Has gone from a good footballer last year to a bloody good footballer this year. Very much in AA form.
I reckon the chat Ferrisb and I had with him at the season launch has something to do with it. maybe I should've talked to a few more players that night ;)

If Plowman can stay injury free, we have hit the jackpot.
Every game I see him play he does a few very high quality things.
Loved some of his tackling yesterday and in the 2ndQ he shot out a 20-25 meter handball that went like a bullet.
Not many key defenders have weapons like that in there trick bag.
Give him the rest of this year and another pre season and we will have an absolute gun.

I reckon the chat Ferrisb and I had with him at the season launch has something to do with it. maybe I should've talked to a few more players that night ;)
my wife & I had a big chat to him at the pre drinks thing, we have a family holiday home on phillip island we've been going to for 30 years, talked to him about the island. It was because we gave him a warm fuzzy feeling about his old home town thats made him excel...

The fact Kreuzer (a ruck) was able to chase Guthrie (a running mid) at pace (and not give up) really put Guthrie under pressure.
Docherty was brilliant but IMO would not have happened without Kreuzer pressure.
Great team turnover and goal at the other end:p:thumbsu::rainbow:

the stand out thing for me today was .. Usually Simmo is a cut above for effort and passion , but today it was hard to call as everyone all across the field was throwing themselves into the fight ...and Sam Rowe was just brilliant today , hard to believe people were calling for his head not long ago...
I think that's his go. Rowe has some flaws, but he's a big strong lad. He needs to keep it simple. Lock down, spoil, punch, body. Nothing fancy, just stop his opponent from getting the ball...
Every back line needs a gorilla type, Rowe's job on Hawkins was first class...

If Plowman can stay injury free, we have hit the jackpot.
Every game I see him play he does a few very high quality things.
Loved some of his tackling yesterday and in the 2ndQ he shot out a 20-25 meter handball that went like a bullet.
Not many key defenders have weapons like that in there trick bag.
Give him the rest of this year and another pre season and we will have an absolute gun.
That handball was elite. I know it's one possession, it's just a handball, but it was pure class.

I actually have been a little underwhelmed with Weitering the last 2 weeks. I'm not concerned about him long term and have no doubt he will be a star, he just looks a little hesitant and is dropping simple marks

Suspect he might be a little shy about his shoulder. Not to say he's not fit - just that if it's the first notable injury he's had, he might be concerned about what will happen if he cops a big knock. Not an easy thing to park yourself under a high ball without knowing if some 100+kg forward is going to come flying in from the side.

Give him a few more games to get his confidence back and he'll be fine.

White's always been a great asset to our 2s as well. Can literally play anywhere at that level, brings some leadership too. I wouldn't be rushing into getting rid of him either.

White is largely a stop-gap player for us and he doesn't mind that. It won't stop him giving 100% when he gets the call up, either.

Can't see the point of trading (?) him out. Why would we do that? Role player...mentor...experienced and cool.......and cheap with a year to go.

What's the rush? Is not as though we won't have any spots available for new draftees and rookies.
If we get Marchbank, why not get a little value in the draft out of him?

You may be right but a team is the sum of its parts........even the ones we may not see.

White & Armfield another year or two even in the 2's? Yes please.
I'm comfortable with that outcome, but am equally happy with picking up a senior improvement from the state league, or giving Foster another chance.

There's a few more Marcus Adams types out there, no doubt, or we can just bring a kid in, or sign a DFA. I think it's both unfair to our list development and to White's career to not give him a crack at another club after this year.