Our Best 22

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=5897

Essendon fans were recently asked to name their best 22, assuming the entire list was fit and available for selection. The results have now been compiled and they make for some interesting reading.

A total of 1011 Essendon supporters selected teams. The position most dominated by the one person was the ruck with David Hille collecting 972 nominations. A number of younger players made the final 22, including Bachar Houli, Courtenay Dempsey, Jay Neagle, Sam Lonergan, Leroy Jetta and Kyle Reimers.

The final team selected by the fans was:

Backs: Slattery Fletcher Welsh
Half Backs: Dempsey Ryder Lovett-Murray
Centres: Houli Watson Lovett
Half Forwards: McPhee Lucas Monfries
Forwards: Davey Lloyd Neagle
Rucks: Hille McVeigh Stanton
Bench: Lonergan Laycock Jetta Reimers

Funny how that's been our squad for the last couple of weeks, bar Houli, Davey and Dempsey.

The final team selected by the fans was:

Backs: Slattery Fletcher Welsh
Half Backs: Dempsey Ryder Lovett-Murray
Centres: Houli Watson Lovett
Half Forwards: McPhee Lucas Monfries
Forwards: Davey Lloyd Neagle
Rucks: Hille McVeigh Stanton
Bench: Lonergan Laycock Jetta Reimers

That's pretty much spot on for mine, but would have Nash > Dempsey

Also, I guess we're just waiting for a better 2nd ruckman to present himself or come to the club......

B: Welsh, Fletcher, Myers
HB: Lovett-Murray, Ryder, Lovett
C: Nash, Lucas, Reimers
HF: McPhee, Lloyd, Watson
F: Davey, Monfries, Jetta
R: Hille, Stanton, McVeigh
Int: Neagle, Dempsey, Lonegan, Houli

Instructions

Mcphee - don't be too fancy and don't think you can outrun everyone :)
Lucas :thumbsu::thumbsu: - run through packs, get ball and kick long (no funny business)
Stanton - no clangers please
Nash - improve and you'll be a gun player, 2010 brownlow medal

I really hope an external supporter doesn't read this.
Quite a big call there.

Polls - The new way to coach :p:thumbsu:

Mmm.. could be interesting!

Though i have no complaints on how we been going this season, considering the number of kids we have had to play. Really like Myers, Reimers (quickly becoming on off my favs due to the in your face attitude, kind of like our Didak, other fans hate him, but like him secretly) Lonergan et al.

I would like to see what Dempsey can do, i don't see what everyone else see's in him, only because i've barley seen anything of him (yes i know that injuries have cut him short this and past seasons).

But the last few weeks, Lonergan has been good and becoming such a key componant to our midfield. Would like to see him Hislop push each other further for that in and under midfielder spot.

Neagle has come on leaps and bounds and i think with gumby being out, has in a way helped his development.

My team would be:

NLM Fletcher Slattery
Welsh Ryder Myers
Lovett Watson Houli
McPhee Lucas Reimers
Neagle Lloyd Davey
Hille Stanton McVeigh

Laycock, Lonergan, Jetta, Winderlich

Mmm.. could be interesting!

Though i have no complaints on how we been going this season, considering the number of kids we have had to play. Really like Myers, Reimers (quickly becoming on off my favs due to the in your face attitude, kind of like our Didak, other fans hate him, but like him secretly) Lonergan et al.

You like Didak. :eek:

In a weird hateful way, i guess i do, afterall he's in my dream team :p

My point being Reimers is like the arrogant player of other clubs that we love to hate. Collingwood has Didak, Hawthorn has Buddy/Lewis, Brisbane has Browney etc. All are gun players we wish we could have but now we have one of own :D

Backs - Welsh Fletcher Nash

Half Backs - Lovett Murray Ryder Myers

Centres - Winderlich Watson Lovett

Half Fwds - Houli Lloyd McPhee

Forwards - Monfries Lucas Davey

Followers - Hille McVeigh Stanton

Interchange - Lonergan Laycock Jetta Reimers

Emergency - Dempsey, Hislop, Neagle

Backs - Pears Fletcher Dempsey

Half Backs - Houli Ryder Myers

Centres - Welsh Watson Lonergan

Half Fwds - Gumbleton Lucas McPhee

Forwards - Davey Lloyd Neagle

Followers - Hille McVeigh Stanton

Interchange - Lovett Laycock Winderlich Reimers

Emergency - Jetta Hislop Hocking

Very hard exercise this is, with a fully fit list. Really upset I couldn't get the emergencies into the 22. And even more upset I couldn't find room for Monfries, Slattery, & Nash because I love how they go about their footy. This is of course the 22 I would have been playing at this time, this season, seeming as though finals are over and development is a priority.

Excuse the ignorance as I haven't seen Gumbleton play much at all, however would he be a chance at a gig in the ruck? Maybe just a few stints a game when he's not forward, as the general consensus is that Laycock isn't good enough to be in the side. Any possibility?

I am pretty sure he rucked a bit over in the WAFL the season before he was drafted. But I don't think we should ever play him in the ruck, even for stints, simply because of his injury woes and the hardness of the ruck. Plus he wouldn't be able to give enough in the ruck to give Hille a decent rest. Keep persisting with Laycock, it's a necessity really, there honestly is no other option at this present time.

Sorry if this has already been pointed out but...
Jason Laycock Has been wailed on and been scorched upon by many fans yet i see him in our best 22 in almost every opinion here?
Is that for the fact we don't have a replacement or that he deserves the spot?

I reckon Nash for 2010 brownlow..

My mate reckons Reimers

I have to admit that Nash has improved quite a lot since I wrote this, I still think it's not a very easy thing to call.
I think if anyone is going to get one it will be either Hille, Jobe or Stants.

I reckon Nash for 2010 brownlow..

My mate reckons Reimers

Maybe not 2010, but I told my mate a few weeks back that I think this kid will win one in his career. I really think this kid looks the goods as a modern day footballer. Great last quarter today, and once he matures, and is able to put 4 quarters together, watch out! Good signs ahead.

B: Myers/Dempsey, Fletcher, Nash
HB: Lovett-Murray, Ryder, McPhee
C: Winderlich, Watson, Stanton
HF: Monfries, Lucas, Reimers
F: Lovett, Lloyd, Davey
FOLL: Hille, Mcveigh, Welsh
I/C: Lonergan, Laycock, Houli, Jetta

Round 1 next year will be interesting. Who gets picked..... who misses out.

We have Davey, Dempsey, Winderlich, Neagle, Gumbleton, Hocking, Hislop, Houli, Myers all curently injured but will be pushing for a spot in the 22.

Lovett and McVeigh are also out but will be one of the first picked.

Reimers, Monfries and Lonergan have pretty much cemented their spots.

This is a lot harder than i thought!

B-Slattery, Fletcher, Lovett-Murray
HB-Nash, Ryder, Houli
C-Stanton, McVeigh, Lovett
HF-Davey, Lloyd, McPhee
F-Monfries, Lucas, Jetta
R-Hille, Watson, Welsh
I-Laycock, Reimers, Lonergan, Winderlich

Emerg-Myers, Neagle, Ramanauskas

I purposely left out Gumbleton, Dempsey, Hocking, and Hislop because they are often injured and havn't shown enough yet. Also because i couldnt fit everbody in and these 4 were the only players I had an excuse for!

This is a lot harder than i thought!

B-Slattery, Fletcher, Lovett-Murray
HB-Nash, Ryder, Houli
C-Stanton, McVeigh, Lovett
HF-Davey, Lloyd, McPhee
F-Monfries, Lucas, Jetta
R-Hille, Watson, Welsh
I-Laycock, Reimers, Lonergan, Winderlich

Emerg-Myers, Neagle, Ramanauskas

I purposely left out Gumbleton, Dempsey, Hocking, and Hislop because they are often injured and havn't shown enough yet. Also because i couldnt fit everbody in and these 4 were the only players I had an excuse for!

How could you include Slattery? One of the worst players in the comp and should not be in our best 22, maybe our best 30 max.

Slightly edited since my first post :)

Kyle Reimers - Dustin Fletcher - Nathan Lovett-Murray
Bachar Houli - Paddy Ryder - Courtney Dempsey
Alwyn Davey - Mark McVeigh - Adam McPhee
Sam Lonergan - Scott Lucas - Brent Stanton
Scott Gumbleton - Matthew Lloyd - Angus Monfries

F: David Hille - Andrew Welsh - Jobe Watson

IC: David Myers - Leroy Jetta- Jay Neagle - Jason Laycock

EMG: Tom Hislop - Jarrod Atkinson - Henry Slattery - Tayte Pears

3 years time:

Kyle Reimers - Michael Hurley - Nathan Lovett-Murray
Bachar Houli - Paddy Ryder - Courtney Dempsey