Our Best 22

• Thread starter Thread starter Nicco_jj

What a load of shit. Do yourself a favour and get a copy of the Drawn GF.

Maxwell is not in great form at the moment, and I'm not sure if he's best 22 on form either. However, he will remain in the side and so he should.

To suggest that he;s not up to it and has been exposed badly is just moronic. This is our Premiership Captain, who performed some of the most inspirational and game defining acts you're likely to see in a drawn grand final.

Do yourself a favour and get a copy of the University of life, there are no free rides.

How many games have you attended? Three or none? I have been to every game in Melbourne plus the "Sydney" trip. Our premiership skipper has been used as a defensive half forward at times, which means that he can take marks, lay tackles and create blocks for scoring opportunities. In other words, he has been played outside of his comfort zone without using the ball to switch spaces across half back.

Spare me the theatrics about how many games i have attended, i,ll be in Adelaide to watch the game straight after i finish work on Saturday arvo and straight on the plane..by the way, Maxwell has no comfort zone in whatever position he plays.

It is quite a coincidence then. I am also taking a flight on Saturday afternoon to watch the game without working. I have been to Sydney twice (Round 13, 2010 & Round 14 this season) and Perth (2nd Semi Final, 2007). Saturday night's game in Adelaide will be my first for a Collingwood encounter against Port Adelaide. It will also mark my fourth pilgrimage from Victoria.

B: L.Davis C.Tarrant A.Toovey
HB: N.Maxwell B.Reid H.O'Brien
C: D.Thomas S.Pendlebury S.Wellingham
HF: D.Beams T.Cloke A.Krakouer
F: L.Brown C.Dawes S.Sidebottom
Foll: D.Jolly D.Swan L.Ball
Inter: H.Shaw B.Johnson A.Didak
Sub: J.Blair

With Tarrant and Reid holding down the FB/CHB positions so well this year, is there a spot for Nathan Brown in our best 22 next year when he comes back from injury?

Well Tarrant will turn 32 next season and he was recruited to be a swing man anyway, not a permanent FB

And I really think you are selling a guy short that shut down Riewoldt in 2 Grand Finals at the age of 21

Well Tarrant will turn 32 next season and he was recruited to be a swing man anyway, not a permanent FB

And I really think you are selling a guy short that shut down Riewoldt in 2 Grand Finals at the age of 21
I'm not selling him short by any means. He was one of the best up and coming key position players in the comp last year.
I just want to know if he would come straight back into the side as Full Back next year,remembering that Taz hasn't put a foot wrong this year.

I'm not selling him short by any means. He was one of the best up and coming key position players in the comp last year.
I just want to know if he would come straight back into the side as Full Back next year,remembering that Taz hasn't put a foot wrong this year.
That's a completely different question to your original one of is there a spot for him in our best 22 (a resounding yes by the way)

They would look at the match ups each week before assigning Taz, Nathe or Reid but ideally you'd love Taz as the swingman

The following 20 have either played 14 games or more, kicked a dozen+ goals, form based, positionally our best player - based on their seasons to date find themselves in my side.

B - O'Brien Tarrant Maxwell
HB - Toovey Reid Shaw
C - Thomas Ball Wellingham
HF - Blair Cloke Beams
F - Brown Dawes Sidebottom
R - Jolly Swan Pendlebury

IC - Davis Krakouer

After these guys it becomes less clear cut - three i really like:

Johnson - 9 games been brilliant when available
Didak - 12 games such an ordinary year by his standards
Fasolo - 9 goals in 6 games - looks an excitement machine

Others who have contributed:

Rounds - would be number 25/26 perhaps, defensive option
Buckley - could consider himself very unlucky not best 22 yet though
McCarthy - most likely our number 1 replacement for an out and out mid
Wood - only a chance if Jolls goes down i suppose
Goldsack - just struggling to really push anyone out
MaCaffer - sadly season wrecked by injury
Keeffe - not quite there
Sinclair - run out of time

The next 5 games should clear up the final 2 spots, at present Johnson and Fasolo would be my current choices. Dids needs to step up for mine and cant have his spot all sewn up yet. Pec surgery, causing shortened preseason then a 4 week lay off with his calf and down 20-25% on his usual disposals, down 10% on disposal efficiency and maybe 50% down on goals and assists.

The players in italics have scaled the mountain so no doubt would have claims should experience be required.

The reason I would punt someone like Fasolo is that he is the "Blair" of last season, I think he made major steps against the Suns and has franked that form against the Bombers. I suppose Dids and Johhno would get the nod if they finish the year in full flight - I'm wanting the kid to tip one or the other out based on performance.

Guys like Krak and Blair have contributed 41 goals this year and cant miss on form to date.

Guys like Taz, Neon, Krak and hopefully Fas gives this side the freshen up Premiers tend to need to keep hungry and fighting for a spot. Sadly Caff, Nate, Sack and Dids make way.

Still a little water to pass under the bridge - and injury, heaven forbid, is always possible, so likely to be a few updates on best 22 yet!

The following 20 have either played 14 games or more, kicked a dozen+ goals, form based, positionally our best player - based on their seasons to date find themselves in my side.

B - O'Brien Tarrant Maxwell
HB - Toovey Reid Shaw
C - Thomas Ball Wellingham
HF - Blair Cloke Beams
F - Brown Dawes Sidebottom
R - Jolly Swan Pendlebury

IC - Davis Krakouer

After these guys it becomes less clear cut - three i really like:

Johnson - 9 games been brilliant when available
Didak - 12 games such an ordinary year by his standards
Fasolo - 9 goals in 6 games - looks an excitement machine

Others who have contributed:

Rounds - would be number 25/26 perhaps, defensive option
Buckley - could consider himself very unlucky not best 22 yet though
McCarthy - most likely our number 1 replacement for an out and out mid
Wood - only a chance if Jolls goes down i suppose
Goldsack - just struggling to really push anyone out
MaCaffer - sadly season wrecked by injury
Keeffe - not quite there
Sinclair - run out of time

The next 5 games should clear up the final 2 spots, at present Johnson and Fasolo would be my current choices. Dids needs to step up for mine and cant have his spot all sewn up yet. Pec surgery, causing shortened preseason then a 4 week lay off with his calf and down 20-25% on his usual disposals, down 10% on disposal efficiency and maybe 50% down on goals and assists.

The players in italics have scaled the mountain so no doubt would have claims should experience be required.

The reason I would punt someone like Fasolo is that he is the "Blair" of last season, I think he made major steps against the Suns and has franked that form against the Bombers. I suppose Dids and Johhno would get the nod if they finish the year in full flight - I'm wanting the kid to tip one or the other out based on performance.

Guys like Krak and Blair have contributed 41 goals this year and cant miss on form to date.

Guys like Taz, Neon, Krak and hopefully Fas gives this side the freshen up Premiers tend to need to keep hungry and fighting for a spot. Sadly Caff, Nate, Sack and Dids make way.

Still a little water to pass under the bridge - and injury, heaven forbid, is always possible, so likely to be a few updates on best 22 yet!

Bit of a contradiction isn't it?

Ins and Outs from 2010 GF

In: Davis Karakouer Tarrant

Out: Macaffer Goldsack N Brown

Tarrant and N Brown we lose nothing.. and Davis and Krakouer add that touch of magic missing from the workmanlike Caff and Goldy.. it's a little less robotic with more potential individual match winners this year

Comes under the 14 games or more criteria;).

Anything else you agree/disagree with about the rest of my spiel though?

Fas over Dids?! Wow the luxury of having an awesoe, mostly fit list. Otherwise your spiel makes sense. Who comes in tho for an injury to Cloke, Dawes or Brown? Keeffe definately not there yet. Wood?

Gee injury to one of those three does pose a slight problem - guess we'll get a glimpse of how Wood could fit tonight? Just hope that the big boys keep well from here on in as the alternatives aren't apparently flash.

Perhaps we could re-structure and bring in Buckley/Goldy down back and swing Taz up - although this is not ideal.

Hope we dont have to face that one.

I haven’t read the whole thread, but in my mind right now, our best 22 would be:

Tooves Tazza Neon
Heater Reid Harry
Thomas Pendles Wellers
Beams Cloke Sidey
Dids Dawes Blair
Jolly Ball Swan

Brown Johnno Krak Sub:Goldy

Emerg: Max, Buckley, Alex the kid/Fas/Solo Man

Macaffer was in my team a month ago, on recent form I think he might miss this year
Max could be a good sub, but demeaning for him. if max must play cause he's the skip, who misses? Goldy, maybe. Who's the sub if maxy plays?

Questions, so many questions.

If the caff returns and has a few blinders, selection nightmare

A question to all regarding our best 22

I was watching a few of the games from late last season and was taking notice of a few of the guys that are not currently in the side. My question is where do we see Nathan Brown slotting in when he is fully fit? Certinally had a ripper year in 2010 but right now who do you leave out????

A question to all regarding our best 22

I was watching a few of the games from late last season and was taking notice of a few of the guys that are not currently in the side. My question is where do we see Nathan Brown slotting in when he is fully fit? Certinally had a ripper year in 2010 but right now who do you leave out????

Is this a joke? He definately wont be ready to play this year

Ahh, sorry mate... My bad, thought you meant this year.

I reckon he will slot in at Full back, with Reid at CHB and Tarrant playing on the 3rd tall and a swing man if we need someone forward (if he doesn't retire at the end of this year).

Then again, I wouldn't be surprised to see one player from our best 22 retire, so I'd say he would come in for whoever that would be. Shaw, Toovey, Davis and Harry would all rotate on the wing to allow for 3 tall defenders in the backline.

Can't wait for him to come back

Max could be a good sub, but demeaning for him. if max must play cause he's the skip, who misses? Goldy, maybe. Who's the sub if maxy plays?

Mostly agree, but Goly over Maxy???

Maxy will come good. Very interupted pre-season and very much an inspiration. Image the feeding frenzy with papers if we dropped our captain. Sheesh.