Roast Our fitness department - highly offensive/offended

Rotayjay

Aug 28, 2014
Adelaide, South Australia
We are getting destroyed by soft tissue injuries and it's time to say enough is enough.

Boys club appointment of a high performance assistant from the Brisbane Lions' fitness when the club was decimated by injuries and on its absolute knees. He worked under Burton at Brisbane and was dragged here to Adelaide when we stuck Burton in the footy ops role. Matt Hass needs to go.

Mike Smyth

10k Posts
Oct 8, 2012
We are getting destroyed by soft tissue injuries and it's time to say enough is enough.

Boys club appointment of the high performance manager who was in charge of the Brisbane Lions' fitness when the club was decimated by injuries and on its absolute knees. Matt Hass needs to go.

Wasn't Burton head off fitness when they were decimated by injuries.

Godallblighty

May 17, 2010
Hanging Rock
So its one year and you're all experts on this stuff? What about the previous two years having the lowest amount of players used? I reckon if you looked it up, the rate of hammies injuries would be going up since the interchange cap was put in.
A new fitness regime is hardly going to have an instantaneous effect. After both Burton and Hass presided over a soft tissue catastrophe at Brisbane, surely you're asking the question too?

Jun 7, 2011
Mount Gambier
So its one year and you're all experts on this stuff? What about the previous two years having the lowest amount of players used? I reckon if you looked it up, the rate of hammies injuries would be going up since the interchange cap was put in.

Not all injuries are soft tissue types. Also, clubs play more players due to other factors as well as injury. And selection culture, eg playing injured players, impacts the number of players used.

Posted this in the other thread, but:

Total injury list including the pre-season and 2018:

Alex Keath (ankle)
Riley Knight (ankle)
Sam Gibson (hamstring)
Matt Crouch (hamstring)
Kyle Cheney (hamstring)
Lachlan Murphy (hamstring)
Eddie Betts (hamstring)
Brad Crouch (groin)
Andrew McPherson (groin)
Tom Lynch (side strain)
Andy Otten (achilles)
Rory Sloane (foot strain, still playing)
Taylor Walker (foot)
Jackson Edwards (quad)
Curtly Hampton (adductor)
Myles Poholke (hip)
Jordan Gallucci (interrupted pre-season)
Hugh Greenwood (interrupted pre-season)
Wayne Milera (interrupted pre-season)

Elite Crow

30k Posts 10k Posts TheBrownDog
Mar 21, 2008
adelaide
We were all incredulous when we got Burton, after the mess he made at Brisbane.

We’ve now got the same cluster**** here, with the same people running it.

This is the kind of pathetic, amateur s**t that destroys your faith in the club.
This is on Roo, this was his mate

Jun 21, 2004
49ers, AFC Wimbledon, Utah Jazz
The sad thing is that we had Nick Poulos who was doing an amazing job and we made the dumb decision to get rid of him just so we can bring in Roo's mate Turdman who's injury record at Brisbane was diabolical.

I've been super critical of this move since the day it happened.

They always say that the fitness program has a 12-18 month lag before you really begin to notice the difference, well we're now definitely into the Burton/Hass program and I can't say that I'm surprised that we're now in the same position that Brisbane were in.

Rotayjay

Aug 28, 2014
Adelaide, South Australia
Time to start a ping a string game, like the goal kicking one.
We suffered a hammy after almost every game in rounds 1-6 last year when we were flying (we're certainly not now). This year, sitting at 2-2, we've now had an unbroken streak of injury outs for every game:

Round 1 - Numerous
Round 2 - Hampton (groin)
Round 3 - Matt Crouch (hamstring)
Round 4 - Murphy (hamstring at training)
Round 5 - Betts (hamstring)

Vhaluus

10k Posts
May 13, 2016

We had huge soft tissue issues at the beginning of last year as well.

We had the lowest number of players used because we refused to give youngsters a chanced and played players who clearly weren't fit to play. Not because of our fitness regime.

It's exactly the same thing as playing an injured Sloane yesterday.. .we were doing that bullshit to various players all last year.

Try actually following the Crows before you comment on them. Anyone who watched our games over the past few years should know this.