• Thread starter Thread starter PieLebo87

PieLebo87

Hall of Famer
Veteran A Star Wars Fan 10k Posts Cake Connoisseur
Im bewildered by some of the negativity people have posted about our players in the last few months. You guys cannot be serious about half the shit you have spoken about some of our youngsters!

We have a very good list, whether you choose to believe it or not, and there is not ONE player who doesn't deserve to be on it. Not ONE! Including Guy Richards.

I cannot, for the life of me, figure out what is wrong with Toovey, I actually like him. I think he will be a quality utility for us. A lot has been spoken about his endurance. But how about his ability to keep his footing when around the ball, got a stronge body and can shrug a tackle. His reaction may still be slow, as you have all noticed, but he will improve through time, its only natural the younger players be slower when adapting to the speed of AFL footy. Now I know Toovey's form in the last couple of weeks havent been as good as his first few, but he doesnt deserve to be dropped if we're going by form. He is looking closer to getting dropped then he was a few weeks ago but thats because he does need that rest at Willy.

J Fraser is a gun, but cannot handle being a ruckman full-time. Thats already been figured out, so why on earth, do you all seem to want to have a sook about Bryan being on our list? I actually like him. We REALLY need a big-bodied tough player like him when there are so many kids out there playing. Who do you think will defend the younger players when the opposition decide to roughen up the youngsters? He isnt just a big player, he actually does read the play alright, and has a great kick. There is also Richards, he will not be around in 12/24 months time, but you just imagine what would happen if Fraser went down with an injury. Who will be our ruckman? Seriously. Name for me players that can ruck for Coll if Fraser wasn't available. Thank you. Now shut up and stop complaining about Richards until we have drafted someone. Fair enough if he was getting a game ahead of a young developing ruckman, but he isnt, we have NO ONE ELSE!

Our backline looks in a bit of trouble at the moment, but it should be right in a months time. And these injuries can be a blessing in disguise. We all said it earlier in the year, some of our players will need some rest come finals time. H O'Brien will get a month off. So his body should be tip-top come finals time. In the meantime, the likes of Goldsack and Stanley are being tested against some quality opposition. I was at the Dogs game and wasn't 100% sure of Goldsack. But he had an amazing game against the Dees. Showed what he can do, and will only improve beyond our wildest views. Going to be a very good player. Same goes for Danny. He had a good debut. Forget about what his opposition did. He showed he has a good head on his shoulders, and obviously a very strong body. Hopefully he can take a few pages out of Scott Burns's book and become a tough hardnut midfielder like him.

I've also been reading some of the shit being spoken in other threads. Why are certain people complaining about O'Bree? You cannot be serious if you have an issue with Shane O'Bree. He is our clearance king. He does the little things that people dont notice, and if you want proof of it, just look at those less popular statistics such as clearances, inside 50s, 1%s ect. O'Bree will be up there with most of them, because he doesnt get a lot of the ball like he used to, but when he does, its always at the right time, and he does a fair job with it. Will also be very important for us in the next few years (and this year) when we are trying to win a flag, because we dont have a better clearance player then him, maybe Burns, but he can't do it on the full-time basis that O'Bree can.

We are looking for a ruckman, so trade possibilities are being spoken of. I cant quite figure our why so many people dont actually rate Egan. He is lazy, and needs to really lift his efforts, but he has talent. The amount of talent this guy possess is quite freakish and rare, so we should always hang onto a player like that. His time off will really test him as a person, and I hope he comes back with a better head on his shoulders to prove his critics wrong, because if he can have the right attitude with the talent he has, he will very much justify being a 1st round pick for us and prove the critics wrong.

Another one Im also suprised about is the talk about Lonie :confused: what is wrong with you people? Dont you remember the things he did last year? How at a certain stage he was leading the tackling for the club, at a certain stage, he was also up there in the top few for possessions? Can you imagine the difference he can make for us infront of goal at HFF? His accuracy would be a massive difference for us if he wasnt injuried. People have to stop underestimating his ability as a player, because he has PLENTY to offer us as a club, especially as a team that is looking at winning a flag. I cannot see the next Collingwood flag without him in it in the next 2-3 years, because he is more important to our list then some people actually think.

We have others that people want delisted. A kid by the name of Nicholls. He played a single game, against WCE, in Perth. I havent seen him any other time, and Im going to use my brains, unlike others on here who also havent seen him, and say that I cannot comment on him because I havent seen enough. And it is only fair that he be given a bit more game time because people call for his head. From what I DID see of him that only chance I got, was that he had some pace, and was unbelievably courageous/hungry when it came to the contest. He was like an animal at times, he didnt really think much about certain plays, just threw himself into packs, trying to get a footy. Thats balls, and I liked it. Another one in a similiar situation is Davies. Similiar to Nicholls, I cannot comment because I havent seen enough of. But also has some positives, where if he cleans up his negatives, can be quite good for us with his speed.

So how about those experts out there give an opinion, but stop talking so much shit about our players, because it is also MY list, MY Collingwood FC and I dont appreciate ignorant idiots out there talking so negatively about my team.

Finally, just a quick note. I had work on Monday, so I didnt see the game. I came on here and read all the commnts before watching the game on tape. A few people were saying that it was our performance that lost us the game, and the umpiring didnt help. Well I see it differently, I think that the umpiring cost us the game, and our performance didnt help. If Rocca got one extra free, when he deserved a few then it could've been different, if Robbo was penalised for his hand on Toovs back, then it could've been different. There was plenty of crucial stupid umpiring decisions that should've have happened.

Im bewildered by some of the negativity people have posted about our players in the last few months. You guys cannot be serious about half the shit you have spoken about some of our youngsters!

We have a very good list, whether you choose to believe it or not, and there is not ONE player who doesn't deserve to be on it. Not ONE! Including Guy Richards.

I cannot, for the life of me, figure out what is wrong with Toovey, I actually like him. I think he will be a quality utility for us. A lot has been spoken about his endurance. But how about his ability to keep his footing when around the ball, got a stronge body and can shrug a tackle. His reaction may still be slow, as you have all noticed, but he will improve through time, its only natural the younger players be slower when adapting to the speed of AFL footy. Now I know Toovey's form in the last couple of weeks havent been as good as his first few, but he doesnt deserve to be dropped if we're going by form. He is looking closer to getting dropped then he was a few weeks ago but thats because he does need that rest at Willy.

J Fraser is a gun, but cannot handle being a ruckman full-time. Thats already been figured out, so why on earth, do you all seem to want to have a sook about Bryan being on our list? I actually like him. We REALLY need a big-bodied tough player like him when there are so many kids out there playing. Who do you think will defend the younger players when the opposition decide to roughen up the youngsters? He isnt just a big player, he actually does read the play alright, and has a great kick. There is also Richards, he will not be around in 12/24 months time, but you just imagine what would happen if Fraser went down with an injury. Who will be our ruckman? Seriously. Name for me players that can ruck for Coll if Fraser wasn't available. Thank you. Now shut up and stop complaining about Richards until we have drafted someone. Fair enough if he was getting a game ahead of a young developing ruckman, but he isnt, we have NO ONE ELSE!

Our backline looks in a bit of trouble at the moment, but it should be right in a months time. And these injuries can be a blessing in disguise. We all said it earlier in the year, some of our players will need some rest come finals time. H O'Brien will get a month off. So his body should be tip-top come finals time. In the meantime, the likes of Goldsack and Stanley are being tested against some quality opposition. I was at the Dogs game and wasn't 100% sure of Goldsack. But he had an amazing game against the Dees. Showed what he can do, and will only improve beyond our wildest views. Going to be a very good player. Same goes for Danny. He had a good debut. Forget about what his opposition did. He showed he has a good head on his shoulders, and obviously a very strong body. Hopefully he can take a few pages out of Scott Burns's book and become a tough hardnut midfielder like him.

I've also been reading some of the shit being spoken in other threads. Why are certain people complaining about O'Bree? You cannot be serious if you have an issue with Shane O'Bree. He is our clearance king. He does the little things that people dont notice, and if you want proof of it, just look at those less popular statistics such as clearances, inside 50s, 1%s ect. O'Bree will be up there with most of them, because he doesnt get a lot of the ball like he used to, but when he does, its always at the right time, and he does a fair job with it. Will also be very important for us in the next few years (and this year) when we are trying to win a flag, because we dont have a better clearance player then him, maybe Burns, but he can't do it on the full-time basis that O'Bree can.

We are looking for a ruckman, so trade possibilities are being spoken of. I cant quite figure our why so many people dont actually rate Egan. He is lazy, and needs to really lift his efforts, but he has talent. The amount of talent this guy possess is quite freakish and rare, so we should always hang onto a player like that. His time off will really test him as a person, and I hope he comes back with a better head on his shoulders to prove his critics wrong, because if he can have the right attitude with the talent he has, he will very much justify being a 1st round pick for us and prove the critics wrong.

Another one Im also suprised about is the talk about Lonie :confused: what is wrong with you people? Dont you remember the things he did last year? How at a certain stage he was leading the tackling for the club, at a certain stage, he was also up there in the top few for possessions? Can you imagine the difference he can make for us infront of goal at HFF? His accuracy would be a massive difference for us if he wasnt injuried. People have to stop underestimating his ability as a player, because he has PLENTY to offer us as a club, especially as a team that is looking at winning a flag. I cannot see the next Collingwood flag without him in it in the next 2-3 years, because he is more important to our list then some people actually think.

We have others that people want delisted. A kid by the name of Nicholls. He played a single game, against WCE, in Perth. I havent seen him any other time, and Im going to use my brains, unlike others on here who also havent seen him, and say that I cannot comment on him because I havent seen enough. And it is only fair that he be given a bit more game time because people call for his head. From what I DID see of him that only chance I got, was that he had some pace, and was unbelievably courageous/hungry when it came to the contest. He was like an animal at times, he didnt really think much about certain plays, just threw himself into packs, trying to get a footy. Thats balls, and I liked it. Another one in a similiar situation is Davies. Similiar to Nicholls, I cannot comment because I havent seen enough of. But also has some positives, where if he cleans up his negatives, can be quite good for us with his speed.

So how about those experts out there give an opinion, but stop talking so much shit about our players, because it is also MY list, MY Collingwood FC and I dont appreciate ignorant idiots out there talking so negatively about my team.

Finally, just a quick note. I had work on Monday, so I didnt see the game. I came on here and read all the commnts before watching the game on tape. A few people were saying that it was our performance that lost us the game, and the umpiring didnt help. Well I see it differently, I think that the umpiring cost us the game, and our performance didnt help. If Rocca got one extra free, when he deserved a few then it could've been different, if Robbo was penalised for his hand on Toovs back, then it could've been different. There was plenty of crucial stupid umpiring decisions that should've have happened.
Goood to see you are all fired up, black n white through n through and i do agree with most things that you have said in that post. However, you need to realise that the list gets turned over every year in order to have enough draft selections for the club to participate in and elevate rookies, so some old and some young faces will be given the axe- and nicholls, possibly davies and older blokes like wakes, burns (although will be discussed end of season because of his ripping form) bucks (unfortunately) and many more face tough decisions.

Anyhow, im just as excited as you are for the rest of this season and the future, with a couple more draft selections and experience into the kids the machine will be reborn once again.

Yeah, give us the flag now for the next ten years. We are invincible and should all put our head in the sands, as there is no way at all we can improve our list.

You , Bushranger, are the exact person this post was directed at. I dont like attacking ppl but every post that i've read of urs has been the biggest pesimistic piece of ##@$% ive ever read.
I dont reckon many on here would disagree with me either.

You , Bushranger, are the exact person this post was directed at. I dont like attacking ppl but every post that i've read of urs has been the biggest pesimistic piece of ##@$% ive ever read.
C'mon, let Bushranger have his fun, he is like the grim reaper of the board, just when you thought suicide was an option he comes along and makes you realise just what a great world it is, full of gumdrop smiles and choclate rivers. Thanks Bushranger, after I read your posts and threads I always feel happier about my outlook on life.:)

Agreed, all negative crap.

I think he's a Carlton supporter being a dick.

Agreed, all negative crap.

I think he's a Carlton supporter being a dick.
I've given you my list of players I don't like. The rest I will back up till I'm blue in the face. I just want us to improve and get a flag, not continually show promise only to disappoint.

However, I seriously do reckon we are on the right track with kids like Pendlebury, Thomas, Shaw, Cloke, Rusling, Egan, Brown, Reid, Harry O, Goldsack and there are probably others that I have missed.

We have the makings of a premiership team, we just need to iron out a few problem areas, of which we have gone a long way to doing recently by getting rid of most of our jib players.

I've given you my list of players I don't like. The rest I will back up till I'm blue in the face. I just want us to improve and get a flag, not continually show promise only to disappoint.

However, I seriously do reckon we are on the right track with kids like Pendlebury, Thomas, Shaw, Cloke, Rusling, Egan, Brown, Reid, Harry O, Goldsack and there are probably others that I have missed.

We have the makings of a premiership team, we just need to iron out a few problem areas, of which we have gone a long way to doing recently by getting rid of most of our jib players.

I have a query of you,

if you were to compare Egan to a developed player, who would he most turn out to be like?

from what I have seen of him, he reminds me awfully of other players like Andrew Walker and Brennan

Gotta say PieLebo that the glass is so full in your post that it may well solve Melbourne's current water crisis.:D

Yes some have been overly harsh about their assessments of some of our players but you've gotta remember that history says that not all of the current kids on our list are going to make it into 100 game players for Collingwood.

Sure some of them might show some good signs but so did blokes like Mark McGough and Jason Cloke.

It's up to the coaching staff to see the signs in these players early so that we don't hang on to players for long periods of time that aren't going to improve the club. Then we can work on drafting new and hopefully better replacements that will further the chances of the Collingwood Football Club.

I have a query of you,

if you were to compare Egan to a developed player, who would he most turn out to be like?

from what I have seen of him, he reminds me awfully of other players like Andrew Walker and Brennan

And that aint cool....:(

I have a query of you,

He's a very unique player Egan. It's hard to say who he will turn out like. But I can see him playing a variety of roles. I can see him being a play maker from half back, like McLeod. I can see him playing on a wing and also I believe he would make a good half forward.

Possibly a good comparison would be Andrew Embley, he seems to have the capabilities to play a similar role.

He's a very unique player Egan. It's hard to say who he will turn out like. But I can see him playing a variety of roles. I can see him being a play maker from half back, like McLeod. I can see him playing on a wing and also I believe he would make a good half forward.

Possibly a good comparison would be Andrew Embley, he seems to have the capabilities to play a similar role.

Its just a consistency issue, if he can sort it out, then I think he'll live up to his draft pick (it was the Goddard Draft yeah?)

If he can change that around, I soon will be a fan. (but kinda hard considering hes injured) : hes my second least favourite at the moment infront of davies. But things can change. As evident by players such as Harry O (always thought he was gonna impress) and even Swanny to an extent (last year came as a real shock)

Its just a consistency issue, if he can sort it out, then I think he'll live up to his draft pick (it was the Goddard Draft yeah?)

If he can change that around, I soon will be a fan. (but kinda hard considering hes injured) : hes my second least favourite at the moment infront of davies. But things can change. As evident by players such as Harry O (always thought he was gonna impress) and even Swanny to an extent (last year came as a real shock)
He was 04 draft, same year as Rusling and Cloke.

People need to remember that he is still only a kid and has a heap of development and potential in him. His game against West Coast last year really convinced me that he will be a player. To those who bag him, get a copy of that game and then tell me you still think he is no good.

I thought he was close to our best performed player in the last 8 or so games of last year.

People need to remember that he is still only a kid and has a heap of development and potential in him. His game against West Coast last year really convinced me that he will be a player. To those who bag him, get a copy of that game and then tell me you still think he is no good.

I thought he was close to our best performed player in the last 8 or so games of last year.

Ill have to take your word, I cant remember that game nor will i be able to get a copy.

But with all the youngsters, the future is looking promising.

Pessimism can be healthy. It's a sad fact that some players aren't going to make it at AFL level long term.

Ideally they won't get so exposed by having to play them all together, but that's the situation we're in at the minute. It magnifies their weaknesses.

When I give Williamstown reports, I judge them on AFL potential. Some may see it as being overly negative, as their games are generally good ones for VFL standard. I just don't care so much about Seagulls flags though. I care about who can win us a one or ten in the black and white.

perhaps u need to take notice of some of ur own advice and need to realsie that some of the kids that u write off are also just kids.

If Egan had a quarter of the desire to become a good footballer that blokes like Harry O and Toovey had he would have already cemented his place in the team.

Embley is one of the hardest working footballers going around, cant compare egan to him at the moment, hopefully Egan pulls his finger out and starts to show that he wants to play AFL footy........Toovey has the desire to play even though he doesn't have the natural ability that Egan possesses.

Deluded, will be found out in 2-3 years if not at the end of this year.

If someone posted a comment in here in March saying we would be 1 game from the top of the ladder after 11 rounds we all would have taken it HANDS DOWN!!!!

GO PIES!

perhaps u need to take notice of some of ur own advice and need to realsie that some of the kids that u write off are also just kids.

If Egan had a quarter of the desire to become a good footballer that blokes like Harry O and Toovey had he would have already cemented his place in the team.

Embley is one of the hardest working footballers going around, cant compare egan to him at the moment, hopefully Egan pulls his finger out and starts to show that he wants to play AFL footy........Toovey has the desire to play even though he doesn't have the natural ability that Egan possesses.
I only write off the ones who have no ability and no chance of cementing a spot at this level. I don't write off the ones who have the potential to make it, althought that does not necessarily mean they will.

I have said all along with Toovey that I don't see what his attributes are. He can't kick, he has no awareness, he doesn't read the play, he has poor visision, he can't hold his feet. All he can do is run pretty much- like I said, if that is his only attribute, then we may as well recruit Steve Monaghetti. And don't give me this hardness and intensity crap, that is a given for all players if they want to make it at this level. You have to do more than work hard and show good intensity to make it at this level, it's not Wonthaggi 3rds remember, its AFL.

It's easier to pick up kicks as a loose man. Now that wouldn't say a lot of his performance, would it?

I would love to see how he handles a tag in the AFL, then we will see whether he can cut it or not, not vice versa.