Our Midfeild

• Thread starter Thread starter ptrsks

Lets compare a player that just get drafted by a team with players that already have AFL experience. :thumbsu:

Hey man I'm not the one doing the comparing but if you were going to compare Lucas to somebody, that somebody should be Pendles, at least according to all the experts

According to experts.. :cool:

For mine, the biggest improvement in coming years will be our strength in the midfield. By adding McLean, and accounting for the natural progression of the likes of Robinson and Joseph, we're really adding some muscle around the stoppages.

People forget that, for all the skill and speed of G-towns and Brisbane's midfields in their premierships, they were also unbelievably strong and tough.

im with u tanks alot,hopefully ratten and hughes days are numbered and the quicker they go the better, they really make me sick. FFS how they can pass on a 194cm running machine KP who can play anywhere is beyond me, players like TALIA are hard to come by , players like LUCAS are a dime a dozen.To win games u need a spine and what we have in our spine atm is good but not great and if ratts and hughes think that they can can cover players like rewolt kosy brown fev bradshaw buddy roughie and i can go on and on and on and on then they are simply kidding themselves .Im that depressed im not going to even start on our forward line GOD HELP US !

wow... wise words from someone who has managed a whole 8 posts in 3 years on here...

I think that you just went and slotted yourself straight into the same group as C_P and DBlues...

Uninformed nutters...

shoo... go away

To get back on topic....

If we can have two "A grade" midfield teams as part of our rotation, our midfield will be relentless. Any team that can't match up 8 gun midfielders will be ran over. Wave after wave of quality to deliver it to our forwards or to kick the goals themselves. Juddy will be captain of one midfield team, Murph or Gibbs the other. Supported by Quality. Inside players, outside players, team players, tough, skillfull players. We will be able to rotate 3 guns for 3 guns. No team can do that at present.

To get back on topic....

If we can have two "A grade" midfield teams as part of our rotation, our midfield will be relentless. Any team that can't match up 8 gun midfielders will be ran over. Wave after wave of quality to deliver it to our forwards or to kick the goals themselves. Juddy will be captain of one midfield team, Murph or Gibbs the other. Supported by Quality. Inside players, outside players, team players, tough, skillfull players. We will be able to rotate 3 guns for 3 guns. No team can do that at present.

Now thats 'A Grade' thinking... pity that there is a minority that cant think that way :D

im with u tanks alot,hopefully ratten and hughes days are numbered and the quicker they go the better, they really make me sick. FFS how they can pass on a 194cm running machine KP who can play anywhere is beyond me, players like TALIA are hard to come by , players like LUCAS are a dime a dozen.To win games u need a spine and what we have in our spine atm is good but not great and if ratts and hughes think that they can can cover players like rewolt kosy brown fev bradshaw buddy roughie and i can go on and on and on and on then they are simply kidding themselves .Im that depressed im not going to even start on our forward line GOD HELP US !
Your point is valid, spines in the 70's, 80's, 90's and 2000 was the norm and way to go! but going by today's footy, it's adopting a different style. What yibbida said, make sense to me:thumbsu:

To get back on topic....

well said, and as another thread'a said molding the same game plan as Geelong:thumbsu:

To get back on topic....

Im interested in what your views on how that may look? Team (a) Juddy, azza, hadley, kane and Team (b) murph, gibbs, brock, armfield:thumbsu:

Respect where it is due. The Blues have an outstanding midfield. So tell me, will Kane Lucas be in your side Round 1 next year? Also will he play more than 15 games? I love his name as well!

originally posted by invinciniBLUES
I've settled down, and think I can see what they're trying to do next year, and thats win stoppages. I think the game plan is centered around this.

Our defenders and forwards wont have to win the ball, all they have to do is not lose and create a draw at contests. Our ruck and clearance specialists will do the rest. I think this is the reasoning behind drafting midfielders with a history in the half forward line. Plus taking the pressure of developmental players like Hendo and allow them to develop outside of week by week scrutiny.

By bolstering the midfield further, we now have a high rotation gun midfield. They're are planning to have possible injuries covered, and be able to run the opposition off their feet when everyone is fit and firing.

Its not so much the gambit I initially thought it would be. *still* a KP prospect would be nice...

thank you very much as that quote has given me relief and faith in our team and the ones monitoring it (ratten,Hughes). I can really see what we're doing and the addition of McLean explains a lot but if this was the case what about Luke ball?

Really if you looked at our midfield this year which consisted of Judd, Murph, Gibbs, Simmo as the core they are great offensively and when in possesion of the ball but at stoppages we struggled but when we won them we were a force like on those fastbreaks. I think we had good midfielders who were different sizes but were very varied in roles and that has been fixed.

To get back on topic....

Eggsackerly !!

So many times this year i saw Juddy come off for a spell and see the opposition immediately score...NO MORE!

Exactly. Football is a game of momentum. If your rotations are average the opposition could score 2 or 3 goals in a matter of minutes.

Agree 100% with yibbida. :thumbsu:

Exactly. Football is a game of momentum. If you're rotations aren't average the opposition could score 2 or 3 goals in a matter of minutes.

Agree 100% with yibbida. :thumbsu:
Finally a few guys talking sense.

I was reading an old Alpha mag while waiting at the hairdresser today and there was someone from Collingwood talking about how it used to be expected that a player would try to run the game out but these days on-ballers go at 100% for 7 or 8 minutes, sometimes as low as 3, then get out of there and let someone else come in and again go at 100%. These days there are up to 100 interchanges per game, we're going to need more than four good on-ballers to win a game.

Respect where it is due. The Blues have an outstanding midfield. So tell me, will Kane Lucas be in your side Round 1 next year? Also will he play more than 15 games? I love his name as well!

Round 1 maybe... Because we're missing the juddmeister already.. and it's basically another warmup match (it's only richmond)

I don't think he'll be in our best 22 till at least half way through the year

Finally a few guys talking sense.

I was reading an old Alpha mag while waiting at the hairdresser today and there was someone from Collingwood talking about how it used to be expected that a player would try to run the game out but these days on-ballers go at 100% for 7 or 8 minutes, sometimes as low as 3, then get out of there and let someone else come in and again go at 100%. These days there are up to 100 interchanges per game, we're going to need more than four good on-ballers to win a game.

Cranium
likes to read his mag while he's in the chair. Usually only gets to the Page 3 chick and he's outta there but. :o

If he is in our 22 it'll more likely than not be on a flank (HF or HB) using his marking or pace to advantage. Don't think he has the size to spend a lot of time in the midfield just yet.

Though as our team improves it's more likely our draftees will languish for quite a while in the 2nds before getting a chance, ala Geelong. Let's hope they don't get disillusioned and look for opportunities elsewhere. :)

Oh I'm so hurt by you. Seems like halfwits like you can't come up with a reasonable discussion but only resort to shit like this. What a loser you are.

Calm the **** down.

wow... wise words from someone who has managed a whole 8 posts in 3 years on here...

I think that you just went and slotted yourself straight into the same group as C_P and DBlues...

Uninformed nutters...

shoo... go away
sorry dramoth didnt know u owned bigfooty where only ur opinion counts,but having said that,i reckon you'll see what i mean by about round 11 or 12 where niggling injuries to key backs and forwards start kicking in, its a long season and believe me u will be crying like a baby for more kp's.mate we just recruited brock mclean ffs and we take another 3 mids:eek: are u kiding? we are a laughing stock just read todays hun we got a c-,believe me if we don't make finals next year it's goodbye rats and hughes, amen. here's hopin':thumbsu: as i said before those two REALLY REALLY make me sick

You want us to miss the finals so Ratt & Hughes can get the sack. Comments like that make it painfully obvious you are not a true Carlton supporter. Personally I hope we make the finals so Ratts & Hughes can stay on & supporters like you will end up with egg on your face.

BTW, do you still think we should have drafted Panos? Not one club thought he was good enough to draft, yet you stated he would be in our best 22 next year.

Although I agree with you for most of it, I can't agree with hoping for us to miss the finals. That would be devastating and every supporter should want his team to win no matter how much you're pissed of with recruiting managers and coaches.

Although I may have taken this the wrong way... did you mean you would like to see them gone if we don't make the finals?