List Mgmt. Our Midfield

Just watch the first half of round 1 again. He didn’t do shit until the second half once moved inside 50. He is a high half forward highlight reel and does his best one on one vs smaller under sized opponents. Then watch about 5 minutes of Cripps in any game over the last 2 years and look at the difference. He’s no midfielder.

If the AFL took away the high fend off that he loves to fish out he would struggle to get any separation on his opponent. He looks for it. And pushes his opponent away allowing him to get separation and space. Without it he’d have to rush his kicks. This is when he looks like rubbish.

Just my opinion. Not many agree with me I know. He should relish in the 666 system as he’s going to get more oppprtunities to beat his direct opponent inside 50.

I reckon he was injured last year. His 2017 season was one of the best individual seasons I have ever seen and mostly midfield. IMO when fit, he is a rare elite midfielder

Maybe im being a little bit too bias but looking at Richmond during this pre season the team is looking red hot and training with very good intensity and looking the best i have seen for a very long time during preseason.

We do have some players with injuries
Graham - Just starting to get back
Castagna - Was in a moon boot until last friday
Caddy - Ankle issue's but think he should be ok for R1
Garthwaite - recovering from leg wont be ready
Nankervis - Been in rehab a while but should be ok
Lynch - Still not going at 100% could be our medico's taking the easy approach
Cotchin - Only going at 60-70% again could be managed

Have another 4-5 that are in rehab but for minor isue's , Nothing serious with any players like you guys have with Docherty/Pickett

If we can jump out of the blocks again this year and maybe get to 10 goals up before Richmond register a goal, we may be able to hold on

The gap isn't that large, relax.

Richmond are a shit clearance team and play 8 behind the ball at centre bounces.

They're not going to win games like that anymore because the rule change simply doesn't allow it.

Maybe im being a little bit too bias but looking at Richmond during this pre season the team is looking red hot and training with very good intensity and looking the best i have seen for a very long time during preseason.

Have another 4-5 that are in rehab but for minor isue's , Nothing serious with any players like you guys have with Docherty/Pickett

Docherty’s is our only big loss and he isn’t a mid.

What is great about our midfield is it’s only just beginning

Cripps is the elite player and leader and 23
Curnow is the workhorse and 27

Then Kennedy. Bull and smart and 22
SPS. Elite talent and skills now finally fit. Silk and barely 21
Fisher. Ball winner, hard runner and clever. Can kick goals. 20 years old
Dow. Inside Outside with speed and class. 19
O’Brien. Elite runner with demanding left foot
Walsh. 18 and looks special
Stocker. 18 year old ball with great skills
Setterfield. Big elite talent with 2 games. Amazing balance and touch. Barely 20
Charlie. Could be best in league. Awesome engine and special talent. Can change games. 22
Pickett. Only 22 with elite skills and talent. Gets fit watch out

Then

Cuningham 21
Polson 20
Lang 23

All have the ability to be very good

That is an incredible group that has 8 years minimum of top end talent plus we will add more.

Exciting times to be a Blue

Setterfield. Big elite talent with 2 games. Amazing balance and touch. Barely 20
Charlie. Could be best in league. Awesome engine and special talent. Can change games. 22

Then

Cuningham 21
Polson 20
Lang 23

That is an incredible group that has 8 years minimum of top end talent plus we will add more.

I like your enthusiasm mate but you look at every player with not only glass half full eyes but glass completely full view

Wont go into detail but i can see 4 players from your list not being at Carlton in 2021

What's the update on time frame to expect Pickett can play again. I virtually got depressed following any news of our pre-season when he went down thinking he virtually going to miss well over half season. Any chance back well before my worst fears ?

Timeline for that injury is usually 4-6 months. Given Pickett's history of difficulty adhering to strict timetables and regimes, we're looking more at the 6 month mark.

It's almost been 2 months.

I like your enthusiasm mate but you look at every player with not only glass half full eyes but glass completely full view

Nope. Just because I’m bullish about this group doesn’t mean I’m blind to them because they are in Navy Blue. That’s actually crap

I assess it deeply. I just believe this is an amazing group

Then

Cuningham 21
Polson 20
Lang 23

Great post Soapy and why I'm extremely confident Carlton has a fantastic base to build on over the next 2 years. It takes time to develop AFL bodies and it takes an AFL body to be able to showcase the full potential of any player. The time it takes is a fact of life - which maybe doesn't sit well with supporters hungry for success.

Yep. I grew up when Carlton would just go get players and we expected to win every year. The system is now different. Can't do it

We have to be patient. No choice but IMO at least now we are doing it right

AFL is a midfield game now. You have to have a strong midfield to be successful. Ours has so much talent and potential and importantly will develop together.

Cripps Curnow are ready now and Murphy will still be very good
SPS Kennedy Charlie & Fisher are just about to break out
Dow Setterfield O'Brien need another season but should be very good minimum.
Walsh is something special and could step up quick but realistically 2 years away
Stocker close behind

Then if a couple of Cuningham Polson Lang step up even better.

In 2 years I expect us to really hold our own and regularly win in the midfield. 3-4 years watch out

Then I expect to add some established talent like a Kelly to really top us off.

If this happens we will be a very good side

Wrong Board!

I can't see Pickett playing AFL this season, he would not get fit enough and opposition teams are very good at exploiting unfit players, it's why even with all our injuries Pickett played VFL last season.

I'm hoping a lack of fitness and physical size and strength are two things opposition teams can't exploit when they play us as they have in the past.

Yep. I grew up when Carlton would just go get players and we expected to win every year. The system is now different. Can't do it

We have to be patient. No choice but IMO at least now we are doing it right

AFL is a midfield game now. You have to have a strong midfield to be successful. Ours has so much talent and potential and importantly will develop together.

Cripps Curnow are ready now and Murphy will still be very good
SPS Kennedy Charlie & Fisher are just about to break out
Dow Setterfield O'Brien need another season but should be very good minimum.
Walsh is something special and could step up quick but realistically 2 years away
Stocker close behind

Then if a couple of Cuningham Polson Lang step up even better.

In 2 years I expect us to really hold our own and regularly win in the midfield. 3-4 years watch out

Then I expect to add some established talent like a Kelly to really top us off.

If this happens we will be a very good side
My big prediction for the midfield is that Stocker will force his way into the seniors by round 5, if not before. Will prove a ball magnet that has too much class to waste away in the 2s.

hope this is the case, but doubt it.

We have 3 seniors as locks: Cripps, Curnow, Murphy

We have 4 3rd year highly rated guys who we hope will be locks: Kennedy, Setterfield, Fisher, SPS

We have 2 youths clearly ahead of Stocker: Dow, Walsh

With the ruckman + 9 mids - that's already 10 players playing predominantly midfield. 6 forwards, 6 backs and it's all even stevens.

Even with injuries, he'd still be competing with LOB/Cuningham/Daisy/JSOS for the remaining rotations.

Wont go into detail but i can see 4 players from your list not being at Carlton in 2021

You may be right mate, but that's just modern footy. You could predict the same thing about any team in the competition.
SOS wastes nothing and will ensure we get maximum trade value from any players we lose, if they have any value at all.

We have 4 3rd year highly rated guys who we hope will be locks: Kennedy, Setterfield, Fisher, SPS

With the ruckman + 9 mids - that's already 10 players playing predominantly midfield. 6 forwards, 6 backs and it's all even stevens.

Even with injuries, he'd still be competing with LOB/Cuningham/Daisy/JSOS for the remaining rotations.

Great problem to have, keeps pressure on Dow and Walsh to keep performing along with Setterfield and Kennedy as those inside/outside younger players...They drop form and stocker is in form and he plays. Competition for spots is fierce.

What a change from Kerrigde and Graham types as midfield depth! These young kids actually have some serious pedigree and ability.

I agree with everything you are saying about the numbers being against him, but I just think he’s going to prove a class above VFL.

Besides predictions can’t be obvious. Where’s the sport in that?

I see

Cripps Kennedy Curnow Murphy O’Brien
Fisher SPS
Setterfield Dow Walsh

Then Stocker Gibbons Cuningham Lang all depending upon fitness & form

Good group and maybe D.............epth

Playing all of them would make your team less competitive

I see

Cripps Kennedy Curnow Murphy O’Brien
Fisher SPS
Setterfield Dow Walsh

Then Stocker Gibbons Cuningham Lang all depending upon fitness & form

Good group and maybe D.............epth
Interesting! You rate LOB so high? 2 tiers above Dow?

I'd love this to be true but what is it based on? For mine he'll play a bit of half back this year with Simpson/Newman/Williamson. I hope we only go in with Weitering, Marchbank and 3rd tall this year. Bolts, please choose one of Macreadie, Plowman and Jones - not all 3 :(

why is this shite on our board?

List Mgmt. Our Midfield