List Mgmt. Our Midfield

Never seen him do it and IMO doesn't suit him. He's an attacking wing/mid that can create and kick his own goals. Think a bit of Josh Kelly or Stephen Hill maybe Gaff? That's where the club see him also. His running and kicking will become a real weapon once he adjusts. He may seem a lot like Simmo (and that's a fair wrap) but it's not the position for him
Imagine 2 josh kellys in 2020 ;)

In 2019 it will start to become reality Thy.

In some games I expect our midfield to have some really good periods and there will be a few games where it will click and we will really dominate.

Walsh Dow SPS Setterfield to McKay McGovern & Charlie. WOW :straining:
Agree and Cripps, Kennedy, Fisher, Curnow Ed & O’Brien to give them a breather when needed.

I was bullish about our midfield before this years trade/draft period and that in a few years time we would be hard to beat in this area.

Since then we added Setterfield, Walsh and Stocker. I firmly believe all 3 will become guns.

Im going out on a limb and think we are heavily into Coniglio and as a FA he would make out midfield outstanding in 2020 and beyond.

Then you have to wonder what the plan is with the adelaide 2019 1st and do we go all in and spend our 2020 1st a year early.

The team will be set in 2020 and i can even see us playing finals that year. 2021 is the year i think we challenge for a flag.

Bright future ahead for our club. And well done to our recruitment department over the past few years

I was bullish about our midfield before this years trade/draft period and that in a few years time we would be hard to beat in this area.

Since then we added Setterfield, Walsh and Stocker. I firmly believe all 3 will become guns.

Im going out on a limb and think we are heavily into Coniglio and as a FA he would make out midfield outstanding in 2020 and beyond.

Then you have to wonder what the plan is with the adelaide 2019 1st and do we go all in and spend our 2020 1st a year early.

The team will be set in 2020 and i can even see us playing finals that year. 2021 is the year i think we challenge for a flag.

Bright future ahead for our club. And well done to our recruitment department over the past few years

If Coniglio comes to us, we'll have to part with our 2019 & 2020 first round picks. GWS will match any bid for Coniglio and force a trade.

If Adelaide's first rounder is a top 10 pick, we should go to the draft.

If the pick is between the 12-15 range, might be worth trying to trade it for a Billings or Martin type if available.

If the price tag on a player like Jack Billings or Jack Martin is 2 x first rounders, we should pass and go back to the draft. Only worth recruiting mature age talent at the right price.

Agree all the three youngsters mentioned will be jets and that with 1 more quality A grade mature bodied midfielder will launch us much earlier.
Reckon Walsh will go close to the rising star 2019 award.

Is there any proof were going after Coniglio, or is that just what you want?
Also, if we were going for someone wouldn't you want Kelly instead?

imagine if you will - sitting in the stands - and after each goal, the ball is bounced in the traditional manner - and then....wait for it - and then, the ball moves towards OUR forward line, ie. the ball is cleared from the centre bounce TOWARDS OUR FORWARD LINE.......

as you were.....
Tell him he's dreamin

In 2019 it will start to become reality Thy.

In some games I expect our midfield to have some really good periods and there will be a few games where it will click and we will really dominate.

Walsh Dow SPS Setterfield to McKay McGovern & Charlie. WOW :straining:

Poor cripps- doesnt even get mentioned these days

Good to hear. I'm a fan of LOB's. There are footy players and then there are AFL players. Reckon he is an AFL player all the way.

I liked his instant 2 way running this year, especially defensive, and thought/think we can use that again next year while he is otherwise generally finding his feet and learning the nuances. I think it is ambitious to already have him concentrate on a more full packaged game so early, but if he can do it so early then that is a bonus.

He'll be another very interesting watch.

I agree. I love this kid. He is very underestimated IMO. If he can finish off his first year full of run and grit- like he did, it shows heaps of character. His second season will be one to watch and his disposal, whilst elite sometimes has come in for some unfair criticism for being a bit inconsistent . That will all change once his fitness, strength and confidence improves as it will no doubt do in 2019

If Coniglio comes to us, we'll have to part with our 2019 & 2020 first round picks. GWS will match any bid for Coniglio and force a trade.

If the pick is between the 12-15 range, might be worth trying to trade it for a Billings or Martin type if available.

If the price tag on a player like Jack Billings or Jack Martin is 2 x first rounders, we should pass and go back to the draft. Only worth recruiting mature age talent at the right price.
I think the least likely possibility is we'll match bids for Cogs. We've a lot of re-signings to do next year and it'll be a delicate balance.

The rules prevent you from matching bids unless you are genuine and I believe the AFL watch closely.

I doubt we'll be the highest offer for Cog's but as long as we're close he probably stay. His call though.

The Eagles and possibly Freo will probably come hard, they remember the 15yo prodigously takented and tough kid who played WAFL at 16.

Great to see Setterfield looking fit in your training pics. Still wish he was with us, but you might be a good place for him. I think after a horror start to his career he'll need some positives and he's more likely to find a spot in a developing team quickly, and with less pressure. Then a chance to grow into success with them.

An issue we always have is the NEAFL is a poor standard and the VFL would be a better place to find his feet initially anyway.

I think the least likely possibility is we'll match bids for Cogs. We've a lot of re-signings to do next year and it'll be a delicate balance.

The rules prevent you from matching bids unless you are genuine and I believe the AFL watch closely.

I doubt we'll be the highest offer for Cog's but as long as we're close he probably stay. His call though.

The Eagles and possibly Freo will probably come hard, they remember the 15yo prodigously takented and tough kid who played WAFL at 16.

Great to see Setterfield looking fit in your training pics. Still wish he was with us, but you might be a good place for him. I think after a horror start to his career he'll need some positives and he's more likely to find a spot in a developing team quickly, and with less pressure. Then a chance to grow into success with them.

An issue we always have is the NEAFL is a poor standard and the VFL would be a better place to find his feet initially anyway.

Coniglio has seemed content at GWS & appears quite loyal to the club but a lot of dollars can be tempting.

How do you think you’ll preference in keeping your OOC/FA’s for next year
Kelly, Hopper, Himmelberg, Coniglio, Haynes, Tomlinson, Buntine?

But just as susceptible these days are the following years OOC/FA; Taranto, Whitfield, Cameron (overpaid IMO), Williams, Perryman etc

Coniglio has seemed content at GWS & appears quite loyal to the club but a lot of dollars can be tempting.

How do you think you’ll preference in keeping your OOC/FA’s for next year
Kelly, Hopper, Himmelberg, Coniglio, Haynes, Tomlinson, Buntine?

But just as susceptible these days are the following years OOC/FA; Taranto, Whitfield, Cameron (overpaid IMO), Williams, Perryman etc
Not necessarily my choice but the clubs made it pretty clear we'll fight to the death for Kelly.

I think we see Cogs as low risk, but definitely a priority.

Himmelburg, Tomlinson, Hopper and Haynes are important and we'll likely need a bit more cash for them.

I think this hear was a one off. 2020 is too far ahead.

Cameron was close to top of the Coleman before the Andrew's incident. I do think it shot his confidence a bit. Hopefully he'll sort that in the off-season. I dont think anyone likes to hurt people like that and he cant get it that badly wrong. You cant second guess your judgement entering a contest when fractions of a second matter either.

The fringe players might be a risk. Buntine and Perryman face a tough struggle for a spot, injury gods willing.

Not necessarily my choice but the clubs made it pretty clear we'll fight to the death for Kelly.

I think we see Cogs as low risk, but definitely a priority.

Himmelburg, Tomlinson, Hopper and Haynes are important and we'll likely need a bit more cash for them.

I think this hear was a one off. 2020 is too far ahead.

Cameron was close to top of the Coleman before the Andrew's incident. I do think it shot his confidence a bit. Hopefully he'll sort that in the off-season. I dont think anyone likes to hurt people like that and he cant get it that badly wrong. You cant second guess your judgement entering a contest when fractions of a second matter either.

The fringe players might be a risk. Buntine and Perryman face a tough struggle for a spot, injury gods willing.

I think GWS are right in the flag hunt this year. Got a feeling all the what if's about who's who at the club re the list are nearly all sorted and they can be more of a "all eyes on the flag" team. If that makes sense. I just think they will be more sorta settled and secure. No knock on guys who have left. There was always gonna be a lot of sorting out to do with that vast collection of talent.

Cogs i see as your heart n soul along with the skippers. Can't see him leaving next contract. Bizness to be done onfield first at HIS club. GWS will look after his pay packet enough.

I think GWS are right in the flag hunt this year. Got a feeling all the what if's about who's who at the club re the list are nearly all sorted and they can be more of a "all eyes on the flag" team. If that makes sense. I just think they will be more sorta settled and secure. No knock on guys who have left. There was always gonna be a lot of sorting out to do with that vast collection of talent.

Cogs i see as your heart n soul along with the skippers. Can't see him leaving next contract. Bizness to be done onfield first at HIS club. GWS will look after his pay packet enough.

Very good summary TW.
GWS are my tip next season.
Coniglio would be atop every clubs shopping list , he's got that something special and made of the right stuff ... which is probably why he'll stay and "finish the business"

Like with Shiel I'm not a fan of chasing Coniglio. Going to cost a lot of money and although a very good player where does he fit and does he make us much better? If he comes in in 2020 does he cost a talented young player a spot?

IMO our recruiting come years end will have a lot to do with how 2019 goes. I don't believe we have made any decisions yet and I don't think there will be many changes. 5-6 will be the number.

We may need to use our money and/or picks on a Ruck, a Key Defender, a Small Forward or someone like a Cerra if he wants to come home. I also have no issue if we get another Setterfield or Newman types and add them to our list along with a couple more talented young draftees.

It's now about filling needs and adding a few draftees each year

Gws wont match what we offer.

Is there any proof were going after Coniglio, or is that just what you want?
Also, if we were going for someone wouldn't you want Kelly instead?
What i want. Whispers. And andy Maher has mentioned we are chasing.

Coniglio is a gun. Gws wouldn't match what we offer. FA coniglio would be the perfect get.

Of course Kelly would be nice. Hell both would make our midfield exceptional. Tough to do but not out of the realms. Both would cost a lot of coin.

Id prefer we take Coniglio as a FA if possible then add a player via trade such as a Jack Billings, Lewis Taylor, Cerra or maybe Ed Langdon? All of these players would bring something to our team. Langdon is out of contract at the end of 2019 and i think could be a great get and wouldnt cost a crazy amount imo

Like with Shiel I'm not a fan of chasing Coniglio. Going to cost a lot of money and although a very good player where does he fit and does he make us much better? If he comes in in 2020 does he cost a talented young player a spot?

IMO our recruiting come years end will have a lot to do with how 2019 goes. I don't believe we have made any decisions yet and I don't think there will be many changes. 5-6 will be the number.

We may need to use our money and/or picks on a Ruck, a Key Defender, a Small Forward or someone like a Cerra if he wants to come home. I also have no issue if we get another Setterfield or Newman types and add them to our list along with a couple more talented young draftees.

It's now about filling needs and adding a few draftees each year
Was there very much with you re Shiel Soap as most will remember. But cannot see GWS matching us if we go after Coniglio as a FA. He will add a lot to our team imo.

I don't buy into the "a good player will cost a young gun a spot" tbh. Injuries, form and other factors play a huge part and coniglio would be an amazing get.

I want us to get to the stage where we do start losing players for decent picks. I want us to have an extremely quality best 30. Thats when all players are fighting so hard for a spot. And if we lose 1 or 2 then we get good picks and we either go to the draft or we spend those picks on needs based players.

Coniglio is a gun. You don't say no to him if he costs only cash and no picks

List Mgmt. Our Midfield