List Mgmt. Our Midfield

Re O'brien, i don't see the point in having O'bien playing half back, when you have what looks like a perfect linkman who can kick. We need to attack the game from now on. There is a difference between a distributor and a linkman.

Not even being looked at for that role and it's not his go. Need to move on

As I have said it will be very interesting to see how Bolton & Co balance and rotate our midfield but the more I see the more confident I am

Cripps
Kennedy
Curnow
SPS
Fisher
Walsh
(never said this about a first year player)
Murphy are all in great condition and look set to explode from Round One. What a great group with different talents and "experience".

Dow only slightly behind but has put on pure muscle and looks very good. Mature head that will step up quickly. As good as any

Cuningham is as fit as ever. Looks great and focussed. IMO has all the tools but needs to produce. Needs a consistent run at it and I reckon he will be a gun

O'Brien. injury interrupted early but now training fully. Added muscle and running well. Dangerous on a wing. Forwards will love him and he will kick goals

Setterfield is a beast and has it all, elite. Patience will be rewarded.
Stocker. Big unit that just needs to fine down. Working hard but a bull and has amazing vision out of a contest. Watch for his ability to hit targets or create out of congestion. Rare. Dual sided, tough and never gives up

Lang. Year he needs to step up and unfortunately only just joining in training. Second half of year is his chance
Gibbons. Small but has a great engine and steps up when needed. Big game player that could make it. I like him
Polson. Similar type to Gibbons. Has smarts and talent. Needs to believe but may play purely small forward

The underrated part. Kruezer Phillips or Lobbe. All big bodies who will feed this group and protect them. Their role is to do the 1%ers and make room. We will become the stoppage kings.

Others:

Bugg & Newman. Don't be surprised to see them have stints at centre bounces for relief. Both big bodied and can do it

Charlie. The ultimate X factor. With our forwards developing expect him to have time in the middle. Has trimmed down and has been training with forwards AND Mids. Great engine having finished second in Time Trials behind Ed. The ability to throw him in to make things happen is a huge advantage. I see bits of Kouta Jezza & the Buzz. Could easily be Carltons greatest ever player

Heaps of options and lots of top end talent. It's as "promising" as any midfield list EVER. Even GWS. It will take another 12 months to properly develop and gel but there will be games this year when it clicks and it will scare the crap out of the opposition.

Enjoy everybody as this is a once in a lifetime group :thumbsu:

Not even being looked at for that role and it's not his go. Need to move on

As if you'd know. :)

That does surprise me somewhat, as on limited viewing, seems to have all the tools to become a quality HBF'er but that's not to say he should become one, if he develops into a quality wing-man which will become a very important role from this year on.
Rotations of O'Brien, SPS, Cuningham, Williamson, Fisher on the wings seems quite exciting to me.

As I have said it will be very interesting to see how Bolton & Co balance and rotate our midfield but the more I see the more confident I am

Cripps
Kennedy
Curnow
SPS
Fisher
Walsh
(never said this about a first year player)
Murphy are all in great condition and look set to explode from Round One. What a great group with different talents and "experience".

Dow only slightly behind but has put on pure muscle and looks very good. Mature head that will step up quickly. As good as any

Cuningham is as fit as ever. Looks great and focussed. IMO has all the tools but needs to produce. Needs a consistent run at it and I reckon he will be a gun

O'Brien. injury interrupted early but now training fully. Added muscle and running well. Dangerous on a wing. Forwards will love him and he will kick goals

Setterfield is a beast and has it all, elite. Patience will be rewarded.
Stocker. Big unit that just needs to fine down. Working hard but a bull and has amazing vision out of a contest. Watch for his ability to hit targets or create out of congestion. Rare. Dual sided, tough and never gives up

Lang. Year he needs to step up and unfortunately only just joining in training. Second half of year is his chance
Gibbons. Small but has a great engine and steps up when needed. Big game player that could make it. I like him
Polson. Similar type to Gibbons. Has smarts and talent. Needs to believe but may play purely small forward

The underrated part. Kruezer Phillips or Lobbe. All big bodies who will feed this group and protect them. Their role is to do the 1%ers and make room. We will become the stoppage kings.

Others:

Bugg & Newman. Don't be surprised to see them have stints at centre bounces for relief. Both big bodied and can do it

Charlie. The ultimate X factor. With our forwards developing expect him to have time in the middle. Has trimmed down and has been training with forwards AND Mids. Great engine having finished second in Time Trials behind Ed. The ability to throw him in to make things happen is a huge advantage. I see bits of Kouta Jezza & the Buzz. Could easily be Carltons greatest ever player

Heaps of options and lots of top end talent. It's as "promising" as any midfield list EVER. Even GWS. It will take another 12 months to properly develop and gel but there will be games this year when it clicks and it will scare the crap out of the opposition.

Enjoy everybody as this is a once in a lifetime group :thumbsu:
What was the finishing positions or pbs for time trials. Can you share any info??

As if you'd know. :)

That does surprise me somewhat, as on limited viewing, seems to have all the tools to become a quality HBF'er but that's not to say he should become one, if he develops into a quality wing-man which will become a very important role from this year on.
Rotations of O'Brien, SPS, Cuningham, Williamson, Fisher on the wings seems quite exciting to me.

Never seen it in him. IMO more a Josh Kelly type. He will create and link up and run players off their feet then kick it 50 to a target or for a goal. I'm just waiting until he feels confident and believes like he did as a junior. Then watch out. He will kick lots of goals

I love the fact that our midfield is pretty much set for the next 10-12 years.

We've actually got a lot more pace than what people think. We'll soon have the luxury of playing one bull and two contested players with pace at centre bounces with ample rotations. E.g.

Group 1
Cripps (bull)
Cuningham (explosive inside mid)
Stocker (explosive inside mid)

Group 2
Kennedy (bull)
Dow (explosive inside mid)
new recruit/trade (explosive inside mid) say Jye Caldwell type

Accompanied by seriously talented outside runners:
Walsh
O'brien
Fisher
SPS

Then allow Setterfield to be the damaging balanced mid/utility to run forward of the play and hit the scoreboard a la Bontempelli/Martin style.

And to think some supporters want us to trade for Kelly and Coniglio.

If you can't see it now just because we had one bad injury riddled season, the proof of the pudding will be on display in 12-24 months when North Melbourne and St Kilda start throwing massive offers at our players.

The Gun knows we are about to go into ‘dynasty’ mode and he is setting himself up to be on our good books or if we flower it up, as he quietly wishes, he will be ready to gloat. Either way he is playing it well.
LOl nahh not trying to get in your good books at all mate , Been posting here for over 10 years

I dont think i would have posted more than 10-20 posts combined on the Pies,Bombers,Hawks,Dea's,Gws,Cats boards combined

I have always watched alot of the blues and know that club the most after the tigers and thats probably why

"Dynasty" ...... Lets get you guys off the bottom first

Steal of the draft.

It was his ability to hit targets so they don’t need to change speed or direction that has had me excited since we got him. Have been sorely missing players with that ability since Houlihan retired.

Steal of the draft.

It was his ability to hit targets so they don’t need to change speed or direction that has had me excited since we got him. Have been sorely missing players with that ability since Houlihan retired.
Is he likely to get a start in round 1 ?

From all reports it is his fitness levels that needed work, willing to get in there and do it so won’t be far off the pace.

Would be a small chance for round one, should play at some stage during the year.

If you had of asked me what i thought of Polson anywhere up until round 22, I would have said probably delist or keep developing in the two's, but by Golly did he put in a massive game in round 23.
If he can get to that level as a base over the next couple of years we will certainly have a player on our hands.

Never seen it in him. IMO more a Josh Kelly type. He will create and link up and run players off their feet then kick it 50 to a target or for a goal. I'm just waiting until he feels confident and believes like he did as a junior. Then watch out. He will kick lots of goals
I’m with Harker on this, with all the midfielders we now have, we need multi positional players. 5 players per bounce, if you can’t play hb or hf or wherever then you aren’t required.

If you are saying that O’Brien is midfield.....end of story, then you are sticking the middle finger up at a few of: Fisher, SPS, Dow, Walsh, Cripps, Kennedy, Curnow, Murphy, Setterfield, Stocker, Cuningham.

Personally, I’d prefer to see his influence forward of centre, but I liked his influence when forced in the backline one on one. I still see a half back player there if needed and it could happen like that imo.

I'd rather Coniglio for 900-1mil as a FA than Kelly for 1.5mil plus picks, front load or not.

Yeah you would but you wouldnt get Congilio at Carlton for $900k , GWS,Hawks,Saints,Dogs & Eagles Can all pay that and he is not from melbourne so it would need to be a bigger amount. Try $1.25-$1.35

List Mgmt. Our Midfield