Our Next Five.

• Thread starter Thread starter prodigy

I'll avoid falling into the trap of saying "we will have to player alot better than the last couple of weeks if were going to beat Fremantle"..but I would offer that even in winning against GC we have been down the last 2 weeks and we really really need this next win. Its far from impossible we could drop every game until GWS after this. We need to start our last 3rd of the season run from this game onward.. and get back some of that form we had against Freo, Port, WCE, Staints and Adelaide. Even though we lost to Freo the first time, the style fof game we played that day was top 4 quality: I dont think we achieved that level lately.

Expand this a little.

If we were going to make the top 4, it wont be fremantle that we will replace, it will be Sydney (as they have some nasty games towards the end of the season) that an Essendon being stripped of points.

Having said that, I think 5th is our best possible outcome. We would need to be beating 3 top 4 teams in the next 3 weeks. I am not that deluded, even if we have good records of late against them.

Fremantle's only danger game ironically is us, as they will win the last 5 games by 10 goals or more. Lets face it, they have a soft entry to finals. Meaning they will be on 16.5 wins at least. If we get 15 then that would be good.

Sydney if all goes wrong and lose to the teams above them including us sneaking a win off them then they will have 14.5 wins, and be 6th.

At the end of the day, I would be happy with 6th for our first appearance. But that means winning 4 games, which we have a decent shot at.

You can see it now, hopefully we'll win and beat a side above us and then we'll hear opposition fans say, "oh, but pav wasn't playing so it doesn't count"

Exactly!

Pav hasnt been playing nearly all season which means they are quite capable of winning games without him. 11 1/2 wins from 15 matches without the pav is a fair effort.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk 4 Beta

We really need this win. The confidence that could stem from a win like this could be priceless leading into the next fortnight and ultimately finals.

Or it could have the reverse effect!

A hard fought battle against Freo in inclement conditions could leave us with little in the tank (physically & mentally) when facing the Swans in Sydney.

Hopefully the boys will prove me wrong and it won't result in the mother of all beltings!

If we pinch 2 of the next 3 that would be amazing, but as minimum I think we need to at least win 1 of them!

Sadly our recent record against the hawks hasnt been that bad!

If we pinch 2 of the next 3 that would be amazing, but as minimum I think we need to at least win 1 of them!

Sadly our recent record against the hawks hasnt been that bad!

??????? How is that a sad thing?

In all honesty we will do bugger all come finals, but just getting there will be sweet.

Bullshit. We shouldve knocked off Freo twice, dispatched Port easily and if Cloke didnt have a ripper against us we wouldve been right in it. We beat the Hawks and Swans last year and Essendon just dont scare me.

We wont win the flag but a Prelim is not out of the question.

In all honesty we will do bugger all come finals, but just getting there will be sweet.

Anyone can beat anyone.
And we're the first anyone.

I don't want to put a downer on things but I don't think Richmond can win the flag this year. I don't think they are quite good enough for that level yet but I'd love it if they went all the way in 2013.

However having said that, there is one thing in Richmond's favour and that is that a game of footy is won by the best team on the day. Really that's all it comes down to.........on the day.

If on their day Richmond come out and play great footy in the finals then you never know.

Cheers.

I don't want to put a downer on things but I don't think Richmond can win the flag this year. I don't think they are quite good enough for that level yet but I'd love it if they went all the way in 2013.

However having said that, there is one thing in Richmond's favour and that is that a game of footy is won by the best team on the day. Really that's all it comes down to.........on the day.

If on their day Richmond come out and play great footy in the finals then you never know.

Cheers.

Still don't think we have played our best this year. If we hit it in the lead up and into the finals then who knows?

I was at the Richmond versus Hawthorn match in Round 9 last year. The Tigers that day were absolutely clinical right from the opening bounce. Completely belted us in every department. The Tigers destroyed us on the spread and made us look very slow. If Richmond make the eight, I reckon Richmond are a decent chance of winning in week 1 of the finals should they get there and it would be a huge step in the right direction regardless of what happens after that. There's a while to go still before the finals still, but the Tigers are capable of beating anyone on their day. :thumbsu:

The Round 19 game against Hawthorn next week will give a fair indication of just where both teams are at. Last years Round 9 loss was by far our worst performance of season 2012. It will be interesting to see what the Hawks took out of the game and weather we learn't anything. I'm personally worried about the Round 19 game. I got a bad feeling we might lose and Richmond are a team a wouldn't want to face in the finals. They could do some serious damage.

Spot on. I don't expect us to be top 4 but it would not surprise me. I don't expect to be in the PF but it would not surprise me.

Personally I am hoping we make the finals and win one. Anything else would be a bonus this year, but footy is a funny game, and it is played mostly above the shoulders. If they get their confidence up at the right time you never know.

Exactly. Go back to Round 1. Who would have thought that we would be ahead of Collingwood in late July? No one. Not one commentator would have predicted it. Are we ahead of Collingwood? Yes........anything can happen.

I was at the Richmond versus Hawthorn match in Round 9 last year. The Tigers that day were absolutely clinical right from the opening bounce. Completely belted us in every department. The Tigers destroyed us on the spread and made us look very slow. If Richmond make the eight, I reckon Richmond are a decent chance of winning in week 1 of the finals should they get there and it would be a huge step in the right direction regardless of what happens after that. There's a while to go still before the finals still, but the Tigers are capable of beating anyone on their day. :thumbsu:

The Round 19 game against Hawthorn next week will give a fair indication of just where both teams are at. Last years Round 9 loss was by far our worst performance of season 2012. It will be interesting to see what the Hawks took out of the game and weather we learn't anything. I'm personally worried about the Round 19 game. I got a bad feeling we might lose and Richmond are a team a wouldn't want to face in the finals. They could do some serious damage.

I think you guys will be keen to atone, obviously a much better side than us, although I'd love to win it and it would really stamp us as a force this year I just think you have moved up a level this year. You will probably win and win handsomely.

I just hope we get to week 2 of the finals. Worse case will be to bow out with a massive defeat in week 1 of the finals after everyone has pumped us up.
The commentators would have a field day.