Our Phantom Draft

If we take McEntee at 14 I will eat my own arm in surprise.

There's a reason we've got THREE developing ruckman invited to train with the Hawks at the moment (Lachlan Mackinnon 200cm ruckman - Coburg, Tallan Ames 195cm ruckman - Swan Districts, Zack Beeck, 197 cm ruckman - West Coast Eagles).

Last year, the same recruiting manager overlooked Meeson, Woods, Deluca and Maric with our first FIVE picks, yet LukeHodge15 thinks we are going to use pick 14 on a long term ruck prospect.

On top of that, you think Adelaide will take McEntee at 14 after drafting Meeson and Maric last year???

I don't think so.

Concur with Pharaoh.

You can get a good developing ruckman with our PSD pick, or even on the rookie list.

We were keen on Meeson last year, and didn't go for it. I can't see is going for a ruckman that early this year either.

Give me Coburg's Most Improved, Lachy McKinnon as a rookie rather than a young ruckman at #14.

Pharaoh said:

There's a reason we've got THREE developing ruckman invited to train with the Hawks at the moment (Lachlan Mackinnon 200cm ruckman - Coburg, Tallan Ames 195cm ruckman - Swan Districts, Zack Beeck, 197 cm ruckman - West Coast Eagles).

Last year, the same recruiting manager overlooked Meeson, Woods, Deluca and Maric with our first FIVE picks, yet LukeHodge15 thinks we are going to use pick 14 on a long term ruck prospect.

On top of that, you think Adelaide will take McEntee at 14 after drafting Meeson and Maric last year???

I don't think so.

I dont know much about MacKinnon, but McEntee is/will be better than Beeck and Ames. Yeh 14 was probly a but high, he would have been available at 18 probly with Adelaide's ruck stocks, but he will become a solid player in the AFL in time.

Pharaoh said:

I don't think so.

lets stat what happened not a glorified account of what happened.

we took roughead and franklin with picks 2 and 5 (2 talls), thus really leaving us with taking the best midfielder available with pick 7. (lewis)

i still think that they uptraded pick 10 to 7 to get meeson but there plan backfired when they took 2 talls with our first 2 picks..........buy hey that just my opinion

meeson went at 8 and wood 17, they were the 2 standout ruckman in last years draft. maric and deluca weren't in the same class as wood and meeson.
at pick 21 and 26 we took murphy and little, obviously the recruiting staff thought they were going to be better players than maric and deluca. taylor was going to be there at 54 anyways.

2 say there isnt a chance that we will draft a young TALENTED ruckman is just plain crazy. taylor and cambell are missing the one ingredient that we can get early in the draft........TALENT

Pharaoh said:

I don't think so.

Mate you have no idea, and fact is most of us probably don't. They may be looking at taking 2 ruckman this year, 1 early in the draft and one from the list of 3 you have mentioned, perhaps in the PSD. My bet is that you haven't seen McEntee play and have formed an impression of him based on what others have said on here.

You're probably spot on in regards to Adelaide not taking him at 16 or 17 though. We have 6 players that are 197cm or above.

In most of the previous drafts most clubs would say up to at least pick 20 that they took the best player available.In this year's draft I believe from about pick 5 clubs will be drafting on a needs basis and therefore there may be a number of shock draft picks in the first round.Who know's McEntee might go before 14?

LukeHodge15 said:
couldnt risk adelaide taking the home town boy with 16 or 17.

just debating on wether 2 read out a real smokey with pick 22, not even on footy draft boards. or gamble that he will be there pick 70. :eek:

Nah go the smokie, thats what this draft is all about. Plus im kinda curious as to who it is.

macca69 said:
Nah go the smokie, thats what this draft is all about. Plus im kinda curious as to who it is.

Don't encourage him, If it is who I think I want to get him for a bargain near the end of the draft.

missionpossible said:
Don't encourage him, If it is who I think I want to get him for a bargain near the end of the draft.

I have a strong feeling who it is and I recommend LukeHodge wait till pick 70.

missionpossible said:

hmm so there are at least 3 guys that know the same smokie who hasn't been mentioned on bigfooty, there would be quite a few smokies not mentioned, what makes you think that its the same guy?

macca69 said:
hmm so there are at least 3 guys that know the same smokie who hasn't been mentioned on bigfooty, there would be quite a few smokies not mentioned, what makes you think that its the same guy?

If I am right about which one he knows I rate him very highly and we have spoken about him a number of times. Most of us would be able to work out who each others smokies are if we had been taking note of comments throughout the year.

macca69 said:

I am not certain its the same smokey although I have a pretty fair idea. LH15 has mentioned him on occasions.

theorangeapple said:
I am not certain its the same smokey although I have a pretty fair idea. LH15 has mentioned him on occasions.

ohhh I think I now know who it is.

grub29 said:
What are the chances we will get to 45 tonight?

Most of us are online ATM, so if it stays that way for a while we are a chance, but I think we will struggle to get to my first pick (33).

it would help if people gave their next pick before going offline. As we get further in the draft more likelyhood there is that no one will pick who you want.

if that pick gets taken you can fix it when you come back online

just put the pick number as the heading so that I dont open it if it is after my next pick

really big fan of

tim looby
daniel nichols
jace bode

hawthorn select daniel nichols.........im a shocking speller

Dan Nicholls, Tom Rischbeith, Nick Lower and Grant Birchell go 22,23,24, and 25

sorry guys, surprise visit from mother-in-law :eek: :D

u reckon i copped flak from the mcentee selection, watch the wolves come out and play tommorow, hate having my own opinion on players :eek:

Who the bloody hell has the bulldogs, not takne Cleve Hughes with pick 11, but taken Muston!