Our Phantom Draft

LukeHodge15 said:
sorry guys, surprise visit from mother-in-law :eek: :D

u reckon i copped flak from the mcentee selection, watch the wolves come out and play tommorow, hate having my own opinion on players :eek:
Okay, give us a Footydraft type run down on him.

12- Daniel Nicholls – 175/67 (Dandenong stingrays) – Left foot – Vic Metro - State screening – 3.00 for 20m shows that he has some pace but still not necessarily quick at top speed, also had a 15.1 beep test which is a positive for him. A brilliant first half in the first game of the finals and a solid effort in the grand final where he was instrumental in a lot of the stingrays goals. Looks to be good at the in and under stuff as well as receiving the ball. Appears to read the play well and gets into positions where his touches can be creative and effective without sitting on a half back flank getting easy touches. His disposal by foot although it does not look flash is quite effective and when one sits down and studies the results of his kicking one has to upgraded his rating substantially. Very one sided player on first impression as he always goes onto his left foot, however this is also deceptive because when he is required to go right he does so by hand to a running player who can run into the space better than. Tends to carry the ball 10 to 20m before disposing of the ball. He can use his right foot when he has to. Handballs on both sides of the bodies. He can use his body in a marking centre and can compete in marking contests against players that are taller than him. He chases well and tackles and shepherds well. TAC Cup. CENTRE
- 9 kicks, 10 handballs, 19 possessions, 0 marks, 2 goals

worthy said:
Okay, give us a Footydraft type run down on him.

im a huge fan. had to take him because he wouldn't have been there at pick 70. have him pick 14 on my board so still a bargain in my eyes at 22. :D

daniel nicholls-dandenong stingrays
midfielder
vic metro representative

didn't make the afl draft camp which surprised the hell out a me. (see his height though, probably explains it) went to state screening but havent any figures on his speed and jumping etc.

176cm-5ft 9in-70 kilos

Nicholls is that terrible height where afl clubs will shy away straight away. tremendous courageous and attack on the footy. quick without having blistering pace. great hands, footy smarts and great left foot kick :D
reads the play very well, footy smart and seems to have a real presence on the footy field.

i just rate this kid, others dont........i do :D

missionpossible said:
12- Daniel Nicholls – 175/67 (Dandenong stingrays) – Left foot – Vic Metro - State screening – 3.00 for 20m shows that he has some pace but still not necessarily quick at top speed, also had a 15.1 beep test which is a positive for him. A brilliant first half in the first game of the finals and a solid effort in the grand final where he was instrumental in a lot of the stingrays goals. Looks to be good at the in and under stuff as well as receiving the ball. Appears to read the play well and gets into positions where his touches can be creative and effective without sitting on a half back flank getting easy touches. His disposal by foot although it does not look flash is quite effective and when one sits down and studies the results of his kicking one has to upgraded his rating substantially. Very one sided player on first impression as he always goes onto his left foot, however this is also deceptive because when he is required to go right he does so by hand to a running player who can run into the space better than. Tends to carry the ball 10 to 20m before disposing of the ball. He can use his right foot when he has to. Handballs on both sides of the bodies. He can use his body in a marking centre and can compete in marking contests against players that are taller than him. He chases well and tackles and shepherds well. TAC Cup. CENTRE
- 9 kicks, 10 handballs, 19 possessions, 0 marks, 2 goals

there is a heap better profile than mine worthy ;)

since scottroo hasn't been hear since I have been home worthy has made the kangaroos pick at 28'

also have picks 29, 30 and 33 penciled in

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

hawks picks.

3-josh kennedy.......after the sucess of drafting talls early last year and the exit of key position players this year < holland, hay, barker? > hawks take the best key position player in the draft at 3 imo. really wanted to grab hurn with pick 2 and go tall with pick 6 but that was taken outa my hands. will make 4 two josh kennedys on hawthorn list by 2007
really think we have a 200+ game multi position player in kennedy. should be able to hold down chf-chb

6-andrew swallow.............we need EXPLOSIVE midfielders, and swallow fits this bill in spades. ran 2.80 over 20metres at draft camp (similar results to someone else we know well who recently won a brownlow) absolutely starred at the under 18 championships for west australia and was very unlucky to not get the medal. already gathered over 30 possies in WAFL seniors, so should be ready to play in 2006.........question marks over his kicking but judd has a little weakness in his kicking game so i'm happy to take swallow with 6.
really wanted ryder to slip to 6, HUGE fan..........

14-luke mcentee..................we need some developing young ruckman on our list and at the minute we dont really have that. spider not getting any younger, cambell and taylor arent long term solutions imo so have to take a ruckman at 14. luke mcentee had a very good carnival and in imo ryder (who might not end up being tall enough 4 the ruck) and mcentee were the clear standouts in this position. adel have 2 picks be4 my next one, and im sure they would be very keen on the south aussie boy.
cleve hughes was a steal 4 melbourne at 12, shame he didnt slip to 14, but very happy to snare young luke

18-marcus drum.............drum provides us with the utility that could fill many roles for us in the future. not tall enough to hold down a key position in the AFL but makes for a handy 3rd tall who reads the play very well. late in the season, his coaches tried to get him in2 the midfield as a ruck rover. if this option works out, he could end up as midfielder in the ilk of andrew embley........fingers crossed. took over 20 marks in a TAC cup game this year :D , and played in the championships 2 years running.........missed being drafted by 1 day last year. projected to go top 10, so a bit of a steal at 18, his height is the reason why he is sliding. worst case he plays down back, best case he ends up a star tall midfielder.

22-daniel nicholls.............176cm-70 kilos, these figures will make most clubs shy away and look 4 taller mids. i just reckon this kid has was it takes. just seems to be very footy smart on the field(leader)........ in the right place, hard tackler, nice left foot kick without being exceptional. had a good carnival 4 vic metro at championships. wasnt invited to draft camp but racked up the figures of 3.00 in the 20 m sprint and 15.1 in the beep test which shows he has the motor to become a prime midfielder. had to take him at 22 because he wouldnt have been there at my next pick at 70.

38-travis tuck..........he has it in his blood. (tuck-sire ablett-dame) didnt play in the championship because of injury. came 2nd in dandenong stingrays best and fairest and rarely outa the best all year. 187 cm which is perfect height 4 a midfielder these days and plays so similar to his old man, its uncanny........ solid left foot kick and just seems to accumulate possies without ever looking like he dominating. after the shane tuck situation, u would think he will be given at least 4 years on the list to prove his worth, and hopefully he doesnt get the injurys that shane did when he was with the hawks.

The WCE have completed their drafting and are extremely pleased with the result.

Like we have in the past, I have simply selected the best available which has meant we ended up with 3 players in the 183-183cm bracket. I would have liked to have drafted a KPP and a small defender however only having 3 picks, all reasonably early, I thought the best approach would be to take the best available.

Here is a run down of my picks:

Pick 13 - Darren Pfeiffer - Norwood - 183cm, 78kgs - Flanker/ onballer.

Darren is a plug'n play midfield type who will start out on a back flank. He has played 6 senior SANFL games with Norwood this year and made AA at the u18 Championships. He was also voted SA best in that Carnival. Should be ready to play round 1 of 2006. He is hard at the contest and has fine skills. At this pick I was tossing up between he and Travis Varcoe. I went with Pfeiffer because his quality is more easily judged. Small Aboriginal types seem to only turn out to be flanker/ forward pocket types in the AFL despite playing midfield in their junior days. Combine that with Varcoe's injury problem and the fact you don’t take unnecessary risks with 1st round picks, I selected the safe bet with Pfeiffer. Originally, I was hoping that Cleve Hughes would continue to slide all the way down to me but he just fell short. Other players I considered were; Richard Douglas and Shaun Higgins.

Pick 29 – Shaun Higgins – Geelong Falcons – 183cm, 76cm – Midfielder

I was extremely pleased that Shaun made it to pick 29. As I said, I was considering him at 13. He is a bottom age, classy, ball magnet who performed well whenever given an opportunity. Injuries have affected him of late but he continues to impress. He has a lot of improvement left and he has a very strong base to work with, he averages over 20ppg in the TAC and managed to accumulate 20 disposals of a HFF in his sole game at the Championships before he injured himself. He will be a welcome addition to the WCE midfield. I think he was a steal at 29. Other players I would have considered were Paul Bower, Courtney Dempsey, Ben McKinley and Danny Stanley. I would have liked to pick a tall here but I did not feel the quality available was up to Higgins’ standard.

Pick 34 – Courtney Dempsey – Morningside – 186cm, 76kgs – Livewire midfielder/ forward.

Courtney is very highly regarded by numerous AFL clubs and was touted as a top10 pick mid way through the year. He is an Aboriginal livewire who has a lot of flair and tons of talent. He had a poor u18 Carnival which has meant he fell back in the rankings however he is not alone with Matthew Pavlich and Lance Franklin showing how little this means. Courtney needs to learn to play the full 100min, he certainly has the talent to make AFL level. Some people may be surprised that I went with another ‘small’ at this pick after picking similar types earlier in the draft however I feel that the Eagles list has a very even spread of your players already and we can afford to take risks on someone like Dempsey who will love the wide Subiaco oval, a bargain at pick 34. Other players I considered who Jon Cheetham (very raw KPP), Danny Stanley (a small backman, which would have been nice) and Daniel Dzufer.

It’s a pity that we only had the 3 picks, I had a few ‘smokies’ in stall. Phil Raymond, Robert Eddy, Jake Edwards and Brennan Mills would all have been considered with later picks or in the rookie draft.

wayde mills, laidlaw, jackson, tuck, neagle and ed lower go 35,36,37,38,39 and 40

the twins both end up at richmond

Nice one Vintage. You old sweet talker :thumbsu:

Gee I just noticed you still had 37 available aswell. What a mate :D

yeah he talked me into giving it to him - he said something along the lines of, we will promote the walking stick onto the veterans list to give calton an extra pick.

theorangeapple said:
Here is a run down of my picks:

It’s a pity that we only had the 3 picks, I had a few ‘smokies’ in stall. Phil Raymond, Robert Eddy, Jake Edwards and Brennan Mills would all have been considered with later picks or in the rookie draft.

A great summary ot your picks. Higgins at 29. I think that just goes to show how small players can drift down the order until someone says stuff it "HE IS THE BEST TALENT" available even if he isn't what we were looking for.

I love how recruiters say we are going for the best talent before the draft and then after the draft come out after the draft saying oh how great it is that we got a CHF, a CHB, a Centreman and a winger which is what we went into the draft to get. In all honesty that is what they were always going to pick it is just they didn't know which order they would get them.

I'm not trying to be critical as I can see you didn't have a North person to do the picks, but the last thing we need is yet another half back flanker like Toovey.

Whoever is doing picks 43 & 45, FWIW Laidley has stated we'll be drafting a developing ruckman at some stage. A midfielder with a bit of toe would be a good get for us as well ;)

Cheers

Worthy is doing the choices for the kangaroos and basically tossed up between
toovey as a replacement for archer/colbert being a tough through the ball player who could play against men taller than him if needed to
quick midfielder who happened to be snapped up at pick 29
key position forward to step into roccas boots.

I think he considered the needs of the roos in his selection.

As for a ruckman I think there is only one standout pick for ruck and he went at pick 14. If a club is looking for a ruckman this year they should snap him up or look at getting west, bailey, banjanin or a 21yo state league ruckman with a last round pick or in the rookie draft. If they are ever going to make the centre circle 2 metres bigger warnock comes into the picture.

desie said:
Whoever is doing picks 43 & 45, FWIW Laidley has stated we'll be drafting a developing ruckman at some stage.
With Hale and McIntosh developing and Thompson capable of giving them a cop out, I wouldn't have thought ruck would have been a consideration this year.

missionpossible said:
when logging off just let me know who is your favoured player for your next pick, I should be able to let you know if it is still a possibility as most of the time i will have the next couple of picks sorted out, rather than just waiting for the next pick.

hopefully we can get to about pick 45 tomorrow night and finish on thursday night
What are the chances we will finish tonight?I won't be here tomorrow and won't be back until Sunday.

grub29 said:
What are the chances we will finish tonight?I won't be here tomorrow and won't be back until Sunday.
Send your preferences to missionpossible so that he can take your picks for you.

i expect shannon hurn to go around pick 2. Reason being that he is as good as griffen if not better. Shannon hurn is a fantastic mark and is quicker than griffen. Shannon Hurn has played with centrals in this years league SANFL Premiership. Is AFL ready in 2006 where as ellis has school comitments.