• We've got a long way to go

Votes: 43 44.3%
  • Sack Dimma and then we'll talk

Votes: 7 7.2%
  • Stupid question you flog

Votes: 10 10.3%

Before round 1, I would have said yes. But instead of picking up where we left off last year, we have gone backwards at the start of the year, just like the previous 3 years. But the game has changed. I don't we have have.
Too early to write us off for mine.

We start so poorly and improve as the season progresses.

I don't think we have a flag in us this year, but we're a better team than our first two outings.

Apparently this dude was located off the coast somewhere and he thought our premiership window was around the corner back in the days.

christ-abyss.jpg

Apparently this dude was located off the coast somewhere and he thought our premiership window was around the corner back in the days.

christ-abyss.jpg
Now would be a perfect opportunity to post something like "What do Jesus and Hardwick's going win a Premiership as Coach of Richmond have in common? They are both made up and only fools believe in it". But I wont.

Too early to write us off for mine.

We start so poorly and improve as the season progresses.

I don't think we have a flag in us this year, but we're a better team than our first two outings.

Yep we do. It just feels like that in every preseason the coach pulls out the square peg game plans and then miraculously finds the round peg ones, after we gamble away a few games early.

I can't help but look at the team we played on the weekend and cringe (Taylor Hunt ffs).........that team isn't going close to a flag.

IMO we need to land a big fish in the offseason that immediately makes an impact (think Prestia, JOM etc). Whilst ensuring we develop the kids further and look to bolster depth where needed e.g. Ruck, inside mid.

I'm not sure why guys like Batchelor & Lennon aren't getting games, as I would have thought they are in our best team (especially if you go off last years efforts).

In addition to this, I don't agree with Chaplin out Astbury in, I think Astbury panics whenever he has the football and can't make a quick decision to move the ball on. Mind you, he can take the monster forwards which Chaplin struggles with, so I think we are one defender short down back.

Just my opinion, I think our strongest team looks like this:

FB: Vlastuin, Astbury/Chaplin, Grimes

CHB: Houli, Rance, Yarran

C: B.Ellis Martin Grigg

CHF: Deledio, Vickery Lennon

FF: Edwards Riewoldt LLoyd

Followers: Maric, Cotchin, Miles

Bench: Lambert, Menadue, Townsend, Batchelor, Conca, C.Ellis, K.McIntosh, Griffiths. (Bench picked depending on injuries, matchups etc).

Bolded missing from the game vs Collingwood.

Add in a gun recruit into that midfield group and things are looking a lot better!

Premiership windows are a crock.

Sent from my brain using ESP.

I agree. Doubt Hawthorn would have been saying the premiership window was two years away in 2008.

I want to be rudely suprised by something to make up for those lost decades. Not something plodding along to a Terry Wallace schedule.

Whenever we want it to be. We arguably have the talent, our teams still young as ****.
When the players start playing smart, mature and consistent footy then it will be open.

It'll be time for a another rebuild by then..! The offenders last week in Hunt, Vickers, hampson, grigg, Lloyd, kmac, vlas & rance. Who is young.?
We only have 2-3 "young players". rest have been in the system for some time and should no better. Yes, everyone's allowed a bad game but as a team we've done this 3 years in a row.....Go figure..!

I agree. Doubt Hawthorn would have been saying the premiership window was two years away in 2008.

I want to be rudely suprised by something to make up for those lost decades. Not something plodding along to a Terry Wallace schedule.
I agree that the term is a bit stupid, however it does point to know where the list is at. Some Clubs know their list truly better than others.

Win record from 2013 - present against each team (H&A + Finals)

Opponent - Win/Loss
Adelaide - 2/1
Brisbane - 4/0
Carlton - 5/2
Collingwood - 2/3
Essendon - 4/2
Fremantle - 2/3
Geelong - 0/3
Suns - 2/1
Giants - 4/0
Hawthorn - 2/1
Melbourne - 1/2
Kangaroos - 1/4
Port - 3/1
Saints - 5/0
Sydney - 2/2
Eagles - 2/1
Dogs - 2/2

Good enough to win. Just need more leadership, maturity and consistency.

Win record from 2013 - present against each team (H&A + Finals)

Opponent - Win/Loss
Adelaide - 2/1
Brisbane - 4/0
Carlton - 5/2
Collingwood - 2/3
Essendon - 4/2
Fremantle - 2/3
Geelong - 0/3
Suns - 2/1
Giants - 4/0
Hawthorn - 2/1
Melbourne - 1/2
Kangaroos - 1/4
Port - 3/1
Saints - 5/0
Sydney - 2/2
Eagles - 2/1
Dogs - 2/2

Good enough to win. Just need more leadership, maturity and consistency.
Finals Win Record from 2013.
Win/Loss
0/3

It'll be time for a another rebuild by then..! The offenders last week in Hunt, Vickers, hampson, grigg, Lloyd, kmac, vlas & rance. Who is young.?
We only have 2-3 "young players". rest have been in the system for some time and should no better. Yes, everyone's allowed a bad game but as a team we've done this 3 years in a row.....Go figure..!
When did I mention last week?

Nice irrelevant comment.
It is many things, however irrelevant it is not. It highlights quite a major problem down at Punt Road and considering you need to win at least 3 of the buggers in the one year to win a premiership. I would say it is very much relevant.

Of course if you like we can continue with the Richmond can beat Hawks in a H/A game so logically they can do it in a Grand Final pipe dream if it's more to your understanding.

When did I mention last week?

From the offenders last week who do you think is still young.? your comment claims our team is still young as ****.
To me the young ones are contributing but the matured ones are stuffing it up......again & again. Our captain laid 1 tackle in 4 quarters of footy.
obviously he was more keen to sledge AT than focus on actually winning.......

It is many things, however irrelevant it is not. It highlights quite a major problem down at Punt Road and considering you need to win at least 3 of the buggers in the one year to win a premiership. I would say it is very much relevant.

Of course if you like we can continue with the Richmond can beat Hawks in a H/A game so logically they can do it in a Grand Final pipe dream if it's more to your understanding.
It is irrelevant if you actually read the comment.
What I was showing was we can beat the best teams consistently. So talent is not the issue in taking the next step, leadership and consistency are.
So yes your comment was irrelevant.

"Good enough to win. Just need more leadership, maturity and consistency."
READ THE COMMENT NEXT TIME. I was not saying we would beat Hawks in a final, I was saying the opposite. WE CAN BEAT THEM IN HOME AND AWAY, BUT WE CANT IN A FINAL.

From the offenders last week who do you think is still young.? your comment claims our team is still young as ****.
To me the young ones are contributing but the matured ones are stuffing it up......again & again. Our captain laid 1 tackle in 4 quarters of footy.
obviously he was more keen to sledge AT than focus on actually winning.......
Its young as **** in the way that no one in that team will retire in the next 5 years.
Cotchin also laid 6 tackles the week before, 2nd most in the game. But people didnt even notice or mention that. Its like you guys want to hate Cotchin, all you do is pick out the bad and ignore the good week in week out. Its really, really sad. Cant call yourself Richmond supporters when you dont ever support.

Edit - Also young in the way that our team averaged 74 games per player, North were at 150 on the weekend.
Only 3 teams averaged less game played, Collingwood, Melbourne and Brisbane.

It is irrelevant if you actually read the comment.
What I was showing was we can beat the best teams consistently. So talent is not the issue in taking the next step, leadership and consistency are.
So yes your comment was irrelevant.

"Good enough to win. Just need more leadership, maturity and consistency."
READ THE COMMENT NEXT TIME. I was not saying we would beat Hawks in a final, I was saying the opposite. WE CAN BEAT THEM IN HOME AND AWAY, BUT WE CANT IN A FINAL.
IT IS RELEVANT if you are going to claim the relevance of H/A wins as a measure of anything.

As for needing more leadership, maturity or consistency and you being the King of all things relevant. When do you expect this to happen, as the current Coach has had 6 years to develop this in to his Chargers, how many more does he need?

IT IS RELEVANT if you are going to claim the relevance of H/A wins as a measure of anything.

As for needing more leadership, maturity or consistency and you being the King of all things relevant. When do you expect this to happen, as the current Coach has had 6 years to develop this in to his Chargers, how many more does he need?
Its not. At all. All I am claiming is that in H&A games we can beat the best. Therfor our team is fine talent wise.

Its young as **** in the way that no one in that team will retire in the next 5 years.
Cotchin also laid 6 tackles the week before, 2nd most in the game. But people didnt even notice or mention that. Its like you guys want to hate Cotchin, all you do is pick out the bad and ignore the good week in week out. Its really, really sad. Cant call yourself Richmond supporters when you dont ever support.

Ok mate, my understanding of young is very different to yours...! May be you are the only true supporter RFC has, good on you.!
if you think cotch's performance against carlton or pies was worth giving credit then I have nothing more to say. It was lambo who stood up for us while captain cotch was missing again in the last quarter.!
There is no hate for cotch, he's been great for us but it's time to take off the blinkers and judge his performance as a neutral. There is not a single opposition supporter who rates Cotchin why.? yet, everyone rates dusty & lids as our most damaging & important players.

may be he's carrying the weight of expectations as a Richmond captain, if that's the case he should give up and lift his game to the next level. We want the best player first, captain is secondary.....

Its not. At all. All I am claiming is that in H&A games we can beat the best. Therfor our team is fine talent wise.
It is relevant if that talent can't perform outside of the H/A season. Richmond could have had the largest depth of talent the club has ever seen the past three season and in the end it amounted to half a step less the sweet F A. Once something happens three times in a row, you would seriously need to consider if there is a pattern forming.

You said it yourself with your needs leadership, maturity or consistency. Have a look at the title of the thread, it's not is Richmond's H/A dominance window open. Hence with displaying the finals record is just a relevant as your post.

Relevant. Because if you can't win finals then you don't have the Talent to win a Premiership. And if you don't have the talent to win a Premiership then by the very nature of this threads topic, Richmond is not fine talent wise. Maybe fine if we use the "potential" word. However until the "talent" actually win final/s then they have not shown the ability or talent to win enough finals to be a Premiership contender.