Roast Our supporters

• Thread starter Thread starter Adz

Why would the AFL Allow another sport to be playing at the MCG during the Finals:eek:

because we all stopped going to AFL and all started going to see games between european soccer clubs paid to come out and play for cups designed by some committee...

and you'll have to forget about going to AFL games and stick to the VFL games....

all these things will come about next year .... i know a guy who works for the victorian gov't

No disrespect, but you guys have over double our membership numbers. You have 75,000 members while we have 35,000 members, so a 50/50 turnout is quite a drop from your point of view.

I remember going to a dogs home game against the pies a few years ago, I swear that you guys outnumbered us by at least 5 to 1.

I don't think that's the case mate - i assume you are inferring Pies fans only turn up when we are winning.

it's a combination of high ticketing prices, venues and the game resembling a rugby match being played in a phone box.

That said, if the game had been at the G i would have gone as both our teams take the game on.

because we all stopped going to AFL and all started going to see games between european soccer clubs paid to come out and play for cups designed by some committee...

and you'll have to forget about going to AFL games and stick to the VFL games....

all these things will come about next year .... i know a guy who works for the victorian gov't

So AFL is Dying and Soccer be Bigger then the AFL by end of the Decade?

The main thing I've noticed is not the attendance, its the general atmosphere. It just hasn't been the same since 2010-11 and I'm not sure why. The exception was the North Melbourne game in that second half.

I think alot of supporters dont give a f**k anymore. The crap that has been dished up over the last few years with the odd exception has taken its toll. Combine that with the treatment many premiership players received and the cultural revolution and you may have your answer.

I think alot of supporters dont give a f**k anymore. The crap that has been dished up over the last few years with the odd exception has taken its toll. Combine that with the treatment many premiership players received ...

You're referring to Mick McGuane and Craig Starcevich?

... and the cultural revolution ...

The only thing that is constant is change.

There were over 40000K there today.
I thought it was a reasonable crowd for Etihad, but it is soooooo freezing in that place!
Thank God we don't play there anymore this year
It was a brilliant crowd.
The crowd is like a dark coldran. Said that last week and got howled down for it. It felt warmer when we got outside funnily enough.

Ten years from now ...

... the supporters who were at the game today ...

... will be able to look back and remember "I was there when Darcy Moore had his breakout game and kicked 5 goals" ...

... and they probably wouldn't even remember who won it.

And if Darcy Moore is playing for a team who hasn't made finals in a decade, will it matter?

You reckon Darcy Moore will get traded??? :eek:

I was concentrating on the real football this weekend. The international cup was enthrawling, high pressure, highly skilled football. Evidently, they are going to play again for the next 3 years and more teams are going to come. Arsenal is going to play the East Melbourne Cup against Liverpool next year. And Man Utd will be playing the Cup holders Cup next year against some other european team which will depend on how much the Vic govt can pay them. There will be other games too and I think I'll lose interest in AFL. They are going to pay the two best performing soccer teams to play on the MCG in September to play for the International Melbourne Grand Winners More Exciting than AFL Cup.....I cant wait...

I guess we will see you when Collingwood are back in the finals.
It's usually what happens.

I thought the crowd was pretty good yesterday, especially considering that a lot of sides struggle to get over 30k to games. By comparison I went to the second half of the Dogs v Brisbane game earlier this year, and from memory they only drew 23k or 26k.

Being a Bulldogs home game I didn't expect a lot of Pies supporters to turn out, but thought that we were well-represented, and probably contributed to a lot of the seats on level 3 being occupied

Crowds are rubbish at Etihad because that is what the management is like there: Rubbish.
They cannot comprehend that people will not pay $65 to sit on level 2.
I pay $1,700 for 5 AFL Memberships & am expected to either sit with the pigeons or pay around $160 to sit on level 2.
I do not bother reserving level 1 because there are only 3,000 spots there for AFL Members.
I instead manage to always find seats behind the players bench.
The AFL needs to buy that stadium ASAP for the sake of the fans.

I flat out refuse to go to the place.
Can't stand it, I even lived in a apartment right on top of the place, went there once.

I hold MCC & Collingwood memberships but haven't been anywhere near that place in at least 3 years.

For me the thing that has changed my passion for footy (I love watching all teams), is the inconsistency of umpiring and how more than ever, their decisions/non decisions confuse and directly influence the result of a play.
What happened to the strengthened interpretation of incorrect disposal, when is a 'dangerous' tackle a free kick, ruck infringement and confusion with third man up, standing too close to the man on the mark and blocking him are just some I saw on the weekend at various games.

Hawthorn are great at pushing the envelope with umpiring decisions and play it to to letter of the law, if they happen to be pinged once or twice doesn't really matter.

I still haven't gotten over the fact that during our game against Port there was a total of 15 which is almost what is the total for a half and even sometimes per quarter.

Crowds are rubbish at Etihad because that is what the management is like there: Rubbish.
They cannot comprehend that people will not pay $65 to sit on level 2.
I pay $1,700 for 5 AFL Memberships & am expected to either sit with the pigeons or pay around $160 to sit on level 2.
I do not bother reserving level 1 because there are only 3,000 spots there for AFL Members.
I instead manage to always find seats behind the players bench.
The AFL needs to buy that stadium ASAP for the sake of the fans.

Yep and There Foods there is Still Bloody Expensive like it was at the MCG

For me the thing that has changed my passion for footy (I love watching all teams), is the inconsistency of umpiring and how more than ever, their decisions/non decisions confuse and directly influence the result of a play.
What happened to the strengthened interpretation of incorrect disposal, when is a 'dangerous' tackle a free kick, ruck infringement and confusion with third man up, standing too close to the man on the mark and blocking him are just some I saw on the weekend at various games.

Hawthorn are great at pushing the envelope with umpiring decisions and play it to to letter of the law, if they happen to be pinged once or twice doesn't really matter.

I still haven't gotten over the fact that during our game against Port there was a total of 15 which is almost what is the total for a half and even sometimes per quarter.

I agree - It’s Killing the Game in how bad the Scumps are.

They play Roles in Changing Momentum in the Game.

WTF is Holding the Ball now?