Our temple of dreams the great MCG.

Oct 4, 2000
melb vic aust
Im tired of change,
People will say we have to move with the times im getting sick of hearinng that one.
The MCG is something to behold it is a sacred and historic place.There is no other sporting venue in Australasia that is as magic as our MCG.You can sit in the outer and go back in time to any grand final where dreams did come true and hearts were shattered to pieces,it is a place of tears and a place of imense celebration.In recent times thanks to the coloniall craphouse it has been affectionately known as the peoples ground and rightfully so.The old MCC stand has withstood the father of time it has seen battles before it that we now can only read about,for those who have never visited this monsterous historic stadium please do so it is something to behold,it is a friend,and at times it has been a great enemy but we all love her and we sort of want her to stay as she is.I know her time is up and they will rip it to pieces and somehow our MCG just wont be the same anymore.Maybe just maybe common sense will prevail and they will leave her just as she is,it doesnt belong to corporate people or politicans,she belongs to us for she has become us.Her success has become our success it is our coliseum of dreams.

Joffa, you make some valid points, but you sound like you're in love with the bloody thing. Zip yourself back up and get off the wine!

------------------
Other bands play, Manowar KILL !!!!!!!!!

Pretty florid stuff there joffa you must love those old stands !

Joffa does have a point though - Seen the models of how the new 'G' will look ? - pretty bland I reckon, it just looks like any other mega-stadium from anywhere in the world - just ordinary and generic, nothing special, nothing that sets it apart.

We DO need new stands to replace the Ponsford, Smokers, Northern and Olympic which are all pretty dilapidated at the moment but I do think getting rid of the old Members Pavillion will be a big mistake. Sure it desperately needs a complete makeover but please preserve the the stand as a whole, as it is history and provides a direct physical link with the great sporting deeds of the past on that Great Ground.

Here in Sydney I don't think that either the Members or the Ladies Stands would ever be demolished as their historiacl sitgnificance is too great. Also these structures are pleasing to eye and to rip them down and replace them with just another concrete and steel tubed 'thing' would be a travesty in my opinion.

Redvelop the MCG by all means but at least keep the Members Pavillion - the MCG will look bland and boring without it !

cheers

Well I here that Collingwood are going to have a new social club stand at the MCG
smile.gif

------------------
~*~Go Chippa!!~*~
~*~Go Binger!!~*~

what a joke this is ! Why demolish it ? It is a good place for footy but I reckon watching cricket there would be te ultimate bore ! It is concrete,concrete,concrete ! Unlike the Adelaide Oval with its grass,fig trees and great view of the cathedral etc, if the crickets a bit boring then theres always other things. Demolishing the last traditional thing at the MCG would make it even worse.

------------------
Essendon - The greatest club with the greatest coach in the league ! Carlton- absolute hypocrites who accuse others of being cheats only for it to be found later that carlton are the "serial salary cap breachers" as quoted by our president, haha

The MCG is the greatest sporting arena in Australia if not the whole world what makes it famous is what actually happen on the playing field not the stands that people sit in. The Ponsford and Olympic stands are truely outdated and need to be replaced if the MCG is to become a world class staduim. If the POMES can tear down Wembeley which has just as much tradition then whats wrong with trying to improve the MCG and make it more comfortable for the fans to which sport. No matter what the ground looks like it will always be the MCG.

I for one am not impressed by the decision to get rid of the Members Pavillion. I sit there for most events at the ground and it will be sadly missed. Tradition seems to count for nothing these days.

[This message has been edited by dees01 (edited 27 December 2000).]

Carb70 is right. The MCG is famous, not because of the stands, but because of what has happened out on the field.

Does ANYONE seriously miss the OLD southern Stand Not me. I'm glad it's gone. Now we've got a fantastic new stand built in 1992, instead of some 1930's out-of-date thing.

The "veiw" from the members stands now won' change when the new stand is built. You will still be in the same position, except you will be sitting in a more "state of the art" facility.

Why would anyone not want that ?

Mcc Members sucks I hate that area glad there knocking the bloody thing down!

Just as long as I get to seat on level 1 still, Im happy and dont give a shit what they do too the G!

Why get rid of it?
To make it a state of the art stadium and still be known as one of the Best Stadiums in the world!

Who Meached Adelaide Oval? Ah I Remember now idiot did!

How stuipd are u? Its
concrete,concrete,concrete
Thats called state of the art you idiot! Plus there is heaps of shit too do at the G if u get bored eg, Go Out For A Smoke, Kick the footy outside in the carpark, go to the cricketers there are heaps of stuff.

Whats better to have a 95,000 plus stadium with seating or a shit hole that holds less then 25,000 with half of that seatin and the rest of it standing room?

I know which one i would like to have!

Mags

well your free to have it cos I dont want it !Its great for footy but for cricket it would stink. Adelaide Oval is known as one of, if not THE best cricket grounds in the world(also a surface that wont be beaten anywhere) and its a place where we keep tradition, anyone wanting to get rid of the mcc members has rocks in their head. But I guess thats not my problem as I have the best cricket ground in the world here.

------------------
Essendon - The greatest club with the greatest coach in the league ! Carlton- absolute hypocrites who accuse others of being cheats only for it to be found later that carlton are the "serial salary cap breachers" as quoted by our president, haha

Can someone explain this to me, why will it cost $400million to build the stand?? It cost $350million to build the whole of colonial stadium. Could it be that the MCC people are filling their bank accounts??

Screw the MCG, the AFL should build a new stadium thats just as big as the MCG but without the stupid old farts that run it(MCC). Ohh, and don't say "they have their own stadium, it's called Colonial Stadium", because thats not a stadium, it's a stupid oversized basketball court.

------------------
Go Eagles!!!

I hate it when people say crap like : "They're gonna replace the old members stand with a heartless concrete structure"

What, do they think the members stand is currently made of ? plastic?

Tear the 70 year old grandmother down, and replace it with a better, newer stand. I'm sick of old kojers coming in like Joffa and spoutiong their cry-baby crap. The "G" is great because of the deeds on the field, not the stands.

Stands come and go. Most stands last 40-60 years. The MCG, I'm sure will look completely different 100 years from now, when the Great Southern Stand is replaced.

Tear the members down, and replace it. There are "probably" some people on here that would actually think people won't go to the footy any kore if this happens. These people are fools. Tear it down and replace it with a state of the art facility.

ha ! this is only the beginning i was already prepared for the grounds demolition years ago!

Wot the heck arsed AFL need to get in their heads is the ppl just want apart from of course just to see our footy -> adequate seating, clean toilets, sufficient food venues ah wot the heck cmon AFL just start building the Maccas and casino in the MCG for christ sake!

sPiDeR eVeRiTt and RiCkY oLaReNsHaW
~kewlest players round!!!

Well, looks like Joffa got a vocabulary for Christmas!

I am all for the new stands. The Ponsford and Olympic stands are bland and generic anyway and should be replaced regardless.

The point on comparing the old and new Southern Stands is entirely valid. If anything, I believe the new Great Southern Stand has actually enhanced the MCG.

The challenge therefore it to make the design of the new stands so good that it achieves this end in replacing the 3 targetted stands.

------------------
This is a hallucination and these faces are in a dream. A computer generated environment; a fantasy island you can do anything and not have to face the consequences.

Ok well let me put it this way i believe its important for all of us to know our past and hold onto that past most dearly,The MCC stand is a monument it has become a shrine within a shrine.Why pull it down just for the sake of keeping with the times.And yes the new stand will be concrete it will be boring and it will never have any historical
significance.Why do we demolish the past?
The MCC stand i believe gives our great MCG great character and it reminds us of yesteryear when people were real people, and our game that we all love so much was not influenced by the greatest modern day evil...money,The MCC stand reminds us of a time when your team would kill for simply the pride of the jumper.Fix the ponsford and the olympic stands.Tear down the MCC stand and you will rip the soul out of the MCG,but i guess as a modern day race of people thats what we do best sell our souls for money!!!

Joffa,

You said that a new stand "would never have any historical significance", but in 70,80,100 years time two people might just be having this same debate about what we build today. So long as it delivers improvements, there is nothing wrong with progress, even at the expense of the past.

------------------
Trample the Weak,
Hurdle the Dead.

Well if Waverly Park can get heritage listing, does anyone think that there isnt SOME MCC member type out there just waiting to put in an application to stop ANY works being done on the Members Pavillion? Really cannot see that happening regardless of any plans to do otherwise.

The other stands all need demolishing if the G is to become the ground it so richly deserves to be. But the cost quouted for that is frightening, when in effect the payments will be coming out of OUR pockets at the end of the day.

New stands = better facilities = higher charges.

btw Dan, whats an 'old kojer'?? Old CODGER maybe i could understand, dont knock your elders mate. More so when your the one always bringing up the names of the ancients
like Coleman,Thurgood etc etc
tongue.gif
wink.gif

What's wrong with horses and carts, Carey=Queen.

This latest proposal is madness. They are going to tear down the best stadium in the world ... or half of it, at least.

This whole job is going to take 4 years!!!

Where are they going to play all the big games during those 4 years? Where are they going to play the ANZAC Day games? Where are they going to play all the great Collingwood-Richmond games? Where are they going to play the Grand Frigging Final?

How f*cking stupid are these dickheads!!!

And what's it gunna mean for the average fan?

I'll tell you what it'll mean. It'll mean even more EXCLUSIVENESS in our football stadiums. It will be even harder to get tickets for Grand Finals and big blockbuster games. Therefore more reserved seats ... MORE EXPENSIVE reserved seats ... more chances for clubs to exploit supporters with even more expensive priority membership deals.

And why?

Just so we can enjoy the collective wank of having the latest whizz-bang state-of-the-art stadium.

I went to the cricket today at the M.C.G.

And Eastaugh, you absolute tosser, the M.C.G. is the greatest cricket ground of them all ... just exactly as it is.

I've been to the cricket at the Adelaide Oval many times ... and that is, without a doubt, one of the most pathetically inadequate sporting arenas I've ever been to. Sitting on the frigging lawn for 7 hours is just bloody uncomfortable. The only people who think it's a great cricket ground as those same parochial provincial self-obsessed f*ckwits who think KG is a good commentator. Wake up, South Australia. You are irrelevant.

The M.C.G. is fine just like it is. I know the Ponsford and Olympic stands are getting a bit old ... but so what!!! They're still far better than anything Adelaide's got to offer. And they're both great stands for watching sport, whether it be football, cricket, marbles or bloody tiddlywinks. Why destroy something just because it's not state-of-the-art.

Bulldoze the developers
Screw the rich
Trample Carey is King and kick his teeth in

alf you are so wrong ! Nothing comes close to the Adelaide Oval , renowned by not just south aussies but people the world over for being the best and most beautiful cricket ground in the world, and comparing the mcg surface to the adelaide ovals is like comparing Collingwood to mighty Essendon ! and its like comparing chalk to cheese ! You are just a bit biased I think, when the cricket is boring what can you do at the concrete jungle called the mcg ? At the adelaide oval you can lay back on the grass or go to our historical scoreboard on the hill , nothing beats it ! SA has a better lifestyle and a better cricket ground !!!!!

------------------

alfs the idiot, what I said is all true, most people would agree, alf needs to take his blinkers off I think

------------------

Our temple of dreams the great MCG.