Ovens and Murray Part 2

• Thread starter Thread starter bodi

heard on the radio today that the wodonga magpie game should of gone into extra time but the umpire didn't pay the mark in the goal square any thoughts

On the radio they said they spoke to the umpires after the game and they said it was touched and it also hit the ground.

Never heard such a load of crap in my life wonga!!
im a long time reader of this forum but cant belive this last thread, for a side to finish in second on the ladder in this comp and blood so many young kids is a credit to the club and the coaching staff. the irvines, hammonds, wilsons, mchenerys etc have been given some great exposure at this level and they may or may not play finals this year but that experience will hold them and the club in great stead.
and full credit to albury but i wouldnt right off yarra just yet!

On the radio they said they spoke to the umpires after the game and they said it was touched and it also hit the ground.

this happened right in front of me. the umps are talking crap. it was a clear mark, and if not a mark a clear free kick. game should have gone to over time no doubt, altho wang had plenty of chances in the 2nd half and last 1/4 esp to put the dogs away. a sad way for lappo to bow out

however having also seen alb v yarra on sat what happened yesterday and indeed what will happen this weekend in the prelim is all irrelevant. alb will demolish whoever they meet in the granny as they are miles ahead of the rest of the comp right now

any rumours as to who might take the helm at wang in 2010?

What was the go with Trent Castles on the weekend? Notice in the paper today he didn't have a possession. Was he injured early in the match? Or did he just have a poor day?
If its the second, he'd have to be sh!ttin himself about selection in a fortnight.
Also If he wasn't injured, Who played on him?

this happened right in front of me. the umps are talking crap. it was a clear mark, and if not a mark a clear free kick. game should have gone to over time no doubt, altho wang had plenty of chances in the 2nd half and last 1/4 esp to put the dogs away. a sad way for lappo to bow out

however having also seen alb v yarra on sat what happened yesterday and indeed what will happen this weekend in the prelim is all irrelevant. alb will demolish whoever they meet in the granny as they are miles ahead of the rest of the comp right now

any rumours as to who might take the helm at wang in 2010?

Saw the replay on the news tonight and it definatly looked like a mark or two free kicks in close succession, but Lappo spoke well in saying that's what he thought it was but they had many other chances especially in the final quarter to clinch the game.
Albury will smash whoever gets in 1sts and 2nds, give it to them now....

this happened right in front of me. the umps are talking crap. it was a clear mark, and if not a mark a clear free kick.

This comment seems a little contradictory to me, Captain. Have seen the footage clearly several times and slowed down, definitely dropped the mark, but i've seen marks held for less time and been paid, the free kicks were there for sure, in the back, over the shoulder, you name it, it was there.

On another point, that of Trent Castles, will play for sure, very important as far as the forward structure goes, started on the bench and is rotated mid quarter or there abouts, probably plays 70% ground time, depending on how he and the guys his rotated with are playing.

He got a couple of touches, but that's all, I wouldn't be too dependant on the stats in the paper.

This comment seems a little contradictory to me, Captain. Have seen the footage clearly several times and slowed down, definitely dropped the mark, but i've seen marks held for less time and been paid, the free kicks were there for sure, in the back, over the shoulder, you name it, it was there.

On another point, that of Trent Castles, will play for sure, very important as far as the forward structure goes, started on the bench and is rotated mid quarter or there abouts, probably plays 70% ground time, depending on how he and the guys his rotated with are playing.

He got a couple of touches, but that's all, I wouldn't be too dependant on the stats in the paper.

Fair call on Castles. Thanks

As for the decision on the weekend. I didn't see it, i was at the Star by that stage after our dismal performance.

Definitely no mark, Owen even continues scrapping for the ball, cos he knows he's spilt it in my opinion.

As for the free kicks, i'm not fussed about the possible in the back, you'll see worse examples than that one all through the match and season that have been let go.

He definitely gets him over the shoulder, but judging where the umpire is when he makes the decision he may not have had a clear look at it. If there was gunna be a kick awarded it would've been for a high tackle.

I wanna give credit to Lieschke for managing to not concede despite being completely worked out of the contest. He was certainly treading a fine line, but got away with it.

I'll say it's good umpiring.

Saw the replay on the news tonight and it definatly looked like a mark or two free kicks in close succession, but Lappo spoke well in saying that's what he thought it was but they had many other chances especially in the final quarter to clinch the game.
Albury will smash whoever gets in 1sts and 2nds, give it to them now....

Agreed with this statement.

Commendations to Jason for not letting emotions get the better of him. Other coaches should learn from this.

We're all aware of how the negative comments can affect umpire retention. In the last decade I can think of at least 3 or 4 top line O&M umpires that have given it away after having crap slung at them via the media.

I'm not the first person to have said that the O&M can't afford to lose any more.

As for the decisions - I've watched the footage on the Border Mail website (low quality as it is) and I reckon they all could've definitely gone the other way. But that's just my opinion.

The only opinion that matters is that of the umpire on the spot. This type of situation carries with it a large amount of pressure and until you've experienced it yourself you can't fully understand the umpire's personal reactions. I've experienced it and can make plenty of sense out of this particular outcome.
:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

what i meant was that if it wasn't paid a mark then it should have been paid a free. but it was a mark

anyone else heard the rumour that wang might have secured adam yze as captain coach for 2010? plus a couple of gun recruits incl at least 1 recent premiership hero?

what i meant was that if it wasn't paid a mark then it should have been paid a free. but it was a mark

anyone else heard the rumour that wang might have secured adam yze as captain coach for 2010? plus a couple of gun recruits incl at least 1 recent premiership hero?

i dont think yze will play for wang unless they have the money..

if he was going to play country footy i would think he would play in shep with his brother..

Two comments for 2009 Finals Campaign

Jon McCormick is a great bloke, and those who continue to bad mouth him, are jealous they don't have the talent that he has in his footy boot. So bugger off !!

Two, hard calls are going to be needed at Yarrawonga, if they want to get to the Grand Final. People wont agree with this, and frankly I dont care, but you need players who can get the ball, and as an attacking player Dean Bigger couldnt get a kick at the Sherrin factory. He might have beaten Doswell last week, but he was only 60% fit with a crook shoulder, so didnt enter many contests, so his scalp doesnt count. He may have tagged Hyde last time, but Albury will target him this week, and Hyde will roam free, mark my words. Albury have been training hard on blocking and hitting off the square, saw a training session, they are targeting players !!!

Josh Hammond played out of position all year in the ruck, and when they get a ruckman back, they drop him. Bull shit decision. The kids can play, should be back in the side this week. Would carve up a wing in a final. Hammond is not looked at by selectors and thats a worry. Seems the old mates policy is in play, according to a lot of players after the Wodonga games.

Wodonga will beat Wang then beat Yarra, and go on to win the flag, Albury are very suspect, that comes from inside the Tiger den. Another scrap between Mackie and Koehler may have resulted in broken bones, and one or both may miss this week. It true, the Tigers are yellow and black !!!:cool:

i agree with your opinion on yarra.. living in yarra i know alot of the kids playing ones this year as in thomas wilson, josh hammond and joel thomas..
if these boys arent given the oppurtunity to play ones they will just cross the bridge and go back to mulwala..

Wow! some pretty big calls there. It hasn't been a secret that Ednie was thinking about going west but Hargreves to Mulwala is big news! When will this be confirmed?

hargraves was seen at a mul game this year.. and as parker has stood dwn but is staying around the club i dont see y hargraves wudnt leave yarra for mul..
thomas wilson and joel thomas may return home to mul after 2 years at yarra as well...

i dont think yze will play for wang unless they have the money..

if he was going to play country footy i would think he would play in shep with his brother..

i also thought he would probably head back home to play with his brother if he headed country. however i undertsand that wang are prepared to pay what it takes and may even have already reached agreement with him

expect to see trenfield and cosgriff back at the norm minns next year as well

i also thought he would probably head back home to play with his brother if he headed country. however i undertsand that wang are prepared to pay what it takes and may even have already reached agreement with him

expect to see trenfield and cosgriff back at the norm minns next year as well

Yer would think yze would play at shepp swans with his two brothers, intresting news about trenfield and cosgriff coming back

Its not to outrageous to think that the Yze boys could & might play for Wang. The club is only going to stay as good and perhaps get better, Lappo has set a bencmark, and knowing the club they wont be just their abouts..

Morris Medal night, thought i might have a crack at picking the way i think it'll go. D Leslie to be leading early, S Carpenter to be leading about 2/3 of the way through and J McCormick to come home with a wet sail and win it. For a smokey i'm gunna go J Twitt.

sean daly to be leading most of way with mick stevens to come out with the win

Anyone got any thoughts on the way the GF will go? Best on? Key match ups?

first of all well done to Mick stevens last night, very good result as he played well throughout the year.

Grand Final Day 2009. Good luck to all teams, footy and netti.
Weather forecast at this point is for rain developing and 22 deg.

Thirds - Lavington v Raiders
Hoping the Panthers boys can keep their good form going. They've stumbled twice during the year, once to yarra when they had quite a few of the boys either playing one's or two and a draw with the alpine eagles. They've been back on track since then and i think they will win if they can keep there mind on the game.
Don't know much about the raiders other than that they've got a bloke up forward who weighs more than me. Big Unit!
BEST ON - Jarrah Makysmow

Reserves - Albury v Wodonga
Albury is undefeated and have dominated the seconds all year and deserve to be red hot fav's for the flag. They've got plenty of boys who'd play senior footy week in week out at most of the other O&M clubs. However, if they've got one thing against them, i think its that they've been so good all year, as strange as that may sound. Not losing a game means they haven't had a chance to iron out those bad habits they've developed. They'll kick 12 to 15 goals without too much trouble, which means Wodonga will need to find more than that to win it.

Wodonga's list was given a huge boost 2 weeks ago with the return of bushies and several senior players from injury. This helped them smash my boys (Lavi) and then beat wang last week. But now that their senior team is out there team could change quite a bit. Some will come back from the 1's possibly to strengthen them, whereas those who've played more than 9 in the seniors or bushies are now out. So who knows what they might have come sunday. In order to win they'll need to apply heaps of pressure to the Albury boys and take every chance they get in front of goal.

All that being said, I'll happily still take Albury, convincingly too. But i'd be over the moon to see Wodonga cause an upset
BEST ON - Sam Cross

Seniors - Albury v Yarrawonga
Once again Albury undefeated and deserving favourites. Yarra deserving Grand finalists, clearly the 2 best teams for the year.
I didn't see the semi between these 2 sides but listened to it on the radio. It seemed Albury dominated the day. Importantly big Cal maclay dominated the ruck, which means the Albury mid-field had first use of the ball. No suprise they went on the win it by 50 points or so.

In my opinion, if Yarra want to compete on Sunday they need to find a way to get some sort of contest in the ruck. If the albury team is winning clearances all day long they'll get a similar result. their on-ball brigade is very good as it is, if they've got the ball being shoved down their throat all day, it'll be carnage!
Yarra also need to apply as much pressure as possible against the tigers when they've got the ball. I think albury are reliant on having free runners delivering the ball forward and that means they retain possession more often then not.
Last time yarra won the flag they got a heap of scoreboard pressure on against the saints. if they make the most of their chances in front of goal it won't do them any harm.

I can't go past the tigers again, not as certain about this one though. once again i would be as happy as a pig in sh!t if the yarra boys can get over the line.
BEST ON - Shaun Daly

We'll all know soon enough.

PS - anyone coming to me for a burger or a beer on sunday, don't forget your manners!

yeh i think they have secured him including his brother and a few shep fellas what will be handy ,also Pete tossoll has been given the green light and will spend as much money as wat he thinks it will tak eto win the grand final