Ovens & King football 2021

And despite old bruiser being a pain. I like his idea of team of decade.
Not much else happening in world so will generate some chat. I’m sure I will miss people but I will try not take the piss as he has.

B: S Nightgale L Fox M Scott
HB: D McCormick S Williamson A Williams
C: J Wilson K Norman J Bihun
HF: J Stamp B Sessions B Clarke
F: M Duffy R Leahy M Robinson
Foll: C Sussyer N Lebish J Allen
Int: C Dube B Bond R Ussher J Rea

lot of players that have been very good but I thought there best football was before 2010. For example Eames, Balfour, Pell.
CHF was the one I struggled with. Lots of good players but only played it for a year or two. Tried to pick a team with consistently performed for a period of time. Not just players that played not a lot of football. Ie Groth, Aker, Fev, Jon McCormick.
, how does bihun get a spot? Seriously.

You would have to be the most annoying person to ever post on here!
And that’s quite an achievement.
Whilst I respect that everyone has an opinion and your idea of team of decade isn’t a bad one to generate some chat.
You just take the piss.

And despite old bruiser being a pain. I like his idea of team of decade.
Not much else happening in world so will generate some chat. I’m sure I will miss people but I will try not take the piss as he has.

B: S Nightgale L Fox M Scott
HB: D McCormick S Williamson A Williams
C: J Wilson K Norman J Bihun
HF: J Stamp B Sessions B Clarke
F: M Duffy R Leahy M Robinson
Foll: C Sussyer N Lebish J Allen
Int: C Dube B Bond R Ussher J Rea

lot of players that have been very good but I thought there best football was before 2010. For example Eames, Balfour, Pell.
CHF was the one I struggled with. Lots of good players but only played it for a year or two. Tried to pick a team with consistently performed for a period of time. Not just players that played not a lot of football. Ie Groth, Aker, Fev, Jon McCormick.

I like your idea of team of the decade bruiser. It’s bloody hard with so many good players that have played. I’ve had a crack, there will be a lot of disagreements but I reckon it’s a well rounded team in traditional positions and different options on the bench.

B. J Amery L Fox R Ussher
HB. M Scott S Williamson D McCormick
C. B Bond K Norman N Hooper (2013 version)
HF. J Stamp N Robinson B Clarke
F. M Robinson H Moore M Duffy
Foll. B Newton A Williams J Allan
Int. C Dube J Roman D Goodsmark C Sussyer

I like your idea of team of the decade bruiser. It’s bloody hard with so many good players that have played. I’ve had a crack, there will be a lot of disagreements but I reckon it’s a well rounded team in traditional positions and different options on the bench.

B. J Amery L Fox R Ussher
HB. M Scott S Williamson D McCormick
C. B Bond K Norman N Hooper (2013 version)
HF. J Stamp N Robinson B Clarke
F. M Robinson H Moore M Duffy
Foll. B Newton A Williams J Allan
Int. C Dube J Roman D Goodsmark C Sussyer

Im not sure if your Josh Roman or Hooper, cause only themselves would pick them in a team of the decade

Hooper sits in there comfortably, he was way too good for the level very smart footballer and was genuinely entertaining to watch.
Agree on Roman he is useless, wouldn’t even be in the leagues top 100.
Looks like we can all agree on McCormick, Scott & fox in the back line.

Here’s my attempt at a team of the decade, it’s actually a hard one to pick

J Amery L Fox M Scott
S Nightgale S Williamson D McCormick
J Wilson K Norman B Bond
B Clarke N Robinson M Robinson
J Stamp H Moore R Leahy
B Newton J Allen N Labish
R Ussher C Dube D Godsmark A Jacka

Most successful clubs from 2009-2019.
Points system:
Premiership = 10 points
Runner up= 5 points
Minor premiers = 4 points
Made top six-Finals series = 3 points
Club had a baker medalist = 2 points
League leading goal kicker = 1 point

MILAWA: Total points = 103
3 premierships, 4 runners up, 4 minor premiers, 11 finals series, 1 baker medal, 2 league leading goal kickers.

TARRA: Total points = 80
2 premierships, 3 runners up, 2 minor premiers, 11 finals series, 4 leading goal kickers.

GLENROWAN: Total points = 73
4 premierships, 1 runner up, 2 minor premiers, 7 finals series.

BRIGHT: Total points = 39
1 runner up, 1 minor premiers, 7 finals series, 4 baker medals, 1 league goal kicking.

MOYHU: Total points = 34
1 premiership, 1 minor premiers, 6 finals series, 1 baker medalist.

KING VALLEY: Total points = 23
6 finals series, 2 baker medals, 1 league goal kicking.

WHOROULY: Total points = 22
1 runner up, 5 finals series, 2 league goal kicking.

BONNIEDOON: Total points = 18
1 minor premiers, 3 finals series, 2 baker medals, 1 league goal kicking.

BENALLA: Total points = 18
1 runner up, 4 finals series, 1 league goal kicking.

NORTHWANG: Total points = 13
1 premiership, 1 finals series.

GRETA: Total points = 11
3 finals series, 1 baker medalist.

GOORAMBAT: Total points = 6
2 finals series.

Bonnie Doon missed 2009 and sides left the Comp so it’s just current teams + glenrowan. If you aren’t winning any finals but still boast the leagues best player or goal kicker I think it’s worth rewarding.

Most successful clubs from 2009-2019.
Points system:
Premiership = 10 points
Runner up= 5 points
Minor premiers = 4 points
Made top six-Finals series = 3 points
Club had a baker medalist = 2 points
League leading goal kicker = 1 point

MILAWA: Total points = 103
3 premierships, 4 runners up, 4 minor premiers, 11 finals series, 1 baker medal, 2 league leading goal kickers.

TARRA: Total points = 80
2 premierships, 3 runners up, 2 minor premiers, 11 finals series, 4 leading goal kickers.

GLENROWAN: Total points = 73
4 premierships, 1 runner up, 2 minor premiers, 7 finals series.

BRIGHT: Total points = 39
1 runner up, 1 minor premiers, 7 finals series, 4 baker medals, 1 league goal kicking.

MOYHU: Total points = 34
1 premiership, 1 minor premiers, 6 finals series, 1 baker medalist.

KING VALLEY: Total points = 23
6 finals series, 2 baker medals, 1 league goal kicking.

WHOROULY: Total points = 22
1 runner up, 5 finals series, 2 league goal kicking.

BONNIEDOON: Total points = 18
1 minor premiers, 3 finals series, 2 baker medals, 1 league goal kicking.

BENALLA: Total points = 18
1 runner up, 4 finals series, 1 league goal kicking.

NORTHWANG: Total points = 13
1 premiership, 1 finals series.

GRETA: Total points = 11
3 finals series, 1 baker medalist.

GOORAMBAT: Total points = 6
2 finals series.

So you’re saying Milawa’s blueprint is pretty good being more than competitive for 11 seasons straight. Retaining players to build a core group and topping up when needed to succeed that last game in September for there are some grand final and preliminary final losses in there.

Just reading player payments to be cut by up to 50%, be interesting to see if north Wang have anyone left on their list once that comes in to account.

How’s that hurt just north Wang mate you’d think a few other clubs will struggle as well
A club that’s barely won a game in three years will struggle to get players with out throwing the cash around, which is wrong but that’s how it is. Agree about other sides feeling it too, Milawa will drop right back to the pack if they don’t cheat the cap, as if Jamie Allan is gonna travel and play for nothing, they’re jam packed with greedy players.

Just remember that if we do get a season going this year it would have to be 10 rounds. So take 8 games out of paying players. So very close to half a season hence half a salary cap

I’m hearing Petts had the full milawa senior side engaging in online Zumba classes, good on him for thinking outside the box.

OKFNL cap now $35,000 for 18 games, a reduction of 50%. Max of $1994 per game, easy to calculate and adjust for a reduced season ie 9 games $17k ish cap.
Every club will have to renegotiate existing contracts because you can’t possible have more than a couple of players on decent money now.

OKFNL cap now $35,000 for 18 games, a reduction of 50%. Max of $1994 per game, easy to calculate and adjust for a reduced season ie 9 games $17k ish cap.
Every club will have to renegotiate existing contracts because you can’t possible have more than a couple of players on decent money now.
That's a joke! Won't help the future of the O & K at all. Virtually rules travellers out which will be a press on numbers for a start. As for the Standard expect a decline.

The silver lining is the competition won’t be as lopsided like it has been for years. Guys aren’t gonna just stop playing footy because they aren’t getting paid, it will just change which clubs people choose to play at.

I'd be surprised if all District Comps went that low so many will be attracted to other League's I's suspect. Membership and gate takings would cover 35k without tapping into Canteen, Bar, Sponsorship, Functions and any other side fundraisers Club may have such as Cattle, Wood etc. Not taking into account what money Club's already have in the bank. Jumping at shadows before they gave a look what's behind them.

If you read the document in the AFL NEB website, it states that this is a statewide framework and all leagues will be adopting something similar so I would expect that there won’t be the possibility of players jumping ship for more $$.
I think it’s a big drop in player payments but I also think it’s absolutely what’s required for the next few years to get clubs back on track.
It’s sponsorship and membership that I see being the biggest challenge this year, businesses are being hugely effected by that Current situation I can’t imagine they will be in great shape in another 6-8 weeks either. If I were on the committee I’d be budgeting for a 60-70% drop in sponsorship revenue. That’s huge if clubs have an average sponsorship of $30-40k that’s a loss of 20-25k! That alone justifies the reduction in salary cap.

Memberships will be less effected because I think people will be looking for relatively low cost entertainment once this ends so will still attend games and support their club.
However bar and canteen takings will be down Also as people will be more cautious with their money after all this.

overall this forced change will mean we are closer to a return to Amateur status. Any club who ends the year with a healthy bank balance should be putting that back into facilities or future revenue raising ideas/investments.

If you read the document in the AFL NEB website, it states that this is a statewide framework and all leagues will be adopting something similar so I would expect that there won’t be the possibility of players jumping ship for more $$.
I think it’s a big drop in player payments but I also think it’s absolutely what’s required for the next few years to get clubs back on track.
It’s sponsorship and membership that I see being the biggest challenge this year, businesses are being hugely effected by that Current situation I can’t imagine they will be in great shape in another 6-8 weeks either. If I were on the committee I’d be budgeting for a 60-70% drop in sponsorship revenue. That’s huge if clubs have an average sponsorship of $30-40k that’s a loss of 20-25k! That alone justifies the reduction in salary cap.

Memberships will be less effected because I think people will be looking for relatively low cost entertainment once this ends so will still attend games and support their club.
However bar and canteen takings will be down Also as people will be more cautious with their money after all this.

overall this forced change will mean we are closer to a return to Amateur status. Any club who ends the year with a healthy bank balance should be putting that back into facilities or future revenue raising ideas/investments.
Sponsorship and Goods & Service Auctions are normally led by farmers and their suppliers @ Country Club's and they are operating as usual atm. So I doubt the hit to Sponsorship would be as significant as you suggest. Do you know what the Ovens & Murray are running with?