Over and Underrated Players and Teams.

Richmondfan#1

Jul 6, 2000
Certain players and teams are overrated (and some underrated).

OVERRATED PLAYERS:
Chris Grant,Jonathon Hay, Fraser Gherig, Nick Daffy, James Hird, Glenn Manton,Sean Denham, Scott Lucas.

UNDERRATED PLAYERS:
Trent Basset, Brad Johnson, Andrew Kellaway, Jude Bolton, Scott Freeborn, Andrew Leoncelli, Tim Notting, Brenton Sanderson.

OVERRATED TEAMS:
Adelaide, West Coast, Fremantle, Collingwood.

UNDERRATED TEAMS:
Port Adelaide, Melbourne, Richmond, Geelong.

Anyone who thinks James Hird is an overrated footballer knows nothing about football.

I'll say that again. NOTHING.

I'd suggest it's more a "he doesn't play for my side" type grudge.

James Hird overrated?

I've heard it all now.

Melbourne are underated, no doubt. I still can't believe I tipped them for the wooden spoon this year!

Fremantle are better than people give them credit for.

Brisbane are overated in my book at this stage. They are too up themselves for their own good. What's with Akermanis and the Cartwheels and Jarod Molloy calling himself the D9. Please!

Geelong are certainly overated as are Richmond.

However the most overated team is clearly Hawthorn. They are the team with 'the best spine in the comp', potentially yes, realistically NO WAY.

They aren't nearly as good as people think they are.

Players that are overated are:
Chris Grant, Ben Graham, Austinn Jones, Rohan Smith, Wayne Schwass, David Schwartz (Maybe a little harsh given 3 reconstructions), Warren Tredrea, Michael Mansfield and Johnathon Hay.

Underated players:
John Blakey (in fact most of the North side apart from Carey), Glen Kilpatrick, Nathan Burke (always seems a little behind Harvey) Matthew Nicks, Phil Matera and Clem Michael.

Richmondfan#1

You really need to watch non-Richmond games a bit more.

JH overrated? Compared to whom? Has hardly played through injury since 1996 (a Brownlow year) - prior to that he held up about 4 positions every week runnign marathons and playign on guys bigger and stronger and still getting BOGs.

This year he's come back and had about 10 BOG's and literally destroyed quality teams in 10 minute bursts of creativity. Frankly, on this year's form, Kouta and Hird are by far the best players going round. I suppose you think Kouta's overrated too huh? (he actually was for most of the last 5 years but now... great players).

As for Scott Lucas - what is it? 48 goals in 13 or so games from CHF coming off a seriously badly broken leg.. in a team with a 82 goal FF - erm.. nuff said there I think...

Sean Denham in not overly rated by anyone anymore - hasn't been since he won B&F at the club in 97 - age and injuries and being in a great squad have kinda cut his lunch - but he's still a better player than Kilpatrick...

I think everyone rates Melbourne, Richmond & Geelong this year - why don't you?

Anyway, get the ol facts right next time - geez if I can do it from London you should be able to!!

Who cares if we are overated with our spine,gocatsgo. So long as we always beat the catters im happy
tongue.gif
just stirring. I agree with you actually, the spine could be the best but is a long way from it yet.
Overated, to many to name, but anyone who plays more than 3 good games on end is suddenly a superstar in todays footy, so those types are overated. Most overated footballer I have ever seen was S.Kernahan, was a FF from his 2nd season. Never even threatened the ton, couldnt play below his knees and was soft to boot. (Maclure and Spalding did the hard grunt work.

I suppose of those going around at the minute, Tredrea,Burke,Whitnall (Carey comparissons get real) Daffy,Gehrig,Jakovich,Ben Graham,Goodes,Nat Thompson,Burns (a very very poor player)Darcy,Pickett,Solomon,both Johnsons (good footballers but the media is going on like they are the best half backs in history Hardwicks better than all of them).

Underated Daniel Chick (if he isnt All Australian on this years form its a joke) Hay, cant believe people reckon hes underated, beaten once this year. Hird (just an out and out brilliant player) Ratten,C Grant,Hickmont,Gasper,Rogers,
Blakey (his whole career) Milburn,Yze,M.White,whole heap of others im sure ive missed.

Just a note, anyone who reckons Hirds overated, go and watch him in a neutral match. Pains me to say but the guy is a deadset genius with the ball. Dont like him but give him credit for being a terrific player.
Lloyds soft though
biggrin.gif
(couldnt let the bombers heads get to big!)

ps who rated Manton??? WORST FOOTBALLER OF ALL TIME!!!

I am a really big Lions fan but I have to admit they are way overrated. On paper they seem to have a great lineup but this season has shown that they cant string two wins together. I am desperately hoping that they will 'click' one day and be as awesome team as essendon is now. Last year they 'clicked' together as a unit and thats how they won 10 in a row by about 60 points.

On another note I'd like to say well done to James Hird. I never thought that he would last the season let alone be one of the best players this season. Good on him.

The stupidity of some people beggars belief!

James Hird overrated?

And to the idiots saying that Jon Hay is overrated - NAME ONE OPPONENT WHO HAS BEATEN HIM THIS YEAR!

Christ, the boy spanked Whitnall in a game where the Carlton midfield supplied a veritable flood of opportunities all day!

Jon HAy will not be named all-australian this year as it will go to Dustin Fletcher. But Jonny has had twice the work to do given the HAwks shite midfield.

Why am I bothering to point this out?

Like expecting people to recognise Daniel Chick's season it is completely futile.

For a player to be overrated he doesn't have to be a bad player, he just has to be raved about more than he deserves.

now
James Hird: the most brilliant mind on the football field today. Impossible to rave too much about this man. Impossible to overrate him.

Jonathon Hay: Every TV commentator and evrey second radio commentator raves about this guy. Yes he is a good player but he no way deserves the accolaes he is receiving. If he can keep this form up for another two or three years then maybe he will be in the class of a Dustin Fletcher or a SOS or a Glen Jakovic. He is way overrated.

Tyson Edwards: very good player, very consistent, rarely beaten. Other than Crow supporters no-one ever mentions him. Very underrated.

Chris Grant: Highly talented, highly skilled, major underachiever. very overrated.

The rest of the players mentioned I tend to agree with.

The most over-rated footballer would have to be Warren Tredrea. The commentators just love him and he's not that good. Yet.
The most under-rated footballer would be Blake Caracella. He's really good and noone even notices him, probably cos he plays for an excellent team like the Bombers!

treadre is deffinatly overrated, hasnt done a thing yet
chris grant has to be on of the all time overrated players, only to be beaten by stoneham and of course silvangi
made a career and full back of the century through scragging and holding on (anyone ever seen him beat an opponent fairly?)
colbert is also overrated, so called champion who hasnt done anything
hird is neither over or under rated, gets due respect from the press but maybe not from opposition supporters
lucas isnt overrated either, same as hay
blakey, riccuito, m.allan, salmon, misiti, hardwick, are all underrated, and probably many others i cant think of right now
kouta was overrated but has proven his worth this year

Over rated Team: Saints, Brisbane & Adelaide
Underated teams Carlton & Hawthorn

Carlton Are easily as good as the bombers at the moment and the hawks just keep managing to get there. Saints should have there senior team in the VFL not The AFL or perhaps its just that they have no coach now

I don't think Jonathan Hay is overrated. I would certainly love to have him in my team. He would add stability to the backline. The Brisbane Lions are now overrated. That effort today was terrible.

Brisbane Lions and EFFORT in the same sentence Dees?????? Oh god - what a mismatch!! Bunch of no-hopers totally believe they are as good as last year bunch of women in stillettos and wet paper skirts ppl masquerading as footballers!!! or should I just simply say "LOSERS!!!" If anyone STILL (and I certainly can't see why over the last few weeks they have afforded such good odds) picks them to win - should be shot!!!!! Oh and by the way - I am a foundation member of the club!! Geez =- what have I got myself in for!!!!!!!??????

Grendel, Hawkforce, Golions & Servo

Love your work

One point though - no way is G.Manton the worst player ever - not with the memory of Mark Athorn (the Jerka Jenkins of the 90s) still lingering...

Incidently, no one, I mean not even Carlton, rate Manton so he can't be overrated.

Roll on Round 20 - should be absolutely sensational!

Dutch

PS> Pess, Hawkforce, Grendel: great win up at the Gabba.

Melbournes midfield division of White, Woewodin, Yze, Leoncelli and Rigoni are very underated at the moment I think.

In fact after watching them comfortably deal with Sydney on Saturday I reckon the whole Demons outfit is one very underated team.

I'm sure they are gonna spring a major surprise on at least one more fancied contender during the finals ...

Overated:Geelong;Shell Stadium;Hocking;Ricardi;Ablett;Richmond;Richardson;Ottens;Gale.
Hey GoCat,wish we played your mob every week!

Over rated.
Malthouse - massive disaster. What a catastrophe. The Blues are intense etc but..
Leppitsch - big fish, ever shrinking pond. How about actually winning a game ?
Graham - a definate candidate for the SuperBowl where , as a kicker, you aren't tackled. Very weak.

Under rated.
Hamill - what's he on ? and where can you get it ?
Carey - yeah, yeah everyone hates him but how many games has he won by himself ? 20..30 .. 40? Unique.
Wellman - not yet beaten ( coincidently neither has his team )

Personnaly more players are over rated 'cause are they really earning their inflated wages ?

dons_r_tops,

I don't think St Kilda are overrated. I don't think anyone rates us at all now and that is deserved because we have had a disasterous year.

Bernie,

I am glad you placed Lepptisch in the overrated column because I could not believe that we were willing to pay him $2 million over three years. Obviously I think he is a very good player and would be a great acquisition but he is not THAT good.

I am a keen bombers supporter and I think that Ramanauskas is underrated. He's been getting alot of attention lately but he is a talented player. Also, Nick Daffy is overrated. He can play football good every once in a while but he is inconsistent.

Premier. I think you may be FORMER Premier Jeff Kennett.

Only a Hawthorn supporter would want to play Geelong every week.

How are you coping with the fact that Geelong will probably make the 8, yet Hawthorn aren't there yet?

I'm sure Felicity is giving you hell about it!

Over and Underrated Players and Teams.