The Hoops

Not Happy Jan!

Not happy with paying for a seat and having to get security to get rid of people in my seat for two home games in a row. This week security were puting general admission patrons into seats during the first quarter and members were having to get the same security to remove them when they arrived or returned to their seats.

NOT GOOD ENOUGH GFC!

Also having to push my way through all the people sitting in the aisle during the game!

If there isn't enough room in the outer don't let them in the gate!

This is probably one of the reasons why membership hasn't gone through the roof either. I was expecting us to get around 38K but I reckon the fact we don't even have the facilities at home to fit 30K is discouragement in itself.

The more members we get signed up the more focused the club will be on increasing the capacity. The new stand needs to be replecated around the whole ground similar to what they did with the MCG using the southern stand as the prototype. I think the renovations are due to start at the end of the season but with us going past 35,500 members today they need to ensure a capacity of at least 35,000 very soon.

Wow Rosso. Where did the 35.5k figure come from? I just checked the GFC website's "barometer" and it appears to be outdated if that's the case.

From todays Ablettiser:

Cats smash membership record

Michael Auciello

19Apr08

GEELONG has set its sights on signing 37,000 members after smashing through the 35,000 target for the first time.

Chief executive Brian Cook yesterday said the Cats had passed 35,500, as it rockets past the record of 32,290 set in 2006.

It now means the club has about 10,000 members more than is the capacity of its home ground, but Cook said there was still potential for thousands more members before it faced having to lock members out of the ground.

Geelong yesterday advised that remaining tickets to today's game against Sydney would only be sold to members, as looks now to be be standard practice for home games.

Cook stressed that the club was still selling thousands of tickets to general admission patrons in the lead-up to games, but that it was closing sales to members only before the game to protect members' interests.

He said given that only about 20 per cent of members who would use standing room actually turned up to games, the club still had plenty of room for more members before it had to worry about not being able to fit them into the stadium.

"We know we can sell another 10,000 memberships and know we have the capacity for them," Cook said.

After originally budgeting for 34,000 members this year, Cook said the club had re-evaluated its target to 37,000."For every 1000 members (above the budgeted number) you make about $120,000," he said.

"So if we got to 37,000 we'd make about $300,000, but when you have more members you lose money on match day receipts because they're not paying at the gate to get in.

"A lot of the $300,000 would be wiped off because of that, but if we got to 37,000 you'd probably still be left with (a profit of) about $100,000."

That's awesome. Admin must be stoked.

40k here we come.

I am really enjoying it. There appear to be more Cats supporters at our home games as a percentage and the difference in ROAR is outstanding.

Should be happy your close enough to go to a Cats home game.

I'd kill for the opportunity.

Not Happy Jan!

Not happy with paying for a seat and having to get security to get rid of people in my seat for two home games in a row. This week security were puting general admission patrons into seats during the first quarter and members were having to get the same security to remove them when they arrived or returned to their seats.

NOT GOOD ENOUGH GFC!

Also having to push my way through all the people sitting in the aisle during the game!

If there isn't enough room in the outer don't let them in the gate!
I hate sooky ____ing cry babies like you. You are that same person who wants the person in front to be quiet, you want them to never stand up, and you give the glare to anyone who dares go to the toilet or get a beer during the game.

You are a pathetic little cry baby.

Amazes me that people can find any reason to complain, sook and generally be unhappy. You were at the football, on what I was told was a beautiful day, possibly with your mates (if you have any) and you complain because you had to ask someone to move from your seat. LOSER! :thumbsd:

I hate sooky ____ing cry babies like you. You are that same person who wants the person in front to be quiet, you want them to never stand up, and you give the glare to anyone who dares go to the toilet or get a beer during the game.

Amazes me that people can find any reason to complain, sook and generally be unhappy. You were at the football, on what I was told was a beautiful day, possibly with your mates (if you have any) and you complain because you had to ask someone to move from your seat. LOSER! :thumbsd:

Bit harsh.

Why should a person who shelled out extra $$ to purchase a seat lose the seat to a tight arse who only bought a general admission ticket to stand in the outer? You want a seat? Book early and pay for one.

Pretty ordinary stuff from security there IMO.

Actually I am that person who stands up and gets a beer during the game. It shits me that I have to then kick someone out of my seat (who wouldn't leave until security came) after getting that beer just because they were told they could sit there! I paid my dollars and am entitled to complain. What I hate is idiots like you who weren't even at the game mouthing off on something you don't even know about.

He's probably the kinda guy who would be sitting in the aisle... :p

I found somebody sitting in my seats when i got to the ground, I asked them about it, they moved off, no problems, no need to whinge about it, so im lost as to why you are sooking about it here ? :confused:

I still think you should call the club if you feel so badly about it, but if that's the sort of thing you loose sleep over then you must be.............. (thinking of nice thing to say).

:rolleyes:

This is probably one of the reasons why membership hasn't gone through the roof either. I was expecting us to get around 38K but I reckon the fact we don't even have the facilities at home to fit 30K is discouragement in itself.

Membership not going through the roof? Where are you? GFC has just posted its overall record, with a couple of weeks to go. With the latest win against a contender only more will join.

There is a more intrinsic approach to getting a membership, that is the pure affection you have for the club and for winning a premiership which has lowered your blood pressure! :thumbsu:

I hope you are not holding back on such a small issue. There is 200 odd thousand people in Geelong, over half would support the team, yet they don't have seats for them either.

I found somebody sitting in my seats when i got to the ground, I asked them about it, they moved off, no problems, no need to whinge about it, so im lost as to why you are sooking about it here ? :confused:

I still think you should call the club if you feel so badly about it, but if that's the sort of thing you loose sleep over then you must be.............. (thinking of nice thing to say).

:rolleyes:

They would take 1 look at you and run.:eek:

It shits me that I have to then kick someone out of my seat (who wouldn't leave until security came) after getting that beer just because they were told they could sit there! I paid my dollars and am entitled to complain.
- Complain somewhere else.

I found somebody sitting in my seats when i got to the ground, I asked them about it, they moved off, no problems, no need to whinge about it, so im lost as to why you are sooking about it here ?
- Mate common sense isnt appreciated around here!

The problem with that is that if we replicated the new stand around the entire ground i really dont think it would hold that much at all......if you have a good look at at the news stand it really doesnthold that many people

The more members we get signed up the more focused the club will be on increasing the capacity. The new stand needs to be replecated around the whole ground similar to what they did with the MCG using the southern stand as the prototype. I think the renovations are due to start at the end of the season but with us going past 35,500 members today they need to ensure a capacity of at least 35,000 very soon.

The problem with that is that if we replicated the new stand around the entire ground i really dont think it would hold that much at all......if you have a good look at at the news stand it really doesnthold that many people

I know they are putting a lot of planning and money into increasing the capacity of Skilled but does anyone have concerns about a possible increase in games at Telstra?

Is it possible the membership rising (will hit 40K min in 09 if we happen to go back to back) may lead to Geelong only playing interstate teams at Skilled due to constant lockouts?