Overdue - time for federal government to ban sports betting ads

Jimi

Draftee
Melbourne Demons - Dominic Barry 2013 Player Sponsor Melbourne Demons - Jeremy Howe 2013 Player Sponsor
Oct 10, 2004
It is more and more noticeable. Talking to mates from the UK they think it’s abhorrent how our national sport and its media has sold its soul to the gambling industry.

Someone (else) should start a petition

Flog_Toolist

Hammer time!
Mar 20, 2021
The Liberal party
Yep.

And Labor too.

Sep 9, 2015
It is more and more noticeable. Talking to mates from the UK they think it’s abhorrent how our national sport and its media has sold its soul to the gambling industry.

Someone (else) should start a petition

Your mates sound a bit clueless then.

8 Premier League Clubs have Gambling Business sponsors as their main shirt sponsor.

How many AFL clubs have one for their major sponsor?

Feb 28, 2007
Also for people saying "it is the parents responsibility to teach their kids" that is all well and good but kids learn a huge amount from sources other than their parents. They learn about the world just by being in society, going to the supermarket with their parents, watching TV, spending time with friends at school. Kids get socialised in society in ways that we don't even know.

An example a professor at university used when I was there was when she was fixing some pipes under her sink because one of them was leaking, and her 4 year old son came up to her confused and asked her why she was doing that since fixing pipes was a mans job. Now, neither her or her husband had ever taught their son such a thing but somehow he had picked up that plumbing was a traditionally male profession and internalised that belief.

CarltonBlooz

Mar 9, 2021
Your mates sound a bit clueless then.

8 Premier League Clubs have Gambling Business sponsors as their main shirt sponsor.

How many AFL clubs have one for their major sponsor?

Fairly certain Lions are the only one with Neds as their co-major partner.

offtherails9

May 30, 2012
-
Something new to be offended about. So boring I reckon. People are always going to gamble, always have. The companies want you to bet with them, it's pretty simple. I do laugh when Sportsbet post the big multis or whatever on their social media almost encouraging people to keep having a crack at those unrealistic money wasters. But like most things, it's more of an intelligence and discipline thing, the people without either of those will succumb to another vice regardless.

PetterdHoisted

Apr 27, 2014
Yes, I completely agree here.

Its really a way to normalise 'casual' betting. This is another 'trap' for the average joe.

Theyve set up plenty of traps everywhere, they'll catch you with one.

I, personally, have been affected by gambling as my parents are addicted to the slot machines. It completely altered my entire childhood, seeing your parents fight paycheck to paycheck, dumping you in the play centre of the local pokies while they play away the weekly wages is really depressing as well.

We often look at children from the perspective they're being brainwashed into gambling one day. But the perspective that their parents foster an addiction that actually takes away from their quality of life is just as relevant.

Myself, at the time, was a victim. Seeing my parents sell all my sh*t to Cashies just to pay the bills, when they used their wages to buy cigarettes and play on the slots has given me PTSD.

My parents are warm, caring never fought a day in their life and thsy are good people, but does it mean they are smart? No. Not one bit. And there are many good people out there who've been taken advantage of. Yes, they're allowed to make their own decisions, but when you advertise it everywhere, consistently, it's very hard for an addict to actually stop. It's like planting a sugar addict in a candy store consistently, you test someone's inner strength until they give in. Should they completely ban betting ads? Yes! But im realistic and know thsts unlikely, can they place RESTRICTIONS? Far more achievable.

Lucky for my sister and I, we grew up, learnt from their mistakes, worked our asses off and set ourselves up as adults. I'm sure there are lots of children however who were in my position, and they just grew up and became just like their parents. Generational patterns.
BF is a cesspool generally, but every now and again a post like this shines through, thank you.

Aug 18, 2006
Of course that's the best approach. But if every single person knew and understood the dangers of gambling, we wouldn't see the level of advertising in it that we do now - clearly it's working for them.

It's almost like these companies prey on people that aren't educated.
Kmart needs to be banned from tv as well then.....missus loves that s**t

Sent from my CPH2005 using Tapatalk

Aug 18, 2006
Also for people saying "it is the parents responsibility to teach their kids" that is all well and good but kids learn a huge amount from sources other than their parents. They learn about the world just by being in society, going to the supermarket with their parents, watching TV, spending time with friends at school. Kids get socialised in society in ways that we don't even know.

An example a professor at university used when I was there was when she was fixing some pipes under her sink because one of them was leaking, and her 4 year old son came up to her confused and asked her why she was doing that since fixing pipes was a mans job. Now, neither her or her husband had ever taught their son such a thing but somehow he had picked up that plumbing was a traditionally male profession and internalised that belief.

And that same kid still thinks it's a man's job? Or did she get taught from her parents that that isn't the case?

Weird argument.....

mouncey2franklin

Jun 16, 2018
I love a punt more than most.

In fact I've been nominated for the Most Degenerate Punter of the Year award on the cherrfooty Punting board three years straight.

But I would be delighted to see the punting advertising curtailed. It has gotten way out of hand.

There's a lot of people in this thread who don't seem to understand what is being discussed here.

We're not saying we want betting banned.

We're saying we want the advertising -- especially during games -- banned.

It won't happen, too many snouts at the trough.

Still a good idea for a thread, cheers to the OP.

Aug 18, 2006
I love a punt more than most.

In fact I've been nominated for the Most Degenerate Punter of the Year award on the cherrfooty Punting board three years straight.

But I would be delighted to see the punting advertising curtailed. It has gotten way out of hand.

There's a lot of people in this thread who don't seem to understand what is being discussed here.

We're not saying we want betting banned. We're saying we want the advertising -- especially during games -- banned.

It won't happen, too many snouts at the trough.

Still a good idea for a thread, cheers to the OP.
As much chance as me being able to turn up to the footy at the MCG with an expected crowd of 20,000 and sit wherever I want

Money wins every time