Overrated Food Items

• Thread starter Thread starter DTRAIN87

I can't handle the fishy after taste nor the smell. Growing up and the smell of a fish night for dinner used to make me test out my gag reflexes. Also i used to have to walk through an arcade to get to school and the last shop in this arcade was a fish shop.

Having to smell fish at 7.30 each morning was not a nice experience.

Demonstrates my point, though. Your aversion to seafood is a vestige of childhood, and something you are yet to fully work through.

Most interesting. Did you have a difficult relationship with your mother?

I have a good one near home but its funny the ones that are good have all young Aussie kids serving it up the ones that are terrible seem to have Chinese or Indian employee's take that how you will but thats the truth

Indian families are fast owning all the fast food joints.

Demonstrates my point, though. Your aversion to seafood is a vestige of childhood, and something you are yet to fully work through.

Most interesting. Did you have a difficult relationship with your mother?

Not at all.

I just cant handle the tatse, The same as some people get terrified of vegies.

Have to echo the subway calls, went to a deli and got a footlong with freshly shaved meats and cheese for $5... Shits all over subway

Yeah but you don't get a syrup infused drink and a few artery clogging undercooked biscuits!

This.

I hate when you end up sitting next to someone on the train in the morning on the way to work and they crack a can of redbull. The smell is atrocious and you can just about hear his stomach lining getting eaten away by all the crap they put in that drink.

Yeah red bull at 730 am is truly horrific.

It's always the same looking trashy teenagers drinking it.

I have a good one near home but its funny the ones that are good have all young Aussie kids serving it up the ones that are terrible seem to have Chinese or Indian employee's take that how you will but thats the truth

I was also going to say that the only bad Subway I've had was the only one run by Asians but didn't really want to come across as being racist...

Gai Pad Med Mamuang on a bed of saffron rice. Is good Thai.:thumbsu:

As for what's overrated - roasts. And chops.:thumbsdown:

Worst post ever! Roasts and Chops are two of the greatest pleasures in life.

Although I suspect we are on different wavelengths as I'm not sure what Gai Pad Med Mamunang is. The first word probably sums it up though.

racist.gif

I was also going to say that the only bad Subway I've had was the only one run by Asians but didn't really want to come across as being racist...

Why is it racist? It's well known that asians don't do western takeaway food that well. The proof was when they bought all the greek milk bars and destroyed the legacy that the greeks left with milk bars and hamburgers.

It's like saying anglo aussies don't do asian food well at all.

Sick of people feeling scared to say something because they dont want to seem racist

Its the truth go to the city all the paki's and Indian's own them and they are terrible there tight asses i remember grabbing an extra straw one day and the manager saying to me why do you need 2 straws i was grabbing it for a mate who didnt grab one i could not believe it

Subway franchise will be going for peanuts in 10 years time after the destroy the brand and product

Why is it racist? It's well known that asians don't do western takeaway food that well.

Yeah I know but some people just love to scream 'racist'.

The local bakery in my town has always been run by a Chinese family and that's actually very good, reasonably priced too.

You have to be kidding, or else you're a Maccas, HJ's addict.

Nope.

Lobster is viewed as some next level dish by all and sundry. It's built up to be the best thing ever. I think it's because it's so expensive to eat.

The times I've had it I've wondered what all the fuss is about.

I basically think that anyone that can't eat seafood is a Billy Madison-style man-child stuck in a permanent early-adolescent state. I couldn't trust them with anything important.

See also: an adult that continues to drink alcopops

If given the choice I'd prefer to eat land animals. Seafood just doesn't do it for me taste wise.

I'd prefer seafood over vegetarian though.

Nope.

Lobster is viewed as some next level dish by all and sundry. It's built up to be the best thing ever. I think it's because it's so expensive to eat.

The times I've had it I've wondered what all the fuss is about.

Crayfish is so yummy, plus it's not expensive if your friends catch them. :D

I'd have to agree that Lobster can be overrated. Most people overcook the **** out of it and it ends up tough, chewy and not very nice.

Asians aren't great with sandwich joints generally

I think they try to skimp on the fillings and it's noticeable

Oh yeah they do salad rolls at bakeries really well.

I mean $4.50 for a nice yummy pork/chicken roll on crispy Asian bread...yummm! And people still go to subway when there are these bakeries around.

The amount of maccas that kids are eating after school makes me gasp. They order huge amounts of crap.

Last time i was in maccas for a quick cheeseburger fix (cheeseburgers are the only terrible thing maccas makes well) two schoolgirls ordered 20 nuggets each in a large meal deal and shared one of those large iced coffees with a heap of cream on top!

Shit thats a lot of food to eat for a couple of young girls.

Yeah I know but some people just love to scream 'racist'.

The local bakery in my town has always been run by a Chinese family and that's actually very good, reasonably priced too.

Yeah, the little lunch bar near near my office is run by an Asian family and a lot of stereotypes apply. They're quite abrupt and run the place like a production line, but at the end of the day it's busy and I'm in and out quickly and get a reasonably priced sandwich. If I was going to a restaurant/cafe for a sit down meal I'd expect more effort in terms of customer service but when picking up a takeaway lunch during office hours I'm happy to trade lack of small talk for not waiting around for 20 minutes while someone tries to grapple with the complexities of assembling sandwiches.

Asian bakeries are the shit, especially Vietnamese ones (French colonial influence). I struggle to walk past the one in my local shopping centre without buying something. All the goodness of a French patisserie without paying $10 for a loaf of bread. Win.:thumbsu:

I dont buy their sausage rolls or pies ( the yellow pastry..eww) and avoid their way of making a schnitzal. But everythings else i rikey a lot!

The amount of maccas that kids are eating after school makes me gasp. They order huge amounts of crap.

Last time i was in maccas for a quick cheeseburger fix (cheeseburgers are the only terrible thing maccas makes well) two schoolgirls ordered 20 nuggets each in a large meal deal and shared one of those large iced coffees with a heap of cream on top!

Shit thats a lot of food to eat for a couple of young girls.

I love the fact that all the fast food joints put up kJ counts for their meals now.

The regular 'Five Stars Box' from KFC (intended for one) is like 6,000 kJ with Pepsi Max. :eek:

The recommended daily intake is 8,700 kJ for an adult male (varies with size, level of fitness etc.). I reckon I probably eat 8-10,000 each day as a 28 year old (active but not running marathons) male but it wouldn't surprise me if people smaller, younger, less active etc. were eating a hell of a lot more. Whether you're a house or otherwise that can't be good.