Overrated Food Items

• Thread starter Thread starter DTRAIN87

Yeah do not understand energy drinks - The only time I ever drink them is on long haul drives (Adel to Melb/ Melb to Syd etc) which would account for a couple of drinks a year (if that) -

Years ago I bought a 6 pack of vodka-energy drinks at the bottle-o because they were only $10 and I was broke and I don't think I fully realised they were just red bull mixed with vodka - It was the most f*cked night of my life.. I only drank three of them then spent the rest of the night having heart pulpitations thinking I was going to have a heart attack or something... truly awful...

There is a guy in my politics class at uni who has a giant 500 ml can of mother EVERY time I see him - We had to do a group assignment together... he is nuts. Seriously reminds me of Tweak from South Park (the one who drinks too much coffee) - He's only young (maybe 20, 21- ) so I guess he is still ignorant but these habits are going to be hard for him to break....

On an unrelated (i think) note, he is a fully fledged and signed up young Liberal - Loves Abbott, and ran in the student union elections for environmental officer on an anti-recycling compaign... (glass and aluminium is ok, but paper and cardboard is inefficient and only survives on govt subsidies.. according to him) -

to his credit, sort of, he never expected to win the spot, i think he was just filling out the ticket so that the conservative group (ironically named 'Action!') had someone running for every spot -

Do they actually give you energy though? They have never worked for me. They just make me feel sick.

My boss at work drinks about 3 or 4 cans of red bull a night and often has a mother to go along with that. I don't know he's still alive considering how harmful they are.

Do they actually give you energy though? They have never worked for me. They just make me feel sick.

My boss at work drinks about 3 or 4 cans of red bull a night and often has a mother to go along with that. I don't know he's still alive considering how harmful they are.

I tried to get through a full bottle once and couldn't, I just find the taste so horrible.

I had a guy at work who did the same thing. Buys a 4 pack of Vs a day and he's role was mostly sitting at a desk so it wasn't even for an energy boost. He recently found out he has diabetes now.

Sourdough toast. I dont care how trendy most cafe owners think this is, it is shite. Hot tip, start serving eggs on raisin toast, it is far better.

Dim sims

Chopped-up cabbage and mystery meat

That INCLUDES the famous South Melbourne Market ones too

I wouldn't say they give me energy, but for whatever reason they make it easier to drive 8 to 10 hours without feeling tired -

It doesn't feel very nice, but driving that far never does -

Outside of this one use, I would never contemplate drinking one -

Risottos can be horrible, gluey things. But a good risotto is amazing. Shame they're so full of kilojoules.

Reckon you can pretty accurately judge a restaurant on the basis of its risotto.

A truffle and porchini risotto I had a Cicciolina's in St Kilda is one of the best things I've ever eaten. When done correctly, risotto is amazing.

As a vegetarian for 20+ years, I'd have to say that red meat is overrated. I'm no vego-nazi, but when I smell meat cooking these days, it smells like burning human flesh. Don't miss it one bit, except for an occasional hankering for sausages when I smell them cooking at a barbie - interesting, seeing as they have a questionable meat content.

Truffles, snapper and waygu beef.​
Give me a flathead and a t-bone any day.​

A truffle and porchini risotto I had a Cicciolina's in St Kilda is one of the best things I've ever eaten. When done correctly, risotto is amazing.

As a vegetarian for 20+ years, I'd have to say that red meat is overrated. I'm no vego-nazi, but when I smell meat cooking these days, it smells like burning human flesh. Don't miss it one bit, except for an occasional hankering for sausages when I smell them cooking at a barbie - interesting, seeing as they have a questionable meat content.
Do you burn humans often?;)

Anything from the swine.

It's all just fat and salt making it taste good. I don't want a heart attack thanks.

Also I think the pig is intelligent and shouldn't be slaughtered. Shouldn't we all eat Dolphin too?

Diet anything with horrible artificial sweetener. It's all poison.

Subway is a bit of a strange one, expensive for what you get any they're always stingy on the salads/sauce and I hate telling them off every single time. Really depends if the people that own the franchise are jerks or not.

Dairy products. It's just in everything. Doesn't everybody know all the cows have cancer? They're not fed right, they're fed to produce milk. You're drinking dead bovine leukemia virus. Enjoy :thumbsu:

Salsas - overpriced, much better Mexcian elsewhere. Better than most things in a shopping centre food court I guess.
All coffee chains - I will never understand people who buy Gloria Jeans/Starbucks over a decent small business who produce a better product.
Corona - piss
NZ Sauv Blanc

Egg on raisin toast? Sounds hipster.

Coke tastes fantastic if you drink it once in a blue moon, tastes like shit if you have it everyday as you get used to the chemicals.

Kentucky Fried Chicken was heaven in the 80s during the rotating bucket days, was a fine meal then, the chooks were not rushed, and you could smell it from two streets away. These days, you can't smell KFC from two feet away.

All seafood is great, even the little bit of work to crack open a prawn is worth it, just a joke that its so expensive in the island known as Australia.

Love licorice and black jelly beans.

Macaroons... wtf is that crap?

Salsas - overpriced, much better Mexcian elsewhere. Better than most things in a shopping centre food court I guess.
All coffee chains - I will never understand people who buy Gloria Jeans/Starbucks over a decent small business who produce a better product.
Corona - piss
NZ Sauv Blanc

One of the best in the world. Not sure how it can be overrated, it's probably underrated if anything.

Really good macaroons are pretty good. They're like eating little clouds.

I think part of the reason they are so popular at the moment is because they're gluten free.