Universal Love Own or work in a small / local business facing hard times? Plug yourself here!

Michaels has kicked off a BigFooty movement and the admin is right behind this so we are extending it to all team boards. Please keep this in the spirit it's come to us.

Every night the news is on and sadly it's often more reports about small local business closing, and its gutwrenching.

But not many main stream media platforms see offering help to those that still are open.

So, if you own a small business, work in a small business or know someone who owns one that is still up and running but facing hard times, we want you to give the business a plug in this thread.

You just never know who may need your services.

Business name
A bit about them and what they do / offer
Website link.

As a community we need to do everything we can to help these small businesses stay open. And this is another platform to spread the word.

As a rule a thumb we don't do advertising on BF, but Chief is right behind this, so please plug away.

Michaels has kicked off a BigFooty movement and the admin is right behind this so we are extending it to all team boards. Please keep this in the spirit it's come to us.

Every night the news is on and sadly it's often more reports about small local business closing, and its gutwrenching.

But not many main stream media platforms see offering help to those that still are open.

So, if you own a small business, work in a small business or know someone who owns one that is still up and running but facing hard times, we want you to give the business a plug in this thread.

You just never know who may need your services.

Business name
A bit about them and what they do / offer
Website link.

As a community we need to do everything we can to help these small businesses stay open. And this is another platform to spread the word.

As a rule a thumb we don't do advertising on BF, but Chief is right behind this, so please plug away.

There are businesses closing here in Illinois near Chicago where I live. Restaurants have money tied up on food that is spoiling on the shelves. Breweries have beer sitting in tanks. Gyms, dance studios, and other recreational lesson-providers are quiet. I wish I could support those who post here. Now is the time to come together as a community and support each other. The Walmarts and McDonalds of the world will survive. It's the small guys that need our help!

This is an awesome initiative Michaels & Taylor.

If you're in Melbourne, get in touch with Wold Of The Willows brewery in Mordialloc. I mean support all local craft breweries as they all need your love, but these guys in particular are victims of awful timing. They had just decided last year to set up their own brewery after renting out space at another brewery, had started making beer in their new place and were going to open up their tap room last weekend but didn't for obvious reasons.

Yesterday they set up a pop-up drive thru bottle-o where you sent them a PM with your order, they'd get it ready & even give it a spray with ethanol for you and either pop it in your car boot or put it down for you to do so. And they do good beer (I recommend the barrel-aged imperial smoked porter). If you follow them on social media they'll announce other stuff like this.

Hope everyone's going alright physically, mentally, emotionally & financially.

I don't have any relation to the restaurant (apart from being a frequent customer), but there is a family run very excellent Vegetarian & Vegan Asian (predominantly Malaysian) Restaurant in Canning Vale called Little Beans Gourmet which any self-respecting Malaysian in Perth knows is one of the best malaysian restaurants in Perth atm (let alone going to veg/vegan comparisons). I know the owners have been trying everything, but were so upset last week as they have never had an empty restaurant for lunch (this was before the in restaurant bans), and they also had no calls for takeaway (they have adapted pretty quickly for this) and were checking the batteries on their phone to see if they were dead they were so distraught and in disbelief.

They are doing takeaways, and through consultation on Facebook, it is likely that they will start home-deliveries for orders over $100 (which would be a lot of food because their prices are very reasonable) in the Northern Suburbs on Tuesdays (Starting 31st of May) and Thursdays in the Southern Suburbs. If you are not into Malaysian or Chinese food they also do Japanese and Indian (all vegetarian). If you do pick up they have also setup contactless handover; they really do (unlike many other asian restaurants) care a lot about hygiene. I am not a vegetarian or a vegan but their food is just brilliant so do something different and give them a go please!

The other one (as a frequent customer) if I may shout out to is to Dining Akashi on Canning Highway in Mount Pleasant which is another family owned business employing three or four staff who specialise in Fine Dining Japanese Tempura (but do all manner of Japanese in a very traditional way); they used to do mainly only Omakase (Degustation) meals at evenings in a small restaurant which only would fit 14 or so (the owner would do all the cooking in front of you), but now (within days) they have very quickly resorted to completely and utterly revamping so that they do ala carte takeaway for lunches and dinners. I went there to support them for lunch today and they are doing everything very cleaning with gloves and a lot of care; they have got the social distancing down pat which is great, compared to a cafe I was at on the weekend which just didn't seem to get it) and also using recyclable bags. The food is still ultra-nice and fine dining-y even though it was takeaway (you can get tempura donburis, sashimi sets, I had the bento box which was awesome) and I believe in keeping with his style, the chef will still probably do something different each month. My birthday is soon and I was hoping to take friends there for a fine dining meal; now that is not going to happen but I will probably still have a takeaway from there to celebrate.

I don't work for or own the small business, but in Redcliffe there's a local pizza shop on Belvidere Street near the IGA that is currently still running as per usual and do great deals on pizza, if you're around that area please do go support them!

Had to close our gym yesterday :'(

If you want to run classes remotely, my business can help (www.martialytics.com) - we do member management software and are about to launch a new thing for remote training (to hopefully stay afloat ourselves).

Don't buy your booze from a big box, if you can afford not to. I'd recommend buying from Wise Child Wine Store (North Freo), Wines of While (Northbridge), Besk (West leederville), The Wine Thief (West Leederville), the Freo Dr. (Freo), Old Bridge Cellars (North Freo). All of these will deliver to you, as well.

And don't order from UberEats, order from the restaurant direct so they're not being undercut.
Can't emphasise enough how important this is. In these times all the money for take aways needs to go to the restaurant. I feel sorry for the delivery drivers but it's important we protect these SME's and do what we can to keep them running.

Hope everyone hangs in there Freo fam. And if any one needs Docker friendly hand sanitizer or face masks head to apemedical.com.au !
Stay safe

Great idea for a thread .

I own and run a small general insurance brokerage.
I’m not here to plug my own business as I’m sure most SME owners are already dealing with local insurance agents like myself (the last thing I want to do is take business off another struggling SME insurance broker)

What I do want to broadcast are some tips for business owners to consider (general advice only, please discuss with your advisor etc etc)

1. Call or email your advisor and have them downgrade your turnover estimates. This is a large rating factor for Liability and P.I insurance policies and should deliver some immediate premium relief

2. Advise of reduced workers compensation wages estimations. Your broker can do a ‘mid-term adjustment’ which again will result in premium returned to you

3. If you have ‘business interruption’ or loss of profits cover, revise the ‘Gross Profit’ from trade limit. Be cautious with this as under insurance conditions apply if you reduce beyond the 85% tolerance limit of what the actual GP figure is. Will also result In premium returns

4. Assess what is critical to your operations and what may otherwise be considered non-essential’

The above can all be performed ‘mid-term’ at any stage through your policy.

Note your broker is entitled to retain the commissions earned from the original policy placement (ie it is withheld by the broker when they process these credits) however I’ve made a decision to return all of these in full for my clients who are undertaking the above - hope yours do the same !

Lastly, from a broad overview we are investigating the policy exclusions around ‘pandemic’ and how the application of certain words in the definitions used by certain insurers may be tested at law.
Currently, all policies have a pandemic exclusion of sorts, we’ve identified what could be some issues with these exclusions and have presented a case to our legal advisors for comment. I will keep you posted with the outcome.

Unfortunately the loss of profits from virus/government closures is not met under the ‘business interruption’ section of a policy due to such exclusions.

We’ve had a horrible time conveying this to the businesses we’ve grown with and come to know so well - so hard when you see how much business owners put on the line to deliver these goods and services, only to have it now taken away.

I’ll echo all the other posters above - shop local and do whatever you can to support SME business, we’re the largest employer group in the country...

Don't buy your booze from a big box, if you can afford not to. I'd recommend buying from Wise Child Wine Store (North Freo), Wines of While (Northbridge), Besk (West leederville), The Wine Thief (West Leederville), the Freo Dr. (Freo), Old Bridge Cellars (North Freo). All of these will deliver to you, as well.

Additionally small, locally owned breweries like Nowhereman (Leederville), Otherside (Oconnor), Funk Cider (?), Ginversity (?), Colonial (Margs) and others are all great W.A. places that deserve support much more than the big alcohol companies. Nowhereman especially emphasises using W.A. based products and guest taps are predominantly from here too. Plus the owner is a Freo fan!

Also, if want fast food try and find an alternative that's a small business instead with something similar (3230 [como] instead of maccas or KFC for burgers etc) . It's the only way these guys have a chance!

I'm a lawyer at a small firm. We've been hit hard and word on the street is the same for other small firms. I'm not going to plug my workplace as I keep my online persona separate from my real life but I would suggest that everyone takes a few minutes to review their estate planning. If you don't have a Will get one. If you're in an at-risk category for getting severely sick from Covid-19 consider making an Enduring Power of Attorney as well.

Further to that. It is better if you have one prepared by a solicitor, but failing that the Will kit and EPA forms that are available online are better than dying intestate or needing Court order administration.

There are plenty of judgments in the Supreme Court proving that this is the wrong advice. A badly made Will can cost an estate tens and even hundreds of thousands in legal fees.

Hey all! I run a bookkeeping / management accounting firm. We've been slammed by our retail/gym/cafe clients closing their doors, and everyone else simply wanting to have a chat to understand where things are at with the economic stimulus packages

The most pressing questions we've had lately have been around understanding the PAYG cashflow boost measures, and also the options available on the employee side when it comes to standing down vs terminations. Cashflow forecasting is a big thing right now, understandably

Happy to have a chat if anyone wants a little clarity. You are all family

Had to close our gym yesterday :'(
Bloody devastating:( sorry to hear mate, honestly am.

We all know the gyms are closed to the public and Personal Trainers aren't allowed to train clients in the facility. But are Gym Managers allowed to train in their gyms, with absolutely no one else in the gym? I still have admin and cleaning to do, but don't want to risk being fined

English teacher - I tutor year 12s. Income halved since moving to Zoom. Anyone know of any kids needing extra help with ATAR English now that they’re trying to do a difficult course online, with 20 other kids needing their teacher’s time - give me a hoy. Zoom tutoring changes the structure of a regular tutoring session obviously, but still effective. Rates are negotiable within fair limits.

Available from 10am-4pm, Mon-Fri, 30, 45 or 60 min sessions. Cheaper individual rates if there’s two students at once.

Bloody devastating:( sorry to hear mate, honestly am.

We all know the gyms are closed to the public and Personal Trainers aren't allowed to train clients in the facility. But are Gym Managers allowed to train in their gyms, with absolutely no one else in the gym? I still have admin and cleaning to do, but don't want to risk being fined
Start of a new meme. If a gym owners trains in his gym alone and nobody is around to hear him cough, will anybody report him?

I've been going into our office since everyone is WFH - it's just me. Logic would say you'd be fine, but who knows - they might suspect you're still operating. One of our gym clients had a visit from the cops last week - they also run a physio clinic

On the one hand is good to have a small business because it is easy to handle everything and you have more freedom in comparison with thos which has big businesses. Moreover you can start it over and over because you're experienced enough and if you have money, you will never get lost. On the other hand it is kind of bad because there are phenomena like the pandemic nowadays which destroyed the majority of small businesses. Personally I've sold my business on https://exitadviser.com/templates.aspx for a lot of money in the middle of summer. Now I have enough money to rest and I will just wait until everything ends, so I could open a new pub.

Hey all
Hope this is okay to put here mods. 😊

I’m a writer/filmmaker. Who’d a thunk it right?

I have a webseries coming out that I’ve written and directed and I’m looking for people to be at least enough interested to follow and like my social media pages (Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, tiktok, YouTube - but particularly Facebook) to help to get the story out there.

It’s particularly difficult to promote webseries witjput going to ‘the people’, and essentially - a lot of you are ‘my people’ due to our common love of Freo, and the various personal interactions we’ve had over the years.

My story is a comedy/drama about a woman in her 40s who’s getting back into the dating game after being single for a few years. If you’ve ever been in that position you’ll probably get where she’s coming from, and the pitfalls and potholes that go with it.

Even if you’re not into this kind of stuff, a like and a follow would make the world of difference - and you never know if someone in your life might get into this kind of thing. It’s a lot of fun 🤩

We’re at @katnipmedia on all platforms - and you’d be doing me a solid by getting on board. There are sneaky peaks on the pages - they might get you interested!

47188874-FDE5-42CB-831C-938842F7F57C.jpeg

Remember ‘Katnip Media’ on all social platforms.