Vic P Plate Rules

Kids are pretty distracting too, and mates over 21 aren't any less distracting then those under it.

I can see where they're coming from but still reckon it's a joke. Agree with the guy above, I drive more carefully with my mates or girlfriend in the car cause you have to think about the safety and comfort of passengers.

Not to mention all the many many disadvantages it carries (higher chance of drink driving or other drinking related injury for mates who can't get a lift being the main one).

Just seems pointless, does as much harm as it would good. Very glad they don't have it in Tassie.
Yeah, I'm about 5 months away from getting my full licence and the only incidents I've had have been when I've been on my own. How embarrassing would it be to get caught speeding whilst having a mate in the car? Would never live it down.

Having said that, I can see the merit in the rule. Not saying it's a good rule or that it helps reduce the rate of mortality on the road, but it holds weight.

Holy crap thats harsh. Someone was telling me the penalty was just a $40 fine, and no demerit points.
whoever told you that was an imbecile. fines and points penalties need to be somewhat substantial otherwise people would play up all the time and hand over their token 40 buck fines without much difficulty. losing 300 bucks and a few points means you're more likely to behave yourself on the roads. there are a lot of bad drivers and hoons on the road and it is the irresponsible types that force the need for these 'harsh' penalties.

Make sure that if you are going to disobey the P1 passenger rules, keep your red-plates up even if you have multiple 16-21 yro passengers, rather than putting up green-plates in the hope that you won't be pulled over. The fine for breaking the passenger rule is (according to a friend) much less than the fine for having the wrong plates up.

I think it's a silly idea, no use having 5 designated drivers in a group of 10... but apparently statistics show that its safer so who am I to argue. Besides, I suppose that kids just turned 18 should be used to taking public transport rather than driving

rather than just going on hearsay, anyone that wants definitive answers should find a link on vicroads (or your state equivalent).

Make sure that if you are going to disobey the P1 passenger rules, keep your red-plates up even if you have multiple 16-21 yro passengers, rather than putting up green-plates in the hope that you won't be pulled over. The fine for breaking the passenger rule is (according to a friend) much less than the fine for having the wrong plates up.

I think it's a silly idea, no use having 5 designated drivers in a group of 10... but apparently statistics show that its safer so who am I to argue. Besides, I suppose that kids just turned 18 should be used to taking public transport rather than driving

Yip, and you get done for both. Which could result in losing your license instead of just going down 3 demerits for having more than 1 passenger.

Was in a car last night that got caught for having more than one passenger that was 18-21. I knew the person driving but she never told us she was on her red P's, I never looked or asked. Its a $340 fine and 3 demerit points.

its dermit points now is it?

Wow thats stupid and annoying

Do people that are on there red P's have demerit points? Or do they have 6 like people on green P's?

They have 5.
Ah ok. Because my grilfriend is on her red P's and we both thought that they are 0 demerit points and if they get caught doin anything wrong then they automatically lose their license. Thanks for that.

The rule is in because its suposed to stop a car load of teenagers egging others on, and if there is a crash, they think its better if its 2 dead instead of 5, it is a bullshit rule but you gotta abide by it, ill admit ive overstacked before, mostly to help mates from being bashed or stranded, and if anyone says just voerstack itll be fine, tell em to get ****ed, ive had 6 mates caught already