Toast Paddy

looking at those highlights there, and, yes i know it is vfl, but i think he looks better higher up the ground than deep in the forward line. which i think suits us better because i think bruce is more a full forward type, and if paddy turns out to be a gun chf that suits us perfectly, especially with membry in the side. the hard part is that with roo still playing, how to fit them all in, i know hes been playing a lot higher up the ground this year, but he does tend to spend a quarter or two a game in the forward line, and it also makes us a bit top heavy with all 4 down there
North has had a top heavy setup so far. Got to get games into Paddy somehow.

How are people surprised by this?!

He has shown it time and again in TAC Cup and VFL he is more than just an old fashioned full forward (found it weird that Richo has mentioned that about him before).

I think half the reason we didnt think Paddy isnt THAT big early on was because of how well he plays small compared to a Boyd/Patton. And he proved in the TAC his skills and work rate up and down the ground.

Jarryd Roughead is the absolute perfect comparison for him - all the Taylor Walker, Tom Hawkins comparison pigeon hole the great man.

And there is no issue with having two big key forwards who have an insatiable work rate to get up and down the wings. Means we can exploit direct matchups and present for our mids.

People screaming that we need to clone Rooey. We might have already done it.

He has shown it time and again in TAC Cup and VFL he is more than just an old fashioned full forward (found it weird that Richo has mentioned that about him before).

I think half the reason we didnt think Paddy isnt THAT big early on was because of how well he plays small compared to a Boyd/Patton. And he proved in the TAC his skills and work rate up and down the ground.

Jarryd Roughead is the absolute perfect comparison for him - all the Taylor Walker, Tom Hawkins comparison pigeon hole the great man.

And there is no issue with having two big key forwards who have an insatiable work rate to get up and down the wings. Means we can exploit direct matchups and present for our mids.

Richo said he was going to be a stay home forward so it's probably the expectation we have from the club. He will still be predominantly a deep forward IMO. He is bulking out at the moment but he's not that freakishly tall Tom Hawkins type so comparisons with guys like Tex are probably not unreasonable. I hope he can become a Roughead type it would suit his game. He has some old school traits that's why I thought Dunstal.

I've always thought Paddy's skill set is more midfielder. Excellent decision making, good field kick, good when the ball hits the ground, exceptional second efforts. Not sure he ever gets lean enough to play midfield, but Roughead never really did and look what happened.

Funny that this topic has come up. Only last week myself and a couple of others were having a discussion about Paddy, and how we all thought his career may develop. Career stats were quickly jotted down for some other KPF and we discussed where in comparison we thought Paddy may end up.
When you look at the stats and not the name, I believe based on natural talent, at the same age, Paddy will be averaging more disposals and goals per game than Hawkins, Walker and Roughead.
I'm sure some of you will shoot me down but I (and others) believe he's something special.

Watching that game was like watching young Jason Dunstal, he was fantastic, split packs, worked hard got to dangerous spots. I've been a bit neither here or there thinking he'd be at least a good player but the more I see of him the higher I set his ceiling. Needs to work on his set shot kicking but he's so close to just ripping off the chain and tearing the comp apart.
Be good to get this message to Dunstal himself,

imagine the rave reviews & following he would get. Be nice to have a bit of positive feedback in the media.

Except having to pay Hogan money to keep him. I wouldn't mind if he keeps a lower profile but a higher out put;)

Funny that this topic has come up. Only last week myself and a couple of others were having a discussion about Paddy, and how we all thought his career may develop. Career stats were quickly jotted down for some other KPF and we discussed where in comparison we thought Paddy may end up.
When you look at the stats and not the name, I believe based on natural talent, at the same age, Paddy will be averaging more disposals and goals per game than Hawkins, Walker and Roughead.
I'm sure some of you will shoot me down but I (and others) believe he's something special.

Tex is a somewhat limited KPF in the old fashioned see ball get ball way and uses his power game to his advantage. He's not super tall or super quick but holds his ground and leads hard at the ball in straight lines. Hawkins is a funny one, I don't rate him and then he has a great game, I get on him and he has a really average game. I would class him a bit Cloke like in that he should have made more impact with the weapons he had. He's tall, powerful and agile, he should be elite but if he'd been at a lesser club I reckon he would have been just a player. If he'd had some of Warren Tredreas attack on the ball he would have been a gun. Roughead is the perfect model modern tall forward with extras and hard to fault.

Paddy is going to be in a similar boat to the guys like Hawkins, he has the weapons but just needs to get his set shots going and i think he will start to believe himself. I had him pencilled in as a Tex type as I thought his game might be limited but I'm getting some Josh Kennedy or Roughy expectations now. He is a smart player.

Have you ever heard Dunstal saying anything positive ever? I turn the sound off if he is commentating anybody but stkikda.

Paddy McCartin?

87551_03003ec27377d5412dd7b14ff3b9cdd3.jpeg

Tex is a somewhat limited KPF in the old fashioned see ball get ball way and uses his power game to his advantage. He's not super tall or super quick but holds his ground and leads hard at the ball in straight lines. Hawkins is a funny one, I don't rate him and then he has a great game, I get on him and he has a really average game. I would class him a bit Cloke like in that he should have made more impact with the weapons he had. He's tall, powerful and agile, he should be elite but if he'd been at a lesser club I reckon he would have been just a player. If he'd had some of Warren Tredreas attack on the ball he would have been a gun. Roughead is the perfect model modern tall forward with extras and hard to fault.

Paddy is going to be in a similar boat to the guys like Hawkins, he has the weapons but just needs to get his set shots going and i think he will start to believe himself. I had him pencilled in as a Tex type as I thought his game might be limited but I'm getting some Josh Kennedy or Roughy expectations now. He is a smart player.
Agree on Hawkins. He's one of the best, but I thought he'd rip the comp apart with those attributes.

The main thing that I always felt comfort with for Paddy is just sheer footy nous. You get big guys that have never learnt to use their body (I reckon Pete Wright is a bit like that and will struggle long term), but plenty of others. Paddy knows how to position and outmaneuver. Good hands on the deck too. He'll be interesting to watch.

I have watched Paddy close up since day1, hes always showed a little something special, but not alot of it, but every time i see him get more games hes getting more confidence. I cant wait until they unleash the bull out of the pen, hes going to be a ripper, something i have never doubted.

Why do people keep trying to change players positions?

Carlisle among other reasons left the bombers because he was played out of position and wanted to be a defender!

Bruce CHF
Paddy FF

Carlisle FB
Goddard CHB

Swingmen yes in a game we're either leading or losing as in Bruce floats back or Goddard floats forward but the set positions

People suggesting Bruce be a defender again because of a delayed start to the season and now Carlisle as CHF!

Why do people keep trying to change players positions?

Carlisle among other reasons left the bombers because he was played out of position and wanted to be a defender!

Bruce CHF
Paddy FF

Carlisle FB
Goddard CHB

Swingmen yes in a game we're either leading or losing as in Bruce floats back or Goddard floats forward but the set positions

People suggesting Bruce be a defender again because of a delayed start to the season and now Carlisle as CHF!

It is nice to have flexibility in the lineup so that Richo can change things up if need be (swing Carlisle up forward late to win us a GF ala Adam Hunter in 06) but I think the players you have mentioned in the positions you have stated are where they will flourish most.

He does play a lot like Roo in that he roams far and wide.

I just think Paddy will play a whole lot like Hogan does for Melbourne. Very similar sizes and shapes (or at least I hope Paddy will be once he has the 4 preseasons under his belt that Hogan has now) and both very strong with the contested marking and marking on the lead. Both a bit iffy with their set-shots, but with plenty of time to improve them.

Have you ever heard Dunstal saying anything positive ever? I turn the sound off if he is commentating anybody but stkikda.
Sure youre not thinking of Dermot Bereton? Dunstall is a very smart and often quite bullish about our guys. He also only commentates with the tripleM guys.

Bereton is the opposite in all respects and tortures us on fox footy telecasts all the time.

Sure youre not thinking of Dermot Bereton? Dunstall is a very smart and often quite bullish about our guys. He also only commentates with the tripleM guys.

Bereton is the opposite in all respects and tortures us on fox footy telecasts all the time.

Nah Dunstall can be pretty awful with us. Especially on commentary, he sounds like a disappointed father. It's so exhausting.

He recently said we had a reasonable list but wasn't convinced on our spine. Seriously? The spine is the best part of our list. It just smacks of ignorance and trying to maintain that criticism for the sake of sounding like an expert.

Of course when everyone else says we're playing well, he is on that bandwagon.

I can remember Dunstall talking up the Melbourne forward line for the entire second half when we played them at the Gold Coast in 2009.

Melbourne were held scoreless in the third quarter and goalless in the second half of that game.

:rolleyes: