Toast PAFC & the ANZAC Spirit – ANZAC Day Centenary Anniversary

RedCentrePower

Jun 1, 2014
Alice Springs
Port Adelaide
This may have been posted elsewhere.

The countdown has begun. Nine days to go!

The Memorial: Beyond the ANZAC Legend, premieres Nov 4, 7.30pm AED

https://www.facebook.com/HistoryAustralia?hc_location=timeline

Take a journey through our real-time interactive WWI timeline and remember the ultimate sacrifice our bravest made 100 years ago. Learn more http://bit.ly/1swhS4o

http://www.h100.tv/timeline/world-war-1/1914/10/27

History - Australia & NZ

https://www.facebook.com/HistoryAustralia?fref=photo

History - Australia & NZ's Photos

https://www.facebook.com/HistoryAustralia/photos/p.555179801293874/555179801293874/?type=1&fref=nf

real chance of an anzac day double header next year, port v norwood in the afternoon, port v (insert afl club here) at night, should be a great day, anzac round footy always is, nothing gets you more up and about when the last post is played followed by the national anthem, the players must be ready to run through brick walls at that stage.

also given the sanfl only playing home and away games it should mean we dont have to go to norwood oval next year as it should go down as their home game like it did this year v north.

I'd like to see this happen but I don't think it will.

1. Open up the White Marquee Bar soon after the march finishes - so opens approx 12 noon.

2. On the big screens for the Southern Plaza, inside the ground and the WMB, at 12-30 Dawn Service from Gallipoli starts - show it. Outside the ground at 1-30 show the Villers-Bretonneux Dawn Service.

3. Port v Norwood bounce down at 1-15 only $10 or $15 - cash to get in- general admin for 90% of the ground. None of this bullshit 1 hour waiting to buy a ticket so they can print it out and take time to process credit and debit cards. Pre print general admin tickets for the audit process.

4. game over by 3-45

5. Everyone has to be out of game by 4-45 - WMB still open

6. Gates open for AFL game at 5-20

7. March from the Mall starts at 5-45 get to AO by 6-10

8. ceremonies start around 6-45

9. Bounce down at 7-10

This is very doable and if the SMA dont reckon they are good enough to run this tight schedule, then let the ADF run the ground for the day - and the SMA can split the profits with them and the RSL.

I'd like to see this happen but I don't think it will.

1. Open up the White Marquee Bar soon after the march finishes - so opens approx 12 noon.

2. On the big screens for the Southern Plaza, inside the ground and the WMB, at 12-30 Dawn Service from Gallipoli starts - show it. Outside the ground at 1-30 show the Villers-Bretonneux Dawn Service.

3. Port v Norwood bounce down at 1-15 only $10 or $15 - cash to get in- general admin for 90% of the ground. None of this bullshit 1 hour waiting to buy a ticket so they can print it out and take time to process credit and debit cards. Pre print general admin tickets for the audit process.

4. game over by 3-45

5. Everyone has to be out of game by 4-45 - WMB still open

6. Gates open for AFL game at 5-20

7. March from the Mall starts at 5-45 get to AO by 6-10

8. ceremonies start around 6-45

9. Bounce down at 7-10

This is very doable and if the SMA dont reckon they are good enough to run this tight schedule, then let the ADF run the ground for the day - and the SMA can split the profits with them and the RSL.

You were going along so rationally and realistically, and then... :(

Mar 1, 2014
People's Republic of Onkaparinga
Port Adelaide
Cronulla Sutherland Sharks
Caught a bit of the 5AA show on the way home. The Norwood supporters having a sook because they can't play at Adelaide Oval on Anzac Day.

For years we have bitched and moaned because Collingwood and Essendon have hijacked Anzac Day, now when the AFL decide to share the action around someone still wants to bitch and moan.

The Adelaide Oval was redeveloped to accommodate AFL footy not SANFL which is a feeder league these days, it is AFL and the Power that will bring in the corporate dollars not SANFL and Norwood.

JimmyBeerCans

30k Posts 10k Posts Bring Back the Bars
May 6, 2013
Hell
Port Adelaide
Caught a bit of the 5AA show on the way home. The Norwood supporters having a sook because they can't play at Adelaide Oval on Anzac Day.

For years we have bitched and moaned because Collingwood and Essendon have hijacked Anzac Day, now when the AFL decide to share the action around someone still wants to bitch and moan.

The Adelaide Oval was redeveloped to accommodate AFL footy not SANFL which is a feeder league these days, it is AFL and the Power that will bring in the corporate dollars not SANFL and Norwood.
It's only cRowey & a couple of emailers having a whinge really, nothing in it

This is great news, for my club as well as yours. A marquee match up between two top clubs on the most significant secular date in the calendar; may even be the Grand Final preview.

From where Port were only a couple of years ago to where you are now; make no mistake, you deserve this, and I'm glad that we get to play this match against a club that has earned all the respect they have.

And as for those posters throughout this thread who have mentioned either their own service or that of relatives: thank you. Lest we forget.

Very true, it would be no more than a minority of Norwood members plus the lunatic fringe of "anti-almost-anything-Port-driven" Crow apologists.

Sadly we have one idiot with both those diseases squawking and foaming at the mouth on our radio.

IMO most South Australians would have little knowledge of the behind the scenes work that has gone on by the club on this. They'd have a broad sense that we've been granted this fixture on the basis of recent performances. I do think with the end of the 'history war' in local footy most would acknowledge that a 140 year old club with lost players on the honour rolls in multiple wars has a more natural right to host the day than a new franchise. And some may also hold the (inconsistent) belief that the two clubs ought to 'take turns' as if this was just another fixture (which it is not).

Is this the first time we've seen Stupid really go in against what a majority of South Australians think on a Port-related matter? I think more than just the ratings worm is turning out there. It's not the thread to debate it, sure, we have a well worn media thread or two for that ;)

Mar 1, 2014
People's Republic of Onkaparinga
Port Adelaide
Cronulla Sutherland Sharks
That about says it all.

The SMA and the AFL are not going to listen to the ravings of a twerp pushing the barrow for a feeder club that can only pull 10,000 through the gate.

Norwood burned their bridges in 1989 so they are deservedly destined to be a feeder club in a second competition.

fireboy

Oct 23, 2008
Port Adelaide
That about says it all.

The SMA and the AFL are not going to listen to the ravings of a twerp pushing the barrow for a feeder club that can only pull 10,000 through the gate.

Norwood burned their bridges in 1989 so they are deservedly destined to be a feeder club in a second competition.

Correction Norwood didn't burn their bridges in 89...... they dropped the Chalice in 89 when the pressure was on :oops:

In Bruce Webber we Trust, never forget that :cool:

RedCentrePower

Jun 1, 2014
Alice Springs
Port Adelaide
Faithe Jones is a good source for some research..from South Aust, where I recently discovered doing some research on Jack Wade I say thanks and due credit to be paid to Faithe Jones because she came up with some information and photo from Trove, she has also put his photo on the site. I shared Faithe Jones facebook page to fireboy network with him with his search with Vietnam Port Player Sidoli. RIP.

Faithe Jones

https://www.facebook.com/faithe.jones.3?fref=pb&hc_location=friends_tab&pnref=friends.all

Are you wondering who this photograph is of???

A rather sad story..................

William Edward BOASE... See More

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?...426.1073741829.100001749961044&type=1&theater

RedCentrePower

Jun 1, 2014
Alice Springs
Port Adelaide
Nov 6, 2014
Port Adelaide
I remember clearly when the 2014 fixture came out Rowey and Bone, Rowey in particular, were stating repeatedly that as Port got the first showdown, Crows would be assured of Anzac day as a regular fixture. Funny how one year later Rowey is complaining about Power Hawks getting Anzac day instead of SANFL

RedCentrePower

Jun 1, 2014
Alice Springs
Port Adelaide
I remember clearly when the 2014 fixture came out Rowey and Bone, Rowey in particular, were stating repeatedly that as Port got the first showdown, Crows would be assured of Anzac day as a regular fixture. Funny how one year later Rowey is complaining about Power Hawks getting Anzac day instead of SANFL

This bloody moron is nothing more than fairdinkum oxygen thief. Honestly..If he gets hit by the next tram I will be cheering.

Remembrance Day on PAFC website - Matt Agius really into the Heritage Project. Well done, young man !

http://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/news/2014-11-11/port-adelaide-remembers-its-fallen

Joseph Watson, Roy Drummond, William Boon, Albert Chaplin and John Robertson would all enlist to serve in the Australian Imperial Forces in The Great War following their unbeaten - and unmatched - 1914 football campaign.Locals of the Port district - four of them living in the famous streets surrounding Alberton Oval - the quintet would fight primarily in the north of France on the Western Front against the Central Powers.

They were part of a 22-strong contingent of former Port Adelaide players to have joined the campaign.

http://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/news/2014-11-11/port-adelaide-remembers-its-fallen

The Port Adelaide Football Club continues to expand its list of player and official servicemen to have served in Australia's armed forces since 1914, ahead of next year's 100-year commemoration of the Australia and New Zealand Army Corps, with its current focus on completing a list of 'League' soldiers.

Port Adelaide welcomes further information on any servicemen to have played for the club (including in Reserves and Colts grades) via email to heritage@pafc.com.au.

fireboy RussellEbertHandball Ford Fairlane ... "Eyyyyyzzz ... right !"

THE 'WAVERING CROW' POPPIES UP...

This thread would not be complete without me posting this link:
http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/anzac...-first-world-war/story-fnmeodw7-1227118783102

The second story, lower down the page, about John England OAM and his grand-daughter Charlee is, for me, a beauty.
He's a close mate, you see.

John was in Peter Chant's company in 9RAR and was involved in the contact in which Pete lost his life on Valentine's Day 1969.

When Ford Fairlane and Rexie J helped me start the Peter Chant recognition project on BigFooty just before ANZAC Round 2013, John E. was a Crows supporter. I stayed with him in Reynella East on that trip.
In 2014 he took out Power membership. He's one of the veterans' community who has been impressed enough with our Club's sincerity and achievements to do that.
Not sure if Charlee has forgiven him. Looks like she might have.

“Charlee ... comes out and sees me march each year with the 9th and Remembrance Day is a very special time for my family.”
Mr England was a cadet journalist at the The News in Adelaide when he was conscripted for the war in Vietnam in 1966. He deferred service for 18 months to finish his cadetship but served one tour of about 12 months.
He returned to Vietnam for the first time in 44 years recently to “heal some wounds” and tour some of the battlefields with a group of comrades. “It was a very cathartic experience,” Mr England said.
“In hindsight, I wouldn’t change anything as all these events make you the person you are and I’ve got so many friendships and mates from that time.”

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/anzac...-first-world-war/story-fnmeodw7-1227118783102

RedCentrePower

Jun 1, 2014
Alice Springs
Port Adelaide
I have posted this up in case anyone can help with any of the S.A. photos.

Photographs from the Army Museum of South Australia that needs to be identified - note officers from different countries - Australian, British and either French or Belgian - please see the South Australian Tab with Army Museum dropdown at http://lostheroes.gravesecrets.net/army-museum-of-south-aus… for more photographs that need identifying....

Faithe Jones. https://www.facebook.com/faithe.jones.3?fref=nf

SA Soldiers just added

WATT George James 3197

WEEN Albert Robert 2041

WADE Arnold Arthur 713

WADE Ronald Victor 3464

Lindsay McGie was sitting with us (as were faquito and RussellEbertHandball - fireboy were you there?) at the pre-match function for the Geelong match, ANZAC Round, in 2014.
Lindsay was wearing his campaign medals out of respect to tradition (as were we all) but said he couldn't abide the military bullshit.
Mates are what's important, he said. He didn't get away with that one; he bought the next round.

Russell Ebert then came over and admitted that Lindsay taught him how to play. Priceless moment. Bullshit, but priceless.

Got to love this Club and its magnificent history and its magnificent tradition.

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport...an-lindsay-mcgie/story-fnii0294-1227313829444

FORMER Port Adelaide Magpie Lindsay McGie is gearing up for a big weekend with an Anzac double header across two states in two days.

McGie played 31 games for Essendon in 1964-65 and 1968-69, interrupted by eight months’ service in Vietnam in 1967 after he was conscripted two years earlier.

When he returned to Australia he played 27 games for Port Adelaide in the SANFL between 1970-72.

Now living in Adelaide, McGie, 70, will toss the coin before the Magpies’ grand final re-match with Norwood at Adelaide Oval on Friday night before flying to Melbourne on Anzac Day morning as Essendon’s guest for its blockbuster against Collingwood at the MCG.

“It (coin toss) is something I never expected so I’m delighted and honoured to be asked, it’s really great,” McGie said.

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport...an-lindsay-mcgie/story-fnii0294-1227313829444

Mar 9, 2014
Madelaide
Port Adelaide
Didn't know where else to post this.

For anyone interested, ANZAC Cove and Gallipoli then and now interactive photographs from The Guardian.

http://www.theguardian.com/news/ng-...c-cove-and-gallipoli-then-and-now-interactive

Original photographs by Charles Bean and Phillip Schuler from the Australian War Memorial.

"To mark the centenary of the Gallipoli landings, Guardian Australia photographer Mike Bowers visits the historic sites that feature in the most memorable photographs from the campaign, and captures how they look today"

image.jpg

http://www.theguardian.com/news/ng-...c-cove-and-gallipoli-then-and-now-interactive

Great stuff everyone, chilling yet heart-warming at the same time.

My partner just found out about a couple of great great great cousins who were killed in the battlefields of France and the Australian War Memorial site has been a fantastic treasure trove of information.

As noted on the War Memorial site
During the Centenary period, the name of each of the 62,000 Australians who gave their lives during the First World War will be projected onto the façade of the Hall of Memory at the Australian War Memorial. The names will be displayed from sunset to sunrise every night, and can be seen from the Memorial's grounds. Each name will be visible for 30 seconds.

Entering the name of the person you are interested in will give you the expected time their name will be projected.

Smithy7

10k Posts
Mar 1, 2014
South of Scotland
Port Adelaide
http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/po...allipoli-landing/story-fndv8s6g-1227315780283
Port Adelaide Football Club to start honour roll of servicemen-footballers in centenary of Gallipoli landing
PORT Adelaide this year - starting on Anzac Day on Saturday - will correct SA football’s oversight of not keeping an honour roll of footballers who served in war and peace-keeping missions since 1915.

ESTABLISHING a war memorial at its Alberton Oval base. A Lone Pine - an Anzac symbol of the Gallipoli landing a century ago - will be planted at Alberton on Saturday and be the centrepiece of annual ceremonies on Rembrance Day.
A plaque with the names of all Port Adelaide footballers who served will be placed at the base of the tree.
CREATING an “Avenue of Honour” with a tree honouring each deceased soldier who came from the Port Adelaide and Semaphore district. The project recently was unanimously supported by the Port Adelaide-Enfield council that ultimately will decide the site of the tribute that replicates a tree-lined war memorial at Ballarat.
More ....
http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/po...allipoli-landing/story-fndv8s6g-1227315780283

Rembrance Day ... well done News Ltd, you must be running out of people to insult.

On the other hand yet another bouquet to Port Adelaide for leading the way again.

Keith Thomas and Boakie with RSL SA CEO Sam Jackman at their presser today explaining the link between the 2 organisations and the game. Its a long presser but worth a look.