Social Science Parties gone wrong

Yes.

I'm still trying to get my head around why someone would think that getting people in to trash someone's house and beat up the females that are present (and why the mates/brothers/whoever was involved would agree to it) is in any way a reasonable reaction for not being allowed into a party (that you assumedly came along to with a girl you are at least friends with).

I hope you do realise that not every high school party was like this....

To not go to a single party throughout high school is mind boggling.

Our close group (bout 15 of us) most of us just had a small party for us and just had drinks there, liked it like that. Now cos we've finished high school and most are too busy for parties cos of uni i miss this, good times.. rarely see eachother now aswell

I never did either, until right before I graduated. A party full of juvenile, idiotic 15-17 year olds is a recipe for disaster.

Don't remember much actual violence (the odd "one-punch" fights), but certainly a few parties gone wrong. Generally about 6am the next morning was when it was discovered ;).

One memorable one was a mate's girlfriends 16th. Her father worked at the brewery, so we got everything needed for free. We catered for 100, and ran out of beer at 9pm before most arrived :eek:, so he went and got another TEN cartons from his "reserve pile" to help out.

About 11pm the olds left for their hotel, and we kicked into a 'higher' gear. I don't remember much of the next few hours - I'd brought Jack along for the ride, and after 6 hours of drinking as much free beer as I could, it didn't take long. Apparently I left with a chick to get more booze (stumbling off with half a bottle in my hand, whilst we still had 3-4 cartons left), and didn't return until about 3 or so.

When I got back, there was only a few dozen people lying around, and a couple of the boys were helping drag the comatose inside (middle of winter, sub-zero temperatures outside). We had 7 on the kitchen floor, more in the bathroom, and another couple in the hallway. One guy was throwing up, so we put his head out the kitchen window, and propped him up with a chair.

The spare beds had all been "used" (some multiple times! :eek:), but the hostesses bedroom had been kept locked all night. She asked me and a mate to help put her comatose cousin in the bedroom (up two flights of stairs). Even back then I was pretty big (6'1, 100kg), but my mate was tiny (5'6, 60kg wringing wet). Showing off, my mate says "I got this", and picks her up, fireman style (quite impressive effort actually, she was much bigger than him). Got to the first step, then lost balance, going backwards two steps and then (WWE style) dropping her over his back, into and through the glass table (8 seater) behind. Glass and blood went EVERYWHERE, and with everybody left so out of it, people were rolling around on the broken glass without realising.

I went into 'psycho-sober' mode*, and started picking people up, checking for glass/blood and getting them out of the way. Picked up the girl under the arms, and dragged her upstairs (we checked her first), about halfway up the second flight she started talking about aliens, taking her away, abductions, etc. Found out later she was pretty screwed up mentally...and hadn't drunk anything at all. (Was it an act? don't know, I got the hell outta there.)

Went back downstairs, and spent the next two hours picking up bits of glass.

* Apparently there's actually some logical reasoning for this - I think it's related to adrenaline, and it's not actual sobriety - but your mind goes perfectly clear, kinda like the "I just got snotted" feeling, minus the dull ache and bloodied face.

It's obviously an extreme example, but I still don't understand how anyone can consider that acceptable behaviour. Not casting dispersions on the poster (they're just the messenger), but it's just a complete overreaction. I would have possibly called my mates in the same situation (being told I couldn't enter the party), but just to get together and do something ourselves instead.

Why? I spent all day with the people I went to school with, and save a few close friends, the majority of these people quite frankly weren't that interesting to me. I didn't want to spend my free time with them too, particularly if they're just going to be trying to get as drunk and/or stoned as possible (the prime objectives at high school parties, from what I was told). I had better things to do with my time, especially considering I've never drank or smoked myself.

Our close group (bout 15 of us) most of us just had a small party for us and just had drinks there, liked it like that. Now cos we've finished high school and most are too busy for parties cos of uni i miss this, good times.. rarely see eachother now aswell

yeah im in the same boat, theres hardly any house parties these days. If there are, lots of people give them a miss as they have new friends from uni or people leave at lke 10 or 11 to hit town. I miss the days of getting smashed with everyone till 6 in the morning. We never had too much trouble at our parties apart from the odd fight and visits from the five-0. didn't have much trouble with gatecrashers either.

Don't remember much actual violence (the odd "one-punch" fights), but certainly a few parties gone wrong. Generally about 6am the next morning was when it was discovered ;).

One memorable one was a mate's girlfriends 16th. Her father worked at the brewery, so we got everything needed for free. We catered for 100, and ran out of beer at 9pm before most arrived :eek:, so he went and got another TEN cartons from his "reserve pile" to help out.

About 11pm the olds left for their hotel, and we kicked into a 'higher' gear. I don't remember much of the next few hours - I'd brought Jack along for the ride, and after 6 hours of drinking as much free beer as I could, it didn't take long. Apparently I left with a chick to get more booze (stumbling off with half a bottle in my hand, whilst we still had 3-4 cartons left), and didn't return until about 3 or so.

When I got back, there was only a few dozen people lying around, and a couple of the boys were helping drag the comatose inside (middle of winter, sub-zero temperatures outside). We had 7 on the kitchen floor, more in the bathroom, and another couple in the hallway. One guy was throwing up, so we put his head out the kitchen window, and propped him up with a chair.

The spare beds had all been "used" (some multiple times! :eek:), but the hostesses bedroom had been kept locked all night. She asked me and a mate to help put her comatose cousin in the bedroom (up two flights of stairs). Even back then I was pretty big (6'1, 100kg), but my mate was tiny (5'6, 60kg wringing wet). Showing off, my mate says "I got this", and picks her up, fireman style (quite impressive effort actually, she was much bigger than him). Got to the first step, then lost balance, going backwards two steps and then (WWE style) dropping her over his back, into and through the glass table (8 seater) behind. Glass and blood went EVERYWHERE, and with everybody left so out of it, people were rolling around on the broken glass without realising.

I went into 'psycho-sober' mode*, and started picking people up, checking for glass/blood and getting them out of the way. Picked up the girl under the arms, and dragged her upstairs (we checked her first), about halfway up the second flight she started talking about aliens, taking her away, abductions, etc. Found out later she was pretty screwed up mentally...and hadn't drunk anything at all. (Was it an act? don't know, I got the hell outta there.)

Went back downstairs, and spent the next two hours picking up bits of glass.

* Apparently there's actually some logical reasoning for this - I think it's related to adrenaline, and it's not actual sobriety - but your mind goes perfectly clear, kinda like the "I just got snotted" feeling, minus the dull ache and bloodied face.

lol that's a good one.

When I was about 13-14 a friend of a friend had a party and I was dragged along to it. Started off as just a small thing out of the hosts garage about 30 people max, really relaxed and simple with pizza and softies provided and the dad doing the DJ work (even had a mic set up to talk to the crowd). Classic daggy family kid party. Daggy but fun.

Anyway the neighbours decide to have a shindig of their own and people start coming out of god damn everywhere for this. Falling out of trees, emerging from sewers, materialising on their door step. It was amazing how quickly they got a crowd together.

Things got a bit heated when the crowds started to mix and the next door group started tucking into the free pizza and softies assuming it was part of their party. The hosts dad, still "dropping the tunes" as he called it, lost his shit when he saw a 20-something taking a whole pizza and bottle of pub squash. I remember it was a pub squash because the dad yelled out over his speaker system "where the **** do you think you're taking our squash?" and then all hell broke loose.

The Dad's beating the shit out of this kid, pub squash still in hand, the guys mates are jumping the fence, the uncles and older cousins are pouring out of the hosts house and all us young kids are standing there with our plastic cups full of Homebrand cola watching on thinking we're badasses for just being there.

Things were really getting out of hand and then the cops came, for some reason that to this day I don't know why my friend and I decided that this was the time to leg it and jump over the back fence. It was an unspoken thing, we both just looked at eachother and bolted. I imagine it was because that was just what we saw in movies, you jump over a fence when the cops come, we just took it as a requirement.

We both vault over the fence, my friend lands on a fern and I land in the pool. I'm soaking wet and he's recovering from a blow to the fellas when we realise we rode there so we had to go back and get our bikes from the garage.

Good times and something we still laugh about.

Hmm another party gone wrong.

When I was 14, the parties had no alcohol, I had to pay attention and listen to girls to get lucky :(

Feel weird reading this thread; often go to parties but havn't once seen a fight. Never seen one at school either :confused:

Same, it is surprising reading about all the violence.

All of the parties that went wrong for me were the ones where I didn't get any action. (which was pretty much all of them :(:p)

I went to a party a few years ago where everything seemed to go wrong.

BBQ ran out of gas mid way through cooking
The speakers blew up early in the night
ran out of alcohol early
someone burnt themselves pretty badly with a flare
and there weren't any good looking girls

Have had similar experiences to most in here (Big Parties out of control).

I once hosted a shin dig, with the expectation that about 15 of my good mates would be in attendance. The news of my 'do', got out however. Being the naive 15 year old I was, I simply went with the flow, letting in all the newcomers. Its amazing how many teenagers are on a knife edge on Saturday Nights. One text message and BANG, 30 people on your door. So yes, my standard suburban house, designed to accomodate a family of five, now had close to fifty intoxicated teenagers in it. Now its worth pointing out that this was a Saturday Night, and my parents were down at the shack (Returning late Sunday).

Anyway, so come Sunday Morning, there was a fair amount of debris.

- Goon stains in the lounge room
- Sticky kitchen floor
- Bottles and cigs throughout the house and garden
- A broken lamp
- And my personal favourite; A girl had pissed herself in our spare bed. Classy.

So, I tried admirably to make the house look semi-respectable come Sunday Night upon the arrival of my parents. The kitchen was back to normal, however the stains were still vaguely visible despite my best efforts. So, parents walk in. They tell me that there is a few empty bottles up on the street, so there eyebrows are already raised. To my disbelief, mum walks straight past the stains in the lounge room. I'm thinking, I could get away with this you know.

Wait, Hold on. Instead, she spots some trivial piece of dust on one of the chairs (Women :rolleyes:). Upon suspection, mum questions what I got up to last night. Dad pipes in, suggesting that I had a party. At this moment i'm like wtf, a piece of dust has been my downfall. However, the evidence begins to stack up when they now notice the numerous stains around the house.

My explanation? Oh um, i'm sorry I didn't tell you but I had some friends over last night. We weren't drinking or anything. How do you explain the stains? Well we ordered this dodgy looking pizza and some of my friends got food poisoning. How do you explain the broken lamp? Oh, that happened when I was moving the chair. I accidently moved it too fast.

It worked. I got the ol' 'We don't mind if you have friends over, just tell us next time.' And that was it. I had got away with daylight robbery.

Until my mum found a $350 receipt for the Bottle-O dated the night of the party.

So close.

I'm with Damon on this one. **** this bogan culture. I reckon it'd be an absolute shit night if all these gatecrashing bogans no one even knew rocked up to the place and started destroying it and its people. Such w***ers are inferior to me and quite simply are wastes of life, destined for nothing but mediocrity. I'm glad I've never experienced a party like this, let alone associate with these kind of peasants.

****ing gatecrashers.

Don't they have their own shit to do? Always ends in punch on's as well. Is funny hearing stories of the olds getting stuck into it.

Gatecrashers are dicks, but nothing wrong with a good party. Im glad 21st season has come around, after 3 years of town after the year of 18ths it's good to have parties again.

Only bad story from partyies I've been to was a mate getting punched in the mouth by a gatecrasher, literally about 2 weeks after getting his braces off. That was pretty ****ed.

I've gatecrashed a few times, but not in the traditional sense. This isn't a party gone wrong, just a wrong party (gone very right!).

Soon after starting a new job, I was invited to a party the following weekend by one of the girls, and (chasing) I agreed to meet up there. Turns out a mate had a do on the same night (organised last minute, as we tended to do), so I went there for a few hours before trying to find this new place. I'd had a reasonable amount (not too much though), but all I had left was a six-pack of 'travellers' for the walk. I'd somehow managed to forget my wallet too, meaning I didn't know the address.

Doesn't matter, I thought - I knew the street name, couldn't be that long. (There's 100 odd houses, but I didn't know that then). Caught a cab to the corner of the street and started walking, with only the $2 change in my pocket, and four beers left. About a block down there were some lights on, but the house was real quiet so I moved on. A few minutes later I could hear the music and excited chatting, thought this must be the place. Front door was open so I walked in, no-one stopped me.

Didn't recognise anyone, so I wandered through the loungeroom, and someone turned around from the fridge and gave me a beer. Opened, and kept moving through towards the back. Stood around the bbq and told 'man' stories (cars, chicks, footy - complete and utter fabrications the lot of them ;), whilst sinking a fair few drinks.

Went inside, and one of the girls was wearing a tiara thing. Found out it was her 18th birthday when the "entertainment" arrived (so headed back outside bloody quickly :eek:). Amazing split with every woman inside, every bloke (one exception) outside.

After the 'show' there were cocktails flying around, fluroescent blue and green things, and then the party halved - some going into town, the rest staying. I took up a position on the couch (which was an EXTREMELY good choice), as for the rest of the night I had a succession of drunken girls needing a place to "cool off" - probably the 3rd best "lead generating" night of my life (a mate's bucks night, and a cousin's 21st the other).

At some stage I was offered the spare bedroom, and went there alone (I think). Woke up with a few other people in the room, and two girls in the bed. After a minute or two (or three :D) realised they were all comatose, so got myself out, and went out to the kitchen. Some old bloke was there cleaning up, and he made me a coffee, whilst I found my shoes and jacket. I drank the coffee, took a bag of bottles for the bin, and left.

The girl I was keen on wouldn't speak to me after that - she'd been at the party I was supposed to go to, and ended up sober, alone and upset, having turned away a few other guys waiting for me to arrive....whilst I'd gone to the wrong party, about 3 doors down and had the time of my life.

....I don't think I really gave a damn. :D

I've gatecrashed a few times, but not in the traditional sense. This isn't a party gone wrong, just a wrong party (gone very right!).

Soon after starting a new job, I was invited to a party the following weekend by one of the girls, and (chasing) I agreed to meet up there. Turns out a mate had a do on the same night (organised last minute, as we tended to do), so I went there for a few hours before trying to find this new place. I'd had a reasonable amount (not too much though), but all I had left was a six-pack of 'travellers' for the walk. I'd somehow managed to forget my wallet too, meaning I didn't know the address.

Doesn't matter, I thought - I knew the street name, couldn't be that long. (There's 100 odd houses, but I didn't know that then). Caught a cab to the corner of the street and started walking, with only the $2 change in my pocket, and four beers left. About a block down there were some lights on, but the house was real quiet so I moved on. A few minutes later I could hear the music and excited chatting, thought this must be the place. Front door was open so I walked in, no-one stopped me.

Didn't recognise anyone, so I wandered through the loungeroom, and someone turned around from the fridge and gave me a beer. Opened, and kept moving through towards the back. Stood around the bbq and told 'man' stories (cars, chicks, footy - complete and utter fabrications the lot of them ;), whilst sinking a fair few drinks.

Went inside, and one of the girls was wearing a tiara thing. Found out it was her 18th birthday when the "entertainment" arrived (so headed back outside bloody quickly :eek:). Amazing split with every woman inside, every bloke (one exception) outside.

After the 'show' there were cocktails flying around, fluroescent blue and green things, and then the party halved - some going into town, the rest staying. I took up a position on the couch (which was an EXTREMELY good choice), as for the rest of the night I had a succession of drunken girls needing a place to "cool off" - probably the 3rd best "lead generating" night of my life (a mate's bucks night, and a cousin's 21st the other).

At some stage I was offered the spare bedroom, and went there alone (I think). Woke up with a few other people in the room, and two girls in the bed. After a minute or two (or three :D) realised they were all comatose, so got myself out, and went out to the kitchen. Some old bloke was there cleaning up, and he made me a coffee, whilst I found my shoes and jacket. I drank the coffee, took a bag of bottles for the bin, and left.

The girl I was keen on wouldn't speak to me after that - she'd been at the party I was supposed to go to, and ended up sober, alone and upset, having turned away a few other guys waiting for me to arrive....whilst I'd gone to the wrong party, about 3 doors down and had the time of my life.

follow up with the girl from 3 doors down?

I'm with Damon on this one. **** this bogan culture. I reckon it'd be an absolute shit night if all these gatecrashing bogans no one even knew rocked up to the place and started destroying it and its people. Such w***ers are inferior to me and quite simply are wastes of life, destined for nothing but mediocrity. I'm glad I've never experienced a party like this, let alone associate with these kind of peasants.
Yea pretty much, prefer small parties and did through highschool as well.

It's possible to have a party, a good one, without letting your 300 facebook friends know. Kids don't understand this.

Brilliant. :thumbsu:

I went to a derro northern suburbs of SA school and I've still never seen a fight.
I go to a derro northern suburbs of SA school and it used to be fights galore. There was a period a few years ago where there was a fight every day for two or three weeks. School's been on the news a few times too. Everything's died down the past year or two though thankfully and I can't remember the last time there was a fight.