Opinion Pass Mark v Collingwood

• Thread starter Thread starter dajesmac

I can't believe some of you blokes would be content with a loss. WTF? We aren't Richmond or Melbourne supporters, we don't condone mediocrity. The team I support plays to win, anything less is not a pass it's a let down. OK I'll admit that if our players busted their gut for four quarters, kicked straight, tackled hard, won the contested possessions, hitouts etc etc and we ended up losing a hard fought battle by less than a goal in the dying minutes maybe just maybe I could live with a loss but it's still not a pass... a win is a pass.

10 goal win
Josh kicks a dozen
Priddis to take a sprint down the wing taking 9 bounces while palming off Pendles, Swan and Beams in the face and finishing with a baulk and goal from 55m

Anything else is unaccecptable

A win, nothing less.

Gold Coast beat Collingwood once, Giants beat Swans, anything is possible.

We need to stop accepting mediocrity from such a powerful and wealthy club.

Realistically i see us losing by 5 goals +

If we are accepting these pass mark shit results and walking away feeling comfortable that we didn't get flogged them we really have become the freo of old.

If we don't win we lose. Simple. Not acceptable.

Why Marlin01? I'm interested to see what supporters think is a pass mark, especially after the GWS win and many people saying the Eagles are flat track bullies. I hope a lot respond to this thread because I am patently interested in the feedback. ;)

Yeah, I guess I was looking at it from the wrong perspective.

If Collingwood beat Adelaide I can see us winning this game. Collingwood will be on a 5 game winning streak and won't see it coming, I think they'll be ripe. Not to mention we are well overdue for a win against them at the MCG.

This game sort of reminds me of our game vs Hawthorn last year. We had been pretty shit up until then, only beating up on crap sides. I had a feeling we could win that game and we didn't do too badly. Most of our team has played Collingwood at the MCG (twice being in finals and once being a top of the table clash) so I don't think they'll be too daunted by the occasion.

We have to do everything we can to win in Melbourne against a good Pricktorian side. Did anyone see that fool (Garry Lyon) on footy classified? 11 goals 0 behinds from JK ( I don't care what team we were playing, that's a good effort, they still had 22 players) and all he could say was ''yeh we'll see if he can kick 11 against a good side''. I guess if he had of kicked them against Melbourne it would be next to worthless. It seems like the footy fraternity/media has been blowing hot air up that flogs ass for far too long.

He used to rate the eagles I reckon, a few years ago he was talking us up, 2012/ start of 2013. Then all of a sudden, we fall away a bit with some key injuries, and he seems to be the first to sink the boot in. I know he is payed for his "opinion" but he is like many other victorian journo's, just want to make some outlandish statements to get their head/name in the news.

It also seems like a fair few of the ex players from the 90's have some sort of deep down hatred of us. Not sure if it's the first non victorian flag winning thing, or that we used to belt their teams around, I don't really know what it is but it seems pretty obvious in many of them. Lyon, Dermie, Tony Shaw, even heard Dunstall say a few strange things. It's either that, or they just have no idea about our side and just report what they hear rather than doing proper research.

A win, any way or margin possible.
We need to beat a side around/above us and we need to win away, particularly at the G against a good side.

If, god forbid, we lose it better not be because we kick 7.19 to 10.5 or because we give up and get a Geelong style whipping.