Review Pathetic versus Melbourne

Nothing has changed re tagging. When Danger was getting smashed by Bern last time no one stood up then, why should we expect it now? Bunch of soft roosters and have always been so since Roo retired. Tex is big at bumping and throwing around his weight, but we have no-one in the midfield to do this and Campo's directions seem to be avoid it. Sauce can do great taps to advantage, but too often just drops it to the ground, he needed to slap it into space and have players running onto it when it became bleedingly obvious that we were getting smashed in close.

Thankyou. Spot on :thumbsu:.

A mate of mine that used to play footy years ago....he took up some sort of boxing/kick boxing. Trying to remember clearly what he said.
He reckons that it improved his footy performance out of sight. Not just his fitness/strength/speed....but especially the ability to handle opponents in congestion, reflexes, being used to knocks, hand-eye-foot coordination. He said there is just no way to fully describe how much of a positive effect it has.
He said not just a few minutes of sparring now and again, but some serious time dedicated to it with a proper coach, and particularly a floor-to-ceiling ball. He reckons that your ability to "take on" people in congestion....you can run rings around them.
That's not word for word, but as best as I can recall.

Our midfield performance is a reflection of the way our midfield coach saw and played the game.

Mackay, Douglas, Doughty, VB.

Is it any wonder the soft mindset pervades our club, when those type of players become 200 game players, are first picked and never held accountable for their mediocre performances.

Last week was a disgrace - the reaction is 'back them in' - yet again; it happens multiple times a year, but each event is treated in isolation, so when it happens again, we back them in; again. What does that tell players? You get a second chance, or a third chance, every time? What kind of attitude is that to instill in the team?

Drop a couple of players for average performances, not even disastrous ones, and make the ******* point that average performances will not be tolerated - don't worry about third or fourth chances, don't give any.

We have a soft as butter mindset, our coaching assistants should've had a broom through them years ago - it's time for some brutality at selection - it's the only way the mindset and culture will change.

Thankyou. Spot on :thumbsu:.

A mate of mine that used to play footy years ago....he took up some sort of boxing/kick boxing. Trying to remember clearly what he said.
He reckons that it improved his footy performance out of sight. Not just his fitness/strength/speed....but especially the ability to handle opponents in congestion, reflexes, being used to knocks, hand-eye-foot coordination. He said there is just no way to fully describe how much of a positive effect it has.
He said not just a few minutes of sparring now and again, but some serious time dedicated to it with a proper coach, and particularly a floor-to-ceiling ball. He reckons that your ability to "take on" people in congestion....you can run rings around them.
That's not word for word, but as best as I can recall.
Better get Sensei Sando back.
Oops he's at Collingwood.

Is it any wonder the soft mindset pervades our club, when those type of players become 200 game players, are first picked and never held accountable for their mediocre performances.

Last week was a disgrace - the reaction is 'back them in' - yet again; it happens multiple times a year, but each event is treated in isolation, so when it happens again, we back them in; again. What does that tell players? You get a second chance, or a third chance, every time? What kind of attitude is that to instill in the team?

Drop a couple of players for average performances, not even disastrous ones, and make the ******* point that average performances will not be tolerated - don't worry about third or fourth chances, don't give any.

We have a soft as butter mindset, our coaching assistants should've had a broom through them years ago - it's time for some brutality at selection - it's the only way the mindset and culture will change.

Well talk about butter.
Looks like we're being buttered up to accept two changes, Lever and Knight.
The club needs to be told in no uncertain terms 2 is not enough.
4/5 is what's needed.
These are not for balance or injuries these are purely disciplinary omissions for failing to perform. The omitted players are first on the chopping block, but not the only offenders and players will continue to be dropped if minimum standards of effort are not reached and no one is immune.
This needs to also include the better players which would never normally get dropped like Tex.

Well talk about butter.
Looks like we're being buttered up to accept two changes, Lever and Knight.
The club needs to be told in no uncertain terms 2 is not enough.
4/5 is what's needed.
These are not for balance or injuries these are purely disciplinary omissions for failing to perform. The omitted players are first on the chopping block, but not the only offenders and players will continue to be dropped if minimum standards of effort are not reached and no one is immune.
This needs to also include the better players which would never normally get dropped like Tex.
I'm not overly fussed if it is only those 2 coming in, I will be looking at who goes out.

Like the Admiral I was probably a greater advocate of Brads not only to become good player but one of best in AFL.
Well how far away his he currently as has absolutely no X factor to hurt opposition but just a chunky little bloke that gets ball quite often but gets tackled immediately or rushes off a quick handball and apart from Thommo type tackles in congestion offers no defence at all.
With so many out of form he has to continue to get game but are we ever going to see the real Brad we expected to get.
Also wait to see what Pyke does at selection and with tactics to get us back on track.
Surely the back slapping has now stopped at club and hard decisions need to be made.
Really annoyed at majority of posters dumping on Menzels game on weekend not only did he get more possessions but provided some real pressure and yes made some poor decisions but who didn't . Most not even noting missed last qtr injured.
You might joke about Atkins hair style some indication of people getting carried away but then could think back and only reason we got at 81 was what was between ears.
How did we clearly win the ruck did they destroy us in clearances even after talking up we would adjust that they would not do that against us .
Not only did they but all night with no alternative plan.
Wont be happy until see end of Clarke and Campo. at club as then know we are serious about getting best not looking after boys club or yes men.

I agree with a lot of your points , but is that you Sergei ?

It's not just our midfield, or even our playing group. It's our identity as a club.

There's a good reason that after a few wins our players appear satisfied. It's because we as a club are satisfied with these results. We'll finish in the 5th to 8th range, turn a profit, the board will reappoint itself, the coaches will stay, the same players will get all of the games and be selected next year and we'll count it as a successful year. The fans who would defend our club if they simply forfeited matches will rally and talk about how we should just 'support the boys' because that's 'our job'.

Meanwhile the second longest grand final drought in the league will continue.

The only other player that seems to manage this to any degree is Brucey (Laird). For f*cks sake, the lad has stones of granite. He needs to spend a lot more time in the Centre Square, and I'd even experiment with Rocket-Skates-Smithers. What I can say is "same ol', same ol'" clearly doesn't cut it, week in, week out.

Good, bad, or otherwise - one of the things I particularly like about Pyke is that he throws players in different positions more than anyone since Blight. This is looooooooooooong overdue.
Sure, it's robbing Peter to pay Paul a bit but it must happen to a far greater degree than at present as Paul (the mids) are so bad they are making Peter (defence) look silly.

One thing hobbling this move a little is the Crouch boys are exclusive inside mids (just like Thommo was) so in order for it all to balance re game time/rotations they get the lions share of mid time. Our structures become predictable, we struggle to change it up and if they aren't performing we are screwed.

The Crouch's need to spend some time in a secondary role, as does Sloane (he at least is easily capable). This gives Laird and Smith opportunity. We will be less predictable, the mids will be fresher...we've been saying this for years! The start of the season looked promising but I feel in order to accomodate BC we've reverted.

Also, get back to having at least one dynamic player in the set-up (Smith, Cameron) and instruct them to actually be on the move not stand still with a target on them.

it's time for some brutality at selection - it's the only way the mindset and culture will change.
For such a tough, uncompromising sport it amazes me how we mollycoddle players and don't risk hurting their feelings. It's counterproductive cos they cant handle it when the tough stuff comes.

Steam rolled by powerful teams.
tumblr_mraoeqiQZI1r7miayo1_500.gif

Didn't watch the game and have no intention of checking a replay

I have one question:

Did Bernie get booed? Sounds like he wore Sloane like a glove
Don't think so. Couldn't hear any of it on TV, but the mix seemed really off all night. Couldn't hear the umps' whistles half the time either, yet they must've had a mic in the crowd somewhere turned right up because you could hear a Melbourne bloke cheering clear as day after every goal.

How did you forget Brent Reilly.
203 game veteran.

Didn't watch the game and have no intention of checking a replay

I have one question:

Did Bernie get booed? Sounds like he wore Sloane like a glove
Booed? He got chaired off with a guard of honour

What a joke.

Bernie played his guts out (including some questionable tactics) and destroyed us...our team led by Bernie's best mate never stood up to him and then lined up for his 200th guard of honour...what the hell!!!

We even had supporters near us give Bernie a standing ovation at the start of the match when Melbourne ran on...you're kidding!!

Sure, it was crap that the AFC under Trigg created the chain of events that led to this but do we have to meekly bend over and take it every single time?

When is this club gonna get a mean streak?

It's not just our midfield, or even our playing group. It's our identity as a club.

There's a good reason that after a few wins our players appear satisfied. It's because we as a club are satisfied with these results. We'll finish in the 5th to 8th range, turn a profit, the board will reappoint itself, the coaches will stay, the same players will get all of the games and be selected next year and we'll count it as a successful year. The fans who would defend our club if they simply forfeited matches will rally and talk about how we should just 'support the boys' because that's 'our job'.

Meanwhile the second longest grand final drought in the league will continue.
I honestly think it comes in part of being in a two team town. Good enough to make finals and you're lavished with praise, we've never bottomed out so we haven't ever had the blowtorch applied to us massively and we've usually bounced back to being in the finals in a year or two, so everything is hunky dory again.

What a joke.

Bernie played his guts out (including some questionable tactics) and destroyed us...our team led by Bernie's best mate never stood up to him and then lined up for his 200th guard of honour...what the hell!!!

We even had supporters near us give Bernie a standing ovation at the start of the match when Melbourne ran on...you're kidding!!

Sure, it was crap that the AFC under Trigg created the chain of events that led to this but do we have to meekly bend over and take it every single time?

When is this club gonna get a mean streak?
Hard to stomach. Typical though. Apricot slices all round

I honestly think it comes in part of being in a two team town. Good enough to make finals and you're lavished with praise, we've never bottomed out so we haven't ever had the blowtorch applied to us massively and we've usually bounced back to being in the finals in a year or two, so everything is hunky dory again.
Its the media. There literally is none. A crows employee and a crows ambassador playing good cop bad cop on the radio.

Abject failures are smoothed away. Everything's fine. Snouts in the trough.

Well done lads. You have to back them in to respond. He's a ripper etc