Patrick Dangerfield

• Thread starter Thread starter Groupie_

imo we need to go to the nd well one more time in a big way. personally i would be looking at a way to get my hands on nd pick around pick 15 - 25. rather than trade good picks away at this stage.

how good would say for example picks 8 19 30 31 and 50 be. we then target a mature disgruntled player like mccarthy was last yr in the psd and look to cover some positions with mature players from state leagues.
to find a couple of ready to go players like morris would be great. we could do a similar player for player swap like grigg to get another disgruntled player to the club. 8 or 10 player turn over is not beyond the realms of possibity and it needs to be done.
our depth in most positions is poor and we still have far too many who just dont belong on our list. imo this should not be hard to do.

if we could get a kpd like chaplin or n brown or m brown hooker similar to what we paid for maric ie pick 30ish that would be great but i can see these types costing much more.

over the next two yrs we need to look at improving on connors, edwards, likely derickx, graham, and the way its going atm browne, that there alone says we need to take one or two ruckmen. jackson,king, macdonald looks gone, mcguane, moore, nahas, newman possibly ret, post sheesh atm id say hes gone, tuck ret, webberley, and white.
i havent started in on kids and you can bet some wont make it or rookies which include promoted a maric and miller.

its just my opinion but there is a heavy reliance on 15 18 players atm and we need to get this up to about 30.that is going to take a little bit of time and a heavy commitment to the nd still.

Haven't read through the entire thread so if it's already been mentioned I apologise, but is Dangerfield someone who we should be targeting at this stage?

I know they say you can never have enough elite/potential elite players, but he plays in arguably our strongest position on the ground and he would cost an absolute mint to bring him in. I'd be much more inclined to go down the path santa claws suggested, you can still make big improvements to your side by doing some player/pick swaps (Maric, Grigg, Morris etc) and by being smart at the draft table (Batchelor etc).

As 1 famous australian politician would say : PLEASE EXPLAIN

Super kid, bit of a rough diamond josh.
Put it this way I reckon both Gold Coast and GWS will have enormous trouble retaining a lot of the kids they drafted,particularly from Victoria.

Homesickness is bullshit. It's more "stuff this I'm missing out here,nobody knows who I am. My mates from u/18 are playing for Collingwood,Richmond,Essendon etc and get to go to heaps of parties and shag like there is no tomorrow,all sorts of things. They're famous!"

For every Tim Scully I reckon there are 2 who can't get back quick enough.Definately a market to be looking into but I wouldn't be going the Caddy route.I reckon the jury is still out anyway.

Super kid, bit of a rough diamond josh.
Put it this way I reckon both Gold Coast and GWS will have enormous trouble retaining a lot of the kids they drafted,particularly from Victoria.

Homesickness is bullshit. It's more "stuff this I'm missing out here,nobody knows who I am. My mates from u/18 are playing for Collingwood,Richmond,Essendon etc and get to go to heaps of parties and shag like there is no tomorrow,all sorts of things. They're famous!"

For every Tim Scully I reckon there are 2 who can't get back quick enough.Definately a market to be looking into but I wouldn't be going the Caddy route.I reckon the jury is still out anyway.

bit of a..what do they call it? a faux pas? there dude.;).

I like the idea of going for players at Gc & GWS. Why not indeed, no club is sacred players from all clubs need to be looked at seriously. I'm sure that's why we got an opposition list anylist into the club. As well as having a hard look at the next level down VFL etc for some hidden gems. Go Tiges

this is what has got me confused...we are suppose to be looking for hidden gems and each time i watch a VFL game or SANFL or WAFL game, there are ****ing dozens of gems waving their arms and saying here I ****ing am and we do sweet **** all at draft time....The name of the game is to find upgrades to what you have in order to improve and if anyone can suggest to me that we cant find upgrades to the serial senior suspects from 1000 or more candidates playing in those comps throughout the land and without the mill stone of having to sign them up on extended contracts i will go he.. Any player who got the nod from an AFL club from those leagues would jump at a 1 year contract and take it from there. ;)

I agree with this.
There are heaps that slip through the net.Was talking about this last night just in general.
Even staff recruitment is so bloody structured these days.Nobody looks outside the square.
It's like there is a list - tick,tick,tick, uh oh didnt tick that box-in the bin.
It's like everyone wants a robot.
Like ringing anywhere now, let's say...Telstra or a bank ffs they may as well say"hello sir I am reading from this script.I will probably ask you the same questions as the previous 2 people before you got to me.can I start with your date of birth.Please don't ask me anything outside the script as I have no idea and I'm not allowed to think laterally.If you do I will most likely handball you to someone else.
Same shit with football recruiters. He didn't do a 15.5 beep test, he's out.
He didn't jump so high from a standing start.... **** me!

Wasn't the question, "Will we look at him in the off season?"

Some posters on here very pessimistic.

My answer is YES, we bloody better hope that we will. I think a lot of you are suggesting he will be too expensive, which is fair enough, but obviously if we dont have a little dabble at trying to get him to Tigerland we dun goof'd.

He might turn over the ball on occasions but anyone who saw his game on the weekend realised how much of a gem he will be. He is only 22 and IMO he is a game changer. A bloke who I think will stand up in games and break it open at times.

Fits the age of player we want
Fits the style of player we want
Fits in the salary cap and price?? Maybe... Gotta have a go for the right price. Surely!

Then at least if we dont, hopfully the Bummers and Cats will have to pay overs for him. Either way it's a win.

I would also go after Dangerfield in a big way. Our top 3 mids are great. After that it falls away VERY quickly. Need more depth. Dangerfield would provide a shitload more than just depth, too.

yep spot on. we arent talking about picking up champions but decent solid players who can immediately improve our best 25 30 situation.

it is about getting a balance.we arent talking top 50 picks here or even top 60 picks, but 60 plus in the nd psd or rookie drafts.

why do we and so many other clubs take skinny kids who will take 3 yrs to get physically right to play a game that is if they ever get over the deficiencies that saw them slip so low in the first place. why not keep an eye on these kids and let them develop in state leagues and take an older state leaguer who can have an immediate impact.

have the the right criteria take state leaguers who have had good b&f results finished high in the league b&f as well. make sure they have the right attributes to survive at afl and you cant go wrong.
again i ask how many u18 rookies have we actually had come thru and make it in our system the last one i can remember is foley in 03. we are doing something wrong so why not change what we are doing. thats not to say we shouldnt take kids late or psd or rookie them just even it out a bit.

id say our psd picks have been good we get players to the club have a good look before actually putting them on the list poroper.nothing wrong with this,

anyway i never say it the way i want it to come out but im sure people can gather what is being said and with just a bit of diligence can see for themselves.

I would also go after Dangerfield in a big way. Our top 3 mids are great. After that it falls away VERY quickly. Need more depth. Dangerfield would provide a shitload more than just depth, too.

I hate how people just assume that after Cotchin, Martin, Deledio our midfield just drops. Conca looks like an absolute ripper, Grigg is having a stellar season, Foley is almost at his previous AA form and Tuck is doing the grunt job very well.

Our third tier midfielders do need work, but if every part of our side was great, then we would be near the top end of the ladder. We are quickly building up great depth and in my opinion, another attacking mid shouldn't be too high on the priority list.

I'd love to see us uncover a small forward through smart trading or recruiting, similarly to Houli, Grigg and Maric. Through FA, Stanton looks VERY appealing.

I don't think our KPD woes are as bad as people make it out to be. Rance and Grimes look the goods whilst we have Astbury, Griffiths and Post slowly building up their confidence and skill.

We don't really need to focus on a trading for a backman who will probably be our 3rd back. As long as we have the opposition's two best forwards covered, their third tall cause too much havoc. There is a reason why they are third on the priority list.

I hate how people just assume that after Cotchin, Martin, Deledio our midfield just drops. Conca looks like an absolute ripper, Grigg is having a stellar season, Foley is almost at his previous AA form and Tuck is doing the grunt job very well.

Our third tier midfielders do need work, but if every part of our side was great, then we would be near the top end of the ladder. We are quickly building up great depth and in my opinion, another attacking mid shouldn't be too high on the priority list.

I'd love to see us uncover a small forward through smart trading or recruiting, similarly to Houli, Grigg and Maric. Through FA, Stanton looks VERY appealing.

I don't think our KPD woes are as bad as people make it out to be. Rance and Grimes look the goods whilst we have Astbury, Griffiths and Post slowly building up their confidence and skill.

We don't really need to focus on a trading for a backman who will probably be our 3rd back. As long as we have the opposition's two best forwards covered, their third tall cause too much havoc. There is a reason why they are third on the priority list.

I personally think we need more depth in the midfield, but imagine a Stanton or Dangerfield coming into our side?

Dangerfield in particular, with his ability to go forward we already have that with Martin and Cotchin, to have the three of them ability to swap around would make it amazingly tough for opponents to match up with us.

Conca, Grigg, Foley are the second tier midfield, so that is getting much better, but we need a bit more. To have a top end of Cotchin, Martin, Deledio and Dangerfield would be amazing. We can build that with our first pick in the draft.

We are desperately in need of more quality midfielders & anybody who thinks we are doing ok is dreaming.

We currently have 4 quality mids in Martin,Cotchin,Foley,Delidio then we get down to the run of the mill players in Grigg,Houli,Tuck,Conca,Ellis who are serviceable atm with only Conca & Ellis showing signs of moving up to the next level after that we get down to the under achievers in Edwards,Jackson,White,Connors

The last 4 are the players that are letting us down drastically atm, we need upgrades on these types asap & Thats when we will start to threaten the best teams.

People harp on about needing more med fowards but once we have the extra quality in the midfield the surplus will be playing foward when not on ball so we will fill that void with them anyway (Martin,Cotchin,Delidio have shown they are more than capable in that role) ............ So our foward line isnt a problem

Defenders ......... Contrary to what people like santa think i believe our backs are doing a fantastic job so far with Rance,Grimes,Batchelor,Morris proving they are certainly upto the grade and 1 of Post,Astbury,Griffiths will fill the only available KPD role (another Batchelor & Morris types would be great and fantastic for our depth)

Midfielders & Rucks are a major concern atm & these are the areas we must adress asap in the next draft.

Patrick Dangerfield & Josh Caddy are the exact the type of player that
we need both able to play Midfield/Foward (chapman/O'Keefe type roles)
We should be trying to move Heaven & Earth to try our best to get these 2 player to punt rd.

I would be more than Happy to give up our 1st pick+ Edwards for Dangerfield
Also more than happy to put our 2nd pick+player or Compo pick+player for Caddy. (obviously not players already mentioned above)

And before people go off about our spuds not attracting interest from other clubs please remember Tambling,Raines,Shultz,Polo,Rodan are all still playing at other clubs and we did get some reasonable returns for some of them.

Watched a couple of footy programs on the idiot box this week and they all rave about Dangerfield and how he is peaking at the right time considering his contract is up this year. Surely this means he will command a high price next year say minimum 400k a year but the real cost will be what it costs to get him. He was a first round pick (not sure but I think about pick 8 from memory) and he is having a breakout season thus far in 2012. We would need to give Adelaide a player (good one) and a high draft pick minimum for this bloke.

Well **** that let him go to essendon or similar while we target one of the blokes who can play footy but has not yet been drafted as he wasn't in the top echelon of kids at 17 :thumbsu:

I just wonder what people think we would have to give up in order to get a Dangerfield.
Seriously Adelaide will demand the world and who can blame them. Imagine someone coming for Martin.
It's just not worth it,not even close to it and it rarely ends up in happiness.
If we were first cab of the rank with him coming off contract then yeah fair enough entertain it but we won't be.
I'd be happy with us nabbing a free agent for depth no problem at all but bugger stuffing up our drafting in order to get Dangerfield.

We are desperately in need of more quality midfielders & anybody who thinks we are doing ok is dreaming.

We currently have 4 quality mids in Martin,Cotchin,Foley,Delidio then we get down to the run of the mill players in Grigg,Houli,Tuck,Conca,Ellis who are serviceable atm with only Conca & Ellis showing signs of moving up to the next level after that we get down to the under achievers in Edwards,Jackson,White,Connors

The last 4 are the players that are letting us down drastically atm, we need upgrades on these types asap & Thats when we will start to threaten the best teams.

People harp on about needing more med fowards but once we have the extra quality in the midfield the surplus will be playing foward when not on ball so we will fill that void with them anyway (Martin,Cotchin,Delidio have shown they are more than capable in that role) ............ So our foward line isnt a problem

Midfielders & Rucks are a major concern atm & these are the areas we must adress asap in the next draft.

Patrick Dangerfield & Josh Caddy are the exact the type of player that
we need both able to play Midfield/Foward (chapman/O'Keefe type roles)
We should be trying to move Heaven & Earth to try our best to get these 2 player to punt rd.

I would be more than Happy to give up our 1st pick+ Edwards for Dangerfield
Also more than happy to put our 2nd pick+player or Compo pick+player for Caddy. (obviously not players already mentioned above)

And before people go off about our spuds not attracting interest from other clubs please remember Tambling,Raines,Shultz,Polo,Rodan are all still playing at other clubs and we did get some reasonable returns for some of them.
Sorry Gun but I just don't get this arguement.

For all their 'issues' Edwards Jackson in particular are handy to have as depth types that can be called on to cover for an injury or suspension. Now I know that some wont like that, but I believe its the best way to build our list to where we want it to be.

This year we, currently, have 3 picks in the first 2 rounds of a draft that has already been labelled as a super draft. Why would we trade away 2 of those picks, as well as 2 more players, for Dangerfield and an unproven kid in Caddy?

You mention that we have Cotchin Deledio Martin & Foley as genuine quality, I'd also add Grigg to that group as well. He has shown this year that he can rack up 25-30 touches and have an impact on the game. That gives us a good quality core group.

IMO Conca Tuck Edwards Jackson Ellis & even Morris are in the next level of midfielders. While not stars(Conca & Ellis could be eventually) they are able to perform roles in the side that allow Deledio Cotchin Martin & Foley to star. For me I would like to add 2-3 midfielders with our early picks in the draft and add them to the above second tier.

That will give us the type of depth we need to become a genuine contender in the years to come.

I just wonder what people think we would have to give up in order to get a Dangerfield.
Seriously Adelaide will demand the world and who can blame them. Imagine someone coming for Martin.
It's just not worth it,not even close to it and it rarely ends up in happiness.
If we were first cab of the rank with him coming off contract then yeah fair enough entertain it but we won't be.
I'd be happy with us nabbing a free agent for depth no problem at all but bugger stuffing up our drafting in order to get Dangerfield.

He may be out of contract....the whole point of this thread. May not cost "the world" as you suggest. Yer just let the Bummers have him....

I dont want to pay stupid amounts for him either but you do understand that every draft pick is a risk? Lets not attempt to snatch Dangerfield, a 22yo whos already got the physical attributes and playing ability to be a top 5 player at our club, for the sake of risking it on unproven kids who may or may not ever amount to anything....right. If Danger threatens to walk out because we have got into his head and have made it seem like our club is the best thing for him then you never know what we could snap him up for.

Yep the more I think about it the more I want us to stay away from a big trade, go after a free agent, make a Grigg/I.Maric style trade, even trade in to more picks if possible, but stay away from overpaying for Dangerfield/Caddy types (I reckon we could try and get involved in these trades if they happen as a third party and see if we can get something out of it), we have a chance to go really deep in the draft this year and we should go for it

He may be out of contract....the whole point of this thread. May not cost "the world" as you suggest. Yer just let the Bummers have him....

I dont want to pay stupid amounts for him either but you do understand that every draft pick is a risk? Lets not attempt to snatch Dangerfield, a 22yo whos already got the physical attributes and playing ability to be a top 5 player at our club, for the sake of risking it on unproven kids who may or may not ever amount to anything....right. If Danger threatens to walk out because we have got into his head and have made it seem like our club is the best thing for him then you never know what we could snap him up for.

I know he's out of contract but he's not going to walk to us via pre-season draft is he so therefore we would have to trade with Adelaide. Stuff that.
Or pay over the odds on his contract.Again stuff that.
Just my opinion.

I know he's out of contract but he's not going to walk to us via pre-season draft is he so therefore we would have to trade with Adelaide. Stuff that.
Or pay over the odds on his contract.Again stuff that.
Just my opinion.

Fair enough. I respect that. You do have Dangerfield in your username so il assume you know best on this one.

Considering we have been absolutely stitched up by the AFL in terms of the draw, with clubs like Kangas/Adelaide given free run. I'd be happy for the RFC to write a letter to all members explaining how they are going to tank the rest of the year giving us some great picks! :) If we have the first pick in the PSD could be a massive win. LOL Not sure if serious. I dont know how id feel! haha

Fair enough. I respect that. You do have Dangerfield in your username so il assume you know best on this one.

Considering we have been absolutely stitched up by the AFL in terms of the draw, with clubs like Kangas/Adelaide given free run. I'd be happy for the RFC to write a letter to all members explaining how they are going to tank the rest of the year giving us some great picks! :) If we have the first pick in the PSD could be a massive win. LOL Not sure if serious. I dont know how id feel! haha

Careful what you wish for! Lose tomorrow and all of a sudden 1-8 is a real possibility.:(

come on guys as much as i would love to have him in my team it aint going to happen unless we want to give up a top draft pick or a quality midfielder.

The only thing we should be looking for is a KPP in Goddard or some one else not another mid