Patrick Dangerfield

• Thread starter Thread starter Groupie_

come on guys as much as i would love to have him in my team it aint going to happen unless we want to give up a top draft pick or a quality midfielder.

The only thing we should be looking for is a KPP in Goddard or some one else not another mid
Goddard is not a KPP. :o

Not that I think this is the way to go but if I was going to try to extricate anyone from Adelaide I'd go Rory Sloane before Dangerfield.

he can be if we move him forward ?
Um no he can't. Unless you want to suggest we could play Deledio Grigg Jackson or Tuck as a KPP as well, given they are all around the same 189cm mark.

People harp on about draft picks, sure i agree we do need to take young talent 90% of the time specially in a superdraft situation.

But will the player we take with our 1st pick possibly around 10 be as good as Dangerfield who is still only 22 and ready to go proven player with still huge upside................... I'd do it in a second

As with Josh Caddy, If we could snare him for our 2nd+player (jackson,edwards,mcguane,connors,graham) which is a stretch but the kid does want to come home. again only 19-20 yo

MIDFIELD CONSISTING OF

Cotchin , Martin , Delidio , Dangerfield , Conca , Foley , Caddy , Ellis

2nd Tier support mids

Grigg , Houli , Helbig , Nahas , King , Newman , Morris

That would not only strengthen our midfield enormously but also adds a massive amount of foward options as both Caddy & Dangerfield are very good up foward similar to the Martin , Cotchin scenario.

Thing to remember is both these boys are still very very young similar ages to Martin & Cotchin and Fit exactly into our age bracket.

I have no doubt that with these 2 boys in the tiger lineup we will be challenging top 4 teams by 2014.

TIME TO STRIKE

People harp on about draft picks, sure i agree we do need to take young talent 90% of the time specially in a superdraft situation.

But will the player we take with our 1st pick possibly around 10 be as good as Dangerfield who is still only 22 and ready to go proven player with still huge upside................... I'd do it in a second

As with Josh Caddy, If we could snare him for our 2nd+player (jackson,edwards,mcguane,connors,graham) which is a stretch but the kid does want to come home. again only 19-20 yo

MIDFIELD CONSISTING OF

2nd Tier support mids

That would not only strengthen our midfield enormously but also adds a massive amount of foward options as both Caddy & Dangerfield are very good up foward similar to the Martin , Cotchin scenario.

Thing to remember is both these boys are still very very young similar ages to Martin & Cotchin and Fit exactly into our age bracket.

I have no doubt that with these 2 boys in the tiger lineup we will be challenging top 4 teams by 2014.

TIME TO STRIKE

Personally I would be looking at going deeper into the draft..... I would offer Jack for 2 seventeen year old picks.... and also look at upgrading a pick here and there.

Getting Dangerfield and Caddy will cost us a shit load in salary cap... when we are more than likely to get younger cheaper options.

Um no he can't. Unless you want to suggest we could play Deledio Grigg Jackson or Tuck as a KPP as well, given they are all around the same 189cm mark.

Same height as Fev. Height isn't everything.

Younger players are not 100% guarantee A graders !

Tambling,Thorpe,Gumbleton, etc etc etc there would be heaps more but i only have 5 minutes before i need to get ready to go to dinner.

Also we are so far stretching to meet the salary cap that isnt an issue and caddy wont be expensive , Danger will need 600k

These boys will have a guaranteed inpact from day dot, Draft players will take 2 year if they are to make any impact at all.

Time to Rise up the ladder in Now mate how long do we constantly build.

MIDFIELD CONSISTING OF

2nd Tier support mids

TIME TO STRIKE

Who says that the kids we end up drafting aren't the same type of midfield/forward that Dangerfield/Caddy could be?

Also there is no reason they can't come in and have an impact from the start. Most draftees are able to come in when drafted and have an impact nowadays. Look at Conca Batchelor Ellis & Martin all were able to come in and have an impact in their first year. The way draftees prepare themselves before the draft they are more often than not physically ready to step up.

I have no doubt that the kids we take in the first 3 rounds would be able to do the same, unless they were coming in off an injury and weren't able to have a full preseason.

Finally if we are that keen on going after a mature aged recruit or 2, then we should do the same that we have done in going after Houli Grigg & Maric and that is target fringe types at other clubs who are struggling to get an opportunity but have the potential to be good players if given a crack. The cost for them were a 2nd round pick, a fringe player in Collins and a PSD pick. No reason why we couldn't pick up someone similar again this year, especially if we do end up around the 8. As it means we will be attractive to someone who wants to play finals.

We are desperately in need of more quality midfielders & anybody who thinks we are doing ok is dreaming

Defenders ......... Contrary to what people like santa think i believe our backs are doing a fantastic job so far with Rance,Grimes,Batchelor,Morris proving they are certainly upto the grade and 1 of Post,Astbury,Griffiths will fill the only available KPD role (another Batchelor & Morris types would be great and fantastic for our depth)

have always agreed with the first comment. the only argument you will get out of me on that is where and how we get them. im not against getting either dangerfield or caddy, thing is we wont have a pick in the first 4 rounds plus lose a decent player to get them. it all comes down to cost.it all comes down to how good we think the tlent in the nd is. one other point even with caddy and dangerfield yep we would have enough quality but we certainly would not have the numbers.
also if you think jackson edwards mcguane connors or graham will clinch us a deal you are terribly mistaken. they would detract from any deal we invlived ourselves in and we were chasing quality. i couldnt see a club taking any of them even if we delisted them with the exception of perhaps graham as we know ruckmen no matter how poor always seem to be worth something to someone.

lets say we finish 1oth thats pick 9 that wont be enough to get dangerfield.they wont accept any of our duds thats for sure so pick 9 and a decent player or pick 9 and our second rounder which will be somewhere around pick 30.
what do we offer up to get caddy hes a #7 pick in a decent draft hes starting to show why he went so early and we wont be the only club chasing him. what do we offer we dont have a top 10 pick and that would be the minimum they would want.
a real good player and a decent pick like the pp may do it. so how does this help us build depth it doesnt we rob peter to pay paul. we arent in a situation to trade for these types unless they are cheap. you know i know everyone knows they wont be cheap .

pick 9 could well be a josh caddy pick 30 could be a parker 30 pick 31 could be a batchelor or lycett or horlin-smith.

simply put both dangerfield and caddy is highly unrealistic and the cost could do more harm to our depth than add to it.

on the second comment i have never said we lack for sml med defenders our options are limitless almost.dea deledio batchelor houli morris newman ellis conca webberley rookies darrou and verrier could even throw moore in there though most regard him a tall.
nope i do argue about our tall defensive stocks though and insist we need a big strong fb.
unlike you i dont see astbury or griffiths as defenders and post is likely already gone imo.
yep rance and grimes have battled on manfully but just those two are not the answer.

for example just look at collingwood, sheesh when all of their tall backs are fit they struggle to fit everyone in. at richmond atm we dont have the ability to field a fully structured defense imo.
sheesh at collingwood they have brown, tarrant, keefe, reid. all kpds and all performing to a pretty high standard.plus 193cm thirds in maxwell and goldsack. throw in running types pbrien 188cm or toovey 190cm their ability to improvise and cover for injuries is immense.so far this yr they have missd all of browne reid tarrant and maxwell at various times and have not lost their structure or ability to defend in the back half.
blokes like tarrant reid and keefe give them marvelous flexability as they can go forward as well or in keefes case go into the ruck as well.

what do we do if both rance and grimes do a knee who steps up and performs close to the level needed there is no one up to the standard.
one only has to look at the list and place all players into their proper age height size and position brackets to see our list is screaming out for an imposing 195cm 95 - 100 kg key defender. better to have one than none at all imo.

Probably not too many of u Victorians saw his game tonight. Sensational. If he chose the Tigers I wouldnt be against us pouncing but reckon he will stay at the crows.

Was just coming here to say similar. Definitely warming to the idea of him in yellow & black. C'mon Tiges, go for the gold! :thumbsu:

so what do you think is a fair price to pay for him. i saw him tonight as well in fact have always liked him as a player we wont get him for just our first rnd pick.

this draft is very good for mids we could well be giving away the chance to get a player just as good and a player in the luke parker mould.

would you still want him if we have to give up our first rounder and say a player like vickery.
or perhaps our first rounder and second rounder forgoing the chance to build some real depth thru the nd.
while it would be great to get a player like him for where the list is at we are in no position to chase him. we dont need just one mid we need about 5.

The thing is claw, If Dangerfield is leaving & says i want to go to Richmond. Pick 9+Edwards or Graham or Connors just might get it over the line.

He is not Chris Judd & wont need 2 1st round picks and a player wanting to come home is always cheaper - you know that as well as anybody

Raines,Tambling,Shultz were always seen by the richmond supporters to not have much currency but as proven in the past , some actually do !

Its all a matter of the player wanting to come to our club i believe, as For Caddy he has made his intentions clear & GC will not be getting a 1st round pick for him unless its 15+

My offer would be 2nd round pick + Jackson,Connors,McGuane,Graham,white

If its knocked back so be it !

In regards to the depth of this years draft, I would be Extatic if we could end up with 2 players from our first 4 picks that were as good as these 2 guys.

The thing is claw, If Dangerfield is leaving & says i want to go to Richmond. Pick 9+Edwards or Graham or Connors just might get it over the line.

He is not Chris Judd & wont need 2 1st round picks and a player wanting to come home is always cheaper - you know that as well as anybody

Raines,Tambling,Shultz were always seen by the richmond supporters to not have much currency but as proven in the past , some actually do !

Its all a matter of the player wanting to come to our club i believe, as For Caddy he has made his intentions clear & GC will not be getting a 1st round pick for him unless its 15+

In regards to the depth of this years draft, I would be Extatic if we could end up with 2 players from our first 4 picks that were as good as these 2 guys.

Why would Adelaide want 6players for one player? What are they going to do with their drafting strategy and list management strategy for the future if they take all those players.

Only Danny Frawely would accept a deal like that.

I can't see anyone I'm that trade other than Graham that the crows would even half think about and we'll be very keen to keep him ourselves. What happens when Ivan rolls his ankle or gets suspended in the future.

Gus is an important part of our set up going forward the this year and next . Could be a late inclusion today.

Raines and Schulz got us, from memory, picks in the 50's and Mitch Farmer, Tambling got us a second round pick and another late pick. Hardly the quality of Dangerfield and Caddy.

agian im not against getting him imo he ticks all boxes but i dont want him at any or an exorbitant cost. a cost that prevents us building some real depth.
forget about mentioning spuds in any sort of trade ask yourself would you take any of connors edwards jackson mcguane graham or white as part of a trade for such a good player no way is my answer. look at their list they have multiple better types than those hacks they may lack a bit of ruck depth if injury hits but graham is one of the last ruckmen id touch and would rather take my chances elsewhere.

mate dangerfield has it all he just hasnt had an engine to play long enough in the midfield. its taken 3 or 4 preseasons but that motor is now there and it is showing.
i think dangerfield i think ablett in a lot of ways. imo they could REALISTICALLY ask for two first rounders. what would you take for say dustin martin.
caddy as i said is a # 7 pick and is certainly starting to show why he went at 7 lets say conca wanted to go home what would you want for him.

we currently have 3 very good picks if we could trade into just one pick in the early 20s we could set the club up for yrs to come.

the realistic approach is we will have to trade out of say picks 8 30 31 and a decent player to get those players and even that may not be enough.
cmon bud we have to learn at this club our early picks are where we get our own quality.
if this draft is as good as people say i think we could do a geelong of 1999 or 2001 if we are smart.
in 99 they took corey at 8, chapman 31, ling 38, enright 47, and traded for mooney.

2001 they took bartel 8 kelly 17, johnson 24, ablett 40f/s
we need to build a lot of depth in a lot of areas before we start going for the cream on the top at huge expense thats just my opinion.

we will have very similar picks the goal should be to trade into a low 20s pick
8 21 31 32 and 50 would be a fabulous result a mature psd pick a couple of stateleaguers late nd, rookie some talls get a scenario like this right and we are well on the way to solving depth issues.

while nice to get our hands on every quality player we can we cant go and get them at any cost we desperately need to build depth in most areas.
we are in no position atm to trade away good players that would defeat the purpose and ignore our greatest need atm.

if someone could come up with a way to get dangerfield with just a first rounder id be up for it and all over it. dangerfield 21 30 31 and 50 would be sensational. even then theres no guarantee he would be better than the first rounder long term. the guarantee is you have a proven ready to go player who is an a grader or soon will be.

As claws said he would cost too much.....

The next 2 drafts are the key to us winning a flag. ...... There is no point dipping into our picks.

Dangerfield's still young enough to be a long-term investment and we already know what he's capable of at the highest level against quality opposition and in pressure situations.

So yeah, I would give serious consideration to giving up an unproven kid or perhaps even two unproven kids to get him. Recruiters & football department would no doubt have their work cut out for them but that's what we pay them for.

Proven guns > unproven kids > proven hacks.