Player Watch Patrick Lipinski

Not too sure why posters are calling for Noble to replace Lipinski. I can see the logic in Adams. Forward/mid for a forward/mid. I appreciate Noble played as a forward before we drafted him but has he ever played forward since he’s been with us?

The insinuation is we have other cattle being deployed in the backline that can play forward/mid - WHE in both positions and Howe as a legitimate forward. I’m inclined to agree with them, although my preferred solution would be drop Lipinski, play Ginnivan the whole game and make Noble the sub.

Adams for McStay, and if Adams doesn’t come up THEN I think Lipinski is probably the best in line to be selected, even if I probably prefer Frampton for flexibility.

The issue with Lipinski for me is that he is 23rd picked on exposed form but would also make a terrible sub choice tactically.

The insinuation is we have other cattle being deployed in the backline that can play forward/mid - WHE in both positions and Howe as a legitimate forward. I’m inclined to agree with them, although my preferred solution would be drop Lipinski, play Ginnivan the whole game and make Noble the sub.

Adams for McStay, and if Adams doesn’t come up THEN I think Lipinski is probably the best in line to be selected, even if I probably prefer Frampton for flexibility.

The issue with Lipinski for me is that he is 23rd picked on exposed form but would also make a terrible sub choice tactically.

I realize what they’re implying but I just can’t see the justification to unsettle a defence that’s been our mainstay to include a player who’s form wasn’t good enough to retain his spot, and there’s little exposed evidence he’s turned that around.

Hard for there to be an exposure to evidence when there’s no opportunity to play. That said, Jen was reporting that Noble was probably the most impressive player out there in the last match sim performed.

Edit to add: I do actually strongly agree with what you’re saying too; the defence is purring at the moment. Noble has the capability to play wing and has played the position in patches, though that is probably a ballsy move to pull out for a Grand Final.

My inclination with Noble is that he isn’t a bad sub choice.

Hard for there to be an exposure to evidence when there’s no opportunity to play. That said, Jen was reporting that Noble was probably the most impressive player out there in the last match sim performed.

And there in lies the quandary.

1. Does training form translate to match form?
2. Is his training form sufficient to justify unsettling our most dependable line?

My preference is we leave our defence alone. If it was a more like-4-like swap then I’d welcome his pace over Lipinski, but I think Adams (if he gets through his fitness tests) is a better fit for that as he also offers midfield rotations which you lose on a Lipinski-Noble swap. Even McInnes is a better fit for that matter.

And there in lies the quandary.

1. Does training form translate to match form?
2. Is his training form sufficient to justify unsettling our most dependable line?
If Noble comes in, it'd be most likely due to the backline having been "unsettled" due to someone coming out of it to address the forward question posed by the injury to McStay.

WHE and Markov combined for 20 possessions against GWS meanwhile Noble averages 20 himself. If we want to move the ball better that’s an area to look at.

fly mentioned we were lacking half back run ...I think Johnny noble should be a big chance this week...dont think Oleg will get dropped ...lipinski should go but not sure he will either

We didn't seem to have the same drive from half-back than we have previsouly shown. I believe that Johnny Noble's ommision contributes to this. I wouldn't be disappointed to see Johnny in and Lippa out. As much as I respect Lippa, his form this year has been below expectations and despite his huge tank, that doesn't count for much if he dosen't get the ball and/or don't dispose of it effectively. I'll take Johnny Noble in our run-on 22 any day.
Having said that, I can't see Lippa getting dropped anytome soon.

We didn't seem to have the same drive from half-back than we have previsouly shown. I believe that Johnny Noble's ommision contributes to this. I wouldn't be disappointed to see Johnny in and Lippa out. As much as I respect Lippa, his form this year has been below expectations and despite his huge tank, that doesn't count for much if he dosen't get the ball and/or don't dispose of it effectively. I'll take Johnny Noble in our run-on 22 any day.
I think perhaps the reason we haven't being as much drive from half back is that in the finals we have slightly adjusted our defensive orientation, becoming a little more defensive (man on man) rather than aggressive rebound. Therefore, Noble lost his spot against Melbourne, as he gets most of his possessions by being delivered the ball from someone else, and doesn't have the same contested capacity as Markov. We adopted the same orientation against GWS. Brisbane's forward structure, it seems to me, bears some resemblance to GWS, with two talls and a preponderance of dangerous, very fast small forwards - only Brisbane's are even more numerous and even more dangerous. Maybe then Noble's speed tilts the balance in his favour.
I can't see a direct swap of Noble for Lipinski, as one is a midfielder and the other isn't. If Adams plays, then to me Lipinski comes out only then. I would elevate Ginnivan into the 22, and hold over Noble as sub...
The issue with playing Frampton in my mind is that his AFL games this year showed he could really only play in defence or ruck competently. If Frampton plays, it means he will do so in defence, and that will automatically disrupt the incredible defensive unit we have established during this finals series.

I think me eating junk food has nothing to do with how well he played. People stopped hating on WHE because he is playing well. I’m sure the Lipinski hate will stop once he starts playing well again (which has not been the case in the last few games, and there is little to suggest this will change next week - though I hope I’m wrong).

The fact is that during the PF, he looked slow (relative to other players on the ground), disposal was iffy, and lacked cleanness with ball handling to offset his lack of pace.

Will support him for sure if picked for the GF, but we really need him to lift. If we get at the GF exactly what he served up in the PF, then yes, I would prefer a different role player to play.

Take a look at the job that Lippa did on Green and then Whitfield in the 3rd quarter on Friday night - understand that his kicking is off - that could be the result of fatigue. I'd play him on Coleman on Saturday - we'll need all the run we can get if it's going to be 28 degrees on Saturday arvo.

I like Nobes but who do you play him on? I can see him being isolated and he struggles 1:1

I reckon Noble would hold is own against the likes of Ah Chee or Bailey playing across the half back line, possibly even Raynor - although Raynor would be more damaging closer to goal. For certain, Noble would make these guys more accountable in transition and his run and carry on the G would be a real asset.

Ah Chee I agree (will he play?). Bailey is a risk as he is good overhead and a very smart footballer. Nobes v Raynor could be a disaster as he'll be way too good 1:1 and would become a target (although it would be good if he can take away his run at contested marks, he seems to inflict as many corkies as he does take contested marks!).

Take a look at the job that Lippa did on Green and then Whitfield in the 3rd quarter on Friday night - understand that his kicking is off - that could be the result of fatigue. I'd play him on Coleman on Saturday - we'll need all the run we can get if it's going to be 28 degrees on Saturday arvo.

If he plays, Coleman has to be his role.

Those thinking he'll get dropped need to watch that third quarter again. In everything.

WHE and Markov combined for 20 possessions against GWS meanwhile Noble averages 20 himself. If we want to move the ball better that’s an area to look at.

I’d argue we get better ball movement out of either Markov’s or WHE’s 10 possessions than Noble’s 20 based on his form over his last 5-6 games, and they’re both better defensively 1v1. Getting 20 possessions is meaningless if he bombs long to the advantage of intercept defenders. The only thing he brings on recent form is pace but when comparing to Markov or WHE there’s not much in it.

Lippa will play and I think his second half in the Grand Final will be at another level. He will roll the dice and if his shoulder goes in the 3rd or 4th quarter, At least the pies will not be down a rotation on a day where it's predicted to be 27 degrees.
I am more concerned about whether Adams can see out the game with his hamstring strain?

Coleman is their most dynamic and damaging rebounder. Need to quell or pressure his ball movement. I’d be sending McCreery to him.
Yep. Need the closest bloke when he gets it to have serious speed to pressure the kick.

Coleman is their most dynamic and damaging rebounder. Need to quell or pressure his ball movement. I’d be sending McCreery to him.
I've mentioned elsewhere that I prefer the McCreery:McKenna matchup as McCreery's pace and tackling can expose McKenna's weakness disposing of the ball under pressure. McCreery is also more likely to expose McKenna for footy smarts when McCreery has the ball