Patrick Smith - The Australian

too much analysing, not enough sledging.

has anyone actually read those slabs? from either of 'em? (hahaha! - is anyone reading this???)

"Otherwise you just sound like another weak whining little girl. Are you that? (I know I sound really angry and cut up when I say that but seriously this is all too sensitive)

I dont just get on here and bag people like you just did little man. I do it with football commentary...every single time. "

" If you want to make it purely personal go to some chat site where you can pour all your emotions out for people who care about that sh1t."

dunno bout "purely personal" but it kinda sounds emotional. let's ALL go to the dolly forum!

too much analysing, not enough sledging.

has anyone actually read those slabs? from either of 'em? (hahaha! - is anyone reading this???)

"Otherwise you just sound like another weak whining little girl. Are you that? (I know I sound really angry and cut up when I say that but seriously this is all too sensitive)

I dont just get on here and bag people like you just did little man. I do it with football commentary...every single time. "

" If you want to make it purely personal go to some chat site where you can pour all your emotions out for people who care about that sh1t."

dunno bout "purely personal" but it kinda sounds emotional. let's ALL go to the dolly forum!

Thats my whole point dim wit. People get on here..I dont like how you talk...you are condescending...how about nathans hair...how about how spencer walks...how about wanking off..

Anyone want to talk footy? If I dont say everything perfectly I really and truly fully apologise well in advance.

As for you mate..I know you are above all of this...brilliantly witted and exciting to read like an orgasm...but it seems to have flown over you too. Like an orgasm.

What are you going to make a joke about now? Football perhaps?...what really?

hahaha!

the innernerd!

LET'S PLAY!!!

*this aint mills&boon, maybe she's a squirter?

Football...Meat Pies...Kangaroos (we'll beat you to a pulp) and the Time Cometh (sorry holden cars)....great little tune. I can see you humming it on your toilet seat now.

Can everyone see him too? Mills and Boon in one hand...Cometh in the other?

Not a football in sight.

Sorry WAG, I'll try to keep my girly emotions to myself and just watch the real internet warriors talk about football. After all, I've never posted about football on this forum, or even considered it. Such would be against my stated policy of only posting in-depth remarks on forums that reflect my true interests, such as the "LOL-emotions?" chat site and letstalkaboutourfeelings!.com. I won't dare cross you again.

Do whatever you like mate. The point stays the same. Saying you wont "dare cross me again"...sounds to me like you havent learnt anything from this pathetic ordeal.

If you want to chat about footy or have a proper laugh...come chat to me anytime. If you want to make it personal..save it for somebody else.

Why dont you tell me how I should have said it so I can learn the full scope of your lesson? Its ok to say "condescending jerk"...but implying football ignorance on one specific point is a big no no around here. Even though I was quite respectful to G_money otherwise for the other few hundred words I posted. Just that little part really got to you hey?...so sorry.

I would love to learn from you as you seem to be still so emotional about the whole thing...internet warrior? go wank yourself mate...get it off/on your chest. The wanking and the point.

Can say..condescending jerk..cant imply someone made a dumb point...what else?

the tunes in yer head, i can only read the words.

how does the melody go?

It was some old commercial...i heard once...you know 'crack a few tinnies round the fire'...type tune...yobbos in full cry...aussie type anthem. Ask someone of age...say these words..

"football meat pies kangaroos and holden cars"...they will sing it right back at ya..and u will be much the better for it too...;)

Haven't read the article or viewed all the posts on this thread, but just
seeing the name 'Patrick Smith' makes me want to punch the sh*t out of something.

Where is Dylan Howard when you need him:D

It was some old commercial...i heard once...you know 'crack a few tinnies round the fire'...type tune...yobbos in full cry...aussie type anthem. Ask someone of age...say these words..

"football meat pies kangaroos and holden cars"...they will sing it right back at ya..and u will be much the better for it too...;)

so, friends?

* should i take being called a "dim wit" personally? was that a personal attack?

or just stating the obvious?....

Here ya go, Timey.

[youtube]s4Ic3RqPIJo[/youtube]

WAG, that's bloody awful. And substituting in the antiquated elegance of TheTimeCometh does nothing for it. If you're seeking phallic symbolism, maybe Mrs Marsh and her stick of chalk?

so, friends?

* should i take being called a "dim wit" personally? was that a personal attack?

or just stating the obvious?....

Yes it was a statement that reflected the obvious. I was going off the reservation...emotionally speaking...you 'astutely' alerted me to the point I was already trying to make by pointlessly and needlessly going off the reservation. Thanks. I apologise for having fun in my own way on here...I know you dont do that and I respect you for it dearly.

Do you consider yourself to be a dim wit? Do I know you well enough to call you a dim wit?...in real life I mean.

Did you take it personally? Is that my fault?

When you answer those questions...it becomes a mute point really. Thanks for asking anyhow.

...friends for life...not just a summer or a spring...

Here ya go, Timey.

WAG, that's bloody awful. And substituting in the antiquated elegance of TheTimeCometh does nothing for it. If you're seeking phallic symbolism, maybe Mrs Marsh and her stick of chalk?

I wouldnt have knocked her back for a second....and how the hell did you find that add?

I think Mr Cometh is at the wrong 'time' of his usually chipper month. Maybe he's Catholic?

Here ya go, Timey.

God I feel old - is it that long ago????

1) Patrick Smith is a flog, as anyone who listens to his SEN bit knows (I turn the radio off now when he comes on because his patronising "I know best" attitude gets on my nerves)
2) The article is OK but there's nothing all that insightful in it. You might as well say "If you go out and get the ball to your forwards enough to allow them to kick 25 goals and restrict your opposition to 20 you'll win every game." Well duh!

Oddly it's currently being discussed on SEN right this second... For some reason Huddo thinks it actually came from Port. I think anyone who'd watched the Cats half a dozen times this year could have written it. Dermie pointed out that six rules could apply to any club.

Just a heads up to WAG (didn't know where else to post), "WE Are Geelong has chosen not to receive private messages or may not be allowed to receive private messages. Therefore you may not send your message to him/her." But, with regards to yours, I agree wholeheartedly with your sentiments.

I forgot I had sent that to you yesterday, mate. I might be a tad busy to answer private messages in the near future so didnt want to seem rude by not replying to anyone.

Since it was a private message we'll keep it private...but its good to see we agree.

Ling has been very good at choosing when to enter the forward 50 and be that attacking goal kicking option. You cant stop him by running away from the forward 50...This has been Geelong's mantra all year...if we have the ball we are going to attack no matter what. You asked me if I read Smith's article?...the more salient question is...have you been watching the side this year?...(sort of joking).

This was one of the few comments I thought was quite astitue by "the flog". How often have we seen Ling leading up forward against the opponent he was tagging. Guys like Mitchell, Simpson, Bell and Kerr are not suited to defending in this role. We have also seen him roll the dice on his opponent at stoppages inside 50 a kick goals. By not going inside 50 you are either taking one of the more damaging players away from the area or giving him a more suitable opponent will free up one of your key play makers. There are still going to be times when Ling opponent has to follow him forward but first opportunity he can get someone else on Ling and move out of the 50, take it. Ling is forced to make a choice on whether to stay forward or tag. All in all not a bad idea I think.

You unfortunately think the sole reason we played the way we did against Port...was because Port did this...Port did that. Plenty of tactics have worked the first time around with the cats this year. Not many have mattered. Voss said we looked terrible when we played Tempo footy...who looks good when they play Tempo footy? Name one? (Please dont be foolish and name one). We beat the Lions by 7 goals thats point 1 and werent really trying.
Point 2... this is a competitive business AFL footy...you dont look good all the time even when you are winning. Unrealistic commentary from Voss who was biased no doubt and hated his side being toyed with all night. Unrealistic commentary from Smith who lacks feel for the game....unrealistic by you to expect we wont be troubled by the second side on the ladder or any other side along the way.

We were flogged at stoppages which magnified the problems in other areas but we were still struggling to get the drive out of the backline and guys like Scarlett and Milburn were made grossly ineffective in that game. Not all of it can be attributeds to clearances.

Who looks good at Tempo football? Sydney are very good, Hawthorn are quite good. I would say we are possibly one of the worst. What was Ottens thinking kicking 50 meters backwards? Playfair should have bombed it down the line straight away. Why were we unable to make space at all?

The simple answer to alot of this discussion is based on the midfield. Our defenders looked ordinary and 'divided' when the ball is coming down too fast and too often. This is the crux of the discussion right here. Our forwards look 'covered' and more ordinary when the ball isnt coming down quickly enough. Football is still a simple enough game to break it down like this. Stop the ball coming down that way...and Port can lead all the way up the Bourke st Mall...all of them...and see where it gets them. If we move the ball forward quickly enough like we have all year...let them play 3-5 metres ahead of our forwards.

I think he lining up like this was working fairly well from an attacking point of veiw but it was most effective in that it ruined our drive out of the backline, we failed to rebound and spread with the same organisation that we ussually do. That is why Milburn and Scarlett were so crap. There rebound was not there like usual.

If we are better serviced from the stoppages and get first use of the footy we hurt the opposition going the other way and make better opportunities for our own forwards. Setting their ruckmen up, splaying their forward leads, plugging holes in their defence and running off Ling etc etc wont mean as much if simply we get back to the way we know we can impose ourselves on a game this year in the midfield. How we do that?...well for starters we get back the NAB Rising star, a favourite for the brownlow and the best tagger in the league.
No doubt this is true. Win the clearances are you look a million buck, lose them and there are holes everywhere.

What seals Patrich Smith as a flog is saying we have poor defensively midfeilders. We were missing are 4 best defensive midfeilders. Rooke, Ling, Selwood & Bartel come back and we are a completely diffrent outfit. In fact, I would argue that we have the best defensive midfeilders in the league.
----------------------------------

Whilst nobody wants to be seen flogging a dead 'flog' Just some interesting observations today...

*North did try to Hold Joel Corey just as Patrick Smith said and not let him 'fly under the radar' so to speak and found out why Geelong has the best midfield in the league up and running at the moment.

*Cameron Ling didnt kick a goal.

*North often had 3 or more forwards leading at the one time trying to get 'one out' with their geelong defender...yet there werent very many one on ones in the forward 50 and North hardly took a mark in the forward 50...and scored 8.2 for the day.

*North often had their defenders trying to stay 3-5 metres in front of their man...and we scored 23.18

*North did try to find ways to keep Milburn away from the half back line...and Geelong just kept rotating their opponents down back to keep the right structures...

I wont go on. The best way to beat Geelong at the moment is to gain ground on them in the midfield. (goodluck!) Port has the second best midfield with possibly the best ruck division up and running presently and this is why they tested us but we were missing 4 guys (can include Rooke now) from our midfield....but its why Port have the other home final in 2 weeks.

NB DanA...I didnt mean to say no side could play tempo footy well...I just meant nobody looked 'good' playing it. The two sides mentioned...Sydney and the Hawks have both been lambasted in recent times for playing 'ugly' footy...thats all I meant.

Whilst nobody wants to be seen flogging a dead 'flog' Just some interesting observations today...

*North did try to Hold Joel Corey just as Patrick Smith said and not let him 'fly under the radar' so to speak and found out why Geelong has the best midfield in the league up and running at the moment.

*Cameron Ling didnt kick a goal.

*North often had 3 or more forwards leading at the one time trying to get 'one out' with their geelong defender...yet there werent very many one on ones in the forward 50 and North hardly took a mark in the forward 50...and scored 8.2 for the day.

*North often had their defenders trying to stay 3-5 metres in front of their man...and we scored 23.18

*North did try to find ways to keep Milburn away from the half back line...and Geelong just kept rotating their opponents down back to keep the right structures...

I wont go on. The best way to beat Geelong at the moment is to gain ground on them in the midfield. (goodluck!) Port has the second best midfield with possibly the best ruck division up and running presently and this is why they tested us but we were missing 4 guys (can include Rooke now) from our midfield....but its why Port have the other home final in 2 weeks.

NB DanA...I didnt mean to say no side could play tempo footy well...I just meant nobody looked 'good' playing it. The two sides mentioned...Sydney and the Hawks have both been lambasted in recent times for playing 'ugly' footy...thats all I meant.

Here here WEG!! Geelong were absolutely smash-tastic today, it's a real confidence booster.