Patrick Smith

51YYXFWZRHL.jpg

Richmond board seem happy with this, how long until after the first article do we give them until they turn?
I don't think any of us are 'happy'. He's been crook for five months and obviously though he should stir things up a bit.
As far as a journo switching teams (which he really wouldn't - I don't believe him), then it's hardly anything to get excited about. We have enough on our plate to give a toss about a journo turncoat.

I don't think any of us are 'happy'. He's been crook for five months and obviously though he should stir things up a bit.
As far as a journo switching teams (which he really wouldn't - I don't believe him), then it's hardly anything to get excited about. We have enough on our plate to give a toss about a journo turncoat.
Yeah fair enough.

I must be one of the few who actually love listening to this guy.
As an old journo myself I love his fear nobody attitude.
Wait, hang on, that sounds pretty happy to me.
You're funny. Transparent, but funny. And always have been (for a good giggle try looking up tugga posts with keyword "houli" immediately before, and immediately after, he came available).
Patently transparent.

He's a contrary, revisionist flog.
Everyone Essendon person in the world is (rightly or wrongly) jumping on - P Smith's "thought" process = "oh no! Essendon are building. Gotta stand out from the crowd here. Gotta be different. Gotta jump off"

Yeah fair enough.

Wait, hang on, that sounds pretty happy to me.
You're funny. Transparent, but funny. And always have been (for a good giggle try looking up tugga posts with keyword "houli" immediately before, and immediately after, he came available).
Patently transparent.

He's a contrary, revisionist flog.
Everyone Essendon person in the world is (rightly or wrongly) jumping on - P Smith's "thought" process = "oh no! Essendon are building. Gotta stand out from the crowd here. Gotta be different. Gotta jump off"
Oh dear Slats, you really have outdone yourself with this one.
I never said I was happy. I respect him as a journo. That's all I said.
An opinion-piece writer's job is to get people reading their column and then get people talking about it so other people can read it. There are two threads going on about it on BigFooty, the most widely read footy internet site around. I guess he has done his job.
I highly doubt he now barracks for Richmond and if he does, he was not really an Essendon supporter in the first place and therefore won't be much of a Richmond supporter either.
As far as Bachar goes, then I never thought much of him at Essendon, mainly because he was mismanaged. But we got him free so I am prepared to try and find the upside. Contradictary? Yes, probably.
No more from me on this. This is your board and I know the rules.

I don't get the appeal. Smith's a "look-at-me" douche in an unread sports section. Utterly predictable.

There's a perception that he thinks differently - I don't think that's the case.

Thoughtlessly jumping to the contrary side of any popular position isn't any better a way of thinking than thoughtlessly going with it.

As far as I can see he lives in an ivory tower far, far removed from the modern AFL.

Pretty funny really, a supporter dumping the club because the board has done the best it possibly could to bring us the coaching staff we need to go forward.

Funny about the lies, i do believe that at no time the club said no we do not want Hird and Thompson. They just made no comment on it.

I like how he "backed" his belief that Sheedy should be sacked.
By immediately flipping his views 180° on the day he was sacked.

FLOG.

Yep he was crapping on for 3 seasons about Sheedy and the fact his record should not have got him his last contract and as soon as he was sacked he aligned himself with the save Essendon group who funnily enough wanted Hird as coach.
Now we have Hird and he has jumped off. He has more back flips than Jooolia and Abbot combined :rolleyes:

Pretty funny really, a supporter dumping the club because the board has done the best it possibly could to bring us the coaching staff we need to go forward.

Funny about the lies, i do believe that at no time the club said no we do not want Hird and Thompson. They just made no comment on it.
They were very, very careful about what they didn't say (on the record, anyway)

Nor did Hird specifically say he wouldn't be coaching - he said he wouldn't unless there was drastic changes.

I would think losing 9 of the last 11 and sacking the entire coaching staff would qualify as fairly drastic. But that's just me.

my issue is this: who the **** are these moralistic journo's to think that the club owes them "The Truth"?

I mean, seriously?

Like in any business scenario, the events that played out last year were highly sensitive, and were not appropriate to be publicly known. When does telling the "truth" to nosy journalists become more important than conducting your affairs in the discrete manner that is required?

Do they complain that businesses don't tell them everything about their boardroom discussions?

I say: **** 'em. Let them sook. They are pissants, and are completely irrelevant, and that's what upsets them so much

who cares? once a troll always a troll. At least i can drink my beer without fear of it going off as this Muppet consumes the air we breathe at essendon games.

Him and caro can enjoy richmond success together.

Pi** off traitor. I don't give a s** how our administration got the best coaching panel in the comp, as long as it's best for the club. It's a business ffs.

my issue is this: who the **** are these moralistic journo's to think that the club owes them "The Truth"?

I mean, seriously?

Like in any business scenario, the events that played out last year were highly sensitive, and were not appropriate to be publicly known. When does telling the "truth" to nosy journalists become more important than conducting your affairs in the discrete manner that is required?

Do they complain that businesses don't tell them everything about their boardroom discussions?

I say: **** 'em. Let them sook. They are pissants, and are completely irrelevant, and that's what upsets them so much
couldn't have said it better myself :thumbsu:

It's funny that he takes such issue with the sacking of a coach and the way it was done yet jumps on baord a club with one of the worst records when it comes to knifing coaches.

Bye Bye Pat, you wont be missed.

There are more pressing issues.

Why on earth would you choose Richmond when you could pick from any of the other 16 clubs?!?!?

I don't get the appeal. Smith's a "look-at-me" douche in an unread sports section. Utterly predictable.

There's a perception that he thinks differently - I don't think that's the case.

Thoughtlessly jumping to the contrary side of any popular position isn't any better a way of thinking than thoughtlessly going with it.

As far as I can see he lives in an ivory tower far, far removed from the modern AFL.

The guy has a very high opinion of hiself and as a result, feels justified in writing all sorts of rubbish, expecting that readers will think he is intelligently cute. I find him nauseatingly tedious.

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/new...mised-in-afl-nrl/story-e6frg7t6-1226017305814

No longer our problem.
Following the beacon of excellence that is Richmond FC.

Thank ****, personally.

Just remember kids: Brad Miller, Bachar, Tom Hislop, etc aren't shabby, borderline journeymen who wouldn't get a look-in at a top 8 club.
They are EXCELLENCE.
Just remember, 5-17 record isn't the same old shit.
That is EXCELLENCE.
Just remember, keeping Cus and Simmonds on into their 30s wasn't trying to cushion the blow.
That was (ruthless) EXCELLENCE.

He's always been a whinger, now he's where he belongs.

Geez henry .. whats up your nose ?

Richmond or Patrick :p

love and hate are so close :p

I mean, seriously?

Early nomination for post of the year

How's his reasoning:

link
Essendon will not be punished by members or fans. In fact, the membership is already growing. That's because the majority of supporters will tolerate any sort of behaviour from officials and players alike if the end result enhances the club's chances of progressing up the ladder.
link

What a disgraceful world we live in :rolleyes:. It has to be one of the silliest things i have ever read.

And the only lies to be told during the Bomber Thompson will he wont he affair came from Brian Cook.