Patrick Star.

• Thread starter Thread starter ssfc0203

He was clutching his head when he came off, but if you saw his right knee, there seemed to be some damage to it of some sort :confused:.

I think he might have just been concerned with not further injuring himself in the last.

You guys are referring to a different incident I think. The one I'm referring to happened in our forward line. The ball was there to be won, Lake went hard at it and Veszpremi pulled out of the contest to avoid contact.

Maybe his groin was flaring up
def not Vesz best game
but on cut the kid some slack

2nd final against a very good team at the MCG in front of a huge crowed trying to figure out his role and how to play it well would freak the crap out of anyone and later on that knock to the head/hurt knee would be enough to make me feel sick. He knows he isnt great and we cant all think he is going 2 be a super star in his 1st 5 games hes showed he has got what it takes and thats all that matters atm!

Now if this was 12 or 15 games later it would be a different story
but Pat is still very new to the game! Give the kid a break!

You guys are referring to a different incident I think. The one I'm referring to happened in our forward line. The ball was there to be won, Lake went hard at it and Veszpremi pulled out of the contest to avoid contact.

But I'm saying that his reaction in that incident would have been affected by the injury he had already sustained, and didn't want to aggravate.

I saw the incident too, and it was slightly disappointing. I don't think he was covering for injury as such. Got a heavy hit earlier in the game, and was probably a bit tentative after that.

He will improve.

I saw the incident too, and it was slightly disappointing. I don't think he was covering for injury as such. Got a heavy hit earlier in the game, and was probably a bit tentative after that.

He will improve.

I noticed the incident and the effort was weak.

The earlier knock was also weak as he was beaten by Tiller and just went to ground and stayed down.
Did a little stumble as he was assisted from the ground as if he needed sympathy from his mummy.

That he came back on so quickly just proved how weak he was.

New Definition of soft. Patrick Margarine SoftPremi - not hard enough for butter.

Uhh. That was his sixth game at AFL level, in a final. The hits are harder, the contests are gruelling and the pace is faster. He hit his head on Tiller's back I think, so it was understandeable of him to be unco and weak when you think about his fitness being unsatifactory just a month and a half ago. He's come in leaps and bounds and has been a shining light for us.

He shirked one contest, he's a first year player, the coaches would address it and he knows what he's done. Time to build a bridge.

Uhh. That was his sixth game at AFL level, in a final. The hits are harder, the contests are gruelling and the pace is faster. He hit his head on Tiller's back I think, so it was understandeable of him to be unco and weak when you think about his fitness being unsatifactory just a month and a half ago. He's come in leaps and bounds and has been a shining light for us.

He shirked one contest, he's a first year player, the coaches would address it and he knows what he's done. Time to build a bridge.

Yeah, I have to agree here. Who knows what was going through the kid's mind as it happened. He'd copped a few knocks during the game, we've all acknowledged his general stamina needs improving ... I know, at my advanced age and declining state of health, when I'm having a kick with mates or a game of park soccer, my body AND mind start to tire fairly quickly and I KNOW my mind doesn't always make my body do what it should be doing ... does that make sense?

Give Vez a break.

We'd spent the best part of three years watching J McVeigh show frequent signs of a squib mentality, but he came good this season and proved his hardness and mettle, and now we all love him.
Vez has more natural talent in his sock drawer than McVeigh has, so let's give him a chance or two to show that what happened the other night was an anomaly.

I noticed the incident and the effort was weak.

The earlier knock was also weak as he was beaten by Tiller and just went to ground and stayed down.
Did a little stumble as he was assisted from the ground as if he needed sympathy from his mummy.

That he came back on so quickly just proved how weak he was.

New Definition of soft. Patrick Margarine SoftPremi - not hard enough for butter.

Will Cooney be playing this weekend Joe? I didn't see him on friday night.:o

Good midfielders don't go missing in finals. Let's hope there's time for a spine transplant before the big game.

Will Cooney be playing this weekend Joe? I didn't see him on friday night.:o

Good midfielders don't go missing in finals. Let's hope there's time for a spine transplant before the big game.

Cooney did not have a great game, but he did not shirk the issue. He also had more positive influence than quite a few Sydney players.

Cooney's also played 110+ games of AFL footy, if he was shirking the issue, it'd be a big concern. Compare that to Pat's 6 games..

Uhm, you just said "Cooney wouldn't shirk the issue" what other shirking are we talking about ..?

Cooney did not have a great game, but he did not shirk the issue. He also had more positive influence than quite a few Sydney players.

Well duhhh! The Bulldogs won, it sorta goes without really saying that more Bulldogs had a bigger influence on the game than many Sydney players.

All that win did was get you another week, mate. If you go on and win the flag, you can come back here and talk up your players, maybe dish a bit more of it on to ours, but until then, piss off and grow up.

We'd spent the best part of three years watching J McVeigh show frequent signs of a squib mentality, but he came good this season and proved his hardness and mettle, and now we all love him.

Nonesense, i challenge you to name the incident where Mcveigh moved of the line of the ball and turned his body to avoid contact ala Vesz on Friday night.

That is bagging a bloke for poor form, he has never shown any signs of being soft or a 'squib' mentality.

What Vesz did was unacceptable, hopefuly he will learn from it and not do it again.

Nonesense, i challenge you to name the incident where Mcveigh moved of the line of the ball and turned his body to avoid contact ala Vesz on Friday night.

That is bagging a bloke for poor form, he has never shown any signs of being soft or a 'squib' mentality.

What Vesz did was unacceptable, hopefuly he will learn from it and not do it again.

What are you talking about?

I was referring to the subject of McVeigh because the biggest query so many posters had on him was his lack of hardness at the ball. That is something he only recently seems to have changed.
There was no incident on Friday night with McVeigh.
He was seen as soft. Ask Mr Bedford.
THAT is the comparison I was making, Mr Dudley.
You should smarten up.

What are you talking about?

I was referring to the subject of McVeigh because the biggest query so many posters had on him was his lack of hardness at the ball. That is something he only recently seems to have changed.
There was no incident on Friday night with McVeigh.
He was seen as soft. Ask Mr Bedford.
THAT is the comparison I was making, Mr Dudley.
You should smarten up.

You compared Mcveigh 'squib' mentality to the Vesz incident. i challenged you to name an incident wher Mcveigh was soft, you have chosen to try and talk your way out of it.

I challenge you again to name an incident where Mcveigh moved off the line to avoid contact like Vesz did ? On any occassion, not on Friday night.

Just because you or other posters 'think' he is soft is not proof. Name the incidents you are referring to ?

You compared Mcveigh 'squib' mentality to the Vesz incident. i challenged you to name an incident wher Mcveigh was soft, you have chosen to try and talk your way out of it.

I challenge you again to name an incident where Mcveigh moved off the line to avoid contact like Vesz did ? On any occassion, not on Friday night.

Just because you or other posters 'think' he is soft is not proof. Name the incidents you are referring to ?

You're right, I can't think of one specific incident. It's difficult, when there are three seasons worth of avoiding the hard contests and building a reputation as an unreliable outside runner that McVeigh is still living down.
I'm sorry, I can't quite see why this is such a big deal for you, Mr Dudley.

Fck me, McVeigh himself has admitted that until this year he was probably not as hard at it as he should have been.

I don't have to talk my way out of it. Stop being a little pest, Mr Dudley.

I suppose I have to accept that if this Swans board is an oyster that produces many pearls, you, Mr Dudley, are the little bit of grit that triggers the remarkable natural process that produces those pearls.

Uhm, you just said "Cooney wouldn't shirk the issue" what other shirking are we talking about ..?

Cooney was introduced into this thread by MalceskiFan.

I simply responded to his post and have not been talking up any Bulldogs here.

The fact is that Patrick "Margarine" Veszpremi committed 2 very weak acts in the game. I am sure that the hierarchy in Sydney are very disappointed and if he watches a reply he will be embarrassed.

With the hard at work ethic that has epitomised Sydney Veszpremi will not fit in unless he has a significant change in his attack on the ball.

He has time to redeem himself and I hope he does, but he can be certain that his opponents will be telling him how soft he is for a considerable time.

If he squibs again next year his career at Sydney is likely to be over. No amount of talent will compensate for a lack of heart.

You're right, I can't think of one specific incident. It's difficult, when there are three seasons worth of avoiding the hard contests and building a reputation as an unreliable outside runner that McVeigh is still living down.
I'm sorry, I can't quite see why this is such a big deal for you, Mr Dudley.

Fck me, McVeigh himself has admitted that until this year he was probably not as hard at it as he should have been.

I don't have to talk my way out of it. Stop being a little pest, Mr Dudley.

I suppose I have to accept that if this Swans board is an oyster that produces many pearls, you, Mr Dudley, are the little bit of grit that triggers the remarkable natural process that produces those pearls.

Pathetic, no substance just personal insults.

Is that the best you can do ?

You have been caught out, just accept it and move on, trying to insult the poster who notes you are talking nonsense, does not make you any less wrong.

Sorry about that.

The fact is that Patrick "Margarine" Veszpremi committed 2 very weak acts in the game. I am sure that the hierarchy in Sydney are very disappointed and if he watches a reply he will be embarrassed.

With the hard at work ethic that has epitomised Sydney Veszpremi will not fit in unless he has a significant change in his attack on the ball.

He has time to redeem himself and I hope he does, but he can be certain that his opponents will be telling him how soft he is for a considerable time.

If he squibs again next year his career at Sydney is likely to be over. No amount of talent will compensate for a lack of heart.

Agreed

Pathetic, no substance just personal insults.

Is that the best you can do ?

You have been caught out, just accept it and move on, trying to insult the poster who notes you are talking nonsense, does not make you any less wrong.

Sorry about that.

No substance? I point out the player we're discussing, McVeigh, has personally acknowledged he wasn't hard/tough enough in previous seasons, but that's "no substance"?
Okay, I'll go with you and Bulldog Joe. McVeigh got three season and has started to come good in his fourth; Veszpremi gets six games, the sixth a sudden-death final, but now has to prove his mettle NEXT WEEK or he's out of the club.

You're obviously the measuring stick, Mr Dudley. You're as hard as nails.

That goes without saying, but as I've said again and again, it is his 6th game in his first year. He still has a lot to learn, and hopefully this is one of the things he will. Until then, he does not warrant the name 'Softpremi' (as lolsome as it is) because he's just looking after his body that's been injured time and time again and could not keep up with what he wanted to do.

No substance? I point out the player we're discussing, McVeigh, has personally acknowledged he wasn't hard/tough enough in previous seasons, but that's "no substance"?
Okay, I'll go with you and Bulldog Joe. McVeigh got three season and has started to come good in his fourth; Veszpremi gets six games, the sixth a sudden-death final, but now has to prove his mettle NEXT WEEK or he's out of the club.

You're obviously the measuring stick, Mr Dudley. You're as hard as nails.

LOL, you just cant help yourself, can you.

First up, I honestly dont care what you think of me, so we can get that out of the way. Save yourself the effort, i am not going to bite.

Still no actual evidence that Mcveigh has ever shirked a contest like Vesz did on Friday, using your version of a 'supposed' quote, is no evidence champ.

Show me where i posted Vesz should 'prove his mettle NEXT WEEK or hes out of the club' ? I reckon you may struggle with that in the same way you are struglling to find the incident where Mcveigh took his body out of line to avoid a contest. Vesz was wrong, i said in my original post, i hope it was a one off, simple as that.

You are just making up even more nonsense now, give it up, you were wrong, move on.

LOL, you just cant help yourself, can you.

First up, I honestly dont care what you think of me, so we can get that out of the way. Save yourself the effort, i am not going to bite.

Still no actual evidence that Mcveigh has ever shirked a contest like Vesz did on Friday, using your version of a 'supposed' quote, is no evidence champ.

Show me where i posted Vesz should 'prove his mettle NEXT WEEK or hes out of the club' ? I reckon you may struggle with that in the same way you are struglling to find the incident where Mcveigh took his body out of line to avoid a contest. Vesz was wrong, i said in my original post, i hope it was a one off, simple as that.

You are just making up even more nonsense now, give it up, you were wrong, move on.

You're right, Mr Dudley, I'll move on and let time settle this.
And I know you won't bite, you're more of a sucker.