332docker

Western Force
He is great when they kick it into space and he beats his opponents most times to it - but never gets it when his opponent is on is back - he always looks to just throw up his hands and looks like he is just hoping to get in the back or chop of the arm - i reckon if he started watching the ball harder and tried to mark it he'd get back to being an elite forward. At the moment he is a average forward and his goal count of 6.6 at ave of 1.2/game is just not good enough

I like that bit the best :D

I don't think Pav's marking is the problem.

The problem is the kicks going to him seem to always be behind him forcing him to stop and create a contest. Instead of kicking it in front of him.

Hill is about the only one who consistantly kicks it in front of Pav.

Happened heaps last night where they would kick to him but he'd have to stop and create a contest because the ball would go over his head.

pav hasnt been a good contested mark for awhile

why would pav be a good contested mark. hes not particularly tall.. 192 isnt that big for a kpf anymore and he doesnt have the bulk anymore and cant jump. Yesterday henderson played on pav and looked considerably bigger than him.. pavwas only ever gonna beat him on the lead.

Anyone notice that ppl been playing andrew mackie type players on pav recently aswell? Says abit about what coaches think about pavs ability to take a contested grab.

hes no nick riewoldt or jonathon brown.

The old one trick pony, just kick it to Pav.When there is two guys on him, guess what happens?
If there are two guys on him, someone should be free, midfielders need to start using their eyes, brains.
If we kick it to Pav, need someone there to crumb, help contest the ball.
Also delivery is always a kick it long in hope, Pav is a leading forward, and is not the best when the ball hits the ground, age has this effect on everyone.
His best position is a leading full forward, taking two with him, releasing another team mate to be free.
Neale in just his first game highlighted his kicking ability to stab kick in hitting a target, or letting players run onto the ball for the mark.

This is why I don't bother coming on here anymore after a loss! (also didn't help that I haven't watched the last two games and probably won't catch the GC game either)

Too many shit whinge threads about anything and everything.

I always thought pav was at his best taking marks out on the lead 50-60 out and wheeling around slotting goals or finding a teammate

pav wouldnt be in the top 50 in contested marking in the league anymore.. doesnt mean hes not a great player still..

Get the feeling ross is trying to play pav like riewoldt. Absorb pressure and kick it to roo and he'll take a big grab and attack from there. Aint gonna work...

Pav I believe is struggling to take contested marks because he not able to break free from his match ups. Seems to have taller and faster defenders playing on him .
He's Is often double teamed when we kick it to him in the forward line.This has been happening for years when the opposition realised we relied on him too much.
Don't want to see him leading past the half back line to mark the ball.This is the only place he seems to get them easily at the moment. Want to see him getting marks in the center and forward more.

I always thought pav was at his best taking marks out on the lead 50-60 out and wheeling around slotting goals or finding a teammate

I agree with this

He's the best footballer in your side and arguably the best contested mark who regularly has to put up with shit delivery from team mates who have shit disposal skills which has been a trait with Freo sides since their inception.

nat fyfe and aaron sandilands would both be better contested marks... adn thats without thinking about it.... also our skills are not too bad, they were rubbish on the weekend, but that is not our biggest weakness by any stretch of the imagination.... you want to see bad skills, look at your boom recruit rhys palmer

The delivery to any of our forwards on the lead has been poor every season of our existence.

JA was effective at the Pies because he would receive lace out bullets in front to mark on the lead and then slot the goal. The dockers deliver flour bags kicked on top of you.

Any time the ball is kicked in front of Pav, he marks it or gets a free kick for infringement.

Some have criticised the Op. I actually agree and came to this conclusion during last night's game.

He's struggled with contested marking on the premo KPP defenders for a while now. Notice how none of the opposition teams feel the need to double or triple team him anymore? Like someone else said, 192cms is a relatively short KPP forward these days and as fate would have it, he's now more of a perfect midfielders build.

He needs to remove from his head this fixation of being a full forward and stretching his career out another few years. With Ross Lyon here, our premiership window is nmow iopen and Pav needs to play where he plays best and go with everything he's got. In the midfield.

The answer, Kepler in for Anthony. Pav into the main midfield rotation.

Some have criticised the Op. I actually agree and came to this conclusion during last night's game.

He's struggled with contested marking on the premo KPP defenders for a while now. Notice how none of the opposition teams feel the need to double or triple team him anymore? Like someone else said, 192cms is a relatively short KPP forward these days and as fate would have it, he's now more of a perfect midfielders build.

He needs to remove from his head this fixation of being a full forward and stretching his career out another few years. With Ross Lyon here, our premiership window is nmow iopen and Pav needs to play where he plays best and go with everything he's got. In the midfield.

Sorry, but Pav in the midfield = liability.

Not a chance, Pav is far too slow and defensively weak for the midfield.

Sorry, but Pav in the midfield = liability.

Did you two both happen to forget to add a sarcastic smiley face to the ends of your posts, because you have got to be joking right? Defensively weak? You try get around a big body like that. I'm interested to know why you think this?

Hahahahahahaha. Best. guy.

He took at least 3 contested marks last night, close this thread ffs.

Watch the game again - i saw it live and just re-watched it all plus the last quarter twice

His contested marks came down field (long way from goals) when he was in the forward 50 he only marked uncontested on a lead - never when he was one on one with his defender (Henderson i think - Patful towled him up in the Brisbane game) in the scoring zone - Best defender will always spoil the Pav he needs the ball kicked into space to give him any chance.

We need someone who can take that contested grab in the scoring zones!!

Pav needs a credible foil in the forward line.. Pav and Tarrant actually looked decent before tarrant lost form.. other than that he hasnt had a decent KPF to play with him ever.

llyod had lucas
brown had lynch

tho not in the same category
cloke has dawes
buddy had roughie when both played predominatly forward.