News Pav to Sydney as CEO

• Thread starter Thread starter FD2646

N5StRLy.png
Bill Murray Applause GIF by MOODMAN

I am intrigued ... born and raised in Sydney (how did you become an AFL fan) and supporting Fremantle ... you are the perfect example of outlier :)
Well I am just a sport fan grew up in a League family that loved sport cricket, soccer & didnt mind Aussie Rules.

I was born in 1994 so basically the same age as the Dockers.

I played Aussie rules in 2005 for a year ironically it was the year the Swans won the comp.

I did cheer for the Swans very early on but they never captured my full attention.

I don't mind them and prefer them over GWS here in Sydney.

But i just liked Freo's jumper at the time watching them it was exotic the purple, red & green and the name Fremantle seemed cool. Probably around 2006/2007 was when i started to follow Fremantle more closely and jump on which was 12 or 13 years old.

Funnily enough my team in the NRL is Parramatta which is where my heart is through family roots so naturally you would think i be a WC fan from that if i basing it on colours.

Just like the name Fulham in the EPL seemed cool i didn't realise or research they were rubbish or average like Fremantle just attached to them.

Outside of NRL where i didn't have a choice i didn't choose other sporting teams growing up that were automatically successful.

My 4 sporting teams i support the most (Parramatta, Fremantle, Fulham, Miami Dolphins)

A nice blend of mediocrity, rubbish, underdog, frustration & rare joy.

Fremantle look the closest atm to finally winning something. And i have been cheering them long enough now to feel the same satisfaction as i would once Parramatta break there drought as well.

Mate, this hysteria about Pav’s kids, they may not even be any good, or not into playing football at all.
It’s all ****en luck, just like a draft. There are probably just as many f/s failures as successes but I guess people don’t tend to remember those, or quietly ignore them or just not aware. I’m not fussed either way but it’s funny seeing often same people who complain about the supposed advantages of f/s rule also want the AFL to keep it “until we get ours” 😅😅.

Gamble responsibly

Good onya Pav, btw
Spot on.

It's classic how many people whinge about FS, as if the children or AFL players all turn out to be guns. It's purely luck of the draw.

There's hundred's times more offspring from AFL players who dont even get close to making it, as opposed to those that do.

Sure you can look at the current Collingwood and Lions teams as having charmed run but that's all luck. It's not like Chris Mainwaring's son is dominating for the eagles. I cant recall any brownlow medal winners who's offspring are tearing it up, or which Coleman Medal winner has kids kicking bag fulls.

Making changes to the game, just because a fluke is currently in play is quite silly.

Can we just stop with the changes to things that make Aussie Rules, Aussie Rules.

Now back on topic. I actually couldnt care less where Pav goes. I know it's like blasphemy to say, but Pav the footy player was one thing, pay the media personality/administrator is another. Doesnt scream intelligence to me. Happy he's in a place with nothing more to do with us now i think :)

Pisses me off cos it means clubs who’ve already benefited will have an advantage that no one else can catch. Like yeah have f/s long enough for clubs to have literal generations of f/s on their team but then scrap it when a club is only just getting their first f/s old enough to qualify.

Pretty sure you could count on your fingers how many players we’ve had that have played 100+ games and have a son who is 18+. And that’s not even taking into account that most of them won’t even be good enough for AFL. Other clubs have hundreds and they’ve reaped the rewards.

Really there should be a cap on some teams and not on others but you can’t trust the AFL to do something that won’t benefit their lovechilds
I highly doubt they will get rid of F/S but they might make some changes to make clubs pay near fair value. Adjusting the points value and less discount is a step in the right direction already.

Academies need to change. I think they should just blanket ban any 1st round picks tied to academies for all clubs. Preserve the 1st round of the draft except for F/S. 2nd round onwards is the same as the current system. Maybe if you are bottom 4 for more than 1 season you can get access for the first round till you rise.

This will still give the Northern States some bread and butter locals and not discourage participation since they might get drafted elsewhere. If you are a 1st rounder, you are odds on to have a great career.

Strange that he got the gig. Not sure he has the experience nor skill set for a CEO role
download.jpeg
What do you mean? CEOs need skills and experience? Nonsense, look at this guy for example.

View attachment 2387553
What do you mean? CEOs need skills and experience? Nonsense, look at this guy for example.
Seem like you just need a big ego. Apparently he's one of the few pushing back against the Harley Reid mega deal so he's gone up a notch in my book. He's now at notch 1.

I just watched the Pavlich press conference with whoever it was from Sydney. Two things that struck me lots of private school boy banter which is obviously how you get those jobs. The other thing the Sydney guy said was getting his kids into the Sydney Academy. Well he can 🤬 right off and shows how much of a rort these clubs treat the Academies!

How so? If Cooper Hodge picks Brisbane, the Hawks fans will have a cry, but why will this make the AFL do anything with the northern academies? The only thing that might happen is more adjustments to the bidding/matching, but that would happen irrespective of Hodge Jr.

If Pav's sons are any good, I would say it is more likely they will end up playing for Sydney if Pav is still living there. Stick with the place closer to their parents/home. I doubt they have developed a lasting allegiance to Freo/WA. Look at Nic Blakey, his dad played 350 games for Lions/Roos and none for Sydney.

Gotta hand it to Pav. He doesn't come across as all that sharp to me, but he keeps landing these cushy jobs. Well and truly part of the boy's club.
uuuh ,you may want to reconsider that, "He also has a Bachelor of Science Degree and a Master of Business Administration both from the University of Western Australia. “Matthew seamlessly transitioned into business and media, working within his companies, as well as on-air roles at Fox Footy and 9 News."

If F/S mean nothing you are saying that:
1. Genetics means nothing.
2. Environment means nothing.

Truly, an amazing insight.
I Am Smart The Princess Bride GIF by Disney+
Not sure what’s amazing about it, I have fair bit on my plate today so my sarcasm radar may be off.

I never said anything about genetics or environment those kids grow up in, they simply may not be interested in pursuing football careers, and if they’re kinda pressured into it then their hearts will never be in it and they won’t be anything special. I’m almost certain that the majority of football players offsprings don’t. Who gives a ****. Keep being smart with drafting and with a bit of luck none of the other shit matters

Can’t stand the thought of Pav advocating for the absolute load of crap that are the northern academies.

It’s like Optimus Prime joining the decepticons.

The only worse ones would be WC or Carlton.

Good luck to him.

It’s his life. He can do whatever he wants to.

Hey Freo fans. Just curious if any of you know what Pav's CV is like? I figured if anyone knew (and might give a serious answer) it might be you guys.