Pavlich's future

• Thread starter Thread starter Kram

When will Pav call it a day?

Your posts are shithouse. Seriously if you cant see how much better we are at defending the high ball when Dawson is in the team then I recommend watching football with your eyes open. For all the grief he copped in the two finals game he actually only conceded two goals in two games to his direct man (two of tippets three goals were when he matched up on Clarke rucking) Id thought we had moved past the 'Dawson is shit' rubbish posts.
Well everyone is entitled to their point of view mate. That's what this forum is for. I don't agree with a lot of your posts either. Apparently you're quite happy to put Weller up for trade. That's a joke dick, he was our first round draft pick who is highly rated by the club. Maybe you should open your eyes, and see the talent which is there instead of turning your back when you see a couple of shonky kicks. The kid will be a star, bookmark it.
And by the way Dawson is good for one or two things, blocking and punching the ball out of bounds. He doesn't even attempt to mark the ball when he's unopposed, just double fists. Spud. Mate I played and watched footy all my life and I know good players when I see them, but everyone is entitled to their opinion.

Just out of curiosity, the people that think Mayne will come good, Dawson plays his role, De Boer plays his role, Suban plays his role, D Pearce plays his role.

Do you see any changes to the team next year apart from the addition of Bennell? Do you think changes to the gameplan will be enough to get us the flag?

Well everyone is entitled to their point of view mate. That's what this forum is for. I don't agree with a lot of your posts either. Apparently you're quite happy to put Weller up for trade. That's a joke dick, he was our first round draft pick who is highly rated by the club. Maybe you should open your eyes, and see the talent which is there instead of turning your back when you see a couple of shonky kicks. The kid will be a star, bookmark it.
And by the way Dawson is good for one or two things, blocking and punching the ball out of bounds. He doesn't even attempt to mark the ball when he's unopposed, just double fists. Spud. Mate I played and watched footy all my life and I know good players when I see them, but everyone is entitled to their opinion.

I should have clarified that I thought your posts on Dawson were shithouse. Appologies for that.

All I said on Weller is that he is no certainty to be a star and his kicking wasnt as good as advertised. Im hardly saying I think he is shit.Id only trade him if it gave us both Bennell and McCarthy and we had no other option. I have said repeatedly I think he will ge a good player. My opinion is your views on Dawson are shithouse. He does a much better player than you give him credit for. The club claerly rates him higher than you. If you cant see his value then I think you are wrong.

Im as much entitled to my view as much as you are. Play on.

I should have clarified that I thought your posts on Dawson were shithouse. Appologies for that.

All I said on Weller is that he is no certainty to be a star and his kicking wasnt as good as advertised. Im hardly saying I think he is shit.Id only trade him if it gave us both Bennell and McCarthy and we had no other option. I have said repeatedly I think he will ge a good player. My opinion is your views on Dawson are shithouse. He does a much better player than you give him credit for. The club claerly rates him higher than you. If you cant see his value then I think you are wrong.

Im as much entitled to my view as much as you are. Play on.
Fair bump. Play on:thumbsu:

Don't worry guys, Pav once again is going to save the day. Get ready to feel like this once he agrees to one more year.

nBvrNlJ.gif

Don't worry guys, Pav once again is going to save the day. Get ready to feel like this once he agrees to one more year.

nBvrNlJ.gif
Cold, wet and uncomfortable?

Would love to see him go again, but hard seeing it happen now I reckon even if he had a set playing schedule.

In Lieu of today's outcome, sadly I'd rather he didn't. If that means we slide, c'est la vie - it won't be though any fault of Pav's. I'd like to see the club focus on the youth rather than shoot for a goal that will just get further and further out of reach with the current batch of oldies.

Give him a year, a gentle preseason, a mini preseason around bye time and hardly any game time until round 18-20. Get him ripe for the finals and give him a last tilt at a flag after he's been rested for a good 8 months and is cherry ripe.

Failing that. Let him retire. Don't put him through a tough preseason and try get him to carry the forward line all year. He'll end up like McPharlin or Judd. I don't want to see it happen.

In Lieu of today's outcome, sadly I'd rather he didn't. If that means we slide, c'est la vie - it won't be though any fault of Pav's. I'd like to see the club focus on the youth rather than shoot for a goal that will just get further and further out of reach with the current batch of oldies.

I dunno...with Bennell added we may have one more shot in the locker if Pav can be nursed through.

His first 8-10 games were good

I'm thinking it might be better if he just called it a day.. If the club had of got Cam over he would have been handy in helping him ease into a position in the forward line but I just don't think we are good enough to win the thing even with Bennell added. So it's kinda pointless him going on and risking struggling going out badly, may as well prepare for life without him

Tell Apeness/Tabs that the first 20 weeks of the season is their time to shine. Play whichever of them is in form (or both if they are both firing) Go in to September with whichever is more consistent alongside Pav.

I'm thinking it might be better if he just called it a day.. If the club had of got Cam over he would have been handy in helping him ease into a position in the forward line but I just don't think we are good enough to win the thing even with Bennell added. So it's kinda pointless him going on and risking struggling going out badly, may as well prepare for life without him
I think the opposite, if we had shaken Cam away from GWS, he may thought we were in good hands and now was the time. But no noise from him or
the club suggest he was waiting on the outcome.
You would think a proper send off would be appropriate for a champion of the game and club.
To me the timing just doesn't feel right to hang up the boots, we still don't have anyone to replace him, and your a long time retired.
Would love to see him play one more season without the captaincy, responsibility, and to give him a standing ovation in his last game.

Certainly reading Pav's book its obvious he intended to retire this year as everything about his footy career is written in the past tense although its possible I suppose that its intended to give the correct literary effect for posterity.

I think the opposite, if we had shaken Cam away from GWS, he may thought we were in good hands and now was the time. But no noise from him or
the club suggest he was waiting on the outcome.
You would think a proper send off would be appropriate for a champion of the game and club.
To me the timing just doesn't feel right to hang up the boots, we still don't have anyone to replace him, and your a long time retired.
Would love to see him play one more season without the captaincy, responsibility, and to give him a standing ovation in his last game.
McCarthy at least from what I've seen is a totally different type of forward than Pav, and not a replacement..

There's only ever gonna be one of his all round calibre.
Haven't started Pav's book yet but am comfortable with the past tense being employed to describe past events.
I personally would probably like to see some more of his greatness for the Purple but will await His Highness's announcement.:D
We have been and are privileged.

People getting a bit emotional there. Bit of truth hitting hard hey?

My jets are really cool. Don't be a patronising tool though, buddy pal champ cobba chief.

I'm just saying, the club was naive to say 'oh nah injury prone 33-year old will get rested and he'll be fine... chance of injuries? Nah we'll be good!' Of course players were going to go down in the backline. It was just pretty stupid to try and manage him. In some ways it wasn't a gamble that paid off. It didn't fail him or the team, but I don't look back on Luke playing in 2015 as a profound success. I don't want to see Pav get carried through like he was.

But the reality is, Taberner won't have an epiphany and man up and start kicking two goals a game (or holding onto marks in prelims when he hears footsteps – jeeeeeeZUZ. And people thought Sheridan's drop was big). Apeness, well who knows, he's been set back a year after his injury. I still think he's better and has much more promise than Tabs though. And we won't get anyone else because Fremantle haven't pulled a decent full forward since Justin Longmuir. Pav will keep battling far too hard than what he should and will end up going out with the perception he went one too long. I don't want that.

Er, Corrrection: Justin Longmuir was a ruckman who went forward when resting.

Certainly reading Pav's book its obvious he intended to retire this year as everything about his footy career is written in the past tense although its possible I suppose that its intended to give the correct literary effect for posterity.
It's probably so the book still makes sense in 10 years.

Please, I can easily claim that too. I've seen/played with plenty of good players that never make it to the top.
Weller has played what.. two games as a sub? There's plenty of players that have performed exceptional for the WAFL but hardly do anything at AFL level. If you were truly a footy follower/watcher then you would know Dawson is in the team for the role he plays. Right now we have no one else that can come in the the defensive half and do the same job. He is the player I would back that keeps Kennedy quiet, when Silvagni went to him he got literally ragdolled. But hey he has better skills, nous as a footballer right :drunk:?
Hawthorn have had the same types to Dawson. Gibson, to be fair, spoils often and does the odd brainfaze, but hey he's a two time best and fairest so what would we know?

Keep it on topic thanks guys. Every time I see this bumped I fear the worst...
Hawthorn have had the same types to Dawson. Gibson, to be fair, spoils often and does the odd brainfaze, but hey he's a two time best and fairest so what would we know?
Dawson and Gibson are chalk and cheese if you are comparing the two, but as Righteo has said"keep it on topic", so nuff saido_O